Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Salman's assigned labels are training targets used before prediction. Salman does not disclose providing those labels, or another guide input tile containing known presence-or-absence information, to the trained model during prediction. According to Salman’s claim 8, the model trains, during a training phase and based at least on the label and the training seismic volume, a machine learning model), Salman disloses in ([0071], a guide input tile is nothing more than patches that provide information to the ML; ([0073], wherein labels are assigned to each patch, and ([0048], wherein if the he assigned label indicates the locations where the known fault(s) intersects the patch, then it would be obvious that the unassigned labels represents no indication about presence or absence of the geobody). Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20190162868 A1-Salman et al (Hereinafter referred to “Salman”)
Regarding claim 1, Salman disclose a method for detecting, by a learning machine, a geobody in a seismic volume (Fig. 2), the method comprising:
Receiving, during prediction by the trained learning machine, a first seismic input tile representing first seismic data from the seismic volume ([0039], wherein the input receiver is configured to obtain the training seismic volume);
Receiving, during the prediction by the trained learning machine, a first guide input tile ([0071], a guide input tile is nothing more than patches that provide information to the ML; According to Salman’s claim 8, the model trains, during a training phase and based at least on the label and the training seismic volume, a machine learning model) including
first labels that indicate presence of the geobody in a respective region in the
seismic volume or absence of the geobody in the respective region ([0073], wherein labels are assigned to each patch), and
one or more unlabeled regions that make no indication about presence or absence of the geobody ([0048], wherein if the he assigned label indicates the locations where the known fault(s) intersects the patch, then it would be obvious that the unassigned labels repsresnts no indication about presencr or absence of the geobody) ; and
determining, during the prediction by the trained learning machine and based on the first seismic input tile and the first guide input tile, a first prediction about geobody presence or absence in the seismic volume ([0036]; According to Salman’s claim 8, the model trains, during a training phase and based at least on the label and the training seismic volume, a machine learning model.).
Regarding claim 2, Salman discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: generating an output tile that graphically illustrates the first prediction (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Salman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first seismic input tile and the first guide input tile are represented in one or more computerized graphical formats ([0023]).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 18.
Claim(s) 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20190162868 A1-Salman et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Salman”), in view of US 20230258838 A1-Roy et al (Hereinafter referred toas “Roy”).
Regarding claim 9, Salman fails to disclose the method of claim 1 (See claim 1),
Salman fails to disclose wherein the first prediction about the geobody in the seismic volume indicates that the geobody is absent from the seismic volume.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Roy discloses wherein the first prediction about the geobody in the seismic volume indicates that the geobody is absent from the seismic volume ([0044], wherein predict presence and/or absence of particular materials (e.g., hydrocarbons) in a subsurface region. For example, seismic attributes may include amplitude attributes (including amplitude variation with angle/offset attributes), time/horizon attributes, frequency attributes, and/or other seismic attributes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Salman to disclose wherein the first prediction about the geobody in the seismic volume indicates that the geobody is absent from the seismic volume as taught by Roy , to provide accurate results, by providing sufficient amount of high quality training data ([0027], Roy).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 13-16, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487