Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al (PG pub 20120189912), and further in view of Nishimura et al (PG Pub 20230107979) or alternatively Koh et al (PG Pub 20180065997).
Regarding claim 1,4 , Honda et al teaches a battery cell comprising:
a current collector 3 (b) [fig 1 para 19-22];
an electrode active material layer (7) [fig 1 para 19-22]]; and
an adhesive layer which is considered to the interface layer disposed between the current collector and the electrode active material layer [para 38-39],
the electrode active material layer comprising an electrode active material including lithium [para 46],
the interface layer comprising a transition metal oxide including oxygen and at least one transition metal (Zinc oxide) [para 39].
Honda et al teaches the interface layer having a surface in contact with the electrode active material layer [para 38-39], but Honda et al does not teach the interface layer having recess.
Nishimura et al teaches the current electrode having surface with recesses for improving adhesive [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the surface of the interface of Honda et al to having recess as taught by Nishimura et al for improving adhesion [para 84].
Or alternatively;
Koh et al teaches the surface of the current electrode having fine projection and recess for improving adhesion [para 84].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the surface of the interface of Honda et al to having fine projection or recess as taught by Koh et al for improving adhesion [para 84].
Regarding claim 2, the current collector is formed of at least one of copper and aluminum [para 25 37].
Regarding claim 3, modified Honda et al teaches the electrode active material including lithium metal and a lithium alloy [para 49].
Regarding claim 5, the surface of the interface layer includes the at least one recess and at least one flat portion on opposite sides of each of the at least one recess [fig 1, Nishimura].
Regarding claim 6, modified Honda et al teaches the current electrode including additional metal layer [para 38] which is considered to be first layer and disposed on each of the recess.
Regarding claim 8, modified Honda et al teaches the current electrode including additional metal layer [para 38] which is considered to be first layer and disposed on flat portion.
Regarding claim 10 and 13, Honda et al teaches a battery comprising:
a cathode [fig 2 para 62-63];
an anode [para 62 63]; and
an electrolyte disposed between the cathode and the anode [fig 2 para 62-63]
at least one anode comprising:
a current collector 3 (b) [fig 1 para 19-22];
an electrode active material layer (7) [fig 1 para 19-22]]; and
an adhesive layer which is considered to the interface layer disposed between the current collector and the electrode active material layer [para 38-39],
the electrode active material layer comprising an electrode active material including lithium [para 46],
the interface layer comprising a transition metal oxide including oxygen and at least one transition metal (Zinc oxide) [para 39].
Honda et al teaches the interface layer having a surface in contact with the electrode active material layer [para 38-39], but Honda et al does not teach the interface layer having recess.
Koh et al teaches the surface of the current electrode having fine projection and recess for improving adhesion [para 84].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the surface of the interface of Honda et al to having fine projection or recess as taught by Koh et al for improving adhesion [para 84].
Or alternatively;
Nishimura et al teaches the current electrode having surface with recesses for improving adhesive [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the surface of the interface of Honda et al to having recess as taught by Nishimura et al for improving adhesion [para 84].
Regarding claim 11, the current collector is formed of at least one of copper and aluminum [para 25 37].
Regarding claim 12, modified Honda et al teaches the electrode active material including lithium metal and a lithium alloy [para 49].
Regarding claim 16, modified Honda et al teaches the electrolyte including a solid polymer electrolyte [para 68].
Regarding claim 17, the at least one recess extends along an entire length of the interface layer [fig 1, Nishimura et al].
Regarding claim 18, the at least one recess includes a plurality of recesses formed at discrete locations along a length of the interface layer [fig 1, Nishimura et al].
Claim(s) 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al (PG pub 20120189912), and Nishimura et al (PG Pub 20230107979) or alternatively Koh et al (PG Pub 20180065997) and further in view of Kim et al (PG pub 20210135278).
Regarding claim 7, 9, modified Honda et al teaches the current electrode including additional metal layer [para 38], but modified Honda et al does not teach the metal being made of Zinc.
Kim et al teaches a metal layer 24 being current collector 21 and electrode material 22 where the metal layer is made of zinc [para 99].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the metal layer of modified Honda et al to be made of Zinc as taught by Kim et al since selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07).
Regarding claim 9, modified Honda et al teaches the current electrode including additional metal layer [para 38], but modified Honda et al does not teach the metal being made of noble metal
Kim et al teaches a metal layer 24 being current collector 21 and electrode material 22 where the metal layer is made of gold [para 99].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the metal layer of modified Honda et al to be made of gold as taught by Kim et al since selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al (PG pub 20120189912), and Nishimura et al (PG Pub 20230107979) or alternatively Koh et al (PG Pub 20180065997) and further in view of Zhao et al (PG Pub 20240076531)
Regarding claim 19, modified Honda et al teaches the interface layer as set fort above, but modified Honda et al does not teach the thickness of the adhesive layer.
Zhao et al teaches a negative electrode current collector having adhesive layer which has thickness of 508 micron [para 83].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the interface layer of modified Honda et al to have the same thickness of Zhao et al since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/UYEN M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726