Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. It is unclear how the second hinge member is shaped to inhibit access to the locking mechanism. This feature is not disclosed in the specification and not understood where located in the figures, as originally filed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 9, it is unclear how the brace can be coupled to and integrally formed with one of the hinge members.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 6, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Engert (2,275,353). Engert teaches a hinge assembly (13; Fig. 3) comprising: a first hinge member (12) connectable to a leg (3-6) of a table (2); and a second hinge member (including 14,19) hingedly coupled to the first hinge member (at 15-17), wherein the second hinge member includes an outer flange (a; see annotated figure below) connectable to an underside of a tabletop (at b), wherein the second hinge member includes an angled member (c ) coupled to the outer flange thereof, and wherein a brace which is generally triangular in outer side profile is formed by said angled member (two sides of triangle) and a portion of the tabletop (third side) coupled thereto. Wherein the second hinge member in outer shape is wedge-shaped at least in part. Wherein the second hinge member includes a first portion (14) hingedly coupled to the first hinge member, a second portion (19,c, side close to 14) coupled and extending outwards at an angle relative to the first portion thereof, and a third portion (19,c, side close to a) spaced apart from and coupled to the first portion thereof via the second portion thereof, wherein the third portion of the second hinge member couples to and extends outwards at an acute angle relative to the second portion of the second hinge member (Fig. 3), and wherein the third portion of the second hinge member is shaped to inhibit movement of the second portion of the second hinge member relative to the first portion of the second hinge member. Wherein the second hinge member includes a flange (a) coupled to a distal end of the third portion thereof, with the first portion and the flange of the second hinge member substantially extending in parallel with each other and being configured to selectively couple connectable to and extendable along the table (Fig. 3).
Claims 7, 9, 28, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mullins (510082). Mullins teaches a hinge assembly (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a first hinge member (c); a second hinge member (Fig. 4) hingedly coupled to the first hinge member (at e); and a locking mechanism (D,C) which selectively couples together the hinge members, wherein the locking mechanism includes a female member (C) which couples to the first hinge member, wherein the locking mechanism includes a male member (D) which pivotally couples to the second hinge member and selectively engages with the female member (Fig. 2), with movement of the first hinge member relative to the second hinge member being inhibited thereby. Wherein the second hinge member comprises spaced-apart end portions (a2) which extend parallel with each other and an angled portion (e’) coupled to and extending between said end portions. The assembly including a brace (a3) coupled to and integrally formed with one of the hinge members. Wherein the male member includes an arcuate-shaped latch shaped to selectively engage with the female member, with the latch having a center of curvature that is coaxial with an axis of rotation of the male member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engert (2,275,353) in view of Triplette (4,063,330). As stated above Engert teaches a hinge assembly for use between a table and leg comprising: a first hinge member (12); a second hinge member (including 14,19) hingedly coupled to the first hinge member (at 15-17), wherein the second hinge member includes a proximal end portion (14 near 12), a distal end portion (a) spaced-apart from the proximal end portion thereof, and an angled portion (c) which couples and extends outwards from said end portions at obtuse angles relative to said end portions. For claims 26 and 27, Engert fails to teach a locking mechanism which selectively couples together the hinge members. Triplette teaches a locking mechanism (22,32) which selectively couples together hinge members (13,14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of Engert by adding a locking mechanism, such as is taught by Triplette, therein, to help hold the members together when the table and leg are in the closed position.
For claim 30, when the hinge is in the closed/folded position, the second hinge member is shaped to inhibit access to the locking mechanism, as best understood.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 33-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Wilkens
January 12, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637