DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 2/10/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re pages 6 and 7, the applicant states “Claim 1, as amended, recites features that are not disclosed by Monroe. Applicant respectfully submits that Monroe fails to disclose specific mechanical and electrical connections that simultaneously couple the multifunction module to the cover panel and electrically connect the multifunction module to the vehicle via the cover panel, as claimed. In contrast, Monroe does not provide any detailed locking mechanism other than describing general ports (e.g., USB) and magnets for secure docking. For at least the reasons above, the applied reference fail to teach all of the features recited in independent claim 1.”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Monroe teaches vehicle includes an interior cabin having a plurality of seats, a center stack or instrument panel, a high mount display (HMD), and a community screen or display. As illustrated in Fig. 2 and 3, instrument panel includes a center stack or instrument panel screen or display. HMD extends upwardly from the instrument panel toward the vehicle windshield and is configured to display various information such as vehicle speed, vehicle direction, and navigation information. The upgradable modular system comprises a plurality of docking stations each configured to receive one or more upgradable modular components. In the example implementation, the modular components are configured to connect to and interface with a central computer or controller via the docking stations located throughout the vehicle. The modular docking stations are electrically and/or operably coupled to the vehicle (e.g., vehicle control systems, vehicle power source) and are configured to quickly and easily receive the upgradable modular components. Docking stations are located throughout the vehicle in convenient and accessible locations. For example, with particular reference to FIG. 5, docking stations are configured to be located in/on: the vehicle dashboard in front of the driver seat, the top of vehicle dashboard, the instrument panel, the vehicle dashboard in front of the passenger seat, a forward location proximate the vehicle headliner, an intermediate location proximate vehicle headliner, a rearward location proximate vehicle headliner, in the rear of one or more vehicle seats, and in the interior surface of vehicle doors and/or armrests. (e.g. See, Para.[0044], [0046], [0051], Fig. 2-5) The top portion of instrument panel can be interpreted as a cover panel because it face toward a ceiling surface of a vehicle and positioned above the side portion of instrument panel of the vehicle. The docking stations can be interpreted as coupling parts and electrical connections because it can be respectively configured to simultaneously couple the upgradable modular components to the top portion of instrument panel and electrically connect the upgradable modular components to the vehicle via the top portion of instrument panel.
Therefore, Monre discloses a cover panel disposed to face toward a ceiling surface of a vehicle and positioned above an instrument panel of the vehicle; a multifunction module detachably coupled to the cover panel and provided to at least one of display instrument information of the vehicle, hold one or more portable devices or any combination thereof, wherein the cover panel and the multifunction module include coupling parts and electrical connections, and wherein the coupling parts and the electrical connections are respectively configured to simultaneously couple the multifunction module to the cover panel and electrically connect the multifunction module to the vehicle via the cover panel as amended independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Monroe
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Monroe et al.(USPubN 2018/0178652; hereinafter Monroe).
As per claim 1, Monroe teaches a cockpit module assembly for a vehicle, comprising: a cover panel disposed to face toward a ceiling surface of a vehicle and positioned above an instrument panel of the vehicle (“As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, vehicle 10 includes an interior cabin 26 having a plurality of seats 28, a center stack or instrument panel 30, a high mount display (HMD) 32, and a community screen or display 34. As illustrated, instrument panel 30 includes a center stack or instrument panel screen or display 36. HMD 32 extends upwardly from the instrument panel 30 toward the vehicle windshield and is configured to display various information such as vehicle speed, vehicle direction, and navigation information.” in Para.[0044], Fig. 2, The top portion of instrument panel can be interpreted as a cover panel because it face toward a ceiling surface of a vehicle and positioned above the side portion of instrument panel of the vehicle.); and
a multifunction module detachably coupled to the cover panel and provided to at least one of display instrument information of the vehicle, hold one or more portable devices or any combination thereof(“The upgradable modular system 50 comprises a plurality of docking stations 52 each configured to receive one or more upgradable modular components 54. In the example implementation, the modular components 54 are configured to connect to and interface with a central computer or controller 56 via the docking stations 52 located throughout the vehicle 10. The modular docking stations 52 are electrically and/or operably coupled to the vehicle (e.g., vehicle control systems, vehicle power source) and are configured to quickly and easily receive the upgradable modular components 54.” in Para.[0046], “a list of upgradable modular components 54 includes central controller 56, displays/touch screens 60, smart climate controls 62, smart lighting 64, smart buttons 66, slide controls 68, cameras/sensors 70, smart buttons with displays 72, a customizable rotate button 74, and a device holder or support 76” in Para.[0047], “Docking stations 52 are located throughout the vehicle 10 in convenient and accessible locations. For example, with particular reference to FIG. 5, docking stations 52 are configured to be located in/on: the vehicle dashboard 42 in front of the driver seat 28a (52a), the top of vehicle dashboard 42 (52b), the instrument panel 30 (52c), the vehicle dashboard 42 in front of the passenger seat 28b (52d), a forward location proximate the vehicle headliner 38 (52e), an intermediate location proximate vehicle headliner 38 (52f), a rearward location proximate vehicle headliner 38 (52g), in the rear of one or more vehicle seats 28 (52h), and in the interior surface of vehicle doors 22, 24 and/or armrests 40 (52i). However, it will be appreciated that docking stations 52 may be included in other locations throughout the vehicle such as in vehicle headliner 38 above passengers or under the vehicle hood (not shown)” in Para.[0051]).
wherein the cover panel and the multifunction module include coupling parts and electrical connections, and wherein the coupling parts and the electrical connections are respectively configured to simultaneously couple the multifunction module to the cover panel and electrically connect the multifunction module to the vehicle via the cover panel(Para.[0046], [0051], The docking stations can be interpreted as coupling parts and electrical connections because it can be respectively configured to simultaneously couple the upgradable modular components to the top portion of instrument panel and electrically connect the upgradable modular components to the vehicle via the top portion of instrument panel.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The prior art of record (in particular, Monroe et al.(USPubN 2018/0178652; hereinafter Monroe)) does not disclose, with respect to claim 9, A multifunction module for a vehicle, the vehicle including a cover panel disposed to face toward a ceiling surface of the vehicle and covering a side of an instrument panel, the multifunction module comprising: a main body detachably attachable to the cover panel, wherein the multifunction module is configured to at least one of display instrument information of the vehicle, hold one or more portable devices or any combination thereof; one or more holding parts disposed on an outer surface of the main body and configured to hold the portable device, the instrument or the combination thereof; one or more coupling parts disposed on one or more sides of the main body for attachment to the cover; and one or more conductors disposed on a surface of the main body such that upon attachment of the multifunction module to the cover, the one or more conductors of the multifunction module are connected to one or more conductors of the cover panel, wherein the cover panel is electrically connected to the vehicle and the one or more portable devices are able to receive power via the cover panel as claimed. Rather, Monroe et al. discloses a vehicle includes an interior cabin and a plurality of modular docking stations fixedly disposed in the interior cabin. Each modular docking station is configured to removably receive one or more modular components. The one or more modular components interchangeably connect to the plurality of modular docking stations to enable relocation of each modular component of the one or more modular components in a desired modular docking station of the plurality of docking stations. Accordingly, claims 2-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484