DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bichon et al. (US 20220016012 A1, published on January 20, 2022) (“Bichon” hereunder).
Bichon teaches a cosmetic make-up composition for keratinous material in the form of a water-in-oil emulsion, which comprises at least one phenylated silicone oil of formula (I), a fat-soluble film-forming polymer, a water-soluble film-forming polymer selected from vinylpyrrolidone homopolymers and copolymers and pigments.
The preferred fat-soluble film-forming polymers include acrylate/polytrimethylsiloxymethacrylate copolymers, the silicone-modified carbosiloxane dendrimer of the present claim 7. See [0074 and 0086].
Table 2 discloses a water-in-silicone oil emulsion comprising an aqueous phase dispersed in the continuous oil phase, comprising acrylate/polytrimethylsiloxymethacrylate copolymer in the oil phase, at least one aqueous phase film former (VP/VA copolymer) in the aqueous phase, at least one oil which include silicone oils (dimethicone, isododecane, phenyl trimethicone, etc), at least one colorant (titanium dioxide, iron oxides, etc) and water. See present claims 1, 7, 9
Regarding claims 2-4, the composition comprises at least one thickening agent (hectorite) and at least one active agent (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and titanium dioxide).
Regarding claim 5, the colorants include titanium dioxide surfaced treated with sodium myristoyl glutamate and aluminum hydroxide.
Regarding claim 10, the disclosed emulsion contains 0.256 wt % of acrylates/polytrimethylsiloxymethacrylate copolymer (8 wt%, 3.2% active) and 0.2 wt % of VP/VA copolymers, which is about 1:1 ratio.
Regarding claim 11, the disclosed has all the structural limitations of the present claim and must have the same the average gloss properties as required by the claim unless shown otherwise.
Regarding claim 13, the disclosed formulation contains at least 17.74 wt % of oils (5 wt % dimethicone, 5 wt % phenyl siloxane, at least 7.74wt % isodecane, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Bichon describes the process step of cosmetic application of the composition of Table 2 to achieve a long-lasting make-up effects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bichon as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13 and 14 as above, and further in view of Foley (US 20150352017 A1, published on December 10, 2015).
Bichon teaches and suggests that the cosmetic composition can further comprise cosmetic active agents, including emollients, moisturizers, vitamins, lightening agents, etc. See [00145]. Although Bichon does not specifically disclose niacinamide, Foley teaches that niacinamide is a vitamin B3 compound known as a skin conditioning agent. See [0029]. Example 1 shows a water-in-silicone oil formulation comprising niacinamide in the oil phase.
Given the teaching and suggestion of Bichon to add vitamins in the disclosed formulation, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have been obviously motivated to look to prior art such as Foley for specific type of useful vitamins. Since Foley teaches that niacinamide is well known as a skin conditioning agent and further discloses a water-in-silicone oil formulation comprising niacinamide in the oil phase, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the two references with a reasonable expectation of successfully producing a stable oil-in-silicone oil emulsion with enhanced skin conditioning effects.
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahle (US 20190358132 A1, published November 28, 2019) in view of Clavel et al. (US 20140079656 A1, published on March 20, 2014) (“Clave” hereunder).
Kahle discloses a cosmetic an emulsion-based cosmetic preparation comprising a lipid phase comprising at least one solvent as a carrier and at least one lipophilic film former and an aqueous phase comprising water or an hydroalcoholic solvent and a hydrophilic film former, and at least one emulsifier based on polyglyceryl fatty acid ester and at least one pigment. The combination is said to be quick drying and the film produced is not only water-, oil- and smudge-resistant and durable, but also forms a kind of matrix in which the other ingredients, in particular the pigments, are homogenously distributed throughout the gelatinous preparation. See [0019], [0027], [0036].
Although the disclosed examples are in the form of oil-in-water emulsion, the reference teaches and suggests that the invention can be in the form of water-in-oil emulsion, see [0027]; the reference teaches that the proportion of the solvents in which the film formers are dispersed varies depending on the form of the emulsion. See [0049]. Clavel further teaches that water-in-oil emulsions are generally advantageous to make foundations, sun products or moisturizing creams. See [0003-0004]. The reference teaches that water-in-oil emulsions can be made by using polyglyceryl-based emulsifiers such as polyglyceryl-3 polyricinoleate. See [0071]. The reference further teaches that colorants, oil-phase gellants such as hectorite and film formers are also used in the formulation. See [0194, 0206, 0253].
Given the teachings in Khale that either oil-in-water or water-in-oil emulsions can be made with the film formers in each phase, formulating either form of cosmetic composition would have been prima facie obvious. Modifying the Kahle examples and making a water-in-oil emulsion would have been obvious in view of Clavel, as the latter teaches that oil-based emulsions are well known as a better moisturizer. Since both Kahle and Clavel teach using polyglyceryl-based emulsifiers to stabilize emulsions, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the teachings of the references and producing a stable water-in-oil emulsion with improved moisturizing property. See present claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-4, Khale further teaches that fillers such as bentonite, hectorite, montmorillonite, etc. can be used. See [0062]. Adding active agents common in cosmetics such as emollients is also suggested. See [0061].
Regarding claim 7, Khale teaches using a hydrophobic film former having acrylate and siloxane moieties which forms a water-compatible, hydrophobic film. Acrylates/polytrimethylsiloxymethacrylate copolymer is disclosed, which meets the present claim limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Example 1 shows a formulation in which the weight ratio of the aqueous phase film former (styrene/acrylates/ammonium methacrylate copolymer) and the carbosiloxane dendrimer compound is 1:1.
Regarding claim 12, Khale does not teach or suggest using phenylated silicone oil.
Regarding claim 13, Clavel teaches that the liquid fatty phase, or oil, is used in a content ranging from 15-70% or more preferably in the range of 20-65%, which meets the present claim limitation.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
No prior art rejection has been made on claim 7; prior art consideration will be until the scope of the claim can be clarified. See above, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ebanks et al. (US 11058625 B2, cited in iDS) teach long-wear foundation and mascara compositions in the form of an emulsion containing silicone acrylate copolymer and silicone elastomer in a specified weight ratio; no water-soluble or -dispersible polymers are used.
Davis et al. (US 20080181858 A1) teach sunscreen compositions comprising one or more sunscreen agents and one or more water-dispersible film forming polymers. The reference teaches that suitable synthetic, water dispersible film forming polymers include VP/Methacrylamide/Vinyl Imidazole copolymer, among others.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617