DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 8, 15, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to recite “the patient” in the following page/lines since “the patient” has already been introduced:
pg. 1, line 10
pg. 2, lines 14, 15, and 24
pg. 3, line 3
pg. 4, lines 21, 22
Regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to recite “on a first side of the bag” on pg. 1 in line 15 to provide antecedent basis to the claim terminology.
Regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to recite “on an opposite second side” on pg. 1 in line 18 to provide antecedent basis to the claim terminology.
Regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to recite “the amount of bending” on pg. 2 in line 19 to make claim terminology consistent.
Regarding claim 2, the claim should be amended to recite “the amount of bending” in line 14 to make claim terminology consistent.
Regarding claim 8, the claim should be amended to recite “the patient” in lines 4 and 6 since the patient was previously introduced.
Regarding claim 15, the claim should be amended to recite “on a first side of the bag” in line 4 to provide antecedent basis to the claim terminology.
Regarding claim 15, the claim should be amended to recite “on an opposite second side” in lines 6-7 to provide antecedent basis to the claim terminology.
Regarding claim 18, the claim should be amended to recite “the patient” in lines 7 (2 instances), 12, and 13 since the patient was previously introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means to estimate the volume of the uncompressed resuscitation bag” in claim 1. The examiner notes that this limitation is being interpreted to mean a processor, as set forth in paragraph 94 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitations “urge the I/O interface to produce a first indication of the plurality of indications” on pg. 4, line 6, “urge the I/O interface to produce a first indication of the plurality of indications” on pg. 5, line 4 and “urge the I/O interface to produce a second indication of the plurality of indications” on pg. 5, line 8. It is unclear if these first and second indications are the same indications as recited earlier in the claim (pg. 4, lines 1 and 9 for “first” and “second”, respectively).
Further regarding claim 1, the claim recites “means to estimate the volume of the uncompressed resuscitation bag”. As noted above, this limitation is interpreted to mean “a processor”. This limitation is indented under the limitation “the at least one memory storing executable instructions to urge the at least one processor to:”. As such, in the context of this limitation, it is unclear what the “means” limitation is attempting to convey.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites the limitation “urge the I/O to produce a first indication of the plurality of indications” in line 10. It is unclear if this first indication is the same indication or a different indication as recited in claim 16, line 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “urge the I/O interface to produce a first indication of the plurality of indications” in line 17. It is unclear if this first indication is the same indication as recited in claims 16 and/or 17 or a different indication. Similarly, the claim recites “urge the I/O interface to produce a second indication of the plurality of indications” in line 21. It is unclear if this second indication is the same indication as recited in claim 17 or if it is a different second indication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Timpe (US 4622976).
Regarding claim 20, Timpe discloses a resuscitation management system for a manual resuscitator, the system comprising:
a flex sensor (8:65-68 discloses “strain gauges”), the flex sensor configured to be attached to a resuscitation bag of the manual resuscitator (8:65-68 discloses that the strain gauges are position on the exterior of the bag 14 so that they would be configured to be attached to a resuscitation bag), the flex sensor configured to: measure an amount of bending of the flex sensor (8:65-68 discloses a strain gauge which would determine the level of deformation of the strain gauge which would include bending of the strain gauge since the strain gauge would be placed on the curved exterior surface of the bag 14); and generate an output signal indicative of the amount of bending of the flex sensor in an instance (8:65-68 discloses a strain gauge which would a measurement of strain which would correspond to the bending of the strain gauge as the bag inflates/deflates); and
at least one processor (circuit board 95), the at least one processor configured to: receive the output signal from the flex sensor (10:51-57 discloses the circuit board is used for bag volume determination); and detect a volume of the bag of the manual resuscitator in that instance (8:62-65 discloses determining bag volume during “any phase” of the procedure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16 and 19 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 17 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims in this application are allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singly or in combination the claimed resuscitation management system.
The closest prior art of record is Timpe.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 2, Timpe fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a processor configurated to associate each output signal from the plurality of output signals with a ventilation delivered to a patient responsive to the amount of deflection of the flex sensor being equal to or more than a predetermined threshold, in combination with the total structure and function as claimed. As discussed above with respect to claim 20, Timpe discloses a flex sensor (8:65-68 discloses “strain gauges”), the flex sensor configured to be attached to a resuscitation bag of the manual resuscitator (8:65-68 discloses that the strain gauges are position on the exterior of the bag 14 so that they would be configured to be attached to a resuscitation bag), the flex sensor configured to: measure an amount of bending of the flex sensor (8:65-68 discloses a strain gauge which would determine the level of deformation of the strain gauge which would include bending of the strain gauge since the strain gauge would be placed on the curved exterior surface of the bag 14); and generate an output signal indicative of the amount of bending of the flex sensor in an instance (8:65-68 discloses a strain gauge which would a measurement of strain which would correspond to the bending of the strain gauge as the bag inflates/deflates); and at least one processor (circuit board 95), the at least one processor configured to: receive the output signal from the flex sensor (10:51-57 discloses the circuit board is used for bag volume determination); and detect a volume of the bag of the manual resuscitator in that instance (8:62-65 discloses determining bag volume during “any phase” of the procedure”). Timpe further discloses that the processor is configured to associate the output of the sensor signals with a ventilation delivered to a patient in response to the bag volume being below a predetermined threshold (6:42-52 discloses when a patient inhales, the bag volume decreases and the light source/photocell, which is an alternate embodiment to the strain gauge, can detect a selected minimum value of the bag volume). However, it is the examiner’s opinion that Timpe does not adequately teach or disclose associating an output with an inhalation in response to the bending of the flex sensor being equal to or more than a predetermined threshold, as required by the claim.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783