Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 3/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. WO2020183795 (See English US 2021/0391617)
With respect to claim 1, Honda et al. discloses a battery 1300 comprising:
a power generation element that includes a plurality of unit cells 2200 each including a positive electrode layer 120/220, a negative electrode layer 110/210, and a solid electrolyte layer 130 located between the positive electrode layer 120/220 and the negative electrode layer 110/210, [0102-01113; Figure 4B]
wherein the plurality of unit cells 2200 are electrically connected in parallel [0103] and are stacked in a direction normal to a main surface of the power generation element [Figure 4B],
the power generation element includes a first side surface and a second side surface [Figure 4B],
in the first side surface, each of the positive electrode layers 120/220 in the plurality of unit cells 2200 protrudes more than each of the negative electrode layers 110/210 in the plurality of unit cells 2200 such that first depressions and first projections arranged alternately in the direction normal to the main surface are provided, [Figure 4B]
in the second side surface, each of the negative electrode layers 110/210 in the plurality of unit cells 2200 protrudes more than each of the positive electrode layers 120/220 in the plurality of unit cells 2200 such that second depressions and second projections arranged alternately in the direction normal to the main surface are provided, [Figure 4B]
each of the first depressions includes a first inclination surface that is inclined relative to the direction normal to the main surface and is an end surface of the negative electrode layer 110/210, [Figure 4B]
each of the second depressions includes a second inclination surface that is inclined relative to the direction normal to the main surface and is an end surface of the positive electrode layer 120/220, [Figure 4B] the battery further comprises:
a first conductive member 500 that is in contact with the first projections; and
a second conductive member 500 that is in contact with the second projections, (Current collecting leads 500 are connected to the respective exposed surfaces 300 of the negative electrode current collectors 210 or the positive electrode current collector of the battery cells 2200 by utilizing the laminating spaces 400) [0098-0108]
modification 3 of Embodiment 1 in Figure 4B does not specifically disclose one or a plurality of first insulating members that are arranged in the first depressions; one or a plurality of second insulating members that are arranged in the second depressions; [Figure 4B]
However, Figure 8 (Embodiment 2) shows modification 3 of Embodiment 1 may further include a sealing member 700 [0111]
Therefore Honda et al. discloses one or a plurality of first insulating members 700 that are arranged in the first depressions; one or a plurality of second insulating members 700 that are arranged in the second depressions; [Figure 8]
wherein the positive electrode layers 120/220 in the plurality of unit cells are electrically connected via the first conductive member 500, and
the negative electrode layers 110/210 in the plurality of unit cells are electrically connected via the second conductive member 500. [Figure 1B]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Embodiment 1 of Honda et al. to include the insulating members of Embodiment 2 of Honda et al. in order to allow for sufficient spacing and increased safety.
With respect to claim 2, Honda et al. discloses wherein the first conductive member 500 covers the one or the plurality of first insulating members 700, and the second conductive member 500 covers the one or the plurality of second insulating members 700. [Figures 5-8]
With respect to claim 3, Honda et al. discloses wherein each of the first projections includes a third inclination surface that is inclined relative to the direction normal to the main surface and is at least a part of an end surface of the positive electrode layer, and each of the second projections includes a fourth inclination surface that is inclined relative to the direction normal to the main surface and is at least a part of an end surface of the negative electrode layer. [Figure 4B]
With respect to claim 4, Honda et al. discloses wherein the first inclination surface, the third inclination surface, and a part of an end surface of the solid electrolyte layer 130 are flush with each other, and the second inclination surface, the fourth inclination surface, and a part of an end surface of the solid electrolyte layer 130 are flush with each other. [Figure 4B]
With respect to claim 5, Honda et al. discloses wherein each of the first projections includes a first flat surface that is parallel to the direction normal to the main surface and is at least a part of an end surface of the positive electrode layer 120/220, and each of the second projections includes a second flat surface that is parallel to the direction normal to the main surface and is at least a part of an end surface of the negative electrode layer 110/210. [Figure 8]
With respect to claim 6, Honda et al. discloses wherein the one or the plurality of first insulating members 700 include a side surface that is flush with the first flat surface, and the one or the plurality of second insulating members 700 include a side surface that is flush with the second flat surface. [Figure 8]
With respect to claim 7, Honda et al. discloses wherein each of the positive electrode layers 120/220 in the plurality of unit cells includes: a positive electrode current collector 220; and a positive electrode active material layer 120 that is arranged on a main surface of the positive electrode current collector 220 on a side of the negative electrode layer 110/210, and each of the negative electrode layers 110/210 in the plurality of unit cells includes: a negative electrode current collector 210; and a negative electrode active material layer 110 that is arranged on a main surface of the negative electrode current collector 210 on a side of the positive electrode layer 120/220. [Figure 4B]
With respect to claim 8, Honda et al. discloses wherein in the plurality of unit cells, an adjacent pair of the positive electrode layers 120/220 share the positive electrode current collector 220, and in the plurality of unit cells, an adjacent pair of the negative electrode layers 110/210 share the negative electrode current collector 210. [Figure 4B]
With respect to claim 9, Honda et al. discloses wherein at least one of the first conductive member or the second conductive member includes a multilayer structure. [Figure 1B]
With respect to claim 10, Honda et al. disclose does not disclose wherein an outermost layer in the multilayer structure is a plating layer or a solder layer.
The further limitation regarding “a plating layer or a solder layer” is a product-by-process limitation that does not further limit the scope of the claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to claim 11, Honda et al. discloses a sealing member 700 that exposes a part of the first conductive member 500 [Figure 8] and a part of the second conductive member 500 and seals the power generation element. [Figure 8]
With respect to claim 12, Honda et al. discloses wherein at least one of the one or the plurality of first insulating members 700 includes a gap. [Figure 8]
With respect to claim 13, Honda et al. discloses wherein the first side surface and the second side surface face away from each other. [Figure 4B]
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751