DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-30, 39-40, 42-43, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allan (US 2019/0116053 A1).
Regarding claim 27 and 39, Allan discloses an apparatus and method, comprising: at least one processor (442); and at least one memory (448) including instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine a rendezvous point mapping that maps a list of multicast group for which a node is interested in operating as a rendezvous point to an identifier of the node to be used as an identifier of the rendezvous point (paragraph [0032]- [0035]; [0007]; [0009]-[0011]; [0023]; and so on, explaining selecting rendezvous point associating or mapping or tagging an identifier of a node used as the rendezvous point to multicast groups); determine a routing protocol to be used by the node for advertising the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [0033]-[0035]; [0038]-[0039]; [0041]-[0042]; [0044]; [0064]; [0007]-[0011]; and etc., illustrating a routing protocol, such as control plane protocol, e.g. IGP and so on are identified or used to advertise rendezvous point); generate, based on the routing protocol, a routing protocol message including the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [0038]-[0039]; [0041]-[0042]; [0044]; and so on, explaining advertisement to advertise rendezvous point is made using a control protocol such as control plane protocol, for example an interior gateway protocol (IGP)); and advertise the routing protocol message including the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [007]; [0033]; [0038]-[0039]; [0041]-[0042]; [0044]; [0064]; and etc., describing advertising the advertisement message related to such as IGP the rendezvous point).
Regarding claim 40 and 52, Allan discloses an apparatus and method, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a routing protocol message including a rendezvous point mapping that maps a list of multicast groups for which a node is interested in operating as a rendezvous point to an identifier of the node to be used as an identifier of the rendezvous point (paragraph [0041]-[0042]; [0032]- [0035]; [0007]; [0009]-[0011]; [0023]; and so on); identify, from the routing protocol message, a routing protocol used to format the routing protocol message (paragraph [0042]; [0039]; extract, from the routing protocol message based on the routing protocol, the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [0042]-[0043]; [0039]-[0040]; and etc.); and process the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [0044]; [0040]; and so on).
Regarding claim 28, Allan discloses wherein, to determine the rendezvous point mapping, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: obtain the list of multicast groups for which the node is interested in operating as the rendezvous point (paragraph [0032]- [0035]; [0007]; [0009]-[0011]; [0023]; and so on); obtain the identifier of the node to be used as the identifier of the rendezvous point (paragraph [007]-[0011]; [0023]; [00332]-[0035]; [0038]-[0041]; [0043]; and etc.); and generate the rendezvous point mapping by associating the list of multicast groups for which the node is interested in operating as the rendezvous point to the identifier of the node to be used as the identifier of the rendezvous point (paragraph [0030]-[0038]; [0007]-[0011]; [0023]; and so on).
Regarding claim 29, Allan discloses wherein the node has a plurality of neighbor nodes associated therewith, wherein, to advertise the routing protocol message including the rendezvous point mapping, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: forward the routing protocol message including the rendezvous point mapping toward each of the neighbor nodes associated therewith (paragraph [007]-[0011]; [0030]-[0039]; [0041]-[0042]; [0044]; [0064]; [0023]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 30 and 43, Allan discloses wherein the routing protocol includes one of an Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) protocol, an OSPF version 3 (OSPFv3) protocol, an Intermediate-System-to-Intermediate-System (IS-IS) protocol, a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), or a BGP-Link State (BGP-LS) protocol (paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 42, Allan discloses wherein the routing protocol message is received from a neighbor node, wherein the routing protocol message is advertised to at least one other neighbor node (paragraph [0038]-[0044]; and so on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allan in view of Wijnands et al. (US 2015/0085635 A1).
Regarding claim 31-32 and 44-45, Allan discloses wherein the routing protocol includes an Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) protocol (paragraph [0064]).
Allan does not disclose wherein the routing protocol message includes an Opaque Link State Advertisement (LSA), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a payload of the Opaque LSA, and wherein the Opaque LSA Header includes an LSA Type field and an LSA Identifier field, wherein the LSA Type field includes a value based on flooding scope, wherein the LSA Identifier field is split into an Opaque Type field and an Opaque Identifier field, wherein the Opaque Type field includes a value indicative that the Opaque LSA includes rendezvous point mapping information.
Wijnands teaches wherein the routing protocol message includes an Opaque Link State Advertisement (LSA), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a payload of the Opaque LSA, and wherein the Opaque LSA Header includes an LSA Type field and an LSA Identifier field, wherein the LSA Type field includes a value based on flooding scope, wherein the LSA Identifier field is split into an Opaque Type field and an Opaque Identifier field, wherein the Opaque Type field includes a value indicative that the Opaque LSA includes rendezvous point mapping information (e.g. paragraph [0052]; [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the routing protocol message includes an Opaque Link State Advertisement (LSA), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a payload of the Opaque LSA, and wherein the Opaque LSA Header includes an LSA Type field and an LSA Identifier field, wherein the LSA Type field includes a value based on flooding scope, wherein the LSA Identifier field is split into an Opaque Type field and an Opaque Identifier field, wherein the Opaque Type field includes a value indicative that the Opaque LSA includes rendezvous point mapping information as taught by Wjnands into Allan in order to improve rate of communication.
Claims 33 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allan in view of Wijnands, and further in view of Shepherd et al. (US 2015/0131660 A1).
Regarding claim 33 and 46, as applied above, the modified communication of Allan discloses the payload of the Opaque LSA. However, the modified communication of Allan does not disclose wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a sub-Type-Length-Value (sub-TLV) included within the payload of the Opaque LSA, wherein the sub-TL V includes a rendezvous point address field that includes the identifier of the node to be used as the identifier of the rendezvous point, wherein the sub-TLV includes a set of one or more multicast address fields that include respective multicast addresses for the respective multicast groups for which the node is interested in operating as the rendezvous point.
Shepherd teaches wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a sub-Type-Length-Value (sub-TLV) included within the payload of the Opaque LSA, wherein the sub-TL V includes a rendezvous point address field that includes the identifier of the node to be used as the identifier of the rendezvous point, wherein the sub-TLV includes a set of one or more multicast address fields that include respective multicast addresses for the respective multicast groups for which the node is interested in operating as the rendezvous point (paragraph [0034]; [0057]; [0064]-[0067]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a sub-Type-Length-Value (sub-TLV) included within the payload of the Opaque LSA, wherein the sub-TL V includes a rendezvous point address field that includes the identifier of the node to be used as the identifier of the rendezvous point, wherein the sub-TLV includes a set of one or more multicast address fields that include respective multicast addresses for the respective multicast groups for which the node is interested in operating as the rendezvous point as taught by Shepherd into the modified communication of Allan in order to reduce congestion.
Claims 34-35 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allan in view of Appalla et al. (US 2013/0077628 A1).
Regarding claim 34-35 and 47-48, Allan discloses wherein the routing protocol includes an Intermediate-System-to-Intermediate-System (IS-IS) protocol (paragraph [0064]). Allan does not disclose wherein the routing protocol message includes an IS-IS Protocol Data Unit (PDU), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within a Type-Length-Value (TLV) of the IS-IS PDU, and wherein the TLV of the IS-IS PDU includes a Type field that encodes a value indicative that the IS-IS PDU includes rendezvous point mapping information and a Value field that includes the rendezvous point mapping.
Appalla teaches wherein the routing protocol message includes an IS-IS Protocol Data Unit (PDU), and wherein the TLV of the IS-IS PDU includes a Type field that encodes a value indicative that the IS-IS PDU includes rendezvous point mapping information and a Value field that includes the rendezvous point mapping (paragraph [0005]-[0015]; [0037]-[0038]; [0045]-[0053]; [0056]; [0067]-[0071]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the routing protocol message includes an IS-IS Protocol Data Unit (PDU), and wherein the TLV of the IS-IS PDU includes a Type field that encodes a value indicative that the IS-IS PDU includes rendezvous point mapping information and a Value field that includes the rendezvous point mapping as taught by Appalla into Allan in order to decrease error and dropping of data.
Claims 37 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allan in view of Aggarwal et al. (US 8571029 B1).
Regarding claim 37 and 50, Allan discloses wherein the routing protocol includes a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) (paragraph [0064]). Allan does not disclose wherein the routing protocol message includes a BGP message including Network Layer Reachability Information (NLRI), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within the NLRI.
Aggarwal teaches wherein the routing protocol message includes a BGP message including Network Layer Reachability Information (NLRI), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within the NLRI (col. 29, lines 37-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the routing protocol message includes a BGP message including Network Layer Reachability Information (NLRI), wherein the rendezvous point mapping is included within the NLRI as taught by Aggarwal into Allan in order to improve path selection and reduce looping.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allan in view of Kumar et al. (US 2021/0091968 A1).
Regarding claim 41, as applied above, Allan discloses wherein, to process the rendezvous point mapping. Allan does not disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: add the rendezvous point mapping to a group to rendezvous point mapping database.
Kumar teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: add the rendezvous point mapping to a group to rendezvous point mapping database (paragraph [0110]-[0111]; [0123]; [0129]; [0131]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: add the rendezvous point mapping to a group to rendezvous point mapping database as taught by Kumar into Allan in order to reduce overloading.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36, 38, 49, and 51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461