DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2023 & 12/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 5 & Fig. 7: both axes of a graph should be labeled with both what quantity is being plotted on each axis and the units of that quantity.
Fig. 5 & Fig. 7: It is not clear what "mechanical parameter" is.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13, & 15-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-13 line 1 (each claim) recites "The method of claim 1[3][6][8]". There are multiple limitations within claim 1 which could be considered to be "The method of claim 1" such as "identifying ...", or "determining ...". The Examiner recommends that the independent claim 1 have a preamble such as 'A method for Identifying a productive interval along a well comprising:" and that the dependent claims have a preamble such as "The method for identifying a productive interval along a well of claim 1[3][6][8] comprising:".
Claims 15-16 line 1 (each claim) recites "The system of claim 14". There are multiple limitations within claim 14 which could be considered to be "The system of claim 14" such as "computer system", or "production management system". The Examiner recommends that the independent claim 14 have a preamble such as 'A system for Identifying a productive interval along a well comprising:" and that the dependent claims have a preamble such as "The system for identifying a productive interval along a well of claim 14 comprising:"
Note: the first instance of an element should be in the form “a [unique descriptive terminology]” and successive references to that element should be in the form “the [unique descriptive terminology]” where [unique descriptive terminology] is the same throughout the claims. This is necessary because similarly phrased elements can be patentably distinct. Otherwise, the claim would likely raise 35 U.S.C § 112(b) antecedent basis issues.
Claim 3 in lines 4-5 recites the limitation "identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the NMR log is below a transverse relaxation time threshold". The NMR log is a collection of data values where the data values may at times be above or below a threshold, but the NMR log is not above or below a threshold since the NMR log is not a data value. i.e. ‘below a threshold’ is a comparison of like data types (in this case relaxation time values).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, & 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]”:
Claims 1, 14, & 17 in lines 7-8, lines 9-10, & lines 8-9 (respectively) recites the limitation "determining ". It is unclear what “mechanical parameter data” is. The limitation raises questions such as: “How is this “mechanical parameter data” different from “well data”, which is also recited in the claim and which also includes acoustic data?”, & “Is the purpose to determine values such as ‘density’ or ‘porosity’ or etc. of the surrounding formation?”.
For the purposes of examination, and based at least on para 0053: “The mechanical parameter may include, but is not limited to, Young’s modulus, bulk modulus, and shear modulus.”, the mechanical parameter data is interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus.
Note: claim 7 overcomes the rejection due to specifying that the mechanical parameter is Young’s modulus.
Note: “mechanical parameter may include …” if included in the claims would render the claim scope indefinite since many other things could be implied by “mechanical parameter”.
Claims 1 & 14 & 17 in line 4 and line 9 & & line (respectively) recites the limitation, "a first candidate interval", and "a second candidate interval". It is not clear how these are different from each other or from “an interval of a well”. It is not clear how these intervals are identified or defined.
Note: Claims 6 & 19 clarifies that “second candidate interval” is “where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is below a mechanical parameter threshold and a porosity value among the porosity data is above a porosity threshold”, however, it is still unclear how “first candidate interval” is defined.
Claims 2-6, 8-13, 15-16, & 18-20 are rejected for inheriting the limitation(s) of a parent claim without rectifying the issue(s) for which the parent claim was rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Flow diagrams from MPEP 2106(III) & 2106.04(II)(A)
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
Claim 1:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
“identifying a first candidate interval within the interval using, at least in part, the well data, wherein a formation surrounding the well within the first candidate interval comprises micropores;”
“determining mechanical parameter data along the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the acoustic data;”
“identifying a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data and the porosity data;”
“determining water saturation data along the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the well data;”
“identifying a productive interval within the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the water saturation data and a water saturation threshold;”
“and determining a completion plan for the well based, at least in part, on the productive interval.”
Explanation:
Rule:
See MPEP 2106.04(c): “If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim recites a "product of nature" exception, and requires further analysis in Step 2A Prong Two to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.”
See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III): “Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions … The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation.”
See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2): “The mathematical concepts grouping is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. … It is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols,”
Analysis:
The limitation of “wherein a formation surrounding the well within the first candidate interval comprises micropores” is a characteristic of the geology of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature".
Limitations which under the broadest reasonable interpretation are not significantly more than ‘identifying using data’, ‘determining data based on data’, & ‘determining a plan’ are concepts performed in the human mind and are therefore within the abstract idea category of mental processes.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim recites abstract ideas or laws of nature.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
The additional limitations are:
“obtaining well data along an interval of a well, wherein the well data comprises acoustic data and porosity data;”
The elements are:
“a well”, “a formation surrounding the well”,
Note: “a completion plan” is data and at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation not an element.
Explanation:
Rule:
See MPEP 2106.05(g): “When determining whether an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity, examiners may consider the following: … (3) Whether the limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output).”
See MPEP 2106.05(h): “Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.”
Analysis:
The judicial exceptions as recited in Revised Step 2A Prong One necessarily imply ‘obtaining well data comprising acoustic data and porosity data’. Therefore this limitation is not significantly more than the judicial exception(s).
The elements amount to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment corresponding to at least the CPC symbols G01V1/40 or G01V1/50.
Conclusion:
Therefore, these limitations and elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
The additional elements as listed in Revised Step 2A prong 2 are generic elements.
These elements are no more than well-understood, routine, conventional activity recited at a high level of generality (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Evidentiary Requirements (see MPEP 2106.07(a)(III): “(C) a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s):
US 10209391 B2 “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” (Arro) see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2.
US 10151737 B2 “Method For Permeability Prediction Of Shale Gas” (Li) see Fig. 1B.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 2:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 2 additionally recites:
“further comprising completing the well based, at least in part, on the completion plan, wherein the completion plan comprises information on where to induce hydraulic fractures within a reservoir associated with the well based on a location of the productive interval.”
The additional elements are:
“reservoir”
Explanation:
Rule:
See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III): “Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions … The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation.”
See MPEP 2106.05(g): “In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[t]he notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance. A competent draftsman could attach some form of post-solution activity to almost any mathematical formula"
See MPEP 2106.05(f): “When determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider the following:
(1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".”
Analysis:
The limitation amount to no more than extra solution activity of post-solution activity. The claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Further, the limitation is not significantly more than that which is necessarily implied by the judicial exception(s) in the parent claim and so is equivalent to the words “apply it" with regard to the judicial exception(s).
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
The additional elements as listed in Revised Step 2A prong 2 are generic elements.
Evidentiary requirements (see MPEP 2106.07(a)(III): “(C) A citation to a publication that demonstrates the well understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s)”):
US 10209391 B2 “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” (Arro) see column 3 lines 17-19: “If the fluids in the reservoir are known, then one-dimensional inversion is normally used to quantify the fluid volumes in the NMR measured zone.”
US 10151737 B2 “Method For Permeability Prediction Of Shale Gas” (Li) see Fig. 1B-104: “shale reservoir”.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 3:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 3 additionally recites:
“[wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises:] and identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the NMR log is below a transverse relaxation time threshold.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
This limitation is further directed towards concepts performed in the human mind and is therefore within the abstract idea category of mental processes. One of ordinary skill in the art could receive NMR log data and determine within their mind whether “the NMR log is below a transverse relaxation time threshold.”.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes.
Note: The “a transverse relaxation time” is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature" limitation.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 3 additionally recites:
“[wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises:] obtaining a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) log along the interval of the well, wherein the well data further comprises the NMR log;”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitation amounts to no more than extra solution activity of pre-solution activity in the form of data gathering. Further, the limitation is not significantly more than that which is necessarily implied by the judicial exception(s) in the parent claim. “obtaining data” is necessarily implied by a judicial exception(s) which acts upon data.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Note: “NMR log” is data and at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation not an element.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 4:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 3 and thereby from claim 1.
Claim 4 additionally recites:
“[identifying] wherein the transverse relaxation time threshold is between 200 milliseconds and 300 milliseconds, inclusive.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
This limitation is further directed towards concepts performed in the human mind and is therefore within the abstract idea category of mental processes. One of ordinary skill in the art could obtain NMR log data and determine within their mind whether “the transverse relaxation time threshold is between 200 milliseconds and 300 milliseconds, inclusive.”.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes.
Note: The “a transverse relaxation time” is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature" limitation.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 4 does not recite any additional elements.
Note: “threshold” is a numerical value which can be determined in the mind.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
Claim 4 does not recite any additional elements.
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 5:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 5 additionally recites:
“[wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises:] … and identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the image of each of the rock cores is of the micropores.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitations/elements regarding “identifying the first candidate interval” amounts to no more than the abstract idea grouping of mental processes. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). ‘Identifying based on data’ is at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation a process which can be done in the human mind.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes.
Note: The “a transverse relaxation time” is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature" limitation.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 5 additionally recites:
“[wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises:] obtaining rock cores along the interval of the well;”
“[wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises:] … generating, using scanning electron microscopy, an image of each of the rock cores, wherein the image of each of the rock cores is of pores;”
The additional elements are:
“rock cores”, & “an image”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitations/elements regarding “obtaining rock cores” amounts to no more than “generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” corresponding to at least the CPC symbols of E21B 25/00: “Apparatus for obtaining or removing undisturbed cores, e.g. core barrels or core extractors”
The limitations/elements regarding “generating, using electron microscopy, an image of each of the rock cores” amounts to no more than “generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” corresponding to at least the CPC symbols G06V 2201/122: “Computational image acquisition in electron microscopy“.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
See MPEP 2106.05(I): “Instead, an "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself”
These elements are no more than what is implied by at least CPC symbols E21B 25/00 & G06V 2201/122.
The additional elements as listed in Revised Step 2A prong 2 are not significantly more than the judicial exception(s).
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 6:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 6 additionally recites:
“wherein the second candidate interval within the first candidate interval is identified where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is below a mechanical parameter threshold and a porosity value among the porosity data is above a porosity threshold, wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitations/elements regarding “identifying data which is above or below a threshold” amounts to no more than the abstract idea grouping of mental processes. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). ‘Identifying based on data’ is at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation a process which can be done in the human mind.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes.
Note: The “porosity” is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature" limitation.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 6 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 7:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 6 and thereby from claim 1.
Claim 7 additionally recites:
“wherein the mechanical parameter data comprises Young’s modulus data.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitations/elements regarding “[determining based on data] wherein the mechanical parameter data comprises Young’s modulus data.” amounts to no more than the abstract idea grouping of mental processes. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). ‘determining based on data’ is at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation a process which can be done in the human mind.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes.
Note: The “Young’s modulus” is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of the formation and is therefore a "product of nature" limitation.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 7 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 8:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 8 additionally recites:
“wherein identifying the second candidate interval comprises: determining, using a differential effective medium (DEM) model, a model between a mechanical parameter and porosity for a pore aspect ratio;”
“ and identifying the second candidate interval within the first candidate interval where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is within a mechanical parameter threshold of the model and a porosity value among the porosity data is within a porosity threshold of the model, wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The limitations/elements regarding “[determining based on data] using models based on data” and “identifying” amounts to no more than the abstract idea grouping of mental processes or of mathematical concepts.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mental processes or of mathematical concepts.
Note: “models” are interpreted as mathematical equations. A non-generic physical model would not be a judicial exception but there is not sufficient support for a physical model within the specifications.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 8 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 9:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 8 and thereby from claim 1.
Claim 9 additionally recites:
“wherein the pore aspect ratio is between 0.1 and 0.2, inclusive.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
This limitation is directed towards either the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts or to natural phenomenon. Ratios are mathematical values and a pore aspect ratio is a characteristic of a natural phenomenon.
Conclusion:
The claim recites an abstract idea of the abstract idea grouping mathematical concepts or of natural phenomenon.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 9 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 10:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 10 additionally recites:
“wherein the formation surrounding the well within the second candidate interval comprises euhedral texture and/or subhedral texture.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
This limitation is directed towards ‘texture of the formation surrounding the well’.
Conclusion:
The texture of the formation is a characteristic of the geology or chemistry of a natural phenomenon. Therefore claim recites a natural phenomenon.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 10 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 11:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 11 additionally recites:
“wherein the water saturation data is determined using an Archie equation.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
Equations (such as the Archie equation) are within the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts.
Conclusion:
This limitation is directed towards the abstract concept grouping of mathematical concepts..
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 11 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 12:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 12 additionally recites:
“wherein the water saturation threshold is greater than 50%.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
Equations (such as a threshold greater than a numerical value) are within the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts.
Conclusion:
This limitation is directed towards the abstract concept grouping of mathematical concepts..
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 12 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 13:
Step
Analysis
Step 1:
Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter
Yes;
The claim is directed towards a method, which is a process and one of the four statutory categories.
Revised Step 2A Prong One:
Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes;
The claim recites:
The judicial exception(s) as inherited from claim 1.
Claim 13 additionally recites:
“wherein the formation surrounding the well within the productive interval comprises carbonate.”
Explanation:
Analysis:
The comprising components of a formation are characteristics of the geology or chemistry of a natural phenomenon.
Conclusion:
Therefore claim recites a natural phenomenon.
Revised Step 2A Prong Two:
Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No;
Claim 13 recites no additional elements beyond those in step 2A prong One.
Step 2B:
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No;
There are no additional elements beyond those recited in step 2A
Conclusion:
Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 14-20 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, & 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10209391 B2 (Arro) in view of US 11078787 B2 (Moronkeji).
Regarding claim 1, Arro teaches a method comprising: obtaining well data along an interval of a well, wherein the well data comprises acoustic data and porosity data (Fig. 3 “acoustic” & “porosity”); identifying a first candidate interval within the interval using, at least in part, the well data, wherein a formation surrounding the well within the first candidate interval comprises micropores (Fig. 3 “porosity”, micropores/(porosity is about micropores in the formation)); determining mechanical parameter data along the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the acoustic data (Fig. 3 “acoustic”, if the system has acoustic data then it is “based, at least in part, on the acoustic data”); … and the porosity data (Fig. 3 “porosity”); determining water saturation data along the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the well data (Fig. 3 “Water Volume”); identifying a productive interval within the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the water saturation data and a water saturation threshold (Fig. 3 “HCIP and Productivity”, column 5 lines 64-66: “From the petrophysical analysis, an amount of hydrocarbons in place and productivity of the formation can be estimated.”); and determining a completion plan for the well based, at least in part, on the productive interval (column 5 line 66 to column 6 line 3: “With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Arro does not as explicitly teach identifying a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data.
Moronkeji teaches identifying a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data (Note as per 112(b) above: “mechanical parameter data” is being interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus, column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro with the teachings of Moronkeji. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” of Arro the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Moronkeji. The motivation would have been that current properties of the formation would allow for optimization of drilling parameters (see Moronkeji column 10 lines 4-12: “Moreover, advantages while drilling downhole are realized by setting or adjusting an operational parameter based on knowledge of downhole rock elastic properties. One example advantage is that armed with elastic constant information about the rock or subterranean formation, the rotational velocity of the coring bit 38 is set or adjusted in accordance with the rock or formation being drilled, and which can reduce wear of the bit 38 and increase its operational life and effectiveness.”).
Regarding claim 2, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Arro further teaches further comprising completing the well based, at least in part, on the completion plan, wherein the completion plan comprises information on where to induce hydraulic fractures within a reservoir associated with the well based on a location of the productive interval (Fig. 3 , column 5 line 64- column 6 line 2: “From the petrophysical analysis, an amount of hydrocarbons in place and productivity of the formation can be estimated. With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Regarding claim 3, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Arro further teaches wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises: obtaining a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) log along the interval of the well, wherein the well data further comprises the NMR log (Fig. 3 “NMR” & “simultaneous inversion of … logs”); and identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the NMR log is below a transverse relaxation time threshold (column 5 line 66 to column 6 line 3: “With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Regarding claim 4, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 3,
Arro further teaches wherein the transverse relaxation time threshold is between 200 milliseconds and 300 milliseconds, inclusive (column 4 lines 4-19: “The NMR measurements may yield a longitudinal relaxation time constant T.sub.1 and a transverse relaxation time constant T.sub.2 … There is not one single value of T.sub.2 for formation rock but a wide distribution of values lying anywhere between fractions of a millisecond (ms) and several seconds for example.”).
Regarding claim 6, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Arro further teaches and a porosity value among the porosity data is above a porosity threshold (Fig. 3 “Porosity”, system uses a porosity value to determine productivity and payoff of drilling, as such there must be a threshold below which it is not considered productive to drill), wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval (Fig. 1-9 “volume of interest”, position/(“volume of interest”)).
Moronkeji further teaches wherein the second candidate interval within the first candidate interval is identified where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is below a mechanical parameter threshold (Note as per 112(b) above: “mechanical parameter data” is being interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus, column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 7, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 6,
Moronkeji further teaches wherein the mechanical parameter data comprises Young’s modulus data (column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”).
Regarding claim 14, Arro teaches a system comprising: a computer system (Fig. 1-12 “Computer Processing System”) configured to: receive well data along an interval of a well, wherein the well data comprises acoustic data and porosity data (Fig. 3 “acoustic” & “porosity”), identify a first candidate interval within the interval using, at least in part, the well data, wherein a formation surrounding the well within the first candidate interval comprises micropores (Fig. 3 “porosity”, micropores/(porosity is about micropores in the formation)), determine mechanical parameter data along the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the acoustic data (Fig. 3 “acoustic”, if the system has acoustic data then it is “based, at least in part, on the acoustic data”), … and the porosity data (Fig. 3 “porosity”), determine water saturation data along the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the well data (Fig. 3 “Water Volume”), and identify a productive interval within the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the water saturation data and a water saturation threshold (Fig. 3 “HCIP and Productivity”, column 5 lines 64-66: “From the petrophysical analysis, an amount of hydrocarbons in place and productivity of the formation can be estimated.”); and a production management system configured to: determine a completion plan for the well based, at least in part, on the productive interval (column 5 line 66 to column 6 line 3: “With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Arro does not as explicitly teach identify a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data.
Moronkeji teaches identify a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data (Note as per 112(b) above: “mechanical parameter data” is being interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus, column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Arro with the teachings of Moronkeji. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” of Arro the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Moronkeji. The motivation would have been that current properties of the formation would allow for optimization of drilling parameters (see Moronkeji column 10 lines 4-12: “Moreover, advantages while drilling downhole are realized by setting or adjusting an operational parameter based on knowledge of downhole rock elastic properties. One example advantage is that armed with elastic constant information about the rock or subterranean formation, the rotational velocity of the coring bit 38 is set or adjusted in accordance with the rock or formation being drilled, and which can reduce wear of the bit 38 and increase its operational life and effectiveness.”).
Regarding claim 15, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the system of claim 14,
Arro further teaches further comprising a hydraulic fracturing system configured to complete the well based, at least in part, on the completion plan, wherein the completion plan comprises information on where to induce hydraulic fractures within a reservoir associated with the well, based on a location of the productive interval (Fig. 3 , column 5 line 64- column 6 line 2: “From the petrophysical analysis, an amount of hydrocarbons in place and productivity of the formation can be estimated. With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Regarding claim 16, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the system of claim 14,
Arro further teaches further comprising a well logging system configured to obtain, at least in part, the well data (Fig. 1, Fig. 3 “NMR” & “simultaneous inversion of … logs”).
Regarding claim 17, Arro teaches a non-transitory computer-readable memory (Fig. 1-12 “Computer Processing System”) having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a computer processor, perform steps comprising: receiving well data along an interval of a well, wherein the well data comprises acoustic data and porosity data (Fig. 3 “acoustic” & “porosity”); identifying a first candidate interval within the interval using, at least in part, the well data, wherein a formation surrounding the well within the first candidate interval comprises micropores (Fig. 3 “porosity”, micropores/(porosity is about micropores in the formation)); determining mechanical parameter data along the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the acoustic data (Fig. 3 “acoustic”, if the system has acoustic data then it is “based, at least in part, on the acoustic data”); … and the porosity data (Fig. 3 “porosity”); determining water saturation data along the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the well data (Fig. 3 “Water Volume”); identifying a productive interval within the second candidate interval based, at least in part, on the water saturation data and a water saturation threshold (Fig. 3 “HCIP and Productivity”, column 5 lines 64-66: “From the petrophysical analysis, an amount of hydrocarbons in place and productivity of the formation can be estimated.”); and determining a completion plan for the well based, at least in part, on the productive interval (column 5 line 66 to column 6 line 3: “With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Arro does not as explicitly teach identifying a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data
Moronkeji teaches identifying a second candidate interval within the first candidate interval based, at least in part, on the mechanical parameter data (Note as per 112(b) above: “mechanical parameter data” is being interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus, column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-transitory computer-readable memory taught by Arro with the teachings of Moronkeji. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” of Arro the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Moronkeji. The motivation would have been that current properties of the formation would allow for optimization of drilling parameters (see Moronkeji column 10 lines 4-12: “Moreover, advantages while drilling downhole are realized by setting or adjusting an operational parameter based on knowledge of downhole rock elastic properties. One example advantage is that armed with elastic constant information about the rock or subterranean formation, the rotational velocity of the coring bit 38 is set or adjusted in accordance with the rock or formation being drilled, and which can reduce wear of the bit 38 and increase its operational life and effectiveness.”).
Regarding claim 18, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the non-transitory computer-readable memory of claim 17,
Arro further teaches wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises: receiving a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) log along the interval of the well, wherein the well data further comprises the NMR log (Fig. 3 “NMR” & “simultaneous inversion of … logs”); and identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the NMR log is below a transverse relaxation time threshold (column 5 line 66 to column 6 line 3: “With this information, well completion tasks can be performed such as determining where to perforate a casing lining the well in order to produce hydrocarbons while excluding the production of water.”).
Regarding claim 19, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the non-transitory computer-readable memory of claim 17,
Arro further teaches and a porosity value among the porosity data is above a porosity threshold (Fig. 3 “Porosity”, system uses a porosity value to determine productivity and payoff of drilling, as such there must be a threshold below which it is not considered productive to drill), wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval (Fig. 1-9 “volume of interest”, position/(“volume of interest”)).
Moronkeji further teaches wherein the second candidate interval is identified where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is below a mechanical parameter threshold (Note as per 112(b) above: “mechanical parameter data” is being interpreted as either Young’s modulus or bulk modulus or shear modulus, column 2 lines 4-7: “the property of the subterranean rock formation is Young's modulus, Bulk modulus, Shear modulus, Poisson's ratio, and combinations thereof.”)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10209391 B2 (Arro) in view of US 11078787 B2 (Moronkeji) in view of WO 2009126881 A2 (Zhang).
Regarding claim 5, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Arro further teaches and identifying the first candidate interval within the interval where the image of each of the rock cores is of the micropores (Fig. 3 “porosity”, micropores/(porosity is about micropores in the formation)).
Moronkeji further teaches wherein identifying the first candidate interval comprises: obtaining rock cores along the interval of the well (Abstract: “Extracting a core sample from within a wellbore is optimized based on information extracted from acoustic signals that are generated downhole. The acoustic signals provide an indication of the formation being cored”);
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach generating, using scanning electron microscopy, an image of each of the rock cores, wherein the image of each of the rock cores is of pores.
Zhang teaches generating, using scanning electron microscopy, an image of each of the rock cores, wherein the image of each of the rock cores is of pores (para 0069: “Digital rocks or core samples can be generated from 2-dimensional thin sections, scanning-electron-microscope images … These are discrete variable training images with the attribute being the rock (white) or pore (black) at each pixel of the image”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Zhang. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “Method to Generate Numerical Pseudocores using Borehole Images, Digital Rock Samples and Multi-Point Statistics” which uses a scanning electron microscope (SEM) images of Zhang. The motivation would have been that the imaging with a electron microscope would enable the creation of accurate models for fluid-flow simulations (see Zhang para 070: “Numerical pseudocores can be gridded into models suitable for fluid-flow simulations. Capillary pressure and relative permeability curves are provided by conceptual models, special core analysis, or established techniques of fine-scale pore-network modeling”)
Claim(s) 8-9, 13 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10209391 B2 (Arro) in view of US 11078787 B2 (Moronkeji) in view of US 20240004097 A1 (Pervukhina).
Regarding claim 8, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Arro further teaches … and identifying the second candidate interval within the first candidate interval where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is within a mechanical parameter threshold of the model and a porosity value among the porosity data is within a porosity threshold of the model (Fig. 3 “Porosity”), wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval (Fig. 1 – 9 “volume of interest”, position/(“volume of interest”)).
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach wherein identifying the second candidate interval comprises: determining, using a differential effective medium (DEM) model, a model between a mechanical parameter and porosity for a pore aspect ratio.
Pervukhina teaches wherein identifying the second candidate interval comprises: determining, using a differential effective medium (DEM) model (para 0073: “Processor 112 may use rock physics methods including differential effective medium (DEM) and self-consistent approximation (SCA) methods to model the effect of the determined shale parameters in the subsurface formation,”), a model between a mechanical parameter and porosity for a pore aspect ratio (para 0083: “The silt fraction, aspect ratio and the elastic properties of silt inclusions may be used as input for these methods.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Pervukhina. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “Methods and Systems for Determining Parameters of Anistropy” of Pervukhina. The motivation would have been that the anisotropy of the subterranean formation would require calibration to optimize drilling parameters (see Pervukhina para 0073: “Further relationships may include that overpressure of shale affects both porosity and anisotropy, and that the effect of overpressure on anisotropy may be taken into account via porosity variations and might require calibration.”)
Regarding claim 9, Arro in view of Moronkeji in view of Pervukhina teaches the method of claim 8,
Pervukhina further teaches wherein the pore aspect ratio is between 0.1 and 0.2, inclusive (para 0084: “According to some embodiments, processor 112 may calculate the effect of porosity based on the assumption that the aspect ratios of pores within the shale are in the range of 0.5-0.7 … The range of plausible aspect ratios of fluid inclusions can be extended if new evidence comes to light. While the aspect ratio of pores is generally only used as a fitting parameter, the present method uses this aspect ratio to determine the effect of porosity on the elastic parameters of the shale. The elastic parameters determined at step 250 may be adjusted by processor 112 based on the determined effect.”).
The specific values of “between .1 and .2 can be achieved through routine optimization by optimizing the fit using the aspect ratio as a fitting parameter and thereby finding aspect ratios in the range of .1 to .2. As Pervukhina states it is known that the pore aspect ratio can be varied to achieve a better fit. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.” & MPEP 2144.05(II)(B):: “In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range.”.
Regarding claim 13, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach wherein the formation surrounding the well within the productive interval comprises carbonate
Pervukhina teaches wherein the formation surrounding the well within the productive interval comprises carbonate (para 0069: “The other constituents of shale may include silt and other different minerals, including but not limited to quartz, pyrite, feldspar and carbonates. However, the definition of shale may differ in some circumstances and may be altered by altering the rock physics model data stored in rock physics model library”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Pervukhina. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “Methods and Systems for Determining Parameters of Anistropy” of Pervukhina. The motivation would have been that the anisotropy of the subterranean formation would require calibration to optimize drilling parameters (see Pervukhina para 0073: “Further relationships may include that overpressure of shale affects both porosity and anisotropy, and that the effect of overpressure on anisotropy may be taken into account via porosity variations and might require calibration.”)
Regarding claim 20, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the non-transitory computer-readable memory of claim 17,
Arro further teaches and identifying the second candidate interval within the first candidate interval where a mechanical value among the mechanical parameter data is within a mechanical parameter threshold of the model and a porosity value among the porosity data is within a porosity threshold of the model (Fig. 3 “Porosity”), wherein the mechanical value and the porosity value are associated to a position within the second candidate interval (Fig. 1 – 9 “volume of interest”, position/(“volume of interest”)).
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach wherein identifying the second candidate interval comprises: generating, using a differential effective medium (DEM) model, a model between a mechanical parameter and porosity for a pore aspect ratio.
Pervukhina teaches wherein identifying the second candidate interval comprises: generating, using a differential effective medium (DEM) model (para 0073: “Processor 112 may use rock physics methods including differential effective medium (DEM) and self-consistent approximation (SCA) methods to model the effect of the determined shale parameters in the subsurface formation,”), a model between a mechanical parameter and porosity for a pore aspect ratio (para 0083: “The silt fraction, aspect ratio and the elastic properties of silt inclusions may be used as input for these methods.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-transitory computer-readable memory taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Pervukhina. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “Methods and Systems for Determining Parameters of Anistropy” of Pervukhina. The motivation would have been that the anisotropy of the subterranean formation would require calibration to optimize drilling parameters (see Pervukhina para 0073: “Further relationships may include that overpressure of shale affects both porosity and anisotropy, and that the effect of overpressure on anisotropy may be taken into account via porosity variations and might require calibration.”)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10209391 B2 (Arro) in view of US 11078787 B2 (Moronkeji) in view of US 11624853 B2 (Wheelock).
Regarding claim 10, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teaches wherein the formation surrounding the well within the second candidate interval comprises euhedral texture and/or subhedral texture
Wheelock teaches wherein the formation surrounding the well within the second candidate interval comprises euhedral texture and/or subhedral texture (Fig. 4, column 6 lines 9-11: “FIG. 4 shows SEM images of extracted pyrites from sapropel core samples with euhedral and framboidal morphologies.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Wheelock. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “Methods For Performing Formation Evaluation And Related Systems” of Wheelock. The motivation would have been that taking into account the euhedral texture would improve estimations of resistivity of fluids including hydrocarbons within the formation (see Wheelock column 2 lines 8-10: “A key benefit of this would be a significantly improved estimation of the resistivity of fluids, particularly hydrocarbons in the formation.”)
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10209391 B2 (Arro) in view of US 11078787 B2 (Moronkeji) in view of US 10445669 B2 (Wessling).
Regarding claim 11, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach where in the water saturation data is determined using an Archie equation.
Wessling teaches where in the water saturation data is determined using an Archie equation (column 5 line 65 to column 66 line 5: “One commonly used method to convert formation resistivity into formation water/oil saturation is the Archie model: [Archie equation]”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Arro in view of Moronkeji with the teachings of Wessling. One would have added to the “Simultaneous Inversion Of NMR Multiple Echo Trains And Conventional Logs” with “the “Estimating Properties Of A Subterranean Formation” of Arro in view of Moronkeji the “System And Method For Mapping Reservoir Properties Away From The Wellbore” of Wessling. The motivation would have been that using the Archie equation or model would enable better determinations of the water saturation of the formation (see Wesling column 5 line 65 to column 66 line 5: “One commonly used method to convert formation resistivity into formation water/oil saturation is the Archie model: [Archie equation]”)
Regarding claim 12, Arro in view of Moronkeji teaches the method of claim 1,
Neither Arro nor Moronkeji teach wherein the water saturation threshold is greater than 50%.
Wessling teaches wherein the water saturation threshold is greater than 50% (column 5 lines 28-35: “The interpretation is conducted by forward modeling the expected, synthetic tool response within a subsurface model, with the subsurface model describing the distribution of resistivities in the subsurface around the wellbore. The subsurface model is then iteratively adjusted until the expected, synthetic tool response coincides with the measurements of the logging-while-drilling tools.”).
The specific values of “water saturation threshold is greater than 50%” can be achieved through routine optimization by optimizing the fit of the subsurface model with the measurements. As Wessling states “subsurface model is then iteratively adjusted until the expected, synthetic tool response coincides with the measurements of the logging-while-drilling tools.”, where a saturation threshold would be part of the model for determining the expected tool response. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.” & MPEP 2144.05(II)(B):: “In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL “Multi-Parameter Logging Evaluation of Tight Sandstone Reservoir Based on Petrophysical Experiment.” ( Li) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 13 & 14.
US 12000279 B2 "Estimating Pore And Fluid Characteristic Properties In Rock Samples Using Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Analyses" (Ijasan) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2(L).
US 10151737 B2 "Method For Permeability Prediction Of Shale Gas" (Li) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1B.
NPL "Geological Well Logs" (Luthi) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 2.3.2 & Fig. 2.6.3).
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858