DETAILED ACTION
Examiner has received and accepted the amended claims and remarks filed on 4 May 2026. These amended claims and remarks are the claims and remarks being referred to in the instant Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (US 2018/0313800).
Regarding Claim 1, Rogers discloses a structure capable of being a thermal conductivity sensor for measuring a concentration of a gas, in at least Figure 1C, the sensor comprising: a substrate portion (102); an intermediate layer (160) disposed on the substrate portion (Figure 1C); a semiconductor layer (162) disposed on the intermediate layer (e.g. silicon carbide and silicon nitride are known semiconductors) [0067] (Figure 1C); and a dielectric layer (164) comprising a dielectric membrane [0068] (Figure 1C), the dielectric membrane provided with a heater (110), the dielectric membrane comprising one or more openings (see openings to the left and right of 101 in 164) (Figure 1C); wherein the dielectric membrane is located over a gap ( between 164 and 102 including 104), the gap being located in the semiconductor layer (Figure 1C),
Rogers fails to expressly disclose the gap has a thickness of up to 20 µm.
Rogers does disclose the device is on the µm scale [0124] or smaller [0065].
As such, it would have been obvious to size the gap to a thickness at the µm scale, including up to 20 µm, for the benefit of modifying the sensitivity and power consumption of the sensor, as taught by Rogers [0029].
Regarding Claim 2, Rogers discloses the gap is located in the intermediate layer (portions of gap in 160).
Regarding Claim 3, Rogers discloses the substrate portion comprises a semiconductor [0034; and the intermediate layer comprises an insulator [0066].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855