Response to Arguments
The examiner is maintaining the rejections in the previous Office Action because
the Applicant's arguments are not persuasive. Accordingly, This Action Is Made Final.
The Applicant has argued that “Therefore, Rowley et al. does not have an accommodation cavity for receiving the coolant member 15”.
The argument above is not persuasive because Riwley teaches coolant members 15 comprise a plurality of internal coolant channels 41 [0064] which receives the coolant.
The Applicant has argued “therefore, Rowley et al. fails to disclose the features "the upper flow-channel plate is sealingly connected to the chassis, a sealed accommodation space is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the chassis…Therefore, Rowley et al. fails to disclose the feature "a flow-channel space for cooling liquid flow is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the lower flow-channel plate" of amended claim 1…Hence, Rowley et al. at least does not disclose the following features as recited in the ordered combination of claim 1: "a cooling assembly, arranged in the lower accommodation cavity, wherein the cooling assembly comprises a lower flow-channel plate and an upper flow-channel plate, the upper flow- channel plate is sealingly connected to the chassis, a sealed accommodation space is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the chassis, the lower flow-channel plate is arranged in the accommodation space, and a flow-channel space for cooling liquid flow is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the lower flow-channel plate”.
The arguments above are not persuasive because “Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (MPEP 2125)”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 11-18 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rowley et al. (US20180154754).
2. Regarding claims 1-4, 7-9 and 19, Rowley teaches a cooling box (see Figure below), comprising: a chassis, wherein the chassis is provided with a first side wall, a bottom wall and a lower accommodation cavity surrounded by the first side wall and the bottom wall; and a cooling assembly, arranged in the lower accommodation cavity, wherein the cooling assembly comprises a lower flow-channel plate and an upper flow-channel plate, the upper flow-channel plate is sealingly connected to the chassis, a sealed accommodation space is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the chassis, the lower flow-channel plate is arranged in the accommodation space, and a flow-channel space for cooling is formed between the upper flow-channel plate and the lower flow-channel plate (see Figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rowley et al. (US20180154754) in view of Wang (US20200161721).
4. Regarding claim 10, the complete discussion of Rowley as applied to claims 1, 7 is incorporated herein. However, they are silent about the limitations of claim 10.
5. Wang teaches an upper cover (lid structure 150 [0032], Figure 1), wherein
the upper cover has an upper accommodation cavity (lid structure 150 can include a module current collector 155… The module current collector 155 can house or include a set of conductive lines [0033]), the upper cover (lid structure 150 [0032], Figure 1), is sealingly connected to the chassis (chassis 110, Figure 1), a mounting space (space between 150 and 110, Figure 1) is formed by the upper accommodation cavity and the lower accommodation cavity, and the mounting space is configured to accommodate a battery module (battery modules 145, Figure 1) for the benefit of improvement in integrity of the battery pack by lowering a risk of fluid leakage [0002]
6. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rowley with Wang’s teachings for the benefit of improvement in integrity of the battery pack by lowering a risk of fluid leakage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752