DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/30/2025 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 12/30/2025 with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration and search were performed resulting in a new ground(s) of rejection presented below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Wu does not disclose a processing system configured to case a UE to “receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource”.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Ly et al. (US 2019/0313411), hereinafter “Ly” discloses the amended feature of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Therefore, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 11, 21 and 26 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, thus are also rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15-17, 21-22, 24-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0328644), hereinafter “Wu” in view of Ly et al. (US 2019/0313411), hereinafter “Ly”.
As to claim 1, Wu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Wu, [0070], Fig. 1, [0082], Fig. 3A, the UE communicates via wireless with a base station (gNB)), comprising:
one or more antennas (Wu, Fig. 3A, [0083], the UE includes an antenna);
one or more memories (Wu, Fig. 3A, [0086], the UE includes a memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to (Wu, Fig. 3A, [0086], the UE includes a processor connected to the memory to execute the OS stored in the memory to perform the functions of the UE):
transmit a cell wake-up signal (WUS) that indicates a request for a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “the UE may wake up the dormant base station through a signaling (e.g., the first request signaling) to request the base station to transmit a DRS and/or SSB for synchronization”); and
receive the SSB via a resource that is based at least in part on the offset (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”).
Wu teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource.
However, Ly teaches receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource (Ly, [0062], “the first configuration may identify at least one…an SSB timing offset with respect to a reference timing (e.g., based at least in part on a subframe number)…the BS 110 may provide the first configuration to the UE 120 using signaling, such as RRC signaling”. See also [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to have the features, as taught by Ly in order to conserve processor resources that would otherwise be used to determine a different timing offset or provide increased flexibility for the timing offset of the second RLM-RS in comparison to using the same timing offset (Ly, [0068]).
As to claim 2, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource is associated with one or more of:
an active cycle that is associated with transmission of the cell WUS (Wu, [0134], “the request signaling is used for requesting the base station to transmit the reference signal for downlink synchronization in N consecutive cycles. For example, the UE transmits a WUS to wake up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS in N consecutive cycles, where the N is a positive integer”), or
a cell WUS occasion that is associated with transmission of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 3, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource or the offset is associated with one or more of:
a power-saving SSB having a periodicity that is associated with reduced power consumption at a network node (Wu, [0030], [0122], [0167], [0184], the gNB periodically transmits the reference signal (SSB) for downlink synchronization on a relatively sparse period during a dormant state. Based on the SSB transmission being too sparse, the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS). [0163], the dormant state is a power saving state. [0125], the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) based on the information indicating the periodic SSB transmission. Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) and preset gap are associated with a WUS transmission occasion/resource), or
a response to the WUS (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”. The transmission of the request signaling (WUS) and the preset gap are associated with SSB (response to the WUS)).
As to claim 5, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol (Wu, Fig. 1, [0068], [0070], [0109], the base station and UE communicate with each other via communications protocols, such as 5G, LTE, etc., in order to achieve synchronization via request signaling and SSBs),
a master information block,
a system information block (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Fig. 5, [0122], [0192] ln 16-18, the request signaling (WUS) is transmitted in a WUS transmission occasion and before the first preset gap),
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, [0166], “UEs in the RRC connected state and UEs in the RRC non-connected state (including UEs in the RRC idle state and/or UEs in the RRC non-active state) all may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS, receive a PRACH or enter an active state through a request signaling (e.g., WUS); or, only UEs in the RRC connected state may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS”), or
an indication from the UE (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 6, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on an indication from the UE (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion), and
wherein the indication from the UE is based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicator of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS occasion used to transmit the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS sequence group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted), or
a cell WUS preamble group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted).
As to claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”), are configured to cause the UE to:
monitor for the SSB at a time associated with a minimum offset from the reference resource (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0132], “the gap between the first request signaling and the reference signal for downlink synchronization is not less than the first preset gap. In an example, the gap between the WUS and the SSB/DRS is not less than the first preset gap”. The gap not less than the first preset gap indicates a minimum gap between the transmission of the first request signaling (WUS) and the reception of the SSB), or
monitor for the SSB based at least in part on receiving a response associated with the cell WUS (Wu, [0192], “receive acknowledgment (ACK) information transmitted by the base station after the request signaling is transmitted to the base station, and expect at least one of the following situations after a fourth preset gap of receiving the acknowledgment information: receiving at least one downlink signal…the base station transmits the ACK information for the WUS used for waking up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS…when the UE has received the corresponding ACK after transmitting the WUS, the UE expects to receive the SSB/DRS”).
As to claim 11, Wu teaches a network node for wireless communication (Wu, [0070], Fig. 1, [0082], Fig. 3B, [0090], the gNB communicates via wireless with a UE), comprising:
one or more antennas (Wu, Fig. 3B, [0091], the gNB includes a plurality of antennas 370a-370n);
one or more memories (Wu, Fig. 3B, [0095], the gNB includes a memory 380); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to (Wu, Fig. 3B, [0095], the gNB includes a processor that executes the programs stored in the memory to perform the functions of the gNB):
receive a cell wake-up signal (WUS) that indicates a request for a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “the UE may wake up the dormant base station through a signaling (e.g., the first request signaling) to request the base station to transmit a DRS and/or SSB for synchronization”); and
transmit the SSB via a resource that is based at least in part on the offset (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”).
Wu teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, transmit, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource.
However, Ly teaches transmit, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource (Ly, [0062], “the first configuration may identify at least one…an SSB timing offset with respect to a reference timing (e.g., based at least in part on a subframe number)…the BS 110 may provide the first configuration to the UE 120 using signaling, such as RRC signaling”. See also [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to have the features, as taught by Ly in order to conserve processor resources that would otherwise be used to determine a different timing offset or provide increased flexibility for the timing offset of the second RLM-RS in comparison to using the same timing offset (Ly, [0068]).
As to claim 12, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource is associated with one or more of:
an active cycle that is associated with reception of the cell WUS (Wu, [0134], “the request signaling is used for requesting the base station to transmit the reference signal for downlink synchronization in N consecutive cycles. For example, the UE transmits a WUS to wake up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS in N consecutive cycles, where the N is a positive integer”), or
a cell WUS occasion that is associated with reception of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 13, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource or the offset is associated with one or more of:
a power-saving SSB having a periodicity that is associated with reduced power consumption at the network node (Wu, [0030], [0122], [0167], [0184], the gNB periodically transmits the reference signal (SSB) for downlink synchronization on a relatively sparse period during a dormant state. Based on the SSB transmission being too sparse, the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS). [0163], the dormant state is a power saving state. [0125], the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) based on the information indicating the periodic SSB transmission. Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) and preset gap are associated with a WUS transmission occasion/resource), or
a response to the WUS (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”. The transmission of the request signaling (WUS) and the preset gap are associated with SSB (response to the WUS)).
As to claim 15, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol (Wu, Fig. 1, [0068], [0070], [0109], the base station and UE communicate with each other via communications protocols, such as 5G, LTE, etc., in order to achieve synchronization via request signaling and SSBs),
a master information block,
a system information block (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Fig. 5, [0122], [0192] ln 16-18, the request signaling (WUS) is transmitted in a WUS transmission occasion and before the first preset gap),
an RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, [0166], “UEs in the RRC connected state and UEs in the RRC non-connected state (including UEs in the RRC idle state and/or UEs in the RRC non-active state) all may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS, receive a PRACH or enter an active state through a request signaling (e.g., WUS); or, only UEs in the RRC connected state may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS”), or
an indication from a user equipment (UE) associated with the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 16, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on an indication from a user equipment (UE) (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion), and
wherein the indication from the UE is based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicator of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS occasion used to transmit the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS sequence group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted), or
a cell WUS preamble group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted).
As to claim 17, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”), are configured to cause the network node to:
transmit the SSB at a time associated with a minimum offset from the reference resource (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0132], “the gap between the first request signaling and the reference signal for downlink synchronization is not less than the first preset gap. In an example, the gap between the WUS and the SSB/DRS is not less than the first preset gap”. The gap not less than the first preset gap indicates a minimum gap between the transmission of the first request signaling (WUS) and the reception of the SSB), or
transmit the SSB based at least in part on transmitting a response associated with the cell WUS (Wu, [0192], “receive acknowledgment (ACK) information transmitted by the base station after the request signaling is transmitted to the base station, and expect at least one of the following situations after a fourth preset gap of receiving the acknowledgment information: receiving at least one downlink signal…the base station transmits the ACK information for the WUS used for waking up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS…when the UE has received the corresponding ACK after transmitting the WUS, the UE expects to receive the SSB/DRS”).
As to claim 21, Wu teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Wu, [0070], Fig. 1, [0082], Fig. 3A, the UE communicates via wireless with a base station (gNB)), comprising:
transmitting a cell wake-up signal (WUS) that indicates a request for a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “the UE may wake up the dormant base station through a signaling (e.g., the first request signaling) to request the base station to transmit a DRS and/or SSB for synchronization”); and
receiving the SSB via a resource that is based at least in part on the offset (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”).
Wu teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 21, receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource.
However, Ly teaches receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource (Ly, [0062], “the first configuration may identify at least one…an SSB timing offset with respect to a reference timing (e.g., based at least in part on a subframe number)…the BS 110 may provide the first configuration to the UE 120 using signaling, such as RRC signaling”. See also [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to have the features, as taught by Ly in order to conserve processor resources that would otherwise be used to determine a different timing offset or provide increased flexibility for the timing offset of the second RLM-RS in comparison to using the same timing offset (Ly, [0068]).
As to claim 22, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource is associated with one or more of:
an active cycle that is associated with transmission of the cell WUS (Wu, [0134], “the request signaling is used for requesting the base station to transmit the reference signal for downlink synchronization in N consecutive cycles. For example, the UE transmits a WUS to wake up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS in N consecutive cycles, where the N is a positive integer”), or
a cell WUS occasion that is associated with transmission of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 24, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on an indication from the UE (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion), and
wherein the indication from the UE is based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicator of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS occasion used to transmit the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS sequence group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted), or
a cell WUS preamble group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted).
As to claim 25, Wu teaches wherein receiving the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”) comprises one or more of:
monitoring for the SSB at a time associated with a minimum offset from the reference resource (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0132], “the gap between the first request signaling and the reference signal for downlink synchronization is not less than the first preset gap. In an example, the gap between the WUS and the SSB/DRS is not less than the first preset gap”. The gap not less than the first preset gap indicates a minimum gap between the transmission of the first request signaling (WUS) and the reception of the SSB), or
monitoring for the SSB based at least in part on receiving a response associated with the cell WUS (Wu, [0192], “receive acknowledgment (ACK) information transmitted by the base station after the request signaling is transmitted to the base station, and expect at least one of the following situations after a fourth preset gap of receiving the acknowledgment information: receiving at least one downlink signal…the base station transmits the ACK information for the WUS used for waking up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS…when the UE has received the corresponding ACK after transmitting the WUS, the UE expects to receive the SSB/DRS”).
As to claim 26, Wu teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Wu, [0070], Fig. 1, [0082], Fig. 3B, [0090], the gNB communicates via wireless with a UE), comprising:
receiving a cell wake-up signal (WUS) that indicates a request for a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Wu, [0111], “the request signaling for waking up the dormant base station may also be referred to as, but not limited to, a wake up signal (WUS), a request signal (RS), etc.”, Fig. 5, [0122], “the UE may wake up the dormant base station through a signaling (e.g., the first request signaling) to request the base station to transmit a DRS and/or SSB for synchronization”); and
transmitting the SSB via a resource that is based at least in part on the offset (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”).
Wu teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, transmitting, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource.
However, Ly teaches transmitting, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating an offset from a reference resource (Ly, [0062], “the first configuration may identify at least one…an SSB timing offset with respect to a reference timing (e.g., based at least in part on a subframe number)…the BS 110 may provide the first configuration to the UE 120 using signaling, such as RRC signaling”. See also [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to have the features, as taught by Ly in order to conserve processor resources that would otherwise be used to determine a different timing offset or provide increased flexibility for the timing offset of the second RLM-RS in comparison to using the same timing offset (Ly, [0068]).
As to claim 27, Wu teaches wherein the reference resource is associated with one or more of:
an active cycle that is associated with reception of the cell WUS (Wu, [0134], “the request signaling is used for requesting the base station to transmit the reference signal for downlink synchronization in N consecutive cycles. For example, the UE transmits a WUS to wake up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS in N consecutive cycles, where the N is a positive integer”), or
a cell WUS occasion that is associated with reception of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion).
As to claim 29, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on an indication from a user equipment (UE) (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion), and
wherein the indication from the UE is based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicator of the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS occasion used to transmit the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion),
a cell WUS sequence group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted), or
a cell WUS preamble group used for the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 6, [0140]-[0141], the second preset gap starts after the UE transmits the second request signaling for the PRACH. [0142], [0147]-[0148], the transmission of the second request signaling and second preset gap are based on the PRACH that overlaps with a dormant slot where the PRACH is being muted).
As to claim 30, Wu teaches wherein transmitting the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”) comprises one or more of:
transmitting the SSB at a time associated with a minimum offset from the reference resource (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0132], “the gap between the first request signaling and the reference signal for downlink synchronization is not less than the first preset gap. In an example, the gap between the WUS and the SSB/DRS is not less than the first preset gap”. The gap not less than the first preset gap indicates a minimum gap between the transmission of the first request signaling (WUS) and the reception of the SSB), or
transmitting the SSB based at least in part on transmitting a response associated with the cell WUS (Wu, [0192], “receive acknowledgment (ACK) information transmitted by the base station after the request signaling is transmitted to the base station, and expect at least one of the following situations after a fourth preset gap of receiving the acknowledgment information: receiving at least one downlink signal…the base station transmits the ACK information for the WUS used for waking up the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS…when the UE has received the corresponding ACK after transmitting the WUS, the UE expects to receive the SSB/DRS”).
Claims 4, 14, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0328644), hereinafter “Wu” in view of Ly et al. (US 2019/0313411), hereinafter “Ly” and further in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2021/0014815), hereinafter “Akkarakaran”.
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the SSB, are configured to cause the UE to receive the SSB during an SSB occasion, and
wherein a periodicity of occasions for the SSB is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol,
a master information block,
a system information block, or
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode.
As to claim 4, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the SSB, are configured to cause the UE to receive the SSB during an SSB occasion (Akkarakaran, Fig. 10, [0111], the UE receives the SSBs in the SSB occasions), and
wherein a periodicity of occasions for the SSB is based at least in part on one or more of (Akkarakaran, [0065], Fig. 5, [0084], the SSBs are transmitted in SSB occasions and with SSB periodicity):
a communication protocol (Akkarakaran, [0031]-[0032], the base station and UE communicate with each other using a communication protocol, such as 4G LTE, 5G NR, etc. to perform synchronization (i.e. SSBs). Fig. 4, [0100], the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs is comprised in a SIB or RRC message),
a master information block (Akkarakaran, [0064], Fig. 4, [0100], the UE reads the MIB to obtain the SIB. The SIB includes the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs),
a system information block (Akkarakaran, Fig. 4, [0100], the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs is comprised in a SIB or RRC message), or
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Akkarakaran in order to provide a more efficient way for a UE to perform initial searches for SSBs via an earlier indicator (Akkarakaran, [0009]).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the SSB, are configured to cause the network node to transmit the SSB during an SSB occasion, and
wherein a periodicity of occasions for the SSB is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol,
a master information block,
a system information block, or
and RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode.
As to claim 14, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the SSB, are configured to cause the network node to transmit the SSB during an SSB occasion (Akkarakaran, Fig. 10, [0111], the UE receives the SSBs in the SSB occasions), and
wherein a periodicity of occasions for the SSB is based at least in part on one or more of (Akkarakaran, [0065], Fig. 5, [0084], the SSBs are transmitted in SSB occasions and with SSB periodicity):
a communication protocol (Akkarakaran, [0031]-[0032], the base station and UE communicate with each other using a communication protocol, such as 4G LTE, 5G NR, etc. to perform synchronization (i.e. SSBs). Fig. 4, [0100], the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs is comprised in a SIB or RRC message),
a master information block (Akkarakaran, [0064], Fig. 4, [0100], the UE reads the MIB to obtain the SIB. The SIB includes the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs),
a system information block (Akkarakaran, Fig. 4, [0100], the indication of SSB occasions used by the first device to transmit SSBs and by the second device to receive the SSBs is comprised in a SIB or RRC message), or
an RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Akkarakaran in order to provide a more efficient way for a UE to perform initial searches for SSBs via an earlier indicator (Akkarakaran, [0009]).
As to claim 23, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol (Wu, Fig. 1, [0068], [0070], [0109], the base station and UE communicate with each other via communications protocols, such as 5G, LTE, etc., in order to achieve synchronization via request signaling and SSBs),
a master information block,
a system information block (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Fig. 5, [0122], [0192] ln 16-18, the request signaling (WUS) is transmitted in a WUS transmission occasion and before the first preset gap),
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, [0166], “UEs in the RRC connected state and UEs in the RRC non-connected state (including UEs in the RRC idle state and/or UEs in the RRC non-active state) all may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS, receive a PRACH or enter an active state through a request signaling (e.g., WUS); or, only UEs in the RRC connected state may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS”), or
an indication from the UE (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein receiving the SSB comprises receiving the SSB during an SSB occasion.
However, Akkarakaran teaches wherein receiving the SSB comprises receiving the SSB during an SSB occasion (Akkarakaran, Fig. 10, [0111], the UE receives the SSBs in the SSB occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Akkarakaran in order to provide a more efficient way for a UE to perform initial searches for SSBs via an earlier indicator (Akkarakaran, [0009]).
As to claim 28, Wu teaches wherein one or more of the offset or the reference resource is based at least in part on one or more of:
a communication protocol (Wu, Fig. 1, [0068], [0070], [0109], the base station and UE communicate with each other via communications protocols, such as 5G, LTE, etc., in order to achieve synchronization via request signaling and SSBs),
a master information block,
a system information block (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Fig. 5, [0122], [0192] ln 16-18, the request signaling (WUS) is transmitted in a WUS transmission occasion and before the first preset gap),
an RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode (Wu, [0035], “the request signaling is configured through system information and/or the request signaling is configured through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, [0166], “UEs in the RRC connected state and UEs in the RRC non-connected state (including UEs in the RRC idle state and/or UEs in the RRC non-active state) all may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS, receive a PRACH or enter an active state through a request signaling (e.g., WUS); or, only UEs in the RRC connected state may request the base station to transmit an SSB/DRS”), or
an indication from a user equipment (UE) associated with the cell WUS (Wu, Fig. 5, [0122], “Upon transmitting the first request signaling, the UE may expect to receive the corresponding DRS/SSB to achieve downlink synchronization (e.g., after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling)”, [0192] ln 16-18, the transmission of the request signaling (WUS) is associated with a WUS transmission occasion. The first preset gap starts after the UE transmits the request signaling (WUS) in the WUS transmission occasion).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 28, wherein transmitting the SSB comprises transmitting the SSB during an SSB occasion.
However, Akkarakaran teaches wherein transmitting the SSB comprises transmitting the SSB during an SSB occasion (Akkarakaran, Fig. 10, [0111], the UE receives the SSBs in the SSB occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Akkarakaran in order to provide a more efficient way for a UE to perform initial searches for SSBs via an earlier indicator (Akkarakaran, [0009]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0328644), hereinafter “Wu” in view of Ly et al. (US 2019/0313411), hereinafter “Ly” and further in view of Harada (US 2020/0404537).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the resource has a frequency component that is based at least in part on a synchronization raster indicated via one or more of:
a communication protocol,
a master information block,
a system information block, or
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode.
As to claim 8, Harada teaches wherein the resource has a frequency component that is based at least in part on a synchronization raster indicated via one or more of:
a communication protocol (Harada, [0050], an SSB is transmitted in a frequency location during initial access, where the frequency location is referred as a synchronization signal raster or synchronization raster. The frequency location is defined by a specification. [0002]-[0005], the specification includes LTE, LTE-A, 5G, etc. to receive MIB),
a master information block (Harada, Fig. 2, [0043], Fig. 6, [0105], the MIB includes Ssb-subcarrierOffset to search for a next SSB. [0035], [0039], [0215]-[0216], [0218]-[0219], the MIB also includes the parameter Ssb-IndexExplicit which provides information about a frequency location of a synchronization signal block to search (for example, an SS raster)),
a system information block (Harada, Fig. 6, [0106], the SIB1 indicates a frequency location of an SS raster to search for an SSB in another carrier band), or
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Harada in order to effectively utilize a broadcast channel in a synchronization signal block in future radio communication systems (Harada, [0009]).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the resource has a frequency component that is based at least in part on a synchronization raster indicated via one or more of:
a communication protocol,
a master information block,
a system information block, or
an RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode.
As to claim 18, Harada teaches wherein the resource has a frequency component that is based at least in part on a synchronization raster indicated via one or more of:
a communication protocol (Harada, [0050], an SSB is transmitted in a frequency location during initial access, where the frequency location is referred as a synchronization signal raster or synchronization raster. The frequency location is defined by a specification. [0002]-[0005], the specification includes LTE, LTE-A, 5G, etc. to receive MIB),
a master information block (Harada, Fig. 2, [0043], Fig. 6, [0105], the MIB includes Ssb-subcarrierOffset to search for a next SSB. [0035], [0039], [0215]-[0216], [0218]-[0219], the MIB also includes the parameter Ssb-IndexExplicit which provides information about a frequency location of a synchronization signal block to search (for example, an SS raster)),
a system information block (Harada, Fig. 6, [0106], the SIB1 indicates a frequency location of an SS raster to search for an SSB in another carrier band), or
an RRC message transmitted before the network node enters a sleep mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Harada in order to effectively utilize a broadcast channel in a synchronization signal block in future radio communication systems (Harada, [0009]).
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0328644), hereinafter “Wu” in view of Ly et al. (US 2019/0313411), hereinafter “Ly” and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0071680), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu discloses that the SSB include a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (Wu, [0177]), the UE requests the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0121]), and the base station periodically transmits a SSB which is not requested (Wu, [0122]). Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein a transmission power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the SSB is different from a configured transmission power of a PSS of a legacy SSB that is not requested.
As to claim 9, Zhou teaches wherein a transmission power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the SSB is different from a configured transmission power of a PSS of a legacy SSB that is not requested (Zhou, [0347], [0349], an existing SSB is modified to reduce power by carrying no or minimal info, such as PSS for example, which is called a light SSB. The light SSB is combined with a technique of transmitting SSBs less frequent. The base station transmits this light SSB with reduced power without being requested. A wireless device monitors the light SSB and transmits an uplink trigger signal, such as a WUS or C-WUS, and the base station starts transmitting the regular/default SSB. The regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide an option for network energy saving operation that does not negatively impact data transmission latency and/or power consumption during the access process (Zhou, [0347]).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the transmission power of the PSS is based at least in part on one or more of:
a system information block,
and RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode, or
an offset from the configured transmission power of the PSS of the legacy SSB that is not requested.
As to claim 10, Zhou teaches wherein the transmission power of the PSS (Zhou, [0347], [0349], the regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc. The regular/default SSB is transmitted after the WUS or C-WUS) is based at least in part on one or more of:
a system information block,
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode, or
an offset from the configured transmission power of the PSS of the legacy SSB that is not requested (Zhou, [0347], [0349], an existing (regular/default) SSB is modified to reduce power by carrying no or minimal info, such as PSS for example, which is called a light SSB. The base station transmits this light SSB with reduced power without being requested. A wireless device monitors the light SSB and transmits an uplink trigger signal, such as a WUS or C-WUS, and the base station starts transmitting the regular/default SSB. The regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide an option for network energy saving operation that does not negatively impact data transmission latency and/or power consumption during the access process (Zhou, [0347]).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu discloses that the SSB include a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (Wu, [0177]), the UE requests the SSB (Wu, Fig. 5, [0121]), and the base station periodically transmits a SSB which is not requested (Wu, [0122]). Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, wherein a transmission power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the SSB is different from a configured transmission power of a PSS of a legacy SSB that is not requested.
As to claim 19, Zhou teaches wherein a transmission power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the SSB is different from a configured transmission power of a PSS of a legacy SSB that is not requested (Zhou, [0347], [0349], an existing SSB is modified to reduce power by carrying no or minimal info, such as PSS for example, which is called a light SSB. The light SSB is combined with a technique of transmitting SSBs less frequent. The base station transmits this light SSB with reduced power without being requested. A wireless device monitors the light SSB and transmits an uplink trigger signal, such as a WUS or C-WUS, and the base station starts transmitting the regular/default SSB. The regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide an option for network energy saving operation that does not negatively impact data transmission latency and/or power consumption during the access process (Zhou, [0347]).
Wu and Ly teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Wu and Ly do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the transmission power of the PSS is based at least in part on one or more of:
a system information block,
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode, or
an offset from the configured transmission power of the PSS of the legacy SSB that is not requested.
As to claim 20, Zhou teaches wherein the transmission power of the PSS (Zhou, [0347], [0349], the regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc. The regular/default SSB is transmitted after the WUS or C-WUS) is based at least in part on one or more of:
a system information block,
an RRC message received before a receiving network node enters a sleep mode, or
an offset from the configured transmission power of the PSS of the legacy SSB that is not requested (Zhou, [0347], [0349], an existing (regular/default) SSB is modified to reduce power by carrying no or minimal info, such as PSS for example, which is called a light SSB. The base station transmits this light SSB with reduced power without being requested. A wireless device monitors the light SSB and transmits an uplink trigger signal, such as a WUS or C-WUS, and the base station starts transmitting the regular/default SSB. The regular/default SSB is an unmodified SSB, such as with regular power in the PSS, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu and Ly to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide an option for network energy saving operation that does not negatively impact data transmission latency and/or power consumption during the access process (Zhou, [0347]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473