DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 11, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20230007726 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang et al. teaches a configuration method, comprising: receiving a first cycle from a core network element and a second cycle from a terminal, wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle (Paragraph 25, 28, 42, teaches a network (core-side controlled) entity providing the UE with an initial DRX cycle configuration that governs the UE’s baseline service behavior), and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 25, 27, 55, teaches the terminal being associated with, storing, and signaling its intended use of a second DRX cycle that reflects the terminal’s expected service behavior); and configuring a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for the terminal based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 54, 56, 58, teaches determining and applying a DRX configuration by considering and transitioning between a first (baseline) DRX cycle and a second DRX cycle) to match a service wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle, and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 25, 56–57, teaches configuring and switching DRX cycles so the applied DRX behavior matches the service context and operational expectations of the terminal).
Regarding claim 2, Chang et al. teaches performing traffic shaping on a received data unit based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 18, 21, 25, 44–45, 57, 59–60, The passage teaches controlling when received transmissions are processed and delivered by selectively scheduling, delaying, or prioritizing received data units according to a first DRX cycle and a second DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 3, Chang et al. teaches obtaining a second traffic shaping service cycle obtained after traffic shaping is performed, wherein the second traffic shaping service cycle corresponds to the DRX cycle (Paragraph 25, 27, 53–58, teaches obtaining, after an initial operational cycle, a second service cycle in the form of a second DRX cycle configuration that is acquired from the network and used thereafter).
Regarding claim 4, Chang et al. teaches obtaining first information, wherein the first information indicates a transmission integrity requirement of the data unit, the data unit comprises N data packets, each of the N data packets comprises a same first identifier, the first identifier is used to identify the data unit, and N is a positive integer (Paragraph 15, 25, 43, The indicator constitutes first information obtained by the device that conveys a requirement affecting reliable handling of a group of related safety transmissions treated as a single logical unit); and sending sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier (Paragraph 17, 18, 43, 56, Based on the received indicator, the network controls when the terminal sleeps or wakes via DRX signaling tied to the same identified safety transmission context).
Regarding claim 5, Chang et al. teaches each of the N data packets further comprises a second identifier, and the second identifier is used to identify the data packet; and the sending sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier comprises: sending the sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information, the first identifier, and the second identifier (Paragraph 66, 67, The passage teaches that sleep behavior at the terminal is controlled based on received safety messages whose identifying contents (e.g., location, timing, and context) uniquely identify each data packet and are collectively used to determine when sleep indication information is applied).
Regarding claim 6, Chang et al. teaches the receiving an initial service cycle from a core network element comprises: receiving a quality of service (QoS) configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the initial service cycle (Paragraph 18, 25, 28, 29, 58, The DRX cycle configuration functions as a QoS configuration profile and includes the initial service cycle parameters that are received from a core network element such as a gNB or base station).
Regarding claim 7, Chang et al. teaches the obtaining first information comprises: receiving a QoS configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the first information (Paragraph 53, 57, 58, The WCD receives a second DRX configuration from the network via a dedicated message, which functions as a QoS profile comprising timing and scheduling information).
Regarding claim 8, Chang et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (Paragraph 33, 38, The passage expressly discloses an apparatus including processors executing software instructions stored in memory to perform the described functions), cause the apparatus to: receive a first cycle from a core network element and a second cycle from a terminal, wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle (Paragraph 28, 42, The passage teaches receiving an initial DRX cycle configuration from the network, which constitutes an initial service-related cycle provided by a core/network element), and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 25, 53, 56, The passage discloses reception of a second DRX cycle tailored to the terminal’s operational needs, representing a service cycle expected by the terminal); and configure a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for the terminal based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 27, 54, 64, The passage teaches configuring and switching DRX behavior by selectively applying first and second DRX cycle configurations) to match a service wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle, and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 21, 57, 58, The passage teaches selecting and configuring DRX cycles to align with specific service requirements and terminal expectations).
Regarding claim 9, Chang et al. teaches perform traffic shaping on a received data unit based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 18, 21, 25, 44–45, 57, 59–60, The passage teaches controlling when received transmissions are processed and delivered by selectively scheduling, delaying, or prioritizing received data units according to a first DRX cycle and a second DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 10, Chang et al. teaches the apparatus is further caused to: obtain a second traffic shaping service cycle obtained after traffic shaping is performed, wherein the second traffic shaping service cycle corresponds to the DRX cycle (Paragraph 25, 27, 53–58, teaches obtaining, after an initial operational cycle, a second service cycle in the form of a second DRX cycle configuration that is acquired from the network and used thereafter).
Regarding claim 11, Chang et al. teaches obtain first information, wherein the first information indicates a transmission integrity requirement of the data unit, the data unit comprises N data packets, each of the N data packets comprises a same first identifier, the first identifier is used to identify the data unit, and N is a positive integer (Paragraph 15, 25, 43, The indicator constitutes first information obtained by the device that conveys a requirement affecting reliable handling of a group of related safety transmissions treated as a single logical unit); and send sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier (Paragraph 17, 18, 43, 56, Based on the received indicator, the network controls when the terminal sleeps or wakes via DRX signaling tied to the same identified safety transmission context).
Regarding claim 12, Chang et al. teaches each of the N data packets further comprises a second identifier, and the second identifier is used to identify the data packet; and wherein the apparatus is caused to send the sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier, comprising: the apparatus is caused to send the sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information, the first identifier, and the second identifier (Paragraph 66, 67, The passage teaches that sleep behavior at the terminal is controlled based on received safety messages whose identifying contents (e.g., location, timing, and context) uniquely identify each data packet and are collectively used to determine when sleep indication information is applied).
Regarding claim 13, Chang et al. teaches the apparatus is caused to receive the initial service cycle from the core network element, comprising: the apparatus is caused to receive a quality of service (QoS) configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the initial service cycle (Paragraph 18, 25, 28, 29, 58, The DRX cycle configuration functions as a QoS configuration profile and includes the initial service cycle parameters that are received from a core network element such as a gNB or base station).
Regarding claim 14, Chang et al. teaches the apparatus is caused to obtain the first information, comprising: the apparatus is caused to receive a QoS configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the first information (Paragraph 53, 57, 58, The WCD receives a second DRX configuration from the network via a dedicated message, which functions as a QoS profile comprising timing and scheduling information).
Regarding claim 15, Chang et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer, the non-transitory computer readable medium is applied to a first communication apparatus, and the instructions comprise instructions to cause the computer to perform the steps of (Paragraph 33, 37, 38, 71, The passage teaches software code stored in memory and executed by a processor/controller of a communication apparatus (e.g., WCD 106 or base station 102) to perform defined method steps): receiving a first cycle from a core network element and a second cycle from a terminal, wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle (Paragraph 28, 42, The passage teaches receiving an initial DRX cycle configuration from the network, which constitutes an initial service-related cycle provided by a core/network element), and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 25, 53, 56, The passage discloses reception of a second DRX cycle tailored to the terminal’s operational needs, representing a service cycle expected by the terminal); and configuring a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for the terminal based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 27, 54, 64, The passage teaches configuring and switching DRX behavior by selectively applying first and second DRX cycle configurations) to match a service wherein the first cycle is an initial service cycle or a first traffic shaping service cycle, and the second cycle is a service cycle expected by the terminal (Paragraph 21, 57, 58, The passage teaches selecting and configuring DRX cycles to align with specific service requirements and terminal expectations); and configuring a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for the terminal based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 27, 54, 64, The passage teaches configuring and switching DRX behavior by selectively applying first and second DRX cycle configurations).
Regarding claim 16, Chang et al. teaches the instructions cause the computer to perform the steps of: performing traffic shaping on a received data unit based on the first cycle and the second cycle (Paragraph 18, 21, 25, 44–45, 57, 59–60, The passage teaches controlling when received transmissions are processed and delivered by selectively scheduling, delaying, or prioritizing received data units according to a first DRX cycle and a second DRX cycle); and obtaining a second traffic shaping service cycle obtained after traffic shaping is performed, wherein the second traffic shaping service cycle corresponds to the DRX cycle (Paragraph 25, 27, 53–58, teaches obtaining, after an initial operational cycle, a second service cycle in the form of a second DRX cycle configuration that is acquired from the network and used thereafter).
Regarding claim 17, Chang et al. teaches the instructions cause the computer to perform the steps of: obtaining first information, wherein the first information indicates a transmission integrity requirement of the data unit, the data unit comprises N data packets, each of the N data packets comprises a same first identifier, the first identifier is used to identify the data unit, and N is a positive integer (Paragraph 15, 25, 43, The indicator constitutes first information obtained by the device that conveys a requirement affecting reliable handling of a group of related safety transmissions treated as a single logical unit); and sending sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier (Paragraph 17, 18, 43, 56, Based on the received indicator, the network controls when the terminal sleeps or wakes via DRX signaling tied to the same identified safety transmission context).
Regarding claim 18, Chang et al. teaches each of the N data packets further comprises a second identifier, and the second identifier is used to identify the data packet; and the sending sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier comprises: sending the sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information, the first identifier, and the second identifier (Paragraph 66, 67, The passage teaches that sleep behavior at the terminal is controlled based on received safety messages whose identifying contents (e.g., location, timing, and context) uniquely identify each data packet and are collectively used to determine when sleep indication information is applied).
Regarding claim 19, Chang et al. teaches wherein the receiving an initial service cycle from a core network element comprises: receiving a quality of service (QoS) configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the initial service cycle (Paragraph 18, 25, 28, 29, 58, The DRX cycle configuration functions as a QoS configuration profile and includes the initial service cycle parameters that are received from a core network element such as a gNB or base station).
Regarding claim 20, Chang et al. teaches wherein the obtaining first information comprises: receiving a QoS configuration profile, wherein the QoS configuration profile comprises the first information (Paragraph 53, 57, 58, The WCD receives a second DRX configuration from the network via a dedicated message, which functions as a QoS profile comprising timing and scheduling information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nory et al. (US 20230345374 A1)
Maleki et al. (US 20240007951 A1)
Xu et al. (US 20240049137 A1)
Haque et al. (US 20240284332 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464