DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/26/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/26/2025. Claims 1 and 18 have been amended. Claims 8, 11, 14 and 15 are previously cancelled. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-13 and 16-24 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Main Argument(s):
Li is concerned with MUSIM UEs and focuses on a first network "select[ing] a configuration for the wireless device to use for operations with respect to a second network" (see abstract). That configuration particularly relates to network controlled short gap (NCSG) functionality … Applicant submits that neither of these corresponds with a "communication activity pattern" as defined by the pending claims.
In response to this argument, Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
The claims in the application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Using cited figures 6-7 from Li, a NCSG pattern describes when a UE is active or when it is not active. The NCSG pattern includes components such as measurement lengths and visible interruption lengths (VIL), which provides information on how long a UE is scheduled or a duration of a measurement, as well as when the UE is not active (gaps). This pattern can repeat, providing a timeline of when a network can expect UE activity or inactivity. The UE and network(s) can also exchange capability information including UE capabilities, timing requirements for switching RF chains and scheduling information. Once a network knows the UE capabilities, it can schedule communication activity, coordinate RF chain switching and generate communication. Using BRI, a communication activity pattern is a temporal, spatial or statistical behavior of data transmission, representing when, where and how devices access a wireless medium. It can define sequences of active and/or inactive states of components in a network. Thus, using the UE’s capability information, including NCSG pattern information, the network can create a pattern of expected activity and generate a schedule/timeline of transmissions and measurement opportunities that would match the UE’s capabilities/constraints, in other words, a communication activity pattern between the UE and network(s). In conclusion, Applicant’s claimed activity pattern reasonably and broadly interpreted amounts to a schedule. If Applicant wishes to overcome this interpretation, Examiner advises Applicant to use language from paragraph ¶0097 of the pre-grant publication. Examiner would like to respectfully remind the Applicant that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second Argument(s):
In addition, the Office Action has pointed to paragraphs [0079] and [00110] of Li, which explain that the "UE may indicate the end of communication with network 100B to network 100A". The Office Action seems to be asserting that this corresponds with the "end time" claim element of the pending claims. However, the "end of communication" in Li is a complete cessation of communication with the network, as can be seen from these passages and associated Figure 6, and not an "end time" referenced to a radio frame period as recited in the pending claims.
In response to this argument, Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In 5G NR, it is well understood in the art all activity is aligned to radio frames, subframes and slots. A UE’s NCSG pattern and MUSIM timing requirements allow a network to map the start and end of each communication interval specific to frames, subframes or slot boundaries. The NCSG pattern specifying active and inactive periods, with MUSIM IE timing requirements as well as the flowchart steps provided in Fig. 6 which explicitly indicate establishing communication (step 602, 608) and indicating end of communication (step 624) collectively show UE activity and scheduling in reference to radio frame periods. All network scheduling, measurement reporting and signaling operate in terms of radio frames, subframes and slots. TS 38.133 also describes NCSG operations in terms of radio frames, subframes and slots. Therefore, it is well understood in the art that NCSG patterns, and UE measurement gaps are references to radio frame periods, and start/end times of communication are interpreted in terms of radio frames, subframes and slot numbers.
Third Argument(s):
In addition, Applicant points out that nothing in Li directly mentions paging collision avoidance, so there is no pointer in the reference towards the invention of the pending claims.
In response to this argument, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., paging collision avoidance) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner would also like to note that cited ¶0079 does mention that the MUSIM operation described in Li may include paging receptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 12-13, 18-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Li et al. (WO 2023245469 A1), Li hereinafter and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160142998), Tsai hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Li teaches a method for configuring operation in respect of a User Equipment, UE that is configured to operate with a first cellular network as a first subscriber and to operate simultaneously with a second cellular network as a second, different subscriber, the method comprising: (¶0005 - a method at a user equipment device (UE) may comprise establishing communication with a first wireless network using a first subscriber identity module (SIM) of the UE and establishing communication with a second wireless network using a second SIM of the UE, wherein the second SIM of the UE is different than the first SIM of the UE);
generating, at the second cellular network, a communication activity pattern for the UE when the second cellular network is transmitting data with the UE, the communication activity pattern being based on information the second cellular network has about the UE; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0092 - Similarly, the UE and network 100B may exchange configuration information…. Further, the network 100B may determine measurement configuration for the UE … and indicate the configuration to the UE. ¶0089 - In some embodiments, the measurement period may be configured using an NCSG pattern. For example, the measurement period may be similar to the illustration of Figure 7 and/or may use a pattern (or patterns) as illustrated in the table above. Please also see ¶00140);
communicating, from the second cellular network to the first cellular network, the communication activity pattern for the UE, (Fig. 6 & ¶0095 - In other words, the information about communication with multiple networks may be indicated to network 100A at any time during or subsequent to establishing communication (e.g., in 602 and/or 612). ¶0097 - In some embodiments, in addition to the capability information, the UE may indicate one or more parameters of its communication with network 100B to network 100A. Please also see ¶00140);
the communication activity pattern indicating a start time and end time for the communication activity when the second cellular network is transmitting data with reference to a period of at least one radio frame, such that the second cellular network can be configured for communication with the UE during or excluding the time indicated by the communication activity pattern; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0077 - The capability information may include information related to the UE's capability and/or time requirements related to switching one or more RF chain between one network and another (e.g., between network 100A and network 100B) … For example, the UE may provide timing requirement information for the time periods illustrated in Figure 7 and as discussed in TS 38.133 for network controlled small gap (NCSG) operation. ¶00110 - The UE may indicate the end of communication with network 100B to network 100A (624) .... Please also see ¶0079);
receiving, at the first cellular network, the communication activity pattern, the UE being configured for simultaneous operation with the first cellular network using both a primary cell and a secondary cell, (¶0082 - The new capability may be indicated per UE, per band, and/or per band per band combination. ¶0083 - …the UE may be working with carrier aggregation (CA) in network A as follows. A primary cell (PCell) (cell 1) on Band 1, and a secondary cell (SCell) (cell 2) on Band 2. The UE may be capable of monitoring both Band 1 and Band 2 of network 100A using a single RF chain, e.g., leaving a second RF chain available for network 100B. ¶0094 - The UE may determine its capability(ies) with respect to communicating with the networks 100A and 100B (610) and indicate the capability(ies) to the network 100A (612) …);
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach wherein the first cellular network is configured to control activation and/or deactivation of the secondary cell according to the communication activity pattern so that the UE can transmit the data to the second cellular network.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly teaches wherein the first cellular network is configured to control activation and/or deactivation of the secondary cell according to the communication activity pattern so that the UE can transmit the data to the second cellular network (Fig. 8 & ¶0052 - Therefore, if the CA or DuCo is activated on the first SIM card, the processor 113 will deactivate the partial CA or DuCo on the first SIM card first (i.e. the first SIM card is not full CA or DuCo capable temporarily). When the processor 113 deactivates the partial CA or DuCo capability on the first SIM card, the processor 113 will dedicate an idle 4G hardware to the second SIM card and establish the PS call on the second SIM card).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tsai to the teaching of Li. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a Multi-SIM user equipment technology, and more particularly, to the Multi-SIM calls with carrier aggregation (CA) and/or dual connectivity (DuCo) (¶0003, Tsai).
Re. Claims 2 and 19, Li and Tsai teach Claims 1 and 18.
Li further teaches the end time is indicated by communication of a duration from the start time (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0077 - For example, the UE may provide timing requirement information for the time periods illustrated in Figure 7 and as discussed in TS 38.133 for network controlled small gap (NCSG) operation … In the case that the capability information relates to switching between networks, ML (e.g., which may be relabeled) may refer to the amount of time required for the UE to operate on the other network (e.g., 100B). …different ML, VIL1, and/or VIL2 values may be configured for different uses (e.g., measurements of other frequency bands vs. switching to a different network). ¶00110 - The UE may indicate the end of communication with network 100B to network 100A (624) …).
Re. Claims 7 and 24, Li and Tsai teach Claims 1 and 18.
Li further teaches the communicating is in the form of Radio Resource Control, RRC, signalling (Fig. 6 & ¶0078 - The capability information may be exchanged using any of various types of signaling/messages. For example, the UE and network may use RRC signaling, such as one or more information elements (IE)).
Re. Claim 9, Li and Tsai teach Claim 1.
Li further teaches the communicating is to a network entity of the first cellular network to indicate activity of the UE with the second cellular network (Fig. 6 & ¶0094 - The UE may determine its capability(ies) with respect to communicating with the networks 100A and 100B (610) and indicate the capability(ies) to the network 100A (612) …. ¶0095 - In other words, the information about communication with multiple networks may be indicated to network 100A at any time during or subsequent to establishing communication (e.g., in 602 and/or 612). ¶0097 - In some embodiments, in addition to the capability information, the UE may indicate one or more parameters of its communication with network 100B to network 100A).
Re. Claim 12, Li and Tsai teach Claim 1.
Li further teaches a computer program, configured when operated by a processor as part of the second cellular network, to control the second cellular network to perform the method claim 1 (¶0136 - A still further exemplary set of embodiments may include a computer program comprising instructions for performing any or all parts of any of the preceding examples. ¶00141 - Embodiments of the present disclosure may be realized in any of various forms. For example, in some embodiments, the present subject matter may be realized as a computer-implemented method, a computer-readable memory medium, or a computer system. Please also see ¶00142).
Re. Claim 13, Li and Tsai teach Claim 1.
Li further teaches a network entity of the second cellular network, configured to perform the method of claim 1 (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0092 - Similarly, the UE and network 100B may exchange configuration information…. Further, the network 100B may determine measurement configuration for the UE … and indicate the configuration to the UE. ¶0089 - In some embodiments, the measurement period may be configured using an NCSG pattern. For example, the measurement period may be similar to the illustration of Figure 7 and/or may use a pattern (or patterns) as illustrated in the table above. ¶00140 - Any of the methods described herein for operating a user equipment (UE) may be the basis of a corresponding method for operating a base station…).
Re. Claim 18, Li teaches a method for configuring operation in respect of a User Equipment, UE that is configured to operate with a first cellular network as a first subscriber and to operate simultaneously with a second cellular network as a second, different subscriber, the method comprising: (¶0005 - a method at a user equipment device (UE) may comprise establishing communication with a first wireless network using a first subscriber identity module (SIM) of the UE and establishing communication with a second wireless network using a second SIM of the UE, wherein the second SIM of the UE is different than the first SIM of the UE);
generating, at the UE, a communication activity pattern for the UE, when the second cellular network is transmitting data with the UE, the communication activity pattern being based on operational configurations of the UE; (Fig. 6 & ¶0077 - As one possibility, the capability information provided by the UE may include two parts: 1) support for the functionality of using NCSG pattern for MUSIM; 2) which NCSG pattern(s) are supported … However, the UE may be able to communicate with both networks during the ML, e.g., using different RF chains simultaneously, e.g., one or more RF chain for each network. It will be appreciated that different ML, VIL1, and/or VIL2 values may be configured for different uses (e.g., measurements of other frequency bands vs. switching to a different network). ¶0092 - Similarly, the UE and network 100B may exchange configuration information, e.g., the UE may provide capability information);
communicating, from the UE to the first cellular network, the communication activity pattern for the UE (¶00116 - the method may include transmitting, to the first wireless network, an indication that the UE has a capability to perform communication with the second wireless network without a measurement gap with respect to the first wireless network), the communication activity pattern indicating a start time and end time for communication activity when the second cellular network is transmitting data with reference to a period of at least one radio frame, such that the second cellular network can be configured for communication with the UE during or excluding the time indicated by the communication activity pattern; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0077 - The capability information may include information related to the UE's capability and/or time requirements related to switching one or more RF chain between one network and another (e.g., between network 100A and network 100B) … For example, the UE may provide timing requirement information for the time periods illustrated in Figure 7 and as discussed in TS 38.133 for network controlled small gap (NCSG) operation. ¶00110 - The UE may indicate the end of communication with network 100B to network 100A (624) .... Please also see ¶0079);
receiving, at the first cellular network, the communication activity pattern, the UE being configured for simultaneous operation with the first cellular network using both a primary cell and a secondary cell, (¶0082 - The new capability may be indicated per UE, per band, and/or per band per band combination. ¶0083 - …the UE may be working with carrier aggregation (CA) in network A as follows. A primary cell (PCell) (cell 1) on Band 1, and a secondary cell (SCell) (cell 2) on Band 2. The UE may be capable of monitoring both Band 1 and Band 2 of network 100A using a single RF chain, e.g., leaving a second RF chain available for network 100B. ¶0094 - The UE may determine its capability(ies) with respect to communicating with the networks 100A and 100B (610) and indicate the capability(ies) to the network 100A (612) …);
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach wherein the first cellular network is configured to control activation and/or deactivation of the secondary cell according to the communication activity pattern so that the UE can transmit the data to the second cellular network.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly teaches wherein the first cellular network is configured to control activation and/or deactivation of the secondary cell according to the communication activity pattern so that the UE can transmit the data to the second cellular network (Fig. 8 & ¶0052 - Therefore, if the CA or DuCo is activated on the first SIM card, the processor 113 will deactivate the partial CA or DuCo on the first SIM card first (i.e. the first SIM card is not full CA or DuCo capable temporarily). When the processor 113 deactivates the partial CA or DuCo capability on the first SIM card, the processor 113 will dedicate an idle 4G hardware to the second SIM card and establish the PS call on the second SIM card).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tsai to the teaching of Li. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a Multi-SIM user equipment technology, and more particularly, to the Multi-SIM calls with carrier aggregation (CA) and/or dual connectivity (DuCo) (¶0003, Tsai).
Claims 3-5, 16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Li and Tsai, and further in view of Schliwa-Bertling et al. (US 2024/0179790), Schliwa-Bertling hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 20, Li and Tsai teach Claims 1 and 18.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the start time is indicated with reference to both: a time from a start of a single radio frame; and a number of a radio frame from a group of multiple radio frames.
However, in the analogous art, Schliwa-Bertling explicitly teaches the start time is indicated with reference to both: a time from a start of a single radio frame; and a number of a radio frame from a group of multiple radio frames (Fig. 4-5, 13-14 & ¶0021 - One paging frame (PF) is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO. The paging message is the same for both RAN initiated paging and CN initiated paging. ¶0023 - A PO associated with a PF may start in the PF or after the PF. The PDCCH monitoring occasions for a PO can span multiple radio frames. ¶0024 - The following parameters are used for the calculation of PF… ¶0026 - N: number of total paging frames in T ¶0027 - Ns: number of paging occasions for a PF… Please also see ¶0117-¶0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schliwa-Bertling to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the invention includes the procedures during state transitions for any kind of periodic pattern and/or gap configuration that enables the multi-SIM operations (¶0111, Schliwa-Bertling).
Re. Claims 4 and 21, Li and Tsai teach Claims 1 and 18.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the communication activity pattern indicates a repetition of the communication activity with reference to the period of at least one radio frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schliwa-Bertling explicitly teaches the communication activity pattern indicates a repetition of the communication activity with reference to the period of at least one radio frame (Fig. 13-14 & ¶0117 - the periodic pattern represents a set of time domain windows (or “gaps”) repeated periodically… the periodic pattern is defined based on time domain units associated to the frame structure of the first PLMN1, so that PLMN2 easily interprets how to act based on the report. … It is given in number of subframes associated to the first PLMN (see TS 38.213, clause 4.1), i.e., the PLMN receiving the indication of the Periodic Pattern. periodicityAndOffset Periodicity and offset of the Periodic Pattern in which the UE wants to perform operations in the second PLMN (e.g. PLMN2) if the UE is operating in multi-SIM. Periodicity and offset are given in number of subframes. Please see ¶0117-¶0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schliwa-Bertling to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the invention includes the procedures during state transitions for any kind of periodic pattern and/or gap configuration that enables the multi-SIM operations (¶0111, Schliwa-Bertling).
Re. Claims 5 and 22, Li and Tsai and Schliwa-Bertling teach Claims 4 and 21.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the repetition is indicated by communicating a number of radio frames for which the communication activity is repeated.
However, in the analogous art, Schliwa-Bertling explicitly teaches the repetition is indicated by communicating a number of radio frames for which the communication activity is repeated (Fig. 13-14 & ¶0117 - It is given in number of subframes associated to the first PLMN (see TS 38.213, clause 4.1), i.e., the PLMN receiving the indication of the Periodic Pattern. periodicityAndOffset Periodicity and offset of the Periodic Pattern in which the UE wants to perform operations in the second PLMN (e.g. PLMN2) if the UE is operating in multi-SIM. Periodicity and offset are given in number of subframes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schliwa-Bertling to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the invention includes the procedures during state transitions for any kind of periodic pattern and/or gap configuration that enables the multi-SIM operations (¶0111, Schliwa-Bertling).
Re. Claims 6 and 23, Li and Tsai and Schliwa-Bertling teach Claims 4 and 21.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the repetition is indicated by communicating a duration of the period of at least one radio frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schliwa-Bertling explicitly teaches the repetition is indicated by communicating a duration of the period of at least one radio frame (Fig. 13-14 & ¶0177 - In one option, the periodic pattern is defined based on time domain units associated to the frame structure of the first PLMN1, so that PLMN2 easily interprets how to act based on the report … Some of the properties of the pattern may be window duration… for starting the first window in the pattern…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schliwa-Bertling to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the invention includes the procedures during state transitions for any kind of periodic pattern and/or gap configuration that enables the multi-SIM operations (¶0111, Schliwa-Bertling).
Re. Claim 16, Li and Tsai and Schliwa-Bertling teach Claim 4.
Li further teaches the repetition is indicated by communicating a bit map indicating radio frames for which the communication activity applies (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0082 - Further, the IE may indicate ML, VIRP, VIL1, and/or VIL2 or similar parameters. The IE may include a bitmap to indicate the supported NCSG pattern(s), according to some embodiments. Examiner interprets the NCSG patterns indicated by the bitmap inherently define when a UE is active within radio frames using the timing parameters (ML, VIRP, VIL, etc.) The bitmap is used to identify frame opportunities for activity, since NCSG patterns are sequences of defined intervals used for scheduling).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Li and Tsai, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0129522), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Li and Tsai teach Claim 9.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the communicating is from a network entity of the second cellular network to a network entity of the first cellular network.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the communicating is from a network entity of the second cellular network to a network entity of the first cellular network (Fig. 1, 4 & ¶0006 - the quality of communication between cellular network entities can be affected by radio signals… ¶0007 - The technical features … provide a method for communicating data … in a wireless communication system comprising a first type to network entity and a second type network entity which is different from the first type network entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the technical features can be used to improve the performance of the wireless network (¶0007, Kim).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Li and Tsai, and further in view of Gurumoorthy et al. (US 2024/0215101), Gurumoorthy hereinafter.
Re. Claim 17, Li and Tsai teach Claim 1.
Yet, Li and Tsai do not explicitly teach the communicating is in the form of a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
However, in the analogous art, Gurumoorthy explicitly teaches the communicating is in the form of a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (Fig. 6-10 & ¶0065 - In other embodiments, the gap(s) may be indicated in an uplink (UL) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the gap IDs for the chosen SG configurations are included in the message. The network acknowledges to the UE the current set of SG configurations that are active in a downlink (DL) MAC CE. These exemplary UL and DL MAC CEs may be added to existing CE definitions, or new MAC CEs may be defined for this purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gurumoorthy to the teachings of Li and Tsai. The motivation would be because the principles described in the present disclosure may be applied to any number of SIM and network combinations (¶0020, Gurumoorthy).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465