DETAILED ACTION
1. The office action is in response to the application filled on 8/10/2023.
3. Claims 1-20 Are pending and has been examined.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “housing 10”, [paragraph 0028] need to be changed to housing 105.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “deployment unit 20”, [paragraph 0029] need to be changed to deployment unit 136.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Nerheim (20220333904).
Regarding claim 1. Nerheim discloses a method performed by a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) to generate a stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2) generate and apply a stimulus signal to the target via the electrodes) (para. 0105), the method comprising: measuring a current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”, figure 3) (para. 0114) delivered by the stimulus signal to provide a measured current (e.g. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315” ); and setting a duration of the stimulus signal (i.e. “the control signal CC_DRIVE may be enabled for a duration of 25 μs to 120 μs) (the control signal CC_DRIVE may be enabled for a duration of time…”) (para. 0114, figure 2) in accordance with the measured current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”, figure 3).
Regarding claim 2. Nerheim discloses wherein measuring the current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”) (para. 0114, figure 3) comprises measuring a current of a pulse of the stimulus signal (i.e. “a same current source circuit 300 may be configured to provide each pulse of stimulus signal across different pairs of electrodes of a plurality of electrodes deployed from the CEW 100”) (para. 0116).
Regarding claim 3. Nerheim discloses wherein measuring the current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”) (para. 0114) comprises measuring a peak current of the stimulus signal (i.e. ”the current sense circuit 315 may be configured to measure a current through a load, such as the human target, and generate a sense signal SNS representing the current through the load which include high current and low current”) (para. 0091).
Regarding claim 4. Nerheim discloses wherein measuring the current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”) (para. 0114) comprises measuring the stimulus signal while the stimulus signal is delivered (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2) generate and apply a stimulus signal to the target via the electrodes) (para. 0105).
Regarding claim 5. Nerheim discloses wherein measuring the current (i.e. “measured current detected by the current sense circuit 315 and the desired amount of charge delivered to the target”) (para. 0114) comprises measuring the stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2) generate and apply a stimulus signal to the target via the electrodes) (para. 0105) within a period after delivery of the stimulus signal is initiated (i.e. “the stimulus signal from the current source circuit 300 may be provided via the first driver terminal HV1 for the period of time despite a lack of an enable signal being applied to the first driver circuit 305 from processing circuit 135 during the period of time”) (para. 0114).
Regarding claim 7. Nerheim discloses wherein delivering the stimulus signal to a target at a constant current (i.e. “a conducted electrical weapon (CEW) is provided, comprising: at least three electrodes configured to launch toward a target in response to activation of a trigger of the CEW; a signal generator circuit electrically connected to the electrodes and responsive to the activation of the trigger of the CEW, and comprising: a current source circuit configured to generate a constant current”) (para. 0031).
Regarding claim 13. Nerheim discloses a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) configured to conduct an electrical stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2) generate and apply a stimulus signal to the target via the electrodes) (para. 0105) through a target (i.e. a stimulus signal carries a charge into target tissue, (para. 0013)), the conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) comprising:
a signal generator (i.e. signal generator 145, figure 2) configured to generate the stimulus signal (i.e. the signal generator 145 may be configured to generate a stimulus signal) (para. 0043);
a plurality of electrodes (i.e. electrodes E1-En, figure 2) electrically coupled to the signal generator (i.e. signal generator 145, figure 2) to receive the stimulus signal (i.e. the stimulus signal travels from the signal generator, through the first filament and the first electrode) (para. 0055); a pulse sensor (i.e. Trigger 115, figure 2) coupled to the signal generator (signal generator 145, figure 2) and a processing circuit (i.e. processing circuit 135, figure 2) communicatively coupled to the plurality of electrodes (i.e. electrodes E1-En, figure 2), signal generator (i.e. the signal generator 145, figure 2), and the pulse sensor (i.e. trigger 115, figure 2), wherein the processing circuit (i.e. processing circuit 135, figure 2) is further configured to perform operations, comprising: measuring, via the pulse sensor (i.e. trigger 115, figure 2), a current of a pulse of the stimulus signal (i.e. accordingly, a same switch device (e.g., second switch device S2 or fourth switch device S4) may be used to provide both a first polarity of one pulse of a stimulus signal and a second, opposite polarity of another, different pulse of the stimulus signal, (para. 0116), figure 3) delivered to the target via the plurality of electrodes (i.e. electrodes E1-En, figure 2) (i.e a CEW may be used to deliver a stimulus signal through tissue of a human or animal target (para. 0012); and setting, via the signal generator (i.e. signal generator 145, figure 2), a duration of the pulse of the stimulus signal in accordance with the measured current (i.e. the control signal CC_DRIVE may be enabled for a duration of 25 μs to 120 μs) (the control signal CC_DRIVE may be enabled for a duration of time…) (para. 0114, figure 2).
Regarding claim 14. Nerheim discloses wherein the pulse sensor comprises a peak current (e.g. high current and low current) sensor and the current of the stimulus signal comprises a peak current of the stimulus signal (i.e. the current sense circuit 315 may be configured to measure a current through a load, such as the human target, and generate a sense signal SNS representing the current through the load which include high current and low current) (para.0091).
Regarding claim 15. Nerheim discloses wherein: the signal generator (i.e. the signal generator 145 may comprise a current source circuit 300, a plurality of driver circuits, and a current sense circuit 315, figure 3) (para. 0058) is configured to generate the stimulus signal at a constant current (the current source circuit 300 may be configured to provide a constant current to the plurality of driver circuits, figure 3) (para. 0058); and the operations comprise initiating delivery of the pulse of the stimulus signal, wherein initiating the delivery of the pulse comprises providing the pulse of the stimulus signal to the target at the constant current (i.e. a conducted electrical weapon (CEW) is provided, comprising: at least three electrodes configured to launch toward a target in response to activation of a trigger of the CEW; a signal generator circuit electrically connected to the electrodes and responsive to the activation of the trigger of the CEW, and comprising: a current source circuit configured to generate a constant current) (para. 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 6, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerheim (20220333904) in view of Brundula (20080259520).
Regarding claim 6. Nerheim discloses the method performed by a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) to generate a stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2).
But fails to explicitly disclose wherein the period comprises less than twenty microseconds.
Brundula disclose wherein the period comprises less than twenty microseconds (i.e. “a prescribed pulse of current may have a duration of from about 5 microseconds to about 200 microseconds…”) (para. 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Nerheim with the teaching of Brundula in order to improve effectiveness of halting locomotion. Effectiveness of pulse delivery depends on, inter alia, characteristics of a path for delivery (e.g., load conditions), electrical properties of components used in the apparatus, and operating conditions of the apparatus because effectiveness of pulse delivery (e.g., each pulse being effective) may be accomplished by compensating for inter alia variations of load conditions, component values, and operating conditions (para. 0021).
Regarding claim 19. Nerheim discloses the conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2).
But fails to explicitly disclose wherein the current of the pulse of stimulus signal is determined in accordance with a load impedance of the target to which the pulse of the stimulus signal is delivered.
Brundula disclose wherein the current of the pulse of stimulus signal is determined in accordance with a load impedance of the target to which the pulse of the stimulus signal is delivered (i.e. “effective delivery of current though a load (including a target) may depend on a degree of matching between an impedance of a delivery circuit and an impedance of the load”) (para. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Nerheim with the teaching of Brundula in order to improve effectiveness of halting locomotion. Effectiveness of pulse delivery depends on, inter alia, characteristics of a path for delivery (e.g., load conditions), electrical properties of components used in the apparatus, and operating conditions of the apparatus because effectiveness of pulse delivery (e.g., each pulse being effective) may be accomplished by compensating for inter alia variations of load conditions, component values, and operating conditions (para. 0021).
Regarding claim 20. Nerheim discloses the conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2).
But fails to explicitly disclose wherein measuring the current of the pulse comprises measuring the current of the pulse of the stimulus signal within a period of less than twenty microseconds after delivery of the pulse of the stimulus signal is initiated.
Brundula disclose wherein measuring the current of the pulse comprises measuring the current of the pulse of the stimulus signal within a period of less than twenty microseconds after delivery of the pulse of the stimulus signal is initiated (i.e. “a prescribed pulse of current may have a duration of from about 5 microseconds to about 200 microseconds…”) (para. 0027) (“the stimulus portion may have a shape prescribed as under damped, over damped, or critically damped. Delivered pulses may vary from the prescribed shape. Adjustment to achieve uniformity or reduce error of charge delivery may be achieved by adjusting primarily the stimulus portion of a pulse.”) (para. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Nerheim with the teaching of Brundula in order to improve effectiveness of halting locomotion. Effectiveness of pulse delivery depends on, inter alia, characteristics of a path for delivery (e.g., load conditions), electrical properties of components used in the apparatus, and operating conditions of the apparatus because effectiveness of pulse delivery (e.g., each pulse being effective) may be accomplished by compensating for inter alia variations of load conditions, component values, and operating conditions (para. 0021).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 8-12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8. Nerheim discloses the method performed by a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) to generate a stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2).
Nerheim does not teach, measuring a second current delivered by a second stimulus signal to provide a second measured current; and setting a second duration of the second stimulus signal in accordance with the second measured current, wherein the second duration of the second stimulus signal is different from the duration of the stimulus signal.
Prior art Basche et al. (US 20210148679) fig. 1, Nerhemi (US 20210080231) fig.2 and Nerheim (US 20220333904) fig.2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “measuring a second current delivered by a second stimulus signal to provide a second measured current; and setting a second duration of the second stimulus signal in accordance with the second measured current, wherein the second duration of the second stimulus signal is different from the duration of the stimulus signal.”
Claims 9-11 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 8.
Regarding claim 12. Nerheim discloses the method performed by a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) to generate a stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2).
Nerheim does not teach, wherein selecting the duration comprises matching the measured current with a corresponding duration using a table that correlates measured currents to corresponding pulse durations, wherein the duration comprises the corresponding duration and the table is stored in a processor of a conducted electrical weapon or accessed from a non-transitory, computer-readable memory of the conducted electrical weapon by the processor.
Prior art Basche et al. (US 20210148679) fig. 1, Nerhemi (US 20210080231) fig.2 and Nerheim (US 20220333904) fig.2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein selecting the duration comprises matching the measured current with a corresponding duration using a table that correlates measured currents to corresponding pulse durations, wherein the duration comprises the corresponding duration and the table is stored in a processor of a conducted electrical weapon or accessed from a non-transitory, computer-readable memory of the conducted electrical weapon by the processor.”
Regarding claim 16. Nerheim discloses the method performed by a conducted electrical weapon (i.e. the CEW 100, figure 2) to generate a stimulus signal (e.g. a signal from generator 145, (figure 2).
Nerheim does not teach, selecting the duration from a range of pulse durations for which the pulse of the stimulus signal may be applied by the conducted electrical weapon, and wherein the range of pulse durations comprises a range of increasing pulse durations associated with a range of increasing charges.
Prior art Basche et al. (US 20210148679) fig. 1, Nerhemi (US 20210080231) fig.2 and Nerheim (US 20220333904) fig.2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “selecting the duration from a range of pulse durations for which the pulse of the stimulus signal may be applied by the conducted electrical weapon, and wherein the range of pulse durations comprises a range of increasing pulse durations associated with a range of increasing charges.”
Claims 17 and 18 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 16.
Conclusion
//AFEWORK DEMISSE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838