DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on May 12, 2026, is acknowledged. Note that claims 10-18 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 recites “another side of the supporting portion” in line 2 and “another side of the connecting portion” in line 4. It is unclear what is “another side”? Is this the edge, face, side, front, back, etc. It would help clarify the claim if additional structure could be added to the claim to clarify what structure is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatol (US20220385014) in view of WO2010066093.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hatol teaches a busbar assembly comprising (see fig. 6-8; [0033-40]):
a busbar plate #144/146 electrically connected to PCB (printed circuit board [0007]) #128/130 which are connected respective tabs of PSUs (i.e. power supply units) #120;
a busbar terminal electrically connected to an external device (see abstract); and
a wherein the busbar plate #144/146 and the busbar terminal #188/212 [0048] are electrically connected via a butt joint.
As seen in figures 6-8, Hatol teaches the butt joint is formed by a boundary portion between a busbar plate and a busbar terminal in a state where the busbar plate and the busbar terminal are disposed to face each other (claim 2).
Hatol does not specifically teach using welding to secure the butt joint.
It is noted that the present application defines butt welding as a method of welding boundaries of two base materials in a state where the base materials that are subject to welding face each other [0069].
WO093 also teaches a busbar and ways in which a busbar can be connected to an external device. WO093 teaches a busbar #2 with an external connection head #1 electrically connected with each other (abstract). The head ( 1 ) is an inverted T-shape and consists of a narrower rectangular main body ( 1-1 ) and a wider root part ( 1-2 ). The plug socket of the bus bar ( 2 ) is provided with a notch ( 2-1 ) that matches the root part ( 1-2 ) of the head ( 1 ) and in which said head is embedded. The two opposing sides of the root part ( 1-2 ) of the head ( 1 ) across its width are respectively connected with the bus bar ( 2 ) by welding connection sections ( 3 ). It has the distinct advantages of a wider welding contact surface, and strong and non-deforming welding, while avoiding consumption of costly low-resistance metal, so it ensures good electrical conductivity after connection, and a low-cost, simple and convenient fabrication process (see abstract).
It is also noted that butt welding is a product-by-process limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized welding as taught by WO093 to join the busbar and external terminal in Hatol as WO093 teaches it is well known in the busbar art to utilize welding of two components that face each other in order to have a wider welding contact surface and strong and non-deforming weld and ensure good electrical conductivity and be low cost.
Regarding claim 3, It is noted that Hatol, for example in fig. 7 below, teaches supporting portions and a first plates #210 connected to the busbar #146. However, if it difficult to determine wherein the busbar plate comprises a supporting portion and a first plate connected to one side of the supporting portion, wherein the busbar terminal comprises a connecting portion disposed on the supporting portion; and the welding portion comprises a first welding portion formed between one side of the connecting portion and one side of the first plate based on the figure.
[AltContent: textbox (Support portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hatol teaches that the PSU, cells #120, can be connected to the bus bar holes via pins #160 (see fig. 2; [0026]) and that the busbar terminal further comprises a terminal lead connected to the connecting portion [0039].
Regarding claim 9, Hatol teaches the use of brackets #126 which read on a frame disposed between the plurality of battery cells and the busbar plate (see fig. 2 [0026]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatol (US20220385014) and WO2010066093, as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of either Kim (US20230327294) or Kim (US20210175567).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Hatol teaches that one or more dimension parameters of each bus bar 144, 146 may be designed so that the bus bars 144, 146 are capable of passing the designed power requirements. For example, a thickness of the bus bars 144, 146 and/or the length or width dimensions of the various flanges (e.g., top flange, bottom flange, bridge flange, system interface flange terminal, etc.) of the bus bars 144, 146 may be altered to yield electrical characteristics sufficient to match at least the designed power. In an embodiment, bus bars 144, 146 are capable of transmitting 15 kW of power supplied by the PSUs 120 to the PDS 110.
Hatol does not specifically disclose the thickness of the busbar or support plates [0035].
However, Kim ‘294 also teaches a battery bus bar and support plate and that to support a pressing force of the welding jig, the bus bar needs to have a certain thickness sufficient to have a certain mechanical rigidity or more. Accordingly, there is a great limitation in reducing a thickness of the bus bar in the related art [0010].
Additionally, Kim ‘567 also teaches a battery bus bar and support plate and that the thickness of the support region 132 is smaller than approximately 0.5 mm, the support region 132 may have low rigidity so as to be easily ruptured during welding with a bus bar or due to external shocks. If the thickness of the support region 132 is greater than approximately 1 mm, the support region 132 may have lower capability of elastically supporting the bus bar/the terminal region [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to have optimized the thickness of the bus bar and support plates in Hatol as taught by either Kim ‘567 or Kim ‘294 in order to provide the required mechanical rigidity during welding and to external shocks.
Additionally, it should also be known that limitations relating to size and dimensions are held not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984); MPEP 2144.04 IV. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN114221286 teaches the use of butt welding is known for bus bars.
Please note additional art cited on the PTO-892 pertaining to bus bars and their connections.
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776