DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on December 10, 2025 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 3-16 are amended; claims 17-20 are canceled; resulting in claims 1-16 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 10-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, it is suggested to amend the limitation reciting “arranged in a secondary pattern on backside of the substrate” to --arranged in a secondary pattern on the backside of the substrate-- in order to maintain proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 10-12, in the previous office action, it was suggested to amend the limitations reciting “void areas that are devoid or any hot melt adhesive” to --void areas that are devoid of any hot melt adhesive--. Each of claims 10-12 currently reads “void areas that are devoid areas that are devoid of hot melt adhesive”, where the strikethrough on the word “of” appears to be a typographical error. See 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2) for guidelines on markings of amended claims.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the limitations reciting “wherein single discontinuous hot melt adhesive patch” should be amended to recite --wherein the single discontinuous hot melt adhesive patch-- in order to maintain proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10-12, the limitations reciting “wherein the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch includes the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch and the additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches” are indefinite because it is not clear how a single adhesive patch can include both itself and additional adhesive patches.
It is also not clear whether the limitations in claims 10 and 11 are intended to require that both the additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches and the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch are bar shaped or circular shaped, respectively, or if the limitations in claims 10 and 11 are only intended to require that the additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches are bar shaped or circular shaped. It is noted that claims 10 and 11 lack proper antecedent basis for the recitation of “the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch and the additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches that are bar shaped [or circular shaped]”, as there is no prior recitation of such features in the claims.
For the purpose of applying prior art, the limitations in claims 10-12 will be interpreted to mean that the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch and the additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches are: bar shaped (claim 10), circular shaped (claim 11), or diamond shaped and triangular shaped, respectively (claim 12), and are separated by void areas that are devoid of hot melt adhesive (claims 10-12).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation reciting “wherein hot melt adhesive of the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch is layered or stacked onto the backside of the substrate” is of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
In particular, amended claim 1 currently recites “a single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch disposed on a backside of the substrate, wherein the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch comprises hot melt adhesive applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside”. The limitation in claim 3 requiring that hot melt adhesive of the adhesive patch is layered or stacked onto the backside is already required by claim 1, and thus does not further limit the invention of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigunas et al. (US 2021/0375160, previously cited) in view of Pan et al. (WO 2018/184198, newly cited).
Regarding claims 1-3, Vigunas et al. teaches a linerless label (100) comprising a substrate (101) having a first side (103) and a second side (105; backside), wherein the first side has a release coat (103), and the second side has at least one area of a first adhesive (120) and at least one different area of a second adhesive (130) ([0035], Figs. 1A-1C). Vigunas et al. teaches that the area of the first adhesive can include a permanent adhesive and the area of the second adhesive can include a removable or repositionable adhesive, wherein any suitable pattern of adhesive can be used for the first and/or second adhesive ([0039], [0049]). Suitable patterns of adhesive include continuous longitudinal strips or lanes and discontinuous strips or lanes, such as diagonal lines, chevrons, stars, diamonds, squares, triangles, rectangles, polygons, etc., and combinations thereof ([0049]), wherein an embodiment of a discontinuous pattern of second adhesive is shown in Fig. 5. Any region containing two or more portions of discontinuous second adhesive can be taken to correspond to the claimed single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch disposed on a backside of the substrate.
Although Vigunas et al. teaches that the second adhesive can include a removable or repositionable pressure sensitive adhesive, wherein pressure sensitive adhesives can include hot-melt adhesives ([0018], [0038], [0041]), the reference does not expressly teach that the hot melt pressure-sensitive adhesive is applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the substrate, wherein the multiple layers of stacked hot melt adhesive provide the label with repositionable characteristics enabling the label to be removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive labels, Pan et al. teaches hotmelt pressure sensitive adhesives (PSAs) that provide improved removability and repositionability without leaving significant adhesive residue on a bottle or other container from which the label is removed [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that this characteristic is important when the PSAs are utilized for repositionable or reattachable closure devices or to attach labels to containers that are to be reused or recycled [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that the PSAs demonstrate a desirable combination of adhesion/tack strength in conjunction with high levels of removability and/or repositionability [0015]. Pan et al. further teaches that the hotmelt PSA layer can be applied directly adjacent to the facestock, wherein the label can include two or more layers of hotmelt PSA, which can be coated onto the facestock with a coat weight of, for example, 5 gsm to 30 gsm [0076]. Pan et al. therefore teaches that the hotmelt PSA can be applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the label substrate to provide the label with repositionable characteristics as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the label taught by Vigunas et al. by using a repositionable hot melt PSA applied in two or more layers as the repositionable second adhesive, such that the label is capable of being removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack, as taught by Pan et al., in order to enable the label to be used in applications such as repositionable or reattachable closure devices or as labels for containers that are to be reused or recycled.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. below, the patterned second adhesive (130) comprises a single discontinuous patterned adhesive patch which comprises a primary discontinuous pattern that is repeated and arranged in a secondary pattern. The single adhesive patch of second adhesive (130) is repeated as an additional patch as a second discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch, which is disposed on the second side of the substrate in the same manner as the single adhesive patch.
It is noted that the configuration of discontinuous patterned second adhesive (130) as taught by Vigunas et al. can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch, primary discontinuous patterns, and secondary pattern. The configuration shown in annotated Fig. 5 above illustrates merely one exemplary interpretation thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. below, the patterned second adhesive (130) comprises a single discontinuous patterned adhesive patch which comprises at least two different primary discontinuous patterns (e.g., first and second primary discontinuous patterns shown below) that are repeated and arranged in a secondary pattern.
It is noted that the configuration of discontinuous patterned second adhesive (130) as taught by Vigunas et al. can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch, primary discontinuous patterns, and secondary pattern. The configuration shown in annotated Fig. 5 above illustrates merely one exemplary interpretation thereof.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 10, and 11, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in the annotated versions of Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. below, the patterned second adhesive (130) further comprises additional discontinuous patterned adhesive patches disposed on the second side (105; backside) of the substrate. The single adhesive patch and the additional adhesive patches have the same shape (e.g., bar shaped or circular shaped) and are separated by void areas that are devoid of hot melt adhesive.
It is noted that the configuration of discontinuous patterned second adhesive (130) as taught by Vigunas et al. can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch and additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches. The configurations shown in the annotated versions of Fig. 5 above illustrate merely one exemplary interpretation thereof.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 12, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. below, the patterned second adhesive (130) further comprises additional discontinuous patterned adhesive patches disposed on the second side (105; backside) of the substrate. The single adhesive patch has a diamond shape, and the additional adhesive patches have triangular shapes, wherein the single adhesive patch and the additional adhesive patches are separated by void areas that are devoid of hot melt adhesive.
It is noted that the configuration of discontinuous patterned second adhesive (130) as taught by Vigunas et al. can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch and additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches. The configuration shown in annotated Fig. 5 above illustrates merely one exemplary interpretation thereof.
Regarding claim 13, Vigunas et al. teaches a linerless label (100) comprising a substrate (101) having a first side (103) and a second side (105; backside), wherein the first side has a release coat (103), and the second side has at least one area of a first adhesive (120) and at least one different area of a second adhesive (130) ([0035], Figs. 1A-1C). The release coat serves to prevent the adhesive of the second side from adhering when the label media is rolled upon itself to form a linerless label roll (roll of labels) ([0016], [0037]). The second side may further include optical sensing marks (419, 421) printed thereon in order to assist in cutting between discrete patches of first adhesive ([0050], Figs. 4B, 4C). The optical sensing marks therefore correspond to the claimed sense marks which define and separate the labels.
Vigunas et al. teaches that the area of the first adhesive can include a permanent adhesive and the area of the second adhesive can include a removable or repositionable adhesive, wherein any suitable pattern of adhesive can be used for the first and/or second adhesive ([0039], [0049]). Suitable patterns of adhesive include continuous longitudinal strips or lanes and discontinuous strips or lanes, such as diagonal lines, chevrons, stars, diamonds, squares, triangles, rectangles, polygons, etc., and combinations thereof ([0049]), wherein an embodiment of a discontinuous pattern of second adhesive is shown in Fig. 5. Any region containing two or more portions of discontinuous second adhesive can be taken to correspond to the claimed at least one discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch disposed on a backside of the substrate.
Although Vigunas et al. teaches that the second adhesive can include a removable or repositionable pressure sensitive adhesive, wherein pressure sensitive adhesives can include hot-melt adhesives ([0018], [0038], [0041]), the reference does not expressly teach that the hot melt pressure-sensitive adhesive is applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the substrate, wherein the multiple layers of stacked hot melt adhesive provide the label with repositionable characteristics enabling the label to be removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive labels, Pan et al. teaches hotmelt pressure sensitive adhesives (PSAs) that provide improved removability and repositionability without leaving significant adhesive residue on a bottle or other container from which the label is removed [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that this characteristic is important when the PSAs are utilized for repositionable or reattachable closure devices or to attach labels to containers that are to be reused or recycled [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that the PSAs demonstrate a desirable combination of adhesion/tack strength in conjunction with high levels of removability and/or repositionability [0015]. Pan et al. further teaches that the hotmelt PSA layer can be applied directly adjacent to the facestock, wherein the label can include two or more layers of hotmelt PSA, which can be coated onto the facestock with a coat weight of, for example, 5 gsm to 30 gsm [0076]. Pan et al. therefore teaches that the hotmelt PSA can be applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the label substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the label taught by Vigunas et al. by using a repositionable hot melt PSA applied in two or more layers as the repositionable second adhesive, such that the label is capable of being removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack, as taught by Pan et al., in order to enable the label to be used in applications such as repositionable or reattachable closure devices or as labels for containers that are to be reused or recycled.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. below, each discontinuous patterned adhesive patch includes a repeated primary discontinuous adhesive pattern comprising six polygonal adhesive portions, wherein each adhesive patch is disposed in a predefined shape (e.g., a rectangular shape, as indicated by the dashed lines).
Regarding claim 16, Vigunas et al. in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. Any continuous portions of adhesive provided on the second side (105; backside) of the substrate, other than the portions used to correspond to the claimed discontinuous adhesive patch, can be taken to correspond to the claimed single continuous patterned adhesive patch disposed on the backside of at least one additional label of the roll in a predefined shape. For example, a single continuous polygonal portion of second adhesive shown in Fig. 5 of Vigunas et al. can be taken to correspond to the claimed single continuous patterned adhesive patch.
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Instance (US 5,584,955, previously cited) in view of Pan et al. (WO 2018/184198, newly cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Instance teaches a method of producing a succession of self-adhesive labels on a length of release material, in which a succession of patches (6, 42) of pressure-sensitive adhesive is applied to the upper surface of the release material (2, 44), wherein each patch of adhesive is formed of a series of parallel beads (8) or dots of adhesive (Abstract; col 2, Ln 19-25, 32-43; col 3, Ln 20-35; Figs. 1-2 and 4). The pressure-sensitive adhesive may be a hot-melt pressure-sensitive adhesive (col 2, Ln 28-31). A succession of labels is then fed onto the patches of adhesive such that a row of labels (10, 48) is adhered by the adhesive to the release material (col 2, Ln 44-62). Instance therefore teaches a label comprising a substrate, and at least one single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch formed by a discontinuous pattern of lines or dots of adhesive disposed on a backside of the substrate (Figs. 1-4).
Instance differs from the clamed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach that the hot melt pressure-sensitive adhesive is applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the substrate, wherein the multiple layers of stacked hot melt adhesive provide the label with repositionable characteristics enabling the label to be removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive labels, Pan et al. teaches hotmelt pressure sensitive adhesives (PSAs) that provide improved removability and repositionability without leaving significant adhesive residue on a bottle or other container from which the label is removed [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that this characteristic is important when the PSAs are utilized for repositionable or reattachable closure devices or to attach labels to containers that are to be reused or recycled [0013]. Pan et al. teaches that the PSAs demonstrate a desirable combination of adhesion/tack strength in conjunction with high levels of removability and/or repositionability [0015]. Pan et al. further teaches that the hotmelt PSA layer can be applied directly adjacent to the facestock, wherein the label can include two or more layers of hotmelt PSA, which can be coated onto the facestock with a coat weight of, for example, 5 gsm to 30 gsm [0076]. Pan et al. therefore teaches that the hotmelt PSA can be applied in multiple layers stacked onto the backside of the label substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adhesive labels taught by Instance by using a repositionable hot melt PSA applied in two or more layers as the hot-melt pressure-sensitive adhesive, such that the label is capable of being removed from an initial surface and reapplied to another surface without loss of adhesive tack, as taught by Pan et al., in order to enable the label to be used in applications such as repositionable or reattachable closure devices or as labels for containers that are to be reused or recycled.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 7-12, Instance in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Figs. 2 and 4 of Instance below, each of the patches (6, 42) of adhesive include a series of parallel beads (8) or dots of adhesive, where any set of two or more lines or dots of adhesive can be taken to correspond to the claimed single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch or to the claimed additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches (see dashed shapes in annotated Figs. 2 and 4 below).
In each embodiment, the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch comprises a primary discontinuous pattern which is repeated and arranged in a secondary pattern, wherein the single adhesive patch is repeated as at least one additional patch. Each of the single and additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches may have the same shape (e.g., a bar shape, a circular shape) or different shapes (e.g., a diamond shape and triangular shapes), and may be separated from one another by void areas that are devoid of adhesive.
It is noted that the configuration of patterned hot melt adhesive as taught by Instance can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch, primary discontinuous pattern, secondary pattern, and additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches. The configurations shown in annotated Figs. 2 and 4 above merely illustrate a few exemplary interpretations thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Instance in view of Pan et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 4 below, the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch can comprise at least two different primary discontinuous patterns, e.g., in which a first primary discontinuous pattern comprises three spaced apart dots of adhesive and a second primary discontinuous pattern comprises four spaced apart dots of adhesive, which are repeated and arranged in a secondary pattern on an upper surface of the release material.
It is noted that the configuration of patterned hot melt adhesive as taught by Instance can be interpreted in a variety of different ways to satisfy the claimed limitations directed to the single discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patch, primary discontinuous pattern, secondary pattern, and additional discontinuous patterned hot melt adhesive patches. The configuration shown in annotated Fig. 4 above illustrates merely one exemplary interpretation thereof.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
The previous objection to claims 10-12 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments to the claims in the response filed December 10, 2025.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are overcome by the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 6, and 13 in the response filed December 10, 2025.
In light of the amendments to the claims, new issues are presented under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112(d) in the office action above.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9 of the remarks filed December 10, 2025, have been considered but are moot because they do not address the new combination of references being used in the rejections above.
In light of the amendments to claim 1, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on Vigunas et al. and Instance are withdrawn, and Pan et al. is used as a secondary reference in combination with Vigunas et al. and with Instance to address the new limitations directed to the hot melt adhesive being applied in multiple layers to provide the label with repositionable characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keeton (US 2009/0169282) teaches a heat-activated linerless label comprising a heat-activated adhesive coating, which may include hot-melt rubber based adhesives (Abstract, [0063]). Keeton teaches that the repositionability of the adhesive can be controlled by the type of adhesive (e.g., high/low tack), the shape and/or size of the adhesive region, and/or the amount of adhesive activated within a given region, and that the tack of an adhesive can be varied by modifying the adhesive’s chemical composition, shape, size, and thickness ([0045], [0065]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rebecca L Grusby/Examiner, Art Unit 1785