DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on 05/21/2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 18/363,069 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
This communication is in response to applicant’s 05/21/2026 amendment or response in the application of GUNDAVELLI et al. for “PRIVATE NETWORK AVAILABILITY AND ACCESSIBILITY REPORTING” filed 08/01/2023. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. Claims 21-23 have been canceled. Claims 24-26 have been added. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19-20, 24-26 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 14-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIANG et al. (US 2023/0128225 A1), hereinafter XIANG in view of NORP (US 2024/0007940 A1).
Regarding claim 1, XIANG inherently discloses a method comprising:
registering a User Equipment (UE) with a computer network (inherent feature: the UE first must register with the service provider 215, see figure 2);
providing location information about the UE to an Application Function (AF) connected to the computer network (providing the UE location information to the home service provider (SP) comprise of application function, see ¶ 0022, figure 9);
obtaining a partial identifier that specifies a range of private wireless networks selected by the AF (the AF 717 sent the network list to UE 305 as part of report instruction information, see ¶ 0110), the partial identifier comprises a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) identifier with at least one wildcard value (network-initiated mobility when a UE moves between NPNs (or SNPNs), see ¶ 0089, the network sends a message including information including the target network e.g. SNPN ID, see ¶ 0091); and
sending a request to the UE for measurements associated with the range of private wireless networks (sending, by the home SP to the UE, a first message including information associated with the one or more target networks, the second message initiating a network switch changing a serving network of the UE from a current network to one target network of the one or more target networks, see ¶ 0022).
XIANG fails to disclose that the SNPN identifier includes a particular mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) portion that is set to a wildcard value enable the partial SNPN identifier to capture all MNCs available for the particular MCC.
In the same field of endeavor, NORP discloses the following:
In FIG. 3A, a PLMN entry is shown as a combination of a Mobile Country Code, MCC, and a Mobile Network Code, MNC. The MNC part of the PLMN entry is set with the value indicating that more PLMNs may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure when processing a (PLMN; RAT) pair. The PLMN entry for the (PLMN; RAT) pair shown has a value for the MNC that is associated with a value set to indicate that “any MNC” may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure using a wildcard value. The cellular communication device 1A may be configured to sequentially select a PLMN with any MNC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair in the PLMN selector list 2A. With the selection of any MNC within the MCC domain, the cellular communication device 1A interprets the wildcard for the MNC so that it may select the PLMN of various operators within the area indicated by the MCC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair. Again, in selecting the MNC, i.e. the operator in the area, the cellular communication device 1A may apply a condition as described above. In the embodiment of FIG. 3A, like in FIG. 2, the PLMN selector list 2A indicates that any PLMN that offers terrestrial access is preferred above PLMN1 offering satellite access (see ¶ 0020, 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement NORP’s teaching in the network taught by XIANG replacing the PLMN address having MCC and MNC in the SNPN address would provide seamless interoperability between the PLMN network and SNPN network.
Regarding claim 2, XIANG discloses receiving measurement results from the UE, the measurement results identifying one or more private wireless networks from the range of private wireless networks selected by the AF; and providing the measurement results to the AF (reporting, by the UE to the home SP, measurement information associated with the one or more candidate networks, see ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 6, XIANG discloses the AF selects the range of private wireless networks based on one or more of a service type of the private wireless networks, the location information about the UE, or policy preferences (selecting, by the home SP, one or more target networks in accordance with the information; and sending, by the home SP to the UE, a first message including information associated with the one or more target networks, the second message initiating a network switch changing a serving network of the UE from a current network to one target network of the one or more target networks, see ¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 24, XIANG discloses the measurement results are received from the UE via a UE configuration complete response message (UE 305 sends a network access stratum (NAS) message to AMF 705 to report the potential target networks (event 920). The NAS message includes the potential target networks (e.g., identifiers of the potential target networks) and optionally measurements (e.g., signal strength measurements) of the potential target networks, see ¶ 0130).
Regarding claim 8, XIANG inherently discloses an apparatus comprising:
a network interface configured to communicate with computing devices in one or more computer networks (the gNB 220 or 222 in communicate with service provider 215, see figure 2);
a wireless network interface configured to communicate with a plurality of User Equipment (UE) (the gNB 220 or 222 in communication with a plurality of UEs, see figures 1 and 2); and a processor coupled to the network interface and the wireless network interface, the processor configured to:
register a UE among the plurality of UE for access to the one or more computer networks (inherent feature: the UE first must register with the service provider 215, see figure 2);
cause the network interface to provide location information about the UE to an Application Function (AF) connected to the one or more computer networks (providing the UE location information to the home service provider (SP) comprise of application function, see ¶ 0022, figure 9);
obtaining a partial identifier via the network interface, the partial identifier specifying a range of private wireless networks selected by the AF (the AF 717 sent the network list to UE 305 as part of report instruction information, see ¶ 0110), the partial identifier comprises a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) identifier with at least one wildcard value (network-initiated mobility when a UE moves between NPNs (or SNPNs), see ¶ 0089, the network sends a message including information including the target network e.g. SNPN ID, see ¶ 0091); and
cause the wireless network interface to send a request to the UE for measurements associated with the range of private wireless networks (sending, by the home SP to the UE, a first message including information associated with the one or more target networks, the second message initiating a network switch changing a serving network of the UE from a current network to one target network of the one or more target networks, see ¶ 0022).
XIANG fails to disclose that the SNPN identifier includes a particular mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) portion that is set to a wildcard value enable the partial SNPN identifier to capture all MNCs available for the particular MCC.
In the same field of endeavor, NORP discloses the following:
In FIG. 3A, a PLMN entry is shown as a combination of a Mobile Country Code, MCC, and a Mobile Network Code, MNC. The MNC part of the PLMN entry is set with the value indicating that more PLMNs may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure when processing a (PLMN; RAT) pair. The PLMN entry for the (PLMN; RAT) pair shown has a value for the MNC that is associated with a value set to indicate that “any MNC” may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure using a wildcard value. The cellular communication device 1A may be configured to sequentially select a PLMN with any MNC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair in the PLMN selector list 2A. With the selection of any MNC within the MCC domain, the cellular communication device 1A interprets the wildcard for the MNC so that it may select the PLMN of various operators within the area indicated by the MCC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair. Again, in selecting the MNC, i.e. the operator in the area, the cellular communication device 1A may apply a condition as described above. In the embodiment of FIG. 3A, like in FIG. 2, the PLMN selector list 2A indicates that any PLMN that offers terrestrial access is preferred above PLMN1 offering satellite access (see ¶ 0020, 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement NORP’s teaching in the network taught by XIANG replacing the PLMN address having MCC and MNC in the SNPN address would provide seamless interoperability between the PLMN network and SNPN network.
Regarding claim 9, XIANG discloses receiving measurement results from the UE, the measurement results identifying one or more private wireless networks from the range of private wireless networks selected by the AF; and providing the measurement results to the AF (reporting, by the UE to the home SP, measurement information associated with the one or more candidate networks, see ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 26, XIANG discloses the measurement results are received from the UE via a UE configuration complete response message (UE 305 sends a network access stratum (NAS) message to AMF 705 to report the potential target networks (event 920). The NAS message includes the potential target networks (e.g., identifiers of the potential target networks) and optionally measurements (e.g., signal strength measurements) of the potential target networks, see ¶ 0130).
Regarding claim 14, XIANG inherently discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions that, when the software is executed on a computing device, is operable to cause a processor of the computing device to:
register a User Equipment (UE) with a computer network (inherent feature: the UE first must register with the service provider 215, see figure 2);
provide location information about the UE to an Application Function (AF) connected to the computer network (providing the UE location information to the home service provider (SP) comprise of application function, see ¶ 0022, figure 9);
obtain a partial identifier that specifies a range of private wireless networks selected by the AF (the AF 717 sent the network list to UE 305 as part of report instruction information, see ¶ 0110), the partial identifier comprises a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) identifier with at least one wildcard value (network-initiated mobility when a UE moves between NPNs (or SNPNs), see ¶ 0089, the network sends a message including information including the target network e.g. SNPN ID, see ¶ 0091); and
send a request to the UE for measurements associated with the range of private wireless networks (sending, by the home SP to the UE, a first message including information associated with the one or more target networks, the second message initiating a network switch changing a serving network of the UE from a current network to one target network of the one or more target networks, see ¶ 0022).
XIANG fails to disclose that the SNPN identifier includes a particular mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) portion that is set to a wildcard value enable the partial SNPN identifier to capture all MNCs available for the particular MCC.
In the same field of endeavor, NORP discloses the following:
In FIG. 3A, a PLMN entry is shown as a combination of a Mobile Country Code, MCC, and a Mobile Network Code, MNC. The MNC part of the PLMN entry is set with the value indicating that more PLMNs may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure when processing a (PLMN; RAT) pair. The PLMN entry for the (PLMN; RAT) pair shown has a value for the MNC that is associated with a value set to indicate that “any MNC” may be selected in the PLMN selection procedure using a wildcard value. The cellular communication device 1A may be configured to sequentially select a PLMN with any MNC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair in the PLMN selector list 2A. With the selection of any MNC within the MCC domain, the cellular communication device 1A interprets the wildcard for the MNC so that it may select the PLMN of various operators within the area indicated by the MCC when processing the (PLMN; RAT) pair. Again, in selecting the MNC, i.e. the operator in the area, the cellular communication device 1A may apply a condition as described above. In the embodiment of FIG. 3A, like in FIG. 2, the PLMN selector list 2A indicates that any PLMN that offers terrestrial access is preferred above PLMN1 offering satellite access (see ¶ 0020, 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement NORP’s teaching in the network taught by XIANG replacing the PLMN address having MCC and MNC in the SNPN address would provide seamless interoperability between the PLMN network and SNPN network.
Regarding claim 15, XIANG discloses receiving measurement results from the UE, the measurement results identifying one or more private wireless networks from the range of private wireless networks selected by the AF; and providing the measurement results to the AF (reporting, by the UE to the home SP, measurement information associated with the one or more candidate networks, see ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 19, XIANG discloses the AF selects the range of private wireless networks based on one or more of a service type of the private wireless networks, the location information about the UE, or policy preferences (selecting, by the home SP, one or more target networks in accordance with the information; and sending, by the home SP to the UE, a first message including information associated with the one or more target networks, the second message initiating a network switch changing a serving network of the UE from a current network to one target network of the one or more target networks, see ¶ 0022).
Claim(s) 7, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of XIANG-NORP in view of TALEBI FARD et al. (US 2023/0354463 A1), hereinafter TALEBI FARD.
Regarding claims 7, 13, the combination of XIANG-NORP fails to disclose that the request for measurements associated with the range of private wireless networks is formatted as a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
In the same field of endeavor, TALEBI FARD discloses the network entity in a SNPN network uses the RRC configuration message to transmits messages to UE (see ¶ 0232, 0241, 0244).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TALEBI FARD’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of XIANG-NORP for providing efficient resource management, where RRC allocates finite resources like bandwidth, time slots, and power to UEs based on network conditions and user needs, ensuring efficient utilization of the radio spectrum.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 16-17, 20, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-15, 19, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412