DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on 01 August 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending. The claims have been considered and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bunandar et al., U.S Patent App. Pub. 2019/0356394, hereinafter referred to as “Bunandar”.
Referring to claim 1, Bunandar discloses a system (See paragraph 0010). - A system comprising:
Bunandar discloses a memory for storing matrix for the photonic processor, the matrices can be images (See paragraphs 0099-0100 and 0357). - a memory configured to store a plurality of reference process images:
Bunandar discloses processor connected to the memory (See Fig. 1-1, paragraph 0099). - a processor communicably coupled to the memory and configured to:
Bunandar discloses photonic processors complete jobs (See paragraph 0223). - receive a command to process a job;
Bunandar discloses the job is for the photonic processors (See paragraph 0223). - generate a plurality of process images associated with processing the job, wherein each process image represents a portion of the processing of the job;
Bunandar discloses subdividing the matrices into submatrices for processing on the photonic processor (See paragraphs 0033 and 0239). - deploy the plurality of process images for processing on a plurality of optical computing nodes, wherein each of the plurality of optical computing nodes is assigned a portion of the process images;
Bunandar discloses determining errors in the output of the photonic processor (See paragraph 0203). - detect that a first process image failed to process at a first optical computing node of the plurality of optical computing nodes;
Bunandar discloses a precomputed test signal for the detectors (See paragraph 0203). - access from the memory, a first reference process image corresponding to the failed first process image;
Bunandar discloses determining the difference between the pre-computed test signals and the measured test signals to determine the error (See paragraphs 0203-0204). - compare the failed first process image to the first reference process image, wherein the comparison includes comparing metadata associated with the failed first process image and the first reference process image;
Bunandar discloses determining cause of the error via phase shift (See paragraph 0203-0205). - determine, based on the comparison, a root cause that caused the first process image to fail at the first optical computing node, wherein the root cause includes an inconsistency in the metadata between the failed first process image and the first reference process image;
Bunandar discloses calibrating the system based on the total systemic phase error (See paragraph 0203). - resolve the root cause associated with the first process image by removing the inconsistency between the first process image and the first reference process image; and
Bunandar discloses distributing the computation among multiple photonic processors (See paragraph 0222). - re-deploy the first process image for processing at the first optical computing node or a second optical computing node.
Referring to claim 2, Bunandar discloses determining errors in the output of the photonic processor (See paragraph 0203). - The system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: detect that the root cause that caused the first process image to fail is associated with a malfunction associated with the first optical computing node; and
Bunandar discloses distributing the computation among multiple photonic processors (See paragraph 0222). - in response to detecting that the root cause that caused the first process image to fail is associated with a malfunction associated with the first optical computing node, re-deploy the first process image for processing at the second optical computing node.
Referring to claim 5, Bunandar discloses calibrating the system based on the total systemic phase error (See paragraph 0203). - The system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to re-deploy the first process image by: generating an updated first process image after resolving the root cause associated with the first process image; and
Bunandar discloses distributing the computation among multiple photonic processors (See paragraph 0222). - deploying the updated first process image for processing at the first optical computing node.
Referring to claim 6, Bunandar discloses calibrating the system based on the total systemic phase error (See paragraph 0203). - The system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to re-deploy the first process image by: generating an updated first process image after resolving the root cause associated with the first process image; and
Bunandar discloses distributing the computation among multiple photonic processors (See paragraph 0222). - deploying the updated first process image for processing at the second optical computing node.
Claims 8, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 respectively, see above rejections. Additionally, Bunandar discloses a method (See paragraph 0011).
Claims 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 respectively, see above rejections. Additionally, Bunandar discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instructions to be executed by a processor (See paragraph 0410).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 12,443,356 to Tuner et al.
- Optical computing with disaggregated memory
U.S. Patent 8,218,965 to Uhlhorn et al.
- Optical failover routing
U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2025/0251970 to Singh et al.
- Job scheduler in Photonic quantum computing
/JOSEPH D MANOSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113 February 20, 2026