DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responded to the amendment filed on 07/15/2025.
According to the amendment filed on 07/26/2025:
Claims 1, 3, 15-16, 19, and 21-22 have been amended;
Claims 4-5, and 20 have been cancelled;
Claims 2, 6-14, and 17-18 are as previously presented.
Claims 21-22 are newly added.
This action is Final as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues regarding claims 1, 8 , and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Brady ( US 20180170674) is used as one example for newly cited limitation below.
Regarding claim 16, applicant argues that Hong does not disclose “motorized pivoting infrared spot light”. Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed.
Hong teaches motorized pivoting infrared spot light (spotlight/headlight that is adjustable to illuminate a desired location – see include but are not limited to Col. 10 line 33 – Col.11 line 28). While reference may not use the exact Phase “motorized pivoting infrared spotlight” the describe adjustability of the light inherently teaches or at least suggests a motorized pivoting function, as the adjustment is performed by a drive mechanism to change the illumination direction. Therefore, one of the ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the spotlight disclosed in the reference to be motorized pivoting infrared spotlight as claimed.
For the reason giving above, rejection of claim 1-3, 6-19, and 21-22 are discussed below.
Examiner’s Note
It is noted that non-functional descriptive material does not patentably distinguish over prior art that otherwise renders the claims unpatentable. See for example, MPEP 2111.05, MPEP 2112.01(III), 2173.05(g). See also In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Exparte Nehls, 88 USPQ2d 1883, 1887-90 (BPAI 2008) (precedential) (discussing cases pertaining to non-functional descriptive material) see also BPAI' s decision in Appeal 2009-010851 (for Ser. No. 10/622,876) or BPAI' s decision in Appeal 2011-011929 (for Ser. No. 11/709,170), pages 6-7.
In this case, a particular type of information such as “a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building”, could be considered as non-functional descriptive material and are not required to give patentable weight because these particular types of data do not functionally change the structure or operation of determine the determining a location, the limitations “a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building” is only given patentable weight of a type of location or destination.
Although non-functional descriptive materials are not required to be considered, all claim limitations including non-functional descriptive material are known by prior art as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) being anticipated by Hong (U.S 9789808).
Regarding claim 16, Hong disclose a navigation system for a vehicle that highlights a target location that is part of a destination, the navigation system comprising(navigation system with interface unit highlighting the target destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 5, lines 30-42): a spotlight device that generates a beam of infrared light to create an infrared spotlight, where in the spotlight device is a motorized pivoting infrared spotlight (A headlight device that generate infrared light to create spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21, Col. 10 line 33 – Col.11 line 28); one or more infrared cameras that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination (camera that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 9 lines 3-12, col.10 lines 33- 40); a display that renders images upon a screen ( a touch screen that display image – see include, but are not limited to col.7 lines 53-58); and one or more controllers in electronic communication with the spotlight device, the infrared camera, and the display, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to (Control unit see include, but are not limited to col. 6 lines 8-12): determine the vehicle is approaching the destination (determine if the vehicle approaching the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 41-48); in response to determining the vehicle is approaching the destination, calculate a target angle indicating where the spotlight device directs the beam of infrared light to create the infrared spotlight upon the target location (determine the angle of approach when reaching the destination to illuminate the infrared light toward the location – see include, but are not limited to col.3 line 55- col4. Line 6, col. 10 lines 49-60); receive the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras of the target location of the destination (receive captured image by one or more camera (video sensor device -see col.4, lines 6-12) including night-vision (infrared) video and/or image of the target location – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 lines 21-40), where the infrared image data includes the infrared spotlight (the infrared image includes infrared spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21); and instruct the display to show the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras (show the nigh-vision (infrared) video and/or image captured by camera – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 21-32) .
Regarding claim 17, Hong disclose the navigation system of claim 16, further comprising a user input device in electronic communication with the one or more controllers, wherein the user input device receives user input generated by an occupant of the vehicle (vehicle graphic interface receives user input – see include, but are not limited to col.10 lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 18, Hong disclose the navigation system of claim 17, wherein the user input indicates the destination, and wherein the one or more controllers determine the target location of the destination (vehicle graphic interface receives user input – see include, but are not limited to col.10 lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 19, Hong disclose the navigation system of claim 18, further comprising one or more visible light cameras in electronic communication with the one or more controller, wherein the one or more visible light cameras capture image data representative of the target location of the destination (one or more visible light cameras that capture image data representative of the target location of the destination (image capturing device, capture destination location data- see include but are not limited to Col. 13 lines 54-67); wherein the one or more controllers determine an exact position of the target location of the destination based on a description of the destination and the image data captured by the one or more visible light cameras representing the destination (determine the exact position of the location based on the context of mapping destination or image capture by the cameras see include, but are not limited to col 10, line 61- col 11, line 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-15 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (U.S 9789808) in view of Brady et al. (US 10241516).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a navigation system for a vehicle that highlights a target location that is part of a destination, the navigation system comprising (navigation system with interface unit highlighting the target destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 5, lines 30-42):
a spotlight device that generates a beam of infrared light to create an infrared spotlight (A headlight device that generate infrared light to create spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21);
one or more infrared cameras that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination; (camera that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 9 lines 3-12, col.10 lines 33- 40);
one or more visible light cameras that capture image data representative of the target location of the destination (image capturing device, capture destination location data- see include but are not limited to Col. 13 lines 54-67).
a display that renders images upon a screen (a touch screen that display image – see include, but are not limited to col.7 lines 53-58);
and one or more controllers in electronic communication with the spotlight device, the infrared camera, and the display, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to (Control unit see include, but are not limited to col. 6 lines 8-12): determine the vehicle is approaching the destination (determine if the vehicle approaching the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 41-48); in response to determining the vehicle is approaching the destination, calculate a target angle indicating where the spotlight device directs the beam of infrared light to create the infrared spotlight upon the target location (determine the angle of approach when reaching the destination to illuminate the infrared light toward the location – see include, but are not limited to col.3 line 55- col4. Line 6, col. 10 lines 49-60);
determine an exact position of the target location of the destination based on a description of the destination and the image data captured by the one or more visible light cameras representing the destination (determine the destination location based on the descriptive and image data captured by the imaging device – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 lines 54-67, Col. 2 line 61- Col.3 line 18, Col. 10 lines 33-48); select one of the potential target locations as the target location (select object as a destination – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 line 51- Col.3 line 18).
receive the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras of the target location of the destination (receive captured image by one or more camera (video sensor device -see col.4, lines 6-12) including night-vision (infrared) video and/or image of the target location – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 lines 21-40), where the infrared image data includes the infrared spotlight (the infrared image includes infrared spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21);
and instruct the display to show the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras (show the nigh-vision (infrared) video and/or image captured by camera – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 21-32).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination; wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building;
Brady disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination (the autonomous ground vehicle deliver package when arrive at the delivery location - see include but are not limited to Fig.5 Col. 35 line 56- Col. 36 line 22); and determine potential target locations based on the description of the destination, wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building (the delivery location includes front porch, front door, etc. – see include but are not limited to Col. 59 lines 49-67);
Hong, and Brady are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, vehicle control and navigation. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with the teaching of a task associated with the destination; wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building as taught by Brady in order to yield predicable result of increase the efficiency when delivering package [ Col. 1 line 22-41].
Regarding claim 2, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, further comprising a user input device in electronic communication with the one or more controllers, wherein the user input device receives user input generated by an occupant of the vehicle (vehicle graphic interface receives user input – see include, but are not limited to Hong col.10 lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 3, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 2, as discussed supra with respect to the same
Hong teach, wherein the user input indicates the destination (user input indicates the destination, and the graphic user interface determine the location of the destination - see include, but are not limited to Hong col 10, line 61- col 11, line 28).
Regarding claim 6, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 2, as discussed supra with respect to the same
Hong teach, wherein the user input device is one of the following: a touchscreen, a keyboard, or an audio receiver that captures voice commands spoken by an occupant of the vehicle (user input includes touch screen microphone – see Hong col. 8, lines 24-29).
Regarding claim 7, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the target angle represents an angle measured between a direction of travel of the vehicle and the target location of the destination (the angle is measure between direction of travel and target location (angle of approach) – see include, but are not limited to Hong col. 3, lines 55-66).
Regarding claim 9, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, further comprising a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) in electronic communication with the one or more controllers, wherein the GNSS provides location data (navigation includes global positioning satellite – see include but are not limited to Hong col.10 lines 52-60).
Regarding claim 10, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 9, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to: continuously monitor the location data provided by the GNSS to determine a current location of the vehicle (constantly receiving signal regarding the location of the vehicle – see Hong col. 8 lines 1 -5); compare the current location of the vehicle with the destination; and in response to determining the current location of the vehicle is within a threshold distance from the destination, determine the vehicle is approaching the destination (Identify the current location and determine if the vehicle is within range as it reaching the destination (object) – see include, but are not limited to Hong col. 10, line 41-61).
Regarding claim 11, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the spotlight device is one of the following: a motorized pivoting infrared spotlight, a fixed-position matrix spotlight including a plurality of infrared light-emitting diodes (LEDs), and LiDAR (the spot beam can include infrared, LIDAR, etc. – see include, but are not limited to Hong col. 3 lines 55- col. 4 line 5).
Regarding claim 12, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the destination is represented by one of the following: a street address and location coordinates (the destination is a street address or location coordinates – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 lines 41-48; col. 6, lines 47-59).
Regarding claim 13, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 1,
as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the one or more controllers are in wireless communication with a personal electronic device associated with an occupant of the vehicle (control unit communicated with occupant’s personal device – see include but are not limited to col. 11, lines 37-53).
Regarding claim 14, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 13, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the target location of the destination is shown upon a display of the personal electronic device (display destination on personal device – see include, but are not limited to col 11, lines 54 – col.12, lines 12).
Regarding claim 15, Hong disclose a method for highlighting a target location of a destination by an infrared spotlight by a navigation system for a vehicle, the method comprising (navigation system with interface unit highlighting the target destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 5, lines 30-42): determining, by one or more controllers, the vehicle is approaching the destination; in response to determining the vehicle is approaching the destination, calculating, by the one or more controllers, a target angle indicating wherein a spotlight device directs a beam of infrared light to create an infrared spotlight upon the target location (determine the angle of approach when reaching the destination to illuminate the infrared light toward the location – see include, but are not limited to col.3 line 55- col4. Line 6, col. 10 lines 49-60); determine an exact position of the target location of the destination based on a description of the destination and the image data captured by the one or more visible light cameras representing the destination (determine the destination location based on the descriptive and image data captured by the imaging device – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 lines 54-67, Col. 2 line 61- Col.3 line 18, Col. 10 lines 33-48); select one of the potential target locations as the target location (select object as a destination – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 line 51- Col.3 line 18).
receive the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras of the target location of the destination (receive captured image by one or more camera (video sensor device -see col.4, lines 6-12) including night-vision (infrared) video and/or image of the target location – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 lines 21-40), where the infrared image data includes the infrared spotlight (the infrared image includes infrared spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21);
and instruct the display to show the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras (show the nigh-vision (infrared) video and/or image captured by camera – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 21-32).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination; wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building;
Brady disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination (the autonomous ground vehicle deliver package when arrive at the delivery location - see include but are not limited to Fig.5 Col. 35 line 56- Col. 36 line 22); and determine potential target locations based on the description of the destination, wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building (the delivery location includes front porch, front door, etc. – see include but are not limited to Col. 59 lines 49-67);
Hong, and Brady are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, vehicle control and navigation. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with the teaching of a task associated with the destination; wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building as taught by Brady in order to yield predicable result of increase the efficiency when delivering package [ Col. 1 line 22-41]
Regarding claim 16, Hong disclose a navigation system for a vehicle that highlights a target location that is part of a destination, the navigation system comprising(navigation system with interface unit highlighting the target destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 5, lines 30-42): a spotlight device that generates a beam of infrared light to create an infrared spotlight, where in the spotlight device is a motorized pivoting infrared spotlight (A headlight device that generate infrared light to create spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21); one or more infrared cameras that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination (camera that capture infrared image data representative of the target location of the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 9 lines 3-12, col.10 lines 33- 40); a display that renders images upon a screen ( a touch screen that display image – see include, but are not limited to col.7 lines 53-58); and one or more controllers in electronic communication with the spotlight device, the infrared camera, and the display, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to (Control unit see include, but are not limited to col. 6 lines 8-12): determine the vehicle is approaching the destination (determine if the vehicle approaching the destination – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 41-48); in response to determining the vehicle is approaching the destination, calculate a target angle indicating where the spotlight device directs the beam of infrared light to create the infrared spotlight upon the target location (determine the angle of approach when reaching the destination to illuminate the infrared light toward the location – see include, but are not limited to col.3 line 55- col4. Line 6, col. 10 lines 49-60); receive the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras of the target location of the destination (receive captured image by one or more camera (video sensor device -see col.4, lines 6-12) including night-vision (infrared) video and/or image of the target location – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 lines 21-40), where the infrared image data includes the infrared spotlight (the infrared image includes infrared spot beam – see include, but are not limited to col. 4 line 51-65, col.7, lines 9-21); and instruct the display to show the infrared image data captured by the one or more infrared cameras (show the nigh-vision (infrared) video and/or image captured by camera – see include, but are not limited to col. 10 line 21-32) .
Regarding claim 17, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 16, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, further comprising a user input device in electronic communication with the one or more controllers, wherein the user input device receives user input generated by an occupant of the vehicle (vehicle graphic interface receives user input – see include, but are not limited to col.10 lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 18, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 17, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, wherein the user input indicates the destination, and wherein the one or more controllers determine the target location of the destination (vehicle graphic interface receives user input – see include, but are not limited to Hong col.10 lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 19, Hong in view of Brady disclose the navigation system of claim 18, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hong teach, further comprising one or more visible light cameras in electronic communication with the one or more controller, wherein the one or more visible light cameras capture image data representative of the target location of the destination (one or more visible light cameras that capture image data representative of the target location of the destination (image capturing device, capture destination location data- see include but are not limited to Hong Col. 13 lines 54-67); wherein the one or more controllers determine an exact position of the target location of the destination based on a description of the destination and the image data captured by the one or more visible light cameras representing the destination (determine the exact position of the location based on the context of mapping destination or image capture by the cameras see include, but are not limited to Hong col 10, line 61- col 11, line 28).
Regarding claim 21, Hong discloses the navigation system of claim 19, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to determine an exact position of the target location of the destination based on a description of the destination and the image data captured by the one or more visible light cameras representing the destination (determine the destination location based on the descriptive and image data captured by the imaging device – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 lines 54-67, Col. 2 line 61- Col.3 line 18, Col. 10 lines 33-48);
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination;
Brady disclose the description of the destination indicates a task associated with the destination (the autonomous ground vehicle deliver package when arrive at the delivery location - see include but are not limited to Fig.5 Col. 35 line 56- Col. 36 line 22);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with the teaching of a task associated with the destination as taught by Brady in order to yield predicable result of increase the efficiency when delivering package [ Col. 1 line 22-41]
Regarding claim 22, Hong discloses the navigation system of claim 21, wherein the one or more controllers execute instructions to: determine potential target locations based on the description of the destination (determine the destination location based on the descriptive and image data captured by the imaging device – see include but are not limited to Fig. 6, Col. 13 lines 54-67, Col. 2 line 61- Col.3 line 18, Col. 10 lines 33-48).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building;
Brady disclose wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building (the delivery location includes front porch, front door, etc. – see include but are not limited to Col. 59 lines 49-67);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with the teaching of wherein the task associated with the destination is delivering a package and the potential target locations include one of the following: a doorway of a residence, a mailbox of a residence, front steps of a residence, and a bay door of an industrial building as taught by Brady in order to yield predicable result of increase the efficiency when delivering package [ Col. 1 line 22-41].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (U.S 9789808) in view Brady et al. (US 20220171074) and in further view of Savoy et al. (US 20220171074).
Regarding claim 8, Hong in view of Brady discloses the navigation system of claim 7, wherein a vehicle heading angle is measured between the direction of travel of the vehicle and the target location, and the target angle represents the vehicle heading angle (the angle is measure between direction of travel and target location (angle of approach) – see include, but are not limited to col. 3, lines 55-66).
However, Hong in view of Brady does not disclose a true bearing angle is measured between the north and the vehicle heading angle.
Savoy discloses a true bearing angle is measured between the north and the vehicle heading angle (bearing angle from between the vehicle and the object – see include, but are not limited to 0017-0018, 0040-0041.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hong in view of Brady with the teaching of discloses a true bearing angle is measured between the north and the vehicle heading angle as taught by Savoy in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify the heading direction of the vehicle to the destination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Choi et al. (US 20230012932) disclose using infrared light to determine the destination location.
Riconda et al. (US 20020130953) disclose Identify object and road signs using infrared spot light or flood light.
/AI K TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665