DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Blanco (US# 2010/0187814).
Garcia Blanco discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a brake-fluid conduit 2 for conducting a brake fluid between a fluid pressure supply device and a wheel cylinder of a hydraulic disk brake system [0004], wherein the brake-fluid conduit comprises a tapered portion 9 having a cross-section that is largest at an inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder and that gradually narrows towards an outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder. Note annotated figures below (figures 1 and 2c, combined; wheel cylinder label indicates end connected to a wheel cylinder/brake caliper).
Regarding claim 4, a brake-fluid channel adjacent to the tapered portion is approximately cylindrically shaped. Note portion at #4, figure 2c.
Regarding claim 5, a diameter of the cross section of the tapered portion at the inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder lies in a range between 4 mm and 8 mm. [0057] discloses a diameter of 4.76.
Regarding claim 6, a diameter of the cross section of the tapered portion at the outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder lies in a range between 3 mm and 5 mm. [0063] discloses a diameter of 3.4mm.
Regarding claim 8, a ratio between a diameter of the cross section of the tapered portion at the inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder and a diameter of the cross section of the tapered portion at the outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder lies in a range between 1.1 and 2.0. 4.76 and 3.4 result in a ratio of 1.4.
Regarding claim 10, Garcia Blanco further disclose a caliper [0004].
Regarding claim 12, the caliper arrangement comprises a connection piece for providing a fluid connection between the caliper and a brake-fluid line, wherein at least the tapered portion of the brake-fluid conduit is comprised in the connection piece.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itsuaki et al (US# 8261889).
Itsuaki et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a brake-fluid conduit 10/11 for conducting a brake fluid between a fluid pressure supply device and a wheel cylinder 5 of a hydraulic disk brake system, wherein the brake-fluid conduit comprises a tapered portion 10 having a cross-section that is largest at an inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder 5 and that gradually narrows towards an outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder. Note figure 1 shows passage 10 having a constant width and figure 2 shows the passage 10 having a tapering height narrowing towards an outer end facing away from the cylinder 5.
Regarding claim 4, a brake-fluid channel 13 adjacent to the tapered portion is approximately cylindrically shaped. Col. 4, lines 51-53.
Regarding claim 10, Itsuaki et al further disclose a caliper 1.
Regarding claim 11, the brake-fluid conduit 10/11 is integrated in a housing (102) of the caliper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Blanco (US# 2010/0187814).
Garcia Blanco disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to a length of the tapered portion along an axial direction of the brake-fluid channel lying in a range from 4 to 8 mm (claim 7) or a ratio between a length of the tapered portion 9 along an axial direction of the brake-fluid conduit and a diameter of the cross section of the tapered portion at the inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder lying in a range between 1.5 to 2.5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the length of the tapered portion through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal arrangement which avoids excessively sharp bends or installation forces while not requiring an excessive length. Also note MPEP 2144.05(II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Blanco ‘814, Applicant argues that “the built-in pipette (9) is connected to and faces simply the brake hose (3) at one end and the connection pipe (4) at the other end. The built-in pipette (9) does not face the wheel cylinder and does not have the largest cross-section at the inner end facing the wheel cylinder. Also, the cross-section of the built-in pipette (9) does not gradually narrow towards the outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder.” It is noted that the claim limitations regarding facing the wheel cylinder are “a tapered portion having a cross-section that is largest at an inner end of the tapered portion facing the wheel cylinder and that gradually narrows towards an outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder.” At the connection identified in the annotated figure above, the larger cross-section faces towards the wheel cylinder and the smaller cross-section faces away from the wheel cylinder. The claim language does not preclude intervening brake hose between the tapered portion and the wheel cylinder. Regarding the “gradually narrows” recitation, note the annotated figure below.
Regarding Itsuaki ‘889, Applicant argues “However, the cylinder connection oil passage 10 in Itsuaki is connected to and faces simply the communication passages 11 at one end and upper/lower passage communication bores 13 at the other end, respectively. The cylinder connection oil passage 10 does not face the wheel cylinder and does not have the largest cross-section at the inner end facing the wheel cylinder. Also, the cross-section of the cylinder connection oil passage 10 does not gradually narrow towards the outer end of the tapered portion facing away from the wheel cylinder.” Col. 4, lines 34-38 of the reference state “The cylinder connection oil passages 10 extend from the bottom portion of the cylinders 5 in the radially outer direction of the disc to a point where the passage communication bores 13 are formed”. Communication passages 11 extend between adjacent cylinders 5. Passage 10 of Itsuaki faces and connects to the wheel cylinder 5, not passage 11 as argued by Applicant. Regarding the “gradually narrows” recitation, note the annotated figure below.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK