DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges that the amended claim set and drawings corrects the issues noted by the previous office action of (11 – 17 – 2025). All of the previous drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (2 – 17 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Marc Gilles Glorieux (EP 2605894 B1, hereinafter Glorieux) does not teach the newly amended feature of each of the first and the second arch being intended defining a respective surface that directly contacts surface of the fibrous blank during deformation of the fibrous blank on the tooling.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Glorieux / Glorieux as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
Glorieux discloses the use of a…
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Glorieux / Glorieux as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 5 & 10 – 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean Marc Gilles Glorieux (EP 2605894 B1, hereinafter Glorieux)Regarding claim 1,
A tooling for deforming a fibrous blank including
a base comprising a first area and a second area along a transverse direction,
the tooling further comprising at least a first and a second arch extending along a circumferential direction between a first end and a second end around an axial direction perpendicular to the transverse direction and to the circumferential direction,
the first ends of the arches being present in the first area of the base and
the second ends of the arches being present in the second area of the base,
the first end of at least one of the arches having a fixed position along the transverse direction and
the second ends of the arches being adapted to move along the transverse direction in the second area,
each of the first and the second arch defining a respective surface that directly contacts a surface of the fibrous blank during deformation of the fibrous blank on the tooling.
Glorieux teaches the following:
– d.) ([0001]) teaches that the present invention relates to a device and method for manufacturing an arched element using a mould. ([0028]) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 1) the mould comprises a frame. Where the frame acts as applicants base with a first area and a second area along a transverse direction, with each end of an arch found at the first area and a second area.
& g.) ([0010]) teaches that the mould comprises a structure which comprises a first set of first profiles lying adjacently of each other in the longitudinal direction, wherein adjacent first profiles are connected to each other for pivoting in each case around a first transverse shaft. The structure further comprises a set of second profiles lying adjacently of each other in the longitudinal direction, which are connected in similar manner to each other for pivoting in each case around a transverse shaft. ([0025]) teaches that the adjustable mould 101 has an arched surface 102 with a straight transverse direction D and a curved longitudinal direction L. ([0010] & [0029])) noting that mould 101 has a structure which is assembled from a large number of first profiles 111 lying adjacently of each other in the longitudinal direction L, a large number of second profiles 112 lying adjacently of each other in the longitudinal direction L and parallel to the first profiles, and a number of stiff first transverse connections 113 between the first and second profiles 111, 112. Where the profiles 111, 112 act as applicant’s a first and a second arch. ([0029]) Adding, one or more mould forming parts, typically in the form of a number of mutually connecting metal flexible belts (metal caterpillar track). ([0008]) notes that the arched surface has a curved longitudinal direction L with a radius of curvature R over which the material layer to be formed is guided and former Accordingly, the caterpillar track is understood to comprise several threaded arched components connected together. ([0029]) further stating that the first profiles 111 located on the outer side and the opposite second profiles 112 are further provided with clamping means 161, 162 for locally clamping the sides of mould forming part 102. As such, the first profiles 111 located on the outer side and the opposite second profiles 112 are further provided with clamping means 161, 162 for locally clamping the sides of mould forming part 102 are understood to provide for a first and second arch defining a respective surface that directly contacts a surface of the fibrous blank during deformation of the fibrous blank on the tooling. However, if it is determined that the mould forming does not comprise separate arched components defining a respective surface that directly contacts a surface of the fibrous blank during deformation of the fibrous blank on the tooling, the case law for making integral may be recited. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214.. Highlighting, that the first and second profiles are best shown in (Fig. 7) and the arched surface 102 is best shown in (Fig. 5).
& e.) ([0025]) teaches that the adjustable mould 101 has a supply side 103 which extends in the transverse direction and to which the continuously supplied material layer 20 is carried. ([0028]) notes that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable, although this is generally less practical because the supply of material layer 20 would then have to take place at different heights. Accordingly, the supply side is understood to be fixed (with the possibility to have an unfixed supply side as well). Highlighting, the supply side 103 is best shown in (Fig. 6), where the supply side 103 provides for a fixed position of the first & second profiles and the arched surface 102.
& f.) ([0025]) teaches that the adjustable mould 101 has a discharge side 104 which is parallel thereto and from which the formed arched sheet leaves mould 101. ([0028]) teaching that the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. ([0030]) teaches that positioning means are further provided for setting the position of the first and second profiles 111, 112 as a function of the position of the discharge side relative to the supply side, i.e., as a function of the desired radius of curvature. These positioning means will particularly ensure that a determined radius of curvature is obtained over the whole outer surface of mould forming part 102. Highlighting, the discharge side 104 is best shown in (Fig. 4), where discharge side 104 provides for a position in which the first & second profiles and arched surface 102 can move along the transverse direction in the second area
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first end and the second end of one of the arches are adapted to move along the axial direction so as to adjust the distance between the arches.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0028]) notes that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable, although this is generally less practical because the supply of material layer 20 would then have to take place at different heights. ([0030]) teaches that positioning means are further provided for setting the position of the first and second profiles 111, 112 as a function of the position of the discharge side relative to the supply side, i.e. as a function of the desired radius of curvatureAs such, both ends of the arches are capable of being adapted to move along the axial direction so as to adjust the distance between the arches. Accordingly, providing for a movable supply side allows for a fixed position in said plane with the capability of the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches to be movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane via similar vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Highlighting, the supply side 103 is best shown in (Fig. 6), where the supply side 103 provides for a fixed position of the first & second profiles and the arched surface 102. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding providing the first end and the second end of one of the arches are adapted to move along the axial direction so as to adjust the distance between the arches. However, the case law for the duplication of parts may be recited. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the ends of the arches belong to a same plane extending along the transverse direction and the axial direction.
Glorieux teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 4-6) both ends of the arches are found to belong to a same plane extending along the transverse direction and the axial direction.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
The tooling further comprising one or more strips connecting the arches along the axial direction, said one or more strips being intended to match the profile of the fibrous blank.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0029]) teaches that a number of stiff first transverse connections 113 between the first and second profiles 111, 112. One or more mould forming parts, typically in the form of a number of mutually connecting metal flexible belts, extend over and are supported by the first transverse connection 113 for the purpose of forming the arched surface.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
The tooling further comprising a skin connecting the arches along the axial direction, the skin being intended to match the profile of the fibrous blank.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0025]) teaches that the adjustable mould 101 has an arched surface 102 with a straight transverse direction D and a curved longitudinal direction. ([0029]) further stating that the first profiles 111 located on the outer side and the opposite second profiles 112 are further provided with clamping means 161, 162 for locally clamping the sides of mould forming part 102. As such, the first profiles 111 located on the outer side and the opposite second profiles 112 are further provided with clamping means 161, 162 for locally clamping the sides of mould forming part 102 are understood to provide for the tooling further comprising a skin connecting the arches along the axial direction, the skin being intended to match the profile of the fibrous blank.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction,
wherein said first end of said at least one of the first and second arches has a fixed position in said plane and
wherein (a) the first and second ends of the other one of the first and second arches and
(b) the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches are movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane.
Glorieux teaches the following:
As detailed in (Fig. 4) and provided within, the two the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction. Highlighting, as the top ends of the first and second arches are pivoted the plane in which the two ends (first and second ends) of the first and second arches are located is also found to pivot.
& d.) ([0028]) notes that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable, although this is generally less practical because the supply of material layer 20 would then have to take place at different heights. As such, the supply side depicted is understood to be fixed (with the possibility to have a movable supply side as well). Accordingly, providing for a movable supply side allows for a fixed position in said plane with the capability of the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches to be movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane via similar vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Highlighting, the supply side 103 is best shown in (Fig. 6), where the supply side 103 provides for a fixed position of the first & second profiles and the arched surface 102.
([0028]) teaches that in the shown embodiment in (Fig. 7) the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Note that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable. As such, the vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121 provide for the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches are movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction,
wherein said first end of said at least one of the first and second arches has a fixed position in said plane and
wherein each second end of the first and second arches are movable along the transverse direction in said plane.
Glorieux teaches the following:
As detailed in (Fig. 4) and provided within, the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction. Highlighting, as the top ends of the first and second arches are pivoted the plane in which the two ends (first and second ends) of the first and second arches are located is also found to pivot.
([0028]) notes that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable, although this is generally less practical because the supply of material layer 20 would then have to take place at different heights. As such, the supply side depicted is understood to be fixed (with the possibility to have a movable supply side as well). Accordingly, providing for a movable supply side allows for a fixed position in said plane with the capability of the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches to be movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane via similar vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Highlighting, the supply side 103 is best shown in (Fig. 6), where the supply side 103 provides for a fixed position of the first & second profiles and the arched surface 102.
([0028]) teaches In the shown embodiment the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Note that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable. As such, the vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121 provide for each second end of the first and second arches are movable along the transverse direction in said plane.
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction, and
wherein each second end of the first and second arches are movable only in said plane.
Glorieux teaches the following:
As detailed in (Fig. 4) and provided within, the first and second ends of the first and second arches are located in a same plane that extends along the axial direction and the along the transverse direction. Highlighting, as the top ends of the first and second arches are pivoted the plane in which the two ends (first and second ends) of the first and second arches are located is also found to pivot.
([0028]) teaches In the shown embodiment the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Note that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable. As such, the vertical guide means 122 provides for each second end of the first and second arches to be movable in said plane.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the second ends of the first and second arches are configured to slide along the transverse direction in respective grooves formed in the base,
the grooves extending along the transverse direction, and
the second ends sliding within the second area of the base.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0028]) teaches that In the shown embodiment the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. This frame 123 is provided with slide blocks (not visible in figure 4) which can be guided in horizontal guide means 121. Note that according to another embodiment the upper carriage could also have been guidable in horizontal guide means mounted on a frame, wherein this frame is then in turn vertically displaceable. As illustrated in (Fig. 5) and provided within, horizontal guide means 121 is illustrated to be an actuator system that comprises a belt, sled and groove. Where the grooves extending along the transverse direction are illustrated by the arrow.
As illustrated in (Fig. 4) as the horizontal guide means 121 pivot, the second ends are found to be sliding within the second area of the base.
([0027]) teaches that the mould is adapted to change the radius of curvature R of the arched surface by altering the position of the discharge side relative to the supply side, see arrows P1 and P2. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) and provided within, the longer (exterior) arrow highlights the groove in which the horizontal guide means 121 may move and pivot the second ends sliding. With the area horizontal guide means 121 movement found to include and be within (from) the second area of the base (vertical arrow) to the area with the shorter (interior) arrow.
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first end of the second arch has a fixed position along the transverse direction during deformation, and
the second ends move along the transverse direction away from the first ends to deploy the fibrous blank.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0028]) notes that it would likewise be possible to make the supply side movable, although this is generally less practical because the supply of material layer 20 would then have to take place at different heights. As such, the supply side depicted is understood to be fixed (with the possibility to have a movable supply side as well). Accordingly, providing for a movable supply side allows for a fixed position in said plane with the capability of the second end of said at least one of the first and second arches to be movable in the transverse direction or the axial direction or both in said plane via similar vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. Highlighting, the supply side 103 is best shown in (Fig. 6), where the supply side 103 provides for a fixed position of the first & second profiles and the arched surface 102.
([0025]) teaches that the mould is adapted to change the radius of curvature R of the arched surface by altering the position of the discharge side relative to the supply side, see arrows P1 and P2. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) and provided within, the area horizontal guide means 121 movement found to include and be within (from) the second area of the base (vertical arrow) to the area with the shorter (interior) arrow, where the direction of movement (show by the interior arrow) from the base (vertical arrow) to the area with the shorter (interior) arrow is a transverse direction away from the first ends to deploy the fibrous blank.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the second ends of the first and second arches are constrained to move only within a plane extending along the transverse direction and the axial direction during deformation.
Glorieux teaches the following:
([0025]) teaches that the mould is adapted to change the radius of curvature R of the arched surface by altering the position of the discharge side relative to the supply side, see arrows P1 and P2. ([0028]) teaches that the discharge side can be moved horizontally and vertically using vertical guide means 122 and horizontal guide means 121. As such, horizontal guide means 121 provides for the second ends of the first and second arches to be constrained and to move within a plane extending along the transverse direction and the axial direction during deformation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gautier Destombes (US 20170129140 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A forming tool of a preform made of composite material, the tool comprising at least one flexible element and at least a first and a second rigid plate connected to the flexible element and disposed on either side of the flexible element.
Wright et al. (US 3260780 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a die having the desired curvature while in the heated condition. The pliable part is moved back and forth with respect to the die in order to minimize die mark-off onto the plastic surface. A liquid lubricant, e.g., grease or oil, may first be used to coat the die surface in order to reduce friction during movement. In so-called grease forming, the die must :be heated and the forming process becomes quite lengthy.
Charles P. Mitchell (US 5139604 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A controlled bladder wrap tool system and method are disclosed for edge wrapping a substrate in a tool with consistent process control. An expandable bladder or bladder diaphragm is mounted in the tool adjacent a cavity where it expands when inflated to fill the cavity and to bend, fold or wrap an overhanging portion of pliable material onto a substrate which are mounted in the tool.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743