Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on December 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification – 2021, by Xiaonan Xu, here onwards Xu (submitted in IDS by applicants on Apr. 7, 2025) and in view of
Fara US PGPub: US 2022/0369277 A1 Nov. 17, 2022.
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses,
a method of wireless communication performed by a sensing entity (in the RFID system, the passive tag modulates its digital ID onto the downlink signal from the reader transmitter Tx before backscattering to the reader receiver Rx. The tag digital ID provides tag recognition and serves as subcarrier channel isolation from other signals. RSSI and phase information from the continuous-wave CW carrier are evaluated by the reader - Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), comprising:
measuring one or more first order reflections (measuring object reflections at the ambient IoT device. Indoor device-free object detection has many applications in the Internet of Things IoT, such as occupant monitoring and assisted living facilities, where the number and location of occupants are the main outputs – left hand column, section 1 – Introduction) of a set of one or more sensing signals (Downlink DL) reflected by a target object (the downlink consists of the LoS signal, the reflection by the target object, and the other indoor multipaths. In our model, we lump the LoS and indoor multipaths as the first part of the signal and consider the target reflection as the second part – Fig. 1, page 3, left hand column, last paragraph.
The path gain of the downlink signal with respect to the target reflection …..and the propagation loss – equations 5, 6, pages 3 and 4.
During calibration to cancel out multipath interferences and the background effect. Thus, only the signal associated with the target object reflection remains – page 4, left hand column, paragraph after equation 10);
measuring one or more backscattered signals (uplink UL; tag backscattering signal – Fig. 1) received from one or more
wherein the one or more backscattered signals correspond to reflections of the set of one or more sensing signals reflected by the target object to the one or more ambient IoT devices (uplink UL; tag backscattering signal – Fig. 1. Solid arrow from object to Tag – Fig. 1. The uplink signal is formulated…….. When the tag backscattering signal is received by the reader Rx antenna – Fig. 1, page 4, left hand column, paragraph after eq. 8); and
determining, based on the measuring of the one or more first order reflections and the measuring of the one or more backscattered signals at least a range of the target object from the sensing entity, a range of the target object from the one or more ambient IoT devices, or a combination thereof (the Fourier-based MF algorithm for assembling the 3-D reflectivity image within the capture volume – page 2, eight hand column, section II, first paragraph.
The received signals with respect to each sampling point in the K-space are employed to reconstruct the 3-D voxel reflectivity distribution from (17). The number of voxels isV = Vix · Viy · Viz,whereVix, Viy, andViz are the numbers
of voxels in each dimension. For locating, the degree of freedom is just V, as we only ask at which voxel the center of the object is located – page 6, left hand column, section II.F.
The fingerprinting or matching pursuit method [8] has been proposed for various ranging, localization, and imaging problems – page 1, right hand column, first paragraph.
Measuring object reflections at the ambient IoT device. Indoor device-free object detection has many applications in the Internet of Things IoT, such as occupant monitoring and assisted living facilities, where the number and location of occupants are the main outputs – left hand column, section 1 – Introduction),
but, does not disclose, measuring one or more backscattered signals received from one or more “ambient” Internet- of-things IoT devices.
Fara teaches, method for determining at least one location for backscattering, by at least one transmitter device and to at least one receiver device, of an ambient radio signal, the transmitter device being associated with a zone, a backscattering and a non-backscattering operating state, and a working frequency band. The invention has a particularly advantageous, although in no way limiting, application for applications of “Internet of Things” IoT type (ABSTRACT, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0001, 0071, 0072). The ambient signal corresponds to a radio electrical signal emitted, constantly or else recurrently, by at least one source 20 (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0074, 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of Xu (Xu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of Xu, would have incorporated, method for determining at least one location for backscattering, by at least one transmitter device and to at least one receiver device, of an ambient radio signal, the transmitter device being associated with a zone, a backscattering and a non-backscattering operating state, and a working frequency band of Fara (Fara, ABSTRACT, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0001, 0071, 0072) for remedying all or part of the drawbacks of the prior art, particularly those set out above, by making provision for a solution which makes it possible to determine a location of at least one transmitter device, at which the power contrast is high enough to guarantee that the receiver device can decode a signal backscattered by said at least one transmitter device, and thus optimize communication between these devices (Fara, paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses,
the method of claim 7, further comprising: measuring one or more further reflected signals reflected by the target object, wherein the one or more further reflected signals correspond to backscattered signals emitted by at least one of the one or more ambient IoT devices that are reflected by the target object (doted lines on Tag to object – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses,
the method of claim 7, wherein: the one or more ambient IoT devices comprise a radio frequency identification RFID tag (RFID system consists of an active reader and numerous passive tags – Fig. 4, section III A, page 6, right hand column).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses,
the method of claim 7, wherein: the sensing entity comprises a transmission-reception-point TRP (RF transceiver circuitry, object and Tag all having a transmission-reception-point TRP – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses,
the method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving location information associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices (providing target object location and counts – page 2, left hand column, paragraph 3, Fig. 2, page 5, lest hand column, section II C).
Claims 11 – 14, 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification – 2021, by Xiaonan Xu, here onwards Xu (submitted in IDS by applicants on Apr. 7, 2025) and in view of
Fara US PGPub: US 2022/0369277 A1 Nov. 17, 2022 and further in view of
Li US PGPub: US 2024/0313870 A1 Sep. 19, 2024.
Regarding claim 11, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, wherein: “the set of one or more sensing signals reflected by the target object to the one or more ambient IoT devices are frequency shifted by the one or more ambient IoT devices to provide the one or more backscattered signals”: the one or more backscattered signals are scrambled by the one or more ambient IoT devices based on one or more scrambling sequences associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; or any combination thereof.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 12, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, further comprising: “sending a request for ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; receiving the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; or any combination thereof”.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 13, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 12, wherein the ambient IoT device capabilities comprise: “one or more scrambling sequences associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; one or more frequency shifting capabilities associated with the one or more ambient devices; one or more frequency shifts applied by the one or more ambient IoT devices to the reflections of the set of one or more sensing signals reflected by the target object to the one or more ambient IoT devices”; one or more bandwidths supported by the one or more ambient IoT devices; one or more indications of a number of reflections of the set of one or more sensing signals reflected by the target object supported by the one or more ambient IoT devices; one or more group delays associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; one or more reflected signal sensitivities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices; or any combination thereof.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 14, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, further comprising: requesting ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from a base station; requesting the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from the one or more ambient IoT devices; requesting the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from a location server; receiving the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from a base station; receiving the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from the one or more ambient IoT devices; receiving the ambient IoT device capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices from the location server; or any combination thereof.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 16, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, further comprising: transmitting one or more operating parameter configurations to the one or more ambient IoT devices based on ambient IoT capabilities associated with the one or more ambient IoT devices.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 17, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, further comprising: transmitting one or more sensing signal transmission configurations to one or more transmission-reception-points TRPs; transmitting one or more sensing signal reception configurations to the one or more TRPs; or any combination thereof.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving one or more measurement reports from the one or more TRPs, wherein the one or more measurement reports are based on one or more measurements made by the one or more TRPs of the one or more first order reflections of the set of one or more sensing signals reflected by the target object; one or more measurements made by the one or more TRPs of the one or more backscattered signals received from the one or more ambient IoT devices; or any combination thereof.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 19, both Xu and Fara discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 7, wherein: the one or more sensing signals comprise positioning reference signals PRS.
Li teaches, a wireless sensing method and apparatus, and a network-side device. The wireless sensing method in embodiments of this application includes: backscattering, by a first device, a target sensing signal to a wireless sensing signal receive end, where the target sensing signal comes from a wireless sensing signal transmit end, the wireless sensing signal transmit end includes a first terminal or a first network-side device, and the wireless sensing signal receive end includes a second network-side device (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0006 - 0009).
Calculating Doppler frequency shift (paragraph 0216).
Signal modulation mode related to the first device, including double sideband amplitude keying DSB-ASK, single sideband amplitude keying SSB-ASK, phase-reversal amplitude keying Phase-reversal ASK, PR-ASK, frequency shift keying FSK, binary phase shift keying BPSK, quadrature phase shift keying QPSK, quadrature amplitude modulation QAM, and so on (paragraph 0236).
The unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag (paragraph 0240).
The UE initiating the sensing service sends a sensing request including sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the AMF via non-access stratum NAS signaling, and then the AMF forwards the sensing requirement information and/or sensing signal related configuration information to the sensing network element; and after the wireless sensing signal receive end obtains the target measurement quantity, a node that completes conversion from the target measurement quantity to the target sensing result may directly or indirectly send the target sensing result to the initiator of the sensing service (paragraphs 0149, 0150).
The target information includes a processing sensing request, an interactive sensing capability, an interactive sensing assistance data, an interactive sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (Figs. 3a – 3c, paragraphs 0165 – 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3-D Indoor Device-Free Object Detection by Passive Radio Frequency Identification of combined Xu and Fara (combined Xu and Fara, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, sections II – IV, page 2, right hand column, last paragraph), wherein the system of combined Xu and Fara, would have incorporated, the unique identification information of the first device - the unique identification information is used to distinguish between first devices, or distinguish between first devices in a sensing area, such as a tag ID or a unique waveform sequence backscattered by the tag of Li (Li, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0149, 0150, 0236, 0240) for the best way is to jointly design the sensing and communication systems to share same frequency bands and hardware, thereby improving frequency efficiency and reducing hardware costs (Li, paragraph 0003).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Xu US PGPub: US 2026/0324314 A1 Oct. 16, 2025.
A second device sends first information to a first device, where the first information is used for determining a feedback duration, the feedback duration is used for determining a value of a first timer, and the first timer is started when a first request message is sent.
In a zero-power communication system based on backscattering, for an ambient IoT (AIOT) terminal (a zero-power terminal) based on energy harvesting, instead of generating an RF signal by itself, a backscatter transmitter modulates and reflects a received RF signal to transmit data.
Babru US PGPub: US 2025/0254651 A1 Aug. 7, 2025.
AIoT multi-point positioning method. An apparatus includes means for measuring a reception time of an activation signal that triggers a reply; means for determining a transmission time of the reply; and means for determining a reception transmission time difference as a difference between the transmission time of the reply and the reception time of the activation signal that triggers the reply.
Elshafie US PGPub: US 2023/0141393 A1 May 11, 2023.
a user equipment (UE) may receive, from a network node, an indication of a cluster of nodes that are able to provide signals to the UE for energy harvesting at the UE. The UE may receive, from the cluster of nodes, the signals based at least in part on the indication of the cluster of nodes. The UE may harvest energy from the signals for charging a battery of the UE. Numerous other aspects are described.
The UE may be a backscatter/tag. The backscatter/tag may receive a carrier wave from a backscatter reader, and the backscatter/tag may transmit a reflected signal to the backscatter reader. In some aspects, the UE may be an energy harvesting UE (e.g., a device that is able to receive energy). The UE may be an IoT device, a personal IoT (P-IoT) device, a zero power IoT device, an ambient IoT, a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag device, or a reduced capability UE.
Jiang US PGPub: US 2024/0349229 A1 Oct. 17, 2019.
The positioning method includes: A backscatter end receives a first signal sent by a first communication device; the backscatter end modulates the first signal based on a second reference signal modulation sequence to obtain a second signal; the backscatter end sends the second signal to a second communication device, where the second reference signal modulation sequence is an orthogonal sequence determined based on on-off keying (OOK) modulation information.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642