DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to an amendment filed on July 15th, 2026. Claims 1-30 are pending in the current application, with claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 11, 14, 16, 17, 21, 24, 26, and 27 being currently amended.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test of Products and
Processes, the claim is directed towards a process, which is one of the four statutory categories.
Next, under a Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis, the claim recites the following limitations, which are interpreted to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, abstract ideas:
performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (mathematical concept)
identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (mental process)
determining a set of candidate architectures based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size (mental process)
selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device (mental process)
Therefore, we have to examine the claim under Step 2A prong 2, which considers the additional elements within the claim. The claim’s additional elements are:
generating an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights
and applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task.
“Generating an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights” is a limitation that is interpreted to be merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use, and “generally links” the generation of a super network with a super kernel and the plurality of operator types and layers to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) The limitation, “applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task”, is interpreted to be mere instruction to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to take a target model, and merely deploy it for a downstream task. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Under a Step 2B analysis, the claim’s additional elements do not amount to significantly
more than the judicial exception as explained above in Step 2A prong 2. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 11, Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test of Products and
Processes, the claim is directed towards a machine, which is one of the four statutory categories.
Next, under a Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis, the claim recites the following limitations, which are interpreted to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, abstract ideas:
perform gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (mathematical concept)
identify a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (mental process)
determine a set of candidate architectures based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size (mental process)
select a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device (mental process)
Therefore, we have to examine the claim under Step 2A prong 2, which considers the additional elements within the claim. The claim’s additional elements are:
at least one memory
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory
generate an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights
and apply the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task.
The limitation, to “generate an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights”, is interpreted to be merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use, and “generally links” the generation of a super network with a super kernel and the plurality of operator types and layers to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) The limitations, “at least one memory”, “at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory”, and to “apply the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task”, is interpreted to be mere instruction to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to take a target model, at least one memory, and a processor coupled to the memory, and merely deploy it for a downstream task. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Under a Step 2B analysis, the claim’s additional elements do not amount to significantly
more than the judicial exception as explained above in Step 2A prong 2. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 21, Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test of Products and
Processes, the claim is directed towards a machine, which is one of the four statutory categories.
Next, under a Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis, the claim recites the following limitations, which are interpreted to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, abstract ideas:
means for performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (mathematical concept)
means for identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (mental process)
means for determining a set of candidate architectures based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size (mental process)
means for selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device (mental process)
Therefore, we have to examine the claim under Step 2A prong 2, which considers the additional elements within the claim. The claim’s additional elements are:
means for an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights
and means for applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task.
The “means for an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the largest single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights” is a limitation that is interpreted to be merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use, and “generally links” the generation of a super network with a super kernel and the plurality of operator types and layers to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) The limitation, “means for applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task” is interpreted to be mere instruction to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to take a target model, and deploy it for a downstream task. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Under a Step 2B analysis, the claim’s additional elements do not amount to significantly
more than the judicial exception as explained above in Step 2A prong 2. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 22, the claims recite “quantizing the target model.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be mere instructions to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to apply quantization, a model optimization technique, to the model. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23, the claim recite “splitting convolution node activations of the target model by splitting each input tensor into a plurality of smaller tensors, the plurality of smaller tensors incorporated into the set of candidate architectures.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be mere instructions to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to split each input tensor into a plurality of smaller tensors, and incorporate the tensor into a set of architectures, all to split convolution node activations of the target model. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 24, the claims recite “the plurality of operator types comprises at least one convolutional neural network, at least one recurrent neural network, at least one transformer, and/or at least one multilayer perceptron (MLP).” The limitation, as drafted, merely indicates the technological environment and/or field of use, and “generally links” a CNN, RNN, transformers, and/or a MLP to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 25, the claims recite “the super network is based on a particular use case, a different super network constructed for each different use case.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be mere instructions to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs on how to construct a different super network for different use cases. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 26, the claims recite “identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises progressively increasing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a “mental process”, which is a grouping of abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 7, 17, and 27, the claims recite “identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises progressively reducing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a “mental process”, which is a grouping of abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 28, the claims recite “applying the target model comprises training the target model.” The limitation, as drafted, is interpreted to be mere instructions to apply a judicial exception, as it instructs to train a model before merely applying it. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 29, the claims recite “a one-shot neural architecture search (NAS).” The limitation, as drafted, merely indicates the technological environment and/or field of use, and “generally links” a one-shot neural architecture search to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 21.
Regarding claims 10, 20, and 30, the claims recite “the one-shot NAS is based on at least one of: memory usage of a device that applies the target model, run time latency of the model running on the device, a model accuracy, and power consumption of the device.” The limitation, as drafted, merely indicates the technological environment and/or field of use, and “generally links” memory usage, run time latency, model accuracy, and power consumption to the abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same basis as claims 9, 19, and 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8-11, 14, 15, 18-21, 24, 25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han Shi et al. (Herein referred to as Shi) (Bridging the Gap between Sample-based and One-shot Neural Architecture Search with BONAS) in view of Andrew Brock et al. (Herein referred to as Brock) (SMASH: One-Shot Model Architecture Search through HyperNetworks) and in further view of Jiahui Yu et al. (Herein referred to as Yu) (BigNAS: Scaling Up Neural Architecture Search with Big Single-Stage Models)
Regarding claim 1, Shi teaches A processor-implemented method, comprising: generating an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a plurality of operator types, each layer of the plurality of layers comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space (“we present BONAS (Bayesian Optimized Neural Architecture Search), which is a sample-based NAS algorithm combined with weight-sharing (Figure 1). In the search phase, we first use a graph convolutional network (GCN) [15] to produce embeddings for the neural architectures. This naturally handles the graph structures of neural architectures, and avoids defining GP’s kernel function. Together with a novel Bayesian sigmoid regressor, it replaces the GP as BO’s surrogate model. In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling... In sample-based NAS algorithms, an architecture is selected in each iteration for full training [25, 33, 35, 42], and is computationally expensive. To alleviate this problem, we select in each BO iteration a batch of k architectures {(Ai,Xi)}k i=1 with the top-k UCB scores, and then train them together as a super-network by weight-sharing… As illustrated in Figure 1, during the query phase, we construct the super-network with adjacency matrix ˆ A =A1||A2||...||Ak, and feature matrix ˆ X =X1||X2||...||Xk, where || denotes the logical OR operation.”, pg. 2, third paragraph; pg. 6, under “3.2 Efficient Estimation of Candidate Performance”) (Backpropagation implicitly utilizes a plurality of layers, with the backpropagation leading to a multi-layer super network, which comprises of multiple different architectures, corresponding to the search space, and a plurality of matrices, corresponding to operators. The “single over-parameterized super kernel” is interpreted to be a kernel containing the super-network, which is taught in this disclosure.) for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights; (“In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling. These candidates are then queried simultaneously based on the learned weight of the super-network. As weight-sharing is now performed only on a small subset of similarly-performing sub-networks with high BO scores, this is more reasonable than sharing the weights of all sub-networks in the search space as in one-shot NAS methods”, pg. 2, third paragraph) (While the target device with limited resource isn’t explicitly taught, the query phase is implicitly performed on devices with limited resources.) performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space (“Neural Architecture Optimization (NAO) [19], which finds the architecture in a continuous embedding space with gradient descent… and(iv)ASNG-NAS[1], which proposes a stochastic natural gradient method for the NAS problem.”, pg. 7, bottom paragraph; pg. 8, under “4.3 Open Domain Search”) and determining a set of candidate architectures (“Since a NAS-Bench 101 architecture is obtained by stacking multiple repeated cells, we only consider the embedding of such a cell. Graph connectivity is encoded by the adjacency matrix A. Individual operations are encoded as one-hot vectors, and then aggregated to form the feature matrix X”, pg. 4, first paragraph of “3.1.1 Representing Neural Networks using GCN”)
However, Shi does not teach to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; nor identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent nor based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Brock teaches performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (“SMASH comprises two core components: the method by which we sample architectures, and the method by which we sample weights for a given architecture. For the former, we develop a memory bank view of feed-forward networks that permits sampling complex, branching topologies, and encoding said topologies as binary vectors. For the latter, we employ a HyperNet [12] that learns to map directly from the binary architecture encoding to the weight space… For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure.”, pg. 3, first paragraph; pg. 7, first and second paragraph) (The topology encodings correspond to a range of encodings, which are generated from an encoding tensor. The architecture that performs the best implicitly contains the correct tensor, which determined through a gradient-descent-like procedure, which corresponds to performing gradient descent.) and identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… we posit that if the HyperNet learns a meaningful mapping W=H(c), then the classification error E=f(W,x)=f(H(c),x) can be backpropagated to find dE/dc, providing an approximate measure of the error with respect to the architecture itself. If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure… The conditional embedding c is a one-hot encoding of the memory banks we read and write at each layer.”, pg. 7, first and second paragraph; pg. 12, third paragraph) (The one-hot encoding, c, is present at each layer, corresponding to a range of kernel encodings for each layer of the super network. The goal then being to search via a gradient decent-like procedure for an architecture that yields a subset of tensor encodings with the lowest error.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi with the identification of kernel encoding, as described in Brock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as this allows for better validation performance, and better learning of weight from architecture, as disclosed in Brock. (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights”, pg. 7, first paragraph)
However, the combination does not teach based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Yu teaches based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; (“(“we first find rough skeletons of good candidate networks. Specifically, in the coarse selection phase, we pre-define five input resolutions (network-wise, {192, 224, 256, 288, 320}), four depth configurations (stage-wise via global depth multipliers [33]), two channel configurations (stage-wise via global width multipliers [17]) and four kernel size configurations (stage-wise), and obtain all of their benchmarks (shown in Figure 8 on the left). Then under our interested latency budget, we perform a fine-grained grid search by varying its configurations (shown in Figure 8 on the right).“, pg. 12 and 13; See also Figure 8 on pg. 13) (The different network resolutions correspond to different model sizes.) nor selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; (“We select architectures using a simple coarse-to-fine selection method to find the most accurate model under the given resource constraints (e.g., FLOPs, memory footprint and/or runtime latency budgets on different devices).”, pg. 4, under “Architecture Search with Single-Stage Models” step 2) and applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task (“We presented a novel paradigm for neural architecture search by training a single-stage model, from which high-quality child models of different sizes can be induced for instant deployment without retraining or finetuning.”, pg. 14, under “Conclusion”) (The limitation, “for execution of a downstream task”, is given negligible patentable weight, as it merely indicates the intended use of the target model.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi, as modified by Brock, with respect to hardware limitations and model deployment of Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as Yu’s framework offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets, as disclosed by Yu. (“Our BigNAS is able to handle a wider set of models (from 200 MFLOPs to 1 GFLOPs) and offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets.”, pg. 4, first paragraph)
Regarding claim 11, Shi teaches An apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, (One would implicitly need these components to run the method of Shi.) the at least one processor configured to: generate an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a plurality of operator types, each layer of the plurality of layers comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space (“we present BONAS (Bayesian Optimized Neural Architecture Search), which is a sample-based NAS algorithm combined with weight-sharing (Figure 1). In the search phase, we first use a graph convolutional network (GCN) [15] to produce embeddings for the neural architectures. This naturally handles the graph structures of neural architectures, and avoids defining GP’s kernel function. Together with a novel Bayesian sigmoid regressor, it replaces the GP as BO’s surrogate model. In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling... In sample-based NAS algorithms, an architecture is selected in each iteration for full training [25, 33, 35, 42], and is computationally expensive. To alleviate this problem, we select in each BO iteration a batch of k architectures {(Ai,Xi)}k i=1 with the top-k UCB scores, and then train them together as a super-network by weight-sharing… As illustrated in Figure 1, during the query phase, we construct the super-network with adjacency matrix ˆ A =A1||A2||...||Ak, and feature matrix ˆ X =X1||X2||...||Xk, where || denotes the logical OR operation.”, pg. 2, third paragraph; pg. 6, under “3.2 Efficient Estimation of Candidate Performance”) (Backpropagation implicitly utilizes a plurality of layers, with the backpropagation leading to a multi-layer super network, which comprises of multiple different architectures, corresponding to the search space, and a plurality of matrices, corresponding to operators. The “single over-parameterized super kernel” is interpreted to be a kernel containing the super-network, which is taught in this disclosure.) for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights; (“In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling. These candidates are then queried simultaneously based on the learned weight of the super-network. As weight-sharing is now performed only on a small subset of similarly-performing sub-networks with high BO scores, this is more reasonable than sharing the weights of all sub-networks in the search space as in one-shot NAS methods”, pg. 2, third paragraph) (While the target device with limited resource isn’t explicitly taught, the query phase is implicitly performed on devices with limited resources.) performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space (“Neural Architecture Optimization (NAO) [19], which finds the architecture in a continuous embedding space with gradient descent… and(iv)ASNG-NAS[1], which proposes a stochastic natural gradient method for the NAS problem.”, pg. 7, bottom paragraph; pg. 8, under “4.3 Open Domain Search”) and determining a set of candidate architectures (“Since a NAS-Bench 101 architecture is obtained by stacking multiple repeated cells, we only consider the embedding of such a cell. Graph connectivity is encoded by the adjacency matrix A. Individual operations are encoded as one-hot vectors, and then aggregated to form the feature matrix X”, pg. 4, first paragraph of “3.1.1 Representing Neural Networks using GCN”)
However, Shi does not teach to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; nor to identify a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent nor based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor to select a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor to apply the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Brock teaches to perform gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (“SMASH comprises two core components: the method by which we sample architectures, and the method by which we sample weights for a given architecture. For the former, we develop a memory bank view of feed-forward networks that permits sampling complex, branching topologies, and encoding said topologies as binary vectors. For the latter, we employ a HyperNet [12] that learns to map directly from the binary architecture encoding to the weight space… For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure.”, pg. 3, first paragraph; pg. 7, first and second paragraph) (The topology encodings correspond to a range of encodings, which are generated from an encoding tensor. The architecture that performs the best implicitly contains the correct tensor, which determined through a gradient-descent-like procedure, which corresponds to performing gradient descent.) and to identify a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… we posit that if the HyperNet learns a meaningful mapping W=H(c), then the classification error E=f(W,x)=f(H(c),x) can be backpropagated to find dE/dc, providing an approximate measure of the error with respect to the architecture itself. If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure… The conditional embedding c is a one-hot encoding of the memory banks we read and write at each layer.”, pg. 7, first and second paragraph; pg. 12, third paragraph) (The one-hot encoding, c, is present at each layer, corresponding to a range of kernel encodings for each layer of the super network. The goal then being to search via a gradient decent-like procedure for an architecture that yields a subset of tensor encodings with the lowest error.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi with the identification of kernel encoding, as described in Brock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as this allows for better validation performance, and better learning of weight from architecture, as disclosed in Brock. (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights”, pg. 7, first paragraph)
However, the combination does not teach based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor to select a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor to apply the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Yu teaches based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; (“(“we first find rough skeletons of good candidate networks. Specifically, in the coarse selection phase, we pre-define five input resolutions (network-wise, {192, 224, 256, 288, 320}), four depth configurations (stage-wise via global depth multipliers [33]), two channel configurations (stage-wise via global width multipliers [17]) and four kernel size configurations (stage-wise), and obtain all of their benchmarks (shown in Figure 8 on the left). Then under our interested latency budget, we perform a fine-grained grid search by varying its configurations (shown in Figure 8 on the right).“, pg. 12 and 13; See also Figure 8 on pg. 13) (The different network resolutions correspond to different model sizes.) to select a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; (“We select architectures using a simple coarse-to-fine selection method to find the most accurate model under the given resource constraints (e.g., FLOPs, memory footprint and/or runtime latency budgets on different devices).”, pg. 4, under “Architecture Search with Single-Stage Models” step 2) and apply the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task (“We presented a novel paradigm for neural architecture search by training a single-stage model, from which high-quality child models of different sizes can be induced for instant deployment without retraining or finetuning.”, pg. 14, under “Conclusion”) (The limitation, “for execution of a downstream task”, is given negligible patentable weight, as it merely indicates the intended use of the target model.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi, as modified by Brock, with respect to hardware limitations and model deployment of Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as Yu’s framework offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets, as disclosed by Yu. (“Our BigNAS is able to handle a wider set of models (from 200 MFLOPs to 1 GFLOPs) and offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets.”, pg. 4, first paragraph)
Regarding claim 21, Shi teaches An apparatus, comprising: means for generating an over-parameterized super network having a plurality of layers, the super network comprising a plurality of operator types, each layer of the plurality of layers comprising a single over-parameterized super kernel corresponding to a search space (“we present BONAS (Bayesian Optimized Neural Architecture Search), which is a sample-based NAS algorithm combined with weight-sharing (Figure 1). In the search phase, we first use a graph convolutional network (GCN) [15] to produce embeddings for the neural architectures. This naturally handles the graph structures of neural architectures, and avoids defining GP’s kernel function. Together with a novel Bayesian sigmoid regressor, it replaces the GP as BO’s surrogate model. In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling... In sample-based NAS algorithms, an architecture is selected in each iteration for full training [25, 33, 35, 42], and is computationally expensive. To alleviate this problem, we select in each BO iteration a batch of k architectures {(Ai,Xi)}k i=1 with the top-k UCB scores, and then train them together as a super-network by weight-sharing… As illustrated in Figure 1, during the query phase, we construct the super-network with adjacency matrix ˆ A =A1||A2||...||Ak, and feature matrix ˆ X =X1||X2||...||Xk, where || denotes the logical OR operation.”, pg. 2, third paragraph; pg. 6, under “3.2 Efficient Estimation of Candidate Performance”) (Backpropagation implicitly utilizes a plurality of layers, with the backpropagation leading to a multi-layer super network, which comprises of multiple different architectures, corresponding to the search space, and a plurality of matrices, corresponding to operators. The “single over-parameterized super kernel” is interpreted to be a kernel containing the super-network, which is taught in this disclosure.) for a target device having limited resources by constructing, for each layer of the plurality of layers, only the single over-parameterized super kernel to encode candidate choices in the search space as different subsets of shared super kernel weights, different candidate choices in each layer sharing super kernel weights; (“In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling. These candidates are then queried simultaneously based on the learned weight of the super-network. As weight-sharing is now performed only on a small subset of similarly-performing sub-networks with high BO scores, this is more reasonable than sharing the weights of all sub-networks in the search space as in one-shot NAS methods”, pg. 2, third paragraph) (While the target device with limited resource isn’t explicitly taught, the query phase is implicitly performed on devices with limited resources.) means for performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space (“Neural Architecture Optimization (NAO) [19], which finds the architecture in a continuous embedding space with gradient descent… and(iv)ASNG-NAS[1], which proposes a stochastic natural gradient method for the NAS problem.”, pg. 7, bottom paragraph; pg. 8, under “4.3 Open Domain Search”) and means for determining a set of candidate architectures (“Since a NAS-Bench 101 architecture is obtained by stacking multiple repeated cells, we only consider the embedding of such a cell. Graph connectivity is encoded by the adjacency matrix A. Individual operations are encoded as one-hot vectors, and then aggregated to form the feature matrix X”, pg. 4, first paragraph of “3.1.1 Representing Neural Networks using GCN”)
However, Shi does not teach to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; nor means for identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent nor based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor means for selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor means for applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Brock teaches means for performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights corresponding to the search space to generate a range of kernel encodings; (“SMASH comprises two core components: the method by which we sample architectures, and the method by which we sample weights for a given architecture. For the former, we develop a memory bank view of feed-forward networks that permits sampling complex, branching topologies, and encoding said topologies as binary vectors. For the latter, we employ a HyperNet [12] that learns to map directly from the binary architecture encoding to the weight space… For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure.”, pg. 3, first paragraph; pg. 7, first and second paragraph) (The topology encodings correspond to a range of encodings, which are generated from an encoding tensor. The architecture that performs the best implicitly contains the correct tensor, which determined through a gradient-descent-like procedure, which corresponds to performing gradient descent.) and means for identifying a subset of kernel encodings from the range of kernel encodings, for each layer of the super network, based on the gradient descent (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights… we posit that if the HyperNet learns a meaningful mapping W=H(c), then the classification error E=f(W,x)=f(H(c),x) can be backpropagated to find dE/dc, providing an approximate measure of the error with respect to the architecture itself. If this holds true, then perturbing the architecture according to the dE/dc vector (within the constraints of our scheme) should allow us to guide the architecture search through a gradient descent-like procedure… The conditional embedding c is a one-hot encoding of the memory banks we read and write at each layer.”, pg. 7, first and second paragraph; pg. 12, third paragraph) (The one-hot encoding, c, is present at each layer, corresponding to a range of kernel encodings for each layer of the super network. The goal then being to search via a gradient decent-like procedure for an architecture that yields a subset of tensor encodings with the lowest error.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi with the identification of kernel encoding, as described in Brock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as this allows for better validation performance, and better learning of weight from architecture, as disclosed in Brock. (“For a given architecture, we find that SMASH validation performance is consistently highest when using the correct encoding tensor, suggesting that the HyperNet has indeed learned a passable mapping from architecture to weights”, pg. 7, first paragraph)
However, the combination does not teach based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; nor means for selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; nor means for applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task
Yu teaches based on the subset of kernel encodings, each candidate architecture of the set of candidate architectures having a different model size; (“(“we first find rough skeletons of good candidate networks. Specifically, in the coarse selection phase, we pre-define five input resolutions (network-wise, {192, 224, 256, 288, 320}), four depth configurations (stage-wise via global depth multipliers [33]), two channel configurations (stage-wise via global width multipliers [17]) and four kernel size configurations (stage-wise), and obtain all of their benchmarks (shown in Figure 8 on the left). Then under our interested latency budget, we perform a fine-grained grid search by varying its configurations (shown in Figure 8 on the right).“, pg. 12 and 13; See also Figure 8 on pg. 13) (The different network resolutions correspond to different model sizes.) means for selecting a target model optimized for execution on the target device having limited resources, from the set of architectures, based on meeting hardware specifications of the target device; (“We select architectures using a simple coarse-to-fine selection method to find the most accurate model under the given resource constraints (e.g., FLOPs, memory footprint and/or runtime latency budgets on different devices).”, pg. 4, under “Architecture Search with Single-Stage Models” step 2) and means for applying the target model by deploying the target model on the target device having limited resources for execution of a downstream task (“We presented a novel paradigm for neural architecture search by training a single-stage model, from which high-quality child models of different sizes can be induced for instant deployment without retraining or finetuning.”, pg. 14, under “Conclusion”) (The limitation, “for execution of a downstream task”, is given negligible patentable weight, as it merely indicates the intended use of the target model.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network of Shi, as modified by Brock, with respect to hardware limitations and model deployment of Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the application’s filing date, as Yu’s framework offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets, as disclosed by Yu. (“Our BigNAS is able to handle a wider set of models (from 200 MFLOPs to 1 GFLOPs) and offers a better coverage over diverse deployment scenarios and varied resource budgets.”, pg. 4, first paragraph)
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 24, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, as well as the plurality of operator types comprises at least one convolutional neural network, at least one recurrent neural network, at least one transformer, and/or at least one multilayer perceptron (MLP). (“In the search phase, we first use a graph convolutional network (GCN) [13] to produce embeddings for the neural architectures.”, pg. 2, third paragraph (Shi))
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 25, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, as well as the super network is based on a particular use case, a different super network constructed for each different use case. (“In the query phase, we construct a super-network from a batch of promising candidate architectures, and train them by uniform sampling. These candidates are then queried simultaneously based on the learned weight of the super-network.”, pg. 2, third paragraph (Shi)) (A different super network is constructed from different candidate architectures, which corresponds to different use cases.)
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 28, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, as well as training the target model. (“To alleviate this problem, we select in each BO iteration a batch of k architectures {(Ai,Xi)}k i=1 with the top-k UCB scores, and then train them together as a super-network by weight-sharing.”, pg. 6, under “3.2 Efficient Estimation of Candidate Performance”)
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 29, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, as well as a one-shot neural architecture search (NAS). (“In line with our claim of "one-shot" model search, we keep our exploration of the SMASH design space to a minimum.”, pg. 13, fifth paragraph of “Appendix C: Experiment Details” (Brock))
Regarding claims 10, 20, and 30, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 9, 19, and 29, as well as the one-shot NAS is based on at least one of: memory usage of a device that applies the target model, run time latency of the model running on the device, a model accuracy, and power consumption of the device. (“Once an architecture is selected, we can obtain a child model by simply slicing the single-stage model for instant deployment w.r.t. the given constraints such as memory footprint and/or runtime latency.”, pg. 3, first paragraph (Yu))
Claim(s) 2, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Brock, in further view of Yu, and in further view of Song Han et al. (Herein referred to as Han) (DEEP COMPRESSION: COMPRESSING DEEP NEURAL NETWORKS WITH PRUNING, TRAINED QUANTIZATION AND HUFFMAN CODING)
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 22, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, but does not explicitly teach quantizing the target model.
Han teaches quantizing the target model. (“Suppose we have a layer that has 4 input neurons and 4 output neurons, the weight is a 4 × 4 matrix. On the top left is the 4 × 4 weight matrix, and on the bottom left is the 4 × 4 gradient matrix. The weights are quantized to 4 bins (denoted with 4 colors), all the weights in the same bin share the same value, thus for each weight, we then need to store only a small index into a table of shared weights.”, pg. 3, fourth paragraph)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network, candidate architectures and kernel encodings of Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, with the network quantization of Han. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as quantization of weights enforces weight sharing and reduces the number of bits, as disclosed in Han. (“we quantize the weights to enforce weight sharing, finally, we apply Huffman coding. After the first two steps we retrain the network to fine tune the remaining connections and the quantized centroids. Pruning, reduces the number of connections by 9× to 13×; Quantization then reduces the number of bits that represent each connection from 32 to 5.”, pg. 1, Abstract)
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Brock, in further view of Yu, and in further view of Ashish Gondimalla et al. (Herein referred to as Gondimalla) (SparTen: A Sparse Tensor Accelerator for Convolutional Neural Networks)
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, but does not explicitly teach splitting convolution node activations of the target model by splitting each input tensor into a plurality of smaller tensors, the plurality of smaller tensors incorporated into the set of candidate architectures.
Gondimalla teaches splitting convolution node activations of the target model by splitting each input tensor into a plurality of smaller tensors, the plurality of smaller tensors incorporated into the set of candidate architectures. (“SparTen leverages its efficient inner join to confine the products for one output cell to one multiplier and distribute those for different output cells on different multipliers for parallelism. Consequently, SparTen avoids SCNN’s problems. Because SparTen’s inner join produces different output cells in separate compute units, SparTen applies to convolutions of any stride (and also to non-convolutional DNNs) and avoids SCNN’s cross bars.”, pg. 6, right column, second paragraph) (The separate compute unit correspond to smaller tensors, which can be easily configured to work with the candidate architectures of the modified Shi.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network, candidate architectures and kernel encodings of Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, with the separate tensors of Gondimalla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as Gondimalla’s method requires just one address calculation, and allows for more room for input buffering, among other benefits, as Gondimalla discloses. (“Each of SparTen’s compute units produces only one output cell at a time (1) requiring just one address calculation for all the products in a chunk and (2) allowing more room for input buffering and hence fewer implicit barriers at input broadcast. Producing a single output cell also means that a chunk can capture many channels for smaller filters to achieve high compute-unit utilization without increasing output buffering as all the channels contribute to the same output cell. Because SparTen assigns one output cell per compute unit there is no underutilization due to input tiling.”, pg. 6, right column, right before “3.3 Greedy balancing”)
Claims 6, 7, 16, 17, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Brock, in further view of Yu, and in further view of Chris Ying et al. (Herein referred to as Ying) (NAS-Bench-101: Towards Reproducible Neural Architecture Search)
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 26, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, but does not explicitly teach identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises progressively increasing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel.
Ying teaches identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises progressively increasing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel. (“The goal of NAS algorithms is to find architectures that have high testing accuracy at epoch Emax. To do this, we repeatedly query the dataset at (A,Estop) pairs, where A is an architecture in the search space and Estop is an allowed number of epochs (Estop ∈ {4,12,36,108}).”, pg. 3, right column, bottom paragraph) (The search space is search progressively with the increased number of epochs.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network, candidate architectures and kernel encodings of Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, with the progressive search of a search space of Ying. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows the NAS algorithm to find architectures that have high testing accuracy, as disclosed in Ying. (“The goal of NAS algorithms is to find architectures that have high testing accuracy at epoch Emax. To do this, we repeatedly query the dataset at (A,Estop) pairs, where A is an architecture in the search space and Estop is an allowed number of epochs (Estop ∈ {4,12,36,108}).”, pg. 3, right column, bottom paragraph)
Regarding claims 7, 17, and 27, Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, teaches the method and apparatuses of claims 1, 11, and 21, but does not explicitly teach identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises progressively reducing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel.
Ying teaches identifying the subset of kernel encodings comprises means for progressively reducing the selected kernel choice from an inner subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel to an outer subset of the single over-parameterized super kernel. (“Because NAS-Bench-101 exhaustively evaluates a search space, it permits, for the first time, a comprehensive analysis of a NAS search space as a whole. We illustrate such potential by measuring search space properties relevant to architecture search… we restrict our search for neural net topologies to the space of small feedforward structures, usually called cells…”, pg. 1, right column, fourth paragraph; pg. 2, under “2.1. Architecture”) (The search is restricted to certain cells from the search space as a whole.)
Therefore, it would have considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the current application, to combine the super network, candidate architectures and kernel encodings of Shi, as modified by Brock and Yu, with the reduction of a search space of Ying. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for exhaustive enumeration, as disclosed in Ying. (“this space of labeled DAGs grows exponentially in both V and L. In order to limit the size of the space to allow exhaustive enumeration, we impose the following constraints…”, pg. 2, left column, last paragraph)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance:
Argument 1: The independent claims recite a technological improvement, as similar to Enfish, it provides an improvement in computer functionality.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims, as drafted, do not recite an improvement of a computer function, but rather recites the improvement of an abstract idea. According to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C.), a claim that requires a computer may still recite a mental process. The mental process listed in the rejections above are interpreted to be performing a mental process in a computing environment and/or using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process. Even in light of the newly amended limitations, the 101 rejections are maintained.
Argument 2: The current references do not teach the newly amended limitations.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in the above rejection, the “single over-parameterized super kernel” is interpreted to be any kernel which contains a super network, the “different subsets of shared super kernel weights” are interpreted to be weights shared from the super network; subsets to sub-networks, and “performing gradient descent to evolve a selected kernel choice among the different subsets of shared super kernel weights” is interpreted to be performing a gradient descent procedure on a kernel to generate kernel encodings. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, all of these limitations are taught by the current references. The 103 rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.I./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/MICHAEL H HOANG/ PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122