DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 24 recites “The network entity of claim 1, wherein the network entity is a user equipment (UE)” it should be “wherein the network entity is a base station or gNB.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,25,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 5, recites “determine an updated bandwidth,” however; the claim does not recite any other bandwidth to compare it with. Therefore, the term “updated bandwidth” is unclear.
Claim 25 line 2, recites “determine an updated bandwidth,” however; the claim does not recite any other bandwidth to compare it with. Therefore, the term “updated bandwidth” is unclear.
Claim 26 line 5, recites “determine an updated bandwidth,” however; the claim does not recite any other bandwidth to compare it with. Therefore, the term “updated bandwidth” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,24-27,29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XIONG to (WO2020160543 A1)
Regarding claims 1,25, Xiong teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising (see, fig.7) at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the network entity is configured to:([0005] discloses includes computer instructions, where upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors of a gNodeB (gNB), causes the one or more processors to indicate a time domain resource allocation within one Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) size in a downlink control information (DCI), and to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) with a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform in accordance with the time domain resource allocation within the one DFT size)determine an updated bandwidth corresponding to a scheduled physical
downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission,([0049] discloses Multiplexing of PDCCH and PDSCH for above 52.6GHz carrier frequency. [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP) wherein the scheduled PDSCH
transmission is associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)
transmission,([0049] discloses Multiplexing of PDCCH and PDSCH for above 52.6GHz carrier frequency) and wherein the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission are associated with a shared configured demodulation reference signal (DMRS);([0011] Figure 6 , shared Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission) and receive, based on the shared configured DMRS, the scheduled PDSCH transmission using the updated bandwidth([0055] discloses a shared DMRS can be employed for the transmission of PDCCH and PDSCH, which can help reduce DMRS overhead and thus improve spectrum efficiency for the transmission of data channel. In this case, a same DMRS AP is used for the transmission of PDCCH and PDSCH).
Regarding 26, Xiong teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising (see, fig.7) at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the network entity is configured to:([0005] discloses includes computer instructions, where upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors of a gNodeB (gNB), causes the one or more processors to indicate a time domain resource allocation within one Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) size in a downlink control information (DCI), and to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) with a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform in accordance with the time domain resource allocation within the one DFT size)determine an updated bandwidth corresponding to a scheduled physical
downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission,([0049] discloses Multiplexing of PDCCH and PDSCH for above 52.6GHz carrier frequency. [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP) wherein the scheduled PDSCH
transmission is associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)
transmission,([0049] discloses Multiplexing of PDCCH and PDSCH for above 52.6GHz carrier frequency) and wherein the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission are associated with a shared configured demodulation reference signal (DMRS);([0011] Figure 6 , shared Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission)
transmit configuration information indicative of the updated bandwidth;( [0042] discloses a joint resource allocation in time within one OFDM symbol and within one slot for PDSCH transmission can be defined. Similarly, the joint resource allocation can be signalled as a combination of RRC signalling and DCI) and transmit the scheduled PDSCH transmission using the updated bandwidth([0055] discloses a shared DMRS can be employed for the transmission of PDCCH and PDSCH, which can help reduce DMRS overhead and thus improve spectrum efficiency for the transmission of data channel. In this case, a same DMRS AP is used for the transmission of PDCCH and PDSCH).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong teaches wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) switching information,( [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP).
Regarding claim 3, 27 Xiong teaches the scheduled PDSCH transmission is scheduled based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) included in the PDCCH transmission; ;( [0042] discloses a joint resource allocation in time within one OFDM symbol and within one slot for PDSCH transmission can be defined. Similarly, the joint resource allocation can be signalled as a combination of RRC signalling and DCI) and the DCI does not include a Frequency Domain Resource Allocation (FDRA) field for the scheduled PDSCH transmission;( [0042] discloses a joint resource allocation in time within one OFDM symbol and within one slot for PDSCH transmission can be defined. Similarly, the joint resource allocation can be signalled as a combination of RRC signalling and DCI. DCI does not include a Frequency Domain Resource Allocation (FDRA) field for the scheduled PDSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 29, Xiong teaches wherein the updated bandwidth is within a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) ,( [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP).
Regarding claims 24,30 Xiong teaches wherein the network entity is a base station or gNB. (see, fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5,8-9,28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG to (WO2020160543 A1) in view of Yum to (US 20210409174 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Xiong does not explicitly teach wherein the DL BWP switching information is indicative of a particular BWP bandwidth included in a plurality of BWP bandwidth
switching candidates
However, Yum teaches wherein the DL BWP switching information is indicative of a particular BWP bandwidth included in a plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates([0353] Discussion will be made on indicating how to make assumption for resource allocation at a timing point of giving a which bandwidth part configuration (if a plurality of bandwidth part configurations exist) to a UE. [0354] Neighbor cell Radio Resource Management (RRM) will be discussed later. [0355] Each bandwidth part is associated with a specific numerology (subcarrier spacing, CP type). [0356] A UE expects at least one DL bandwidth part and one UL bandwidth part activated in a set of bandwidth parts configured for a given time instant)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include wherein the DL BWP switching information is indicative of a particular BWP bandwidth included in a plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates, as suggested by Yum. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claim 5, Xiong does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of BWP bandwidth
switching candidates are configured based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message
indicative of the plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates
However, Yum teaches wherein the plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates are configured based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message indicative of the plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates ([0171] through RRC signaling, it is able to configure partial band configuration information …[0355] Each bandwidth part is associated with a specific numerology (subcarrier spacing, CP type). [0356] A UE expects at least one DL bandwidth part and one UL bandwidth part activated in a set of bandwidth parts configured for a given time instant)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include wherein the plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates are configured based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message indicative of the plurality of BWP bandwidth switching candidates, as suggested by Yum. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claims 8,28 Xiong does not explicitly teach receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration information indicative of a PDSCH bandwidth, wherein to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the RRC configuration information
However, Yum teaches receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration information indicative of a PDSCH bandwidth, wherein to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the RRC configuration information([0171] through RRC signaling, it is able to configure partial band configuration information …[0355] Each bandwidth part is associated with a specific numerology (subcarrier spacing, CP type). [0356] A UE expects at least one DL bandwidth part and one UL bandwidth part activated in a set of bandwidth parts configured for a given time instant)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration information indicative of a PDSCH bandwidth, wherein to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the RRC configuration information, as suggested by Yum. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claim 9, Xiong teaches wherein the updated bandwidth is within a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) ,( [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG to (WO2020160543 A1) in view of Pan to (US 20190215900 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Xiong does not explicitly teach receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration information corresponding to a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP), wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated
bandwidth based on the RRC reconfiguration information
However, Pan teaches receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration information
corresponding to a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP), wherein, to determine the
updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated
bandwidth based on the RRC reconfiguration information([0128] discloses When the field is absent the UE the initial BWP as default BWP...the NW change the default BWP with a regular RRC reconfiguration or only with Reconfiguration with sync… Whether to add a default uplink BWP defaultDownlinkBwp-Id BandiwdthPartId)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration information corresponding to a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP), wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the RRC reconfiguration information, as suggested by Pan. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claim 7, Xiong teaches wherein the DL BWP is associated with the PDSCH transmission, the PDCCH transmission, and the shared configured DMRS,( [0051] discloses frequency resource allocated for PDSCH transmission is same as control resource set (CORESET) in frequency. Alternatively, CORESET in frequency and the frequency resource allocated for PDSCH can be equal to active DL BWP or initial DL BWP).
Claim(s) 10, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG to (WO2020160543 A1) in view of Ang to (US20210243793)
Regarding claim 10, Xiong does not explicitly teach receive configuration information indicative of a plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths; and receive, via a Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI), information indicative of a particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth of the plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths, wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the information indicative of the particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth
However, Ang teaches receive configuration information indicative of a plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths;( [0201] DCI field identification component 935 may identify, from the set of DCI fields, a set of transformable DCI fields having content in the first BWP that is able to be updated via a transformation rule to DCI fields having a respective second size in the second BWP. Additionally, DCI field identification component 935 may identify, from the set of DCI fields, a set of non-transformable DCI fields having content in the first BWP that is unable to be updated via the transformation rule to DCI fields having the respective second size in the second BWP) and receive, via a Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI), information indicative of a particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth of the plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths, wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the information indicative of the particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth ([0119] … a BWP timer may be used to account for a period of inactivity. That is, a BWP may be set to expire after a period of time of scheduling inactivity. At the expiration of the BWP timer, an active BWP may then be switched (e.g., autonomously) to a narrower bandwidth, for example, for reception of a control channel 305. Illustratively, this is shown in FIG. 3 to be a time period between slot.sub.m+2 and slot.sub.x. At the expiration of the BWP timer prior to slot.sub.x, there may be a transition from the wide BWP back to a narrow BWP during slot.sub.x. In some cases, the BWP timer may be a separate timer from a DRX timer (e.g., for low-latency data). In some cases, the BWP scheduling information may be dedicated signaling for the purposes of BWP switching between different BWPs)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include receive configuration information indicative of a plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths; and receive, via a Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI), information indicative of a particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth of the plurality of candidate PDSCH bandwidths, wherein, to determine the updated bandwidth, the network entity is configured to determine the updated bandwidth based on the information indicative of the particular candidate PDSCH bandwidth, as suggested by Ang. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claim 22, Xiong does not explicitly teach determine a timer associated with a configured default Frequency Domain Resource Allocation (FDRA) for the network entity has expired; and determine an updated bandwidth based on a bandwidth of the configured default FDRA
However, Ang teaches determine a timer associated with a configured default Frequency Domain Resource Allocation (FDRA) for the network entity has expired; and determine an updated bandwidth based on a bandwidth of the configured default FDRA([0119] … a BWP timer may be used to account for a period of inactivity. That is, a BWP may be set to expire after a period of time of scheduling inactivity. At the expiration of the BWP timer, an active BWP may then be switched (e.g., autonomously) to a narrower bandwidth, for example, for reception of a control channel 305. Illustratively, this is shown in FIG. 3 to be a time period between slot.sub.m+2 and slot.sub.x. At the expiration of the BWP timer prior to slot.sub.x, there may be a transition from the wide BWP back to a narrow BWP during slot.sub.x. In some cases, the BWP timer may be a separate timer from a DRX timer (e.g., for low-latency data). In some cases, the BWP scheduling information may be dedicated signaling for the purposes of BWP switching between different BWPs)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Xiong include determine a timer associated with a configured default Frequency Domain Resource Allocation (FDRA) for the network entity has expired; and determine an updated bandwidth based on a bandwidth of the configured default FDRA, as suggested by Ang. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the available resources.
Regarding claim 23, Xiong and Ang teaches determine a configured periodicity associated with the configured default FDRA; and apply the configured default FDRA based on the configured periodicity(Ang,[0113] discloses A BWP switching event may be signaled using DCI. In some cases, a downlink BWP may be switched using a downlink scheduling DCI and an uplink BWP may be switched using an uplink scheduling DCI. In some cases, either downlink BWPs or uplink BWPs may be switched using either downlink DCI or uplink DCI. In some cases, Wireless communications system 200 may support a timer for timer-based BWP switching. In such a time-based configuration, the BWP 210 may switch from an active BWP to a default BWP based on a timer expiring).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461