DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amended Claims 1-3, canceled Claim 4, and withdrawn Claims 7-8 in the response filed on 11/17/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-3, 5, and 6 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 1: Lines 5-6, please amend “an upper layer on the lower layer and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a same matrix as the matrix” to “an upper layer on the lower layer and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a same matrix as the matrix of the lower layer” to promote clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150320168 (“Hoffman”), in view of “Neodymium Disc Magnet Variety Sample Pack N42 (17 Sizes).” totalElement, totalelement.com/collections/disc-magnets/products/neodymium-disc-magnet-sample-pack-n42-17-sizes (“Totalelement”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20200388832 (“Kwon et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, Hoffman teaches a magnet assembly (100) comprising a metal plate (101), a lower layer (103) attached to the metal plate and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a matrix, and an upper layer (104) on the lower layer and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a matrix. (Abstract, Figs. 1, 3, 4B, and 5, [0025], [0027], [0028], and [0030]-[0034]).
Hoffman does not explicitly discloses an upper layer form a same matrix as the matrix in the lower layer, and a ratio of a length of one of the plurality of permanent magnets with respect to a sum of thicknesses of the lower layer and upper layer is 3:1 to 1:1. While Hoffman magnet assembly is capable of magnetizing a magnetic substance due to it comprising a magnetically hard material [0028], Hoffman does not teach its magnet assembly orients an active material for a secondary battery.
Totalelement teaches a magnet assembly comprising a lower layer comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a matrix, and an upper layer on the lower layer and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a same matrix as the matrix. Totalelement recognizes that each permanent magnet has a dimension of 1/8 x 1/32 inch or 1/8 x 1/16 inch (Page 2). Based on Hoffman’s magnet assembly as shown in Fig. 1 and a conventional dimension of a permanent magnet as demonstrated by Totalelement, a ratio of length of one of the plurality of permanent magnets with respect to a sum of thicknesses of the lower layer and the upper layer is 1 or 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio as claimed in Hoffman’s magnet assembly in view of their great industrial and business applications (Page 1).
Kwon et al. teaches a permanent magnet assembly (77) that orients an active material for a secondary battery (Fig. 2 and [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hoffman’s permanent magnet assembly in a wide range of applications across various fields, such as to orient an active material for a secondary battery, in order to it be more versatile and be more commercially successful.
With regards to Claim 2, Hoffman teaches an attractive force that attaches the lower layer to the metal plate is greater than a repulsive force generated by a neighboring in a column direction of the matrix that extends from the lower layer to the upper layer. That is, Hoffman teaches respective polarities of the plurality of permanent magnets of the lower layer are alternately provided in a row direction, and all the magnetic poles are attracting to each other in a column direction that extends from the lower layer to the upper layer. Thus, a repulsive force generated in the column direction of the matrix that extends from the lower layer to the upper layer is zero or negligible (Abstract, Figs. 1, 3, 4B, and 5, [0025], [0027], [0028], and [0030]-[0034]).
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150320168 (“Hoffman”) in view of US Pub. No. 20200388832 (“Kwon et al.”).
With regards to Claim 3, Hoffman teaches a magnet assembly (100) comprising a metal plate (101), a lower layer (103) attached to the metal plate and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a matrix, and an upper layer (104) on the lower layer and comprising a plurality of permanent magnets that form a matrix. Hoffman teaches respective polarities of the plurality of permanent magnets of the lower layer and the upper layer are alternately provided in a row direction of the matrix (Abstract, Figs. 1, 3, 4B, and 5, [0025], [0027], [0028], and [0030]-[0034]).
Hoffman’s magnet assembly (100) is formed by an array of stacked magnets. While the figures demonstrate a 3x2 array, the array size can be decreased or increased in either dimensions [0027]. Therefore, a 1x2 or 1x3 array, for example, is within the purview of Hoffman. Such structures produce respective polarities of the plurality of permanent magnets of the lower layer and the upper layer are equally provided in a column direction that is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the magnet assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the array size in order to tailor the intended use as needed ([0002] and [0027]).
While Hoffman magnet assembly is capable of magnetizing a magnetic substance due to it comprising a magnetically hard material [0028], Hoffman does not teach its magnet assembly orients an active material for a secondary battery.
Kwon et al. teaches a permanent magnet assembly (77) that orients an active material for a secondary battery (Fig. 2 and [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hoffman’s permanent magnet assembly in a wide range of applications across various fields, such as to orient an active material for a secondary battery, in order to it be more versatile and be more commercially successful.
With regards to Claim 5, Hoffman teaches the plurality of permanent magnets in the lower layer and the upper layer neighboring each other in the column direction contact with each other ([0025] and [0030]).
With regards to Claim 6 Hoffman teaches the upper layer and the lower layer are combined by attractive force of the plurality of permanent magnets in the lower layer and the upper layer (Fig. 4B and [0025]).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785