Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the scope of the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as being anticipated by Cho, C. et al. (WO 2021225321 A1), hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a negative electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery ([0071], rechargeable lithium battery 100) comprising:
lithium titanium oxide having an aspect ratio of about 10:1 to about 2:1 (Claim 4);
a needle-type carbon-based material (Claim 2-3);
a negative active material ([0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches Lithium titanium oxide is represented by Li4+x Tiy Mz Ot in where 0≤x≤3, 1≤y≤5, 0≤z≤3, 3≤t≤12, and M is selected from Mg, La, Tb, Gd, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Ba, Sr, Ca, or combinations thereof ([0014-0015], Formula 1)
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches a needle-type carbon-based material comprises carbon nanotube, carbon nano fiber, or combinations thereof ([0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches a needle-type carbon-based material has an average length of about 0.5 μm to about 20 μm ([0010]). Specifically, Cho teaches a range of length of 5 μm to 200 μm. It is well established that the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select thickness within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches the mixing ratio of lithium titanium oxide and the needle-type carbon-based material is about 2:1 to about 199:1 by weight ratio ([0028], [0039], [0059]). Specifically, Cho teaches a range of 0.002:1 to 45:1 by weight ratio. It is well established that the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select thickness within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches the mixing ratio of lithium titanium oxide and the needle-type carbon-based material is about 2:1 to about 100:1 by weight ratio ([0028], [0039], [0059]). Specifically, Cho teaches a range of 0.002:1 to 45:1 by weight ratio. It is well established that the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select thickness within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches a negative active material that comprises a silicon-based active material, a carbon-based active material or combinations thereof (Claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches a rechargeable lithium battery ([0071], rechargeable lithium battery 100), comprising:
a negative electrode (Claim 1, Claim 11);
a positive electrode (Claim 11);
an electrolyte (Claim 11).
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776