DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Please correct the chain of continuity in first paragraph in page 1 of the speciation filed on 8/1/2023 to include the updated event such as “ 16/707,211 filed December 9, 2019 and Now U.S. Patent No.11712402B2 issued on Aug. 1, 2023 which is a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application entitled “MULTI-MIX INFUSION BAG,” serial number 14/804,071, filed July 20, 2015 and Now US Patent 10500133 B2 issued on Dec. 10, 2019..etc.).
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No.11712402B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because :
The current claim 1 discloses a multi-mix infusion bag (claim 1, Col. 6, lines 1-68) comprising : a lower portion having a lower chamber (claim 1, Col. 6, lines 53-68); an upper portion comprising a plurality of chamber (claim 1, Col. 6, lines 53-68); a separating wall (claim 1, Col. 6, lines 53-68); a plurality of perforations (claim 1, Col. 6, lines 53-68 and Col. 7, lines 1-8).
Note that the current claim 1 is border than claim 1 of the patent as the patent include a dispensing device.
Also, the limitation in claim 2 of the current application ( patent, claim 2, Col. 7, lines 1-20), the limitation of claim 3 ( patent, claim 3, Col. 7, lines 1-20), the limitation of claim 4 ( patent, claim 4, Col. 7, lines 1-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasso et al. (US 2005/0224372 A1) (“Sasso”) in view of Larkin (US. 4608043).
Re claim 1, Sasso discloses a multi-mix infusion bag (Fig. 1-2, abstract) comprising: a lower portion having a lower chamber(14); an upper portion (12a-b) comprising a plurality of chambers (12a-b), wherein each chamber is separated and contains an intravenous agent (¶0057); a separating wall (16a-b) located between the upper portion and the lower portion to prevent the intravenous agents in the plurality of chambers from entering the lower chamber (¶0057); and a plurality of perforations (18,18a-18b, ¶0056) formed in the separating wall (Fig. 2), wherein at least one perforation of the plurality of perforations corresponds to one chamber of the plurality of chambers (Fig. 2), and wherein each of the plurality of perforations provides fluid communication between each chamber and the lower chamber to transferred the separated intravenous agents into the lower chamber through the perforations for mixing of the intravenous agents (¶0056, ¶0057), but it fails to disclose wherein each perforation is formed in response to pressure applied to each chamber of the plurality of chambers of the upper portion to apply pressure to the separating wall.
However, Larkin disclose a multi-mix infusion bag (Fig. 1-5) and wherein perforation (16) is formed in response to pressure applied to each chamber of the plurality of chambers (42,, Col. 3, lines 1-10) of the upper portion to apply pressure to the separating wall (wall between to 42, 44, Col. 3, lines 1-10).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify teach perforations of Sasso so that each perforation is formed in response to pressure applied to each chamber of the plurality of chambers of the upper portion to apply pressure to the separating wall as taught by Larkin for the purpose of using an art recognized perforations that can be effectively rupture as desired for mixing the agents (Larkin , abstract, Col. 3, lines 1-10).
Re claim 2, Sasso discloses an outlet (30, ¶0056) coupled to the lower chamber (Fig. 2), wherein the mixed intravenous agents are dispensed through the outlet (¶0056).
Re claim 3, Sasso discloses an inlet coupled to the lower chamber (32, 28, ¶0057).
Re claim 4, Sasso discloses wherein an additive is flowed into the lower chamber through the inlet and mixed with the intravenous agents in the lower chamber (drug, ¶0057).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783