DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 11/26/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-24, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US 20210377852 A1) (hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user
equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) ; and
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (see Fig. 15, para. [0021]; [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system), to cause the apparatus to:
receive, while operating in an active state (see para [0277] discloses UE in active state), a control signal comprising a request for the UE to transition to an inactive state for at least a time period (see Id. Discloses UE monitoring PDCCH and switching to inactive state; para. [0289] and Fig. 26B discloses a power saving mechanism with a go to sleep indication via PSCH. In an example, in response to receiving a go-to sleep indication via PSCH, the UE may go back to sleep during the DRX active time), the control signal comprising a set of one or more communication parameters for subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (see Id. Discloses timers including DRX duration cycle and DRX sleep state. Sending configuration is in active mode), wherein the active state is associated with monitoring for a downlink control channel and the inactive state is associated with skipping monitoring for the downlink control channel (see para. [0275]-[0276]discloses DRX operation used by the UE that monitors PDCCH. The base station may configure DRX operation with a set of parameters; during DRX mode the UE monitor PDCCH discontinuously, UE monitors PDCCH during DRX active mode, and when the UE does not monitor is called sleep state (the UE is inactive));
transition from the active state to the inactive state for at least the time period based at least in part on the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell); and
operate in the active state after at least the time period in accordance with the set of one or more communication parameters indicated via the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
receive, via a first set of one or more fields included in the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters), the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell);
and receive, via a second set of one or more fields included in the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters), a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
receive, via one or more fields included in the control signal, a time offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), a frequency offset (this part is optional), a control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof for the subsequent communications (see para. [0280] discloses RRC may control DRX operation by configuring plurality of timers, that may comprise DRX on Timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX HARQ RTT timer, retransmission timers, one or more short long DRX configuration parameters. The DRX timers may be in terms of frames).
wherein the set of one or more communication parameters comprises the time offset see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), the frequency offset (this part is optional), the control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof (see para. [0280] discloses RRC may control DRX operation by configuring plurality of timers, that may comprise DRX on Timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX HARQ RTT timer, retransmission timers, one or more short long DRX configuration parameters. The DRX timers may be in terms of frames).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
receive the control signal comprising one or more fields that are repurposed to indicate the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters of DRX cycle, including DRX ON duration, DRX Off duration, and duration of DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to operate in the active state are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0021]; [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
operate in the active state in accordance with the set of one or more communication parameters indicated via the control signal based at least in part on the control signal comprising a downlink control channel skipping indication (see para. [0288]-[0290] discloses if the UE does not receive wake-up signal during the wake-up duration, the UE may skip monitoring of PDCCHs in the DRX active time; power saving mechanism, the UE may go back to sleep and skip monitoring of PDCCHs during the DRX active time).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive downlink control information comprising a downlink control channel skipping indication and the set of one or more communication parameters (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters of DRX cycle, including DRX ON duration, DRX Off duration, and duration of DRX cycle),
wherein the downlink control channel skipping indication indicates the request for the UE to transition to the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0288]-[0290] discloses if the UE does not receive wake-up signal during the wake-up duration, the UE may skip monitoring of PDCCHs in the DRX active time; power saving mechanism based on a go to sleep indicator, the UE may go back to sleep and skip monitoring of PDCCHs during the DRX active time) .
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0021]; [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to: transition, based at least in part on the control signal indicating the time period, from the inactive state to the active state after the time period expires (see para. [0351] discloses the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring until the end of DRX on duration. The wireless device may repeat the process, for a next DRX cycle, comprising: monitoring the PDCCH for receiving a PS/dormancy indication at time before a DRX on duration, skipping PDCCH monitoring and/or continuing CSI report in the DRX on duration if receiving the PS/dormancy indication indicating a power saving operation, stopping CSI report in a DRX off duration).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0021]; [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
receive, during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE, a medium access control-control element that comprises the request for the UE to transition to the inactive state associated with an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle and that comprises the set of one or more communication parameters (see para. [0237] discloses MAC CEs (medium access control control elements) of a wireless device. The MAC CEs comprises resource set activation/deactivation, a DRX command MAC CE, a Long DRX command MAC CE),
wherein the UE transitions from the inactive state back to the active state after at least the time period in accordance with the discontinuous reception cycle (see para. [0237] discloses MAC CEs (Medium Access Control Control Elements) of a wireless device. The MAC CEs comprises resource set activation/deactivation, a DRX command MAC CE, a Long DRX command MAC CE).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0021]; [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transition from the inactive state to the active state after at least the time period in accordance with a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE (see para [0277] discloses the first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle),
wherein the control signal is received during an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the UE (see para [0277] discloses during the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell) and
wherein transitioning to the active state occurs after an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the UE expires (see para. [0277] discloses when the UE monitor all PDCCHs on (or for) the multiple cells during the DRX Active state. During the DRX off duration, the UE may stop monitoring all PDCCH on (or for) the multiple cells. The UE may repeat the DRX operations according to the one or more DRX parameters).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the set of one or more communication parameters comprises a timing offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), a frequency offset (this part is optional), a beam (see para. [0300] discloses one or more configuration parameters indicate a search space set in the BeamFormingRecoveryConfig), a bandwidth part (see para. [0365];[0367] discloses wireless device may switch BWP to dormant of the SCell based on the receiving indicator, DRX on duration), a control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof for the subsequent communications (see para. [0280] discloses RRC may control DRX operation by configuring plurality of timers, that may comprise DRX on Timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX HARQ RTT timer, retransmission timers, one or more short long DRX configuration parameters. The DRX timers may be in terms of frames).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system); and
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) that is operating in an active state (see para [0277] discloses UE in active state), a control signal comprising a request for the UE to transition to an inactive state for at least a time period (see Id. Discloses UE monitoring PDCCH and switching to inactive state; para. [0289] and Fig. 26B discloses a power saving mechanism with a go to sleep indication via PSCH. In an example, in response to receiving a go-to sleep indication via PSCH, the UE may go back to sleep during the DRX active time), the control signal comprising a set of one or more communication parameters for subsequent communications in the active state after the UE operates in the inactive state for at least the time period (see Id. Discloses timers including DRX duration cycle and DRX sleep state. Sending configuration is in active mode); and
transmit, after at least the time period, a downlink communication in accordance with the set of one or more communication parameters indicated via the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit, via a first set of one or more fields included in the control signal, the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell); and
transmit, via a second set of one or more fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit, via one or more fields included in the control signal, a time offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), a frequency offset (This part is optional), a control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof for the subsequent communications,
wherein the set of one or more communication parameters comprises the time offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), the frequency offset (This part is optional), the control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit the control signal comprising one or more fields that are repurposed to indicate the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters of DRX cycle, including DRX ON duration, DRX Off duration, and duration of DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit downlink control information comprising a downlink control channel skipping indication and the set of one or more communication parameters, wherein the downlink control channel skipping indication indicates the request for the UE to transition to the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters of DRX cycle, including DRX ON duration, DRX Off duration, and duration of DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit, during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE, a medium access control-control element that comprises the request for the UE to transition to the inactive state associated with an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle and that comprises the set of one or more communication parameters (see para. [0237] discloses MAC CEs (medium access control control elements) of a wireless device. The MAC CEs comprises resource set activation/deactivation, a DRX command MAC CE, a Long DRX command MAC CE).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit the control signal during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell. When multiple cells are in active state, the UE may monitor all PDCCHs on (or for) the multiple cells during the DRX Active state).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the set of one or more communication parameters comprises a timing offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), a frequency offset (This part is optional), a beam (see para. [0300] discloses one or more configuration parameters indicate a search space set in the BeamFormingRecoveryConfig), a bandwidth part (see para. [0365];[0367] discloses wireless device may switch BWP to dormant of the SCell based on the receiving indicator, DRX on duration), a control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set), or any combination thereof for the subsequent communications (This part is optimal).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, while operating in an active state (see para [0277] discloses UE in active state), a control signal comprising a request for the UE to transition to an inactive state for at least a time period (see Id. Discloses UE monitoring PDCCH and switching to inactive state), the control signal comprising a set of one or more communication parameters for subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (see Id. Discloses timers including DRX duration cycle and DRX sleep state. Sending configuration is in active mode),
wherein the active state is associated with monitoring for a downlink control channel and the inactive state is associated with skipping monitoring for the downlink control channel (see para. [0275]-[0276] discloses DRX operation used by the UE that monitors PDCCH. The base station may configure DRX operation with a set of parameters; during DRX mode the UE monitor PDCCH discontinuously, UE monitors PDCCH during DRX active mode, and when the UE does not monitor is called sleep state (the UE is inactive));
transitioning from the active state to the inactive state for at least the time period based at least in part on the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell; para. [0289] and Fig. 26B discloses a power saving mechanism with a go to sleep indication via PSCH. In an example, in response to receiving a go-to sleep indication via PSCH, the UE may go back to sleep during the DRX active time); and
operating in the active state after at least the time period in accordance with the set of one or more communication parameters indicated via the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou discloses a method wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via a first set of one or more fields included in the control signal, the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell); and
receiving, via a second set of one or more fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou discloses a method wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via one or more fields included in the control signal, a time offset (see para. [0382] discloses the configuration parameters of DRX operation, comprising starting offset of the DRX cycle. Configuration parameters of power saving operation comprise time offset indicating a starting symbol), a frequency offset (this part is optional), a control resource set (see para. [0208];[0291] discloses base station transmit a DCI via PDCCH on one or more control resource set),, or any combination thereof for the subsequent communications (see para. [0280] discloses RRC may control DRX operation by configuring plurality of timers, that may comprise DRX on Timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX HARQ RTT timer, retransmission timers, one or more short long DRX configuration parameters. The DRX timers may be in terms of frames),
wherein the set of one or more communication parameters comprises the time offset, the frequency offset, the control resource set, or any combination thereof (see para. [0280] discloses RRC may control DRX operation by configuring plurality of timers, that may comprise DRX on Timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX HARQ RTT timer, retransmission timers, one or more short long DRX configuration parameters. The DRX timers may be in terms of frames).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) that is operating in an active state, a control signal comprising a request for the UE to transition to an inactive state for at least a time period, the control signal comprising a set of one or more communication parameters for subsequent communications in the active state after the UE operates in the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses one or more parameters of DRX cycle, including DRX ON duration, DRX Off duration, and duration of DRX cycle; para. [0289] and Fig. 26B discloses a power saving mechanism with a go to sleep indication via PSCH. In an example, in response to receiving a go-to sleep indication via PSCH, the UE may go back to sleep during the DRX active time); and
transmitting, after at least the time period, a downlink communication in accordance with the set of one or more communication parameters indicated via the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 29, Zhou discloses a method wherein transmitting the control signal comprises:
transmitting, via a first set of one or more fields included in the control signal, the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell); and
transmitting, via a second set of one or more fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou discloses a method, wherein transmitting the control signal comprises:
transmitting, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0277] discloses the one or more parameters may comprise a first parameter and/or a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (e.g., DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (e.g., DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle. The one or more parameters may further comprise a time duration of the DRX cycle. During the DRX Active state, the UE may monitor PDCCHs for detecting one or more DCIs on a serving cell. During the DRX Sleep state, the UE may stop monitoring PDCCHs on the serving cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 15, 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 20210377852 A1) (hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Park et al (US 20230363048 A1) (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system).
Zhou fails to disclose receiving, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal.
However, Park discloses receiving, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0231]-[0233] discloses UE receiving signaling, DRX on Duration field indicating DRX operation, here the corresponding field may be set to 1 bit or more, The number of bits in the field may be determined according to the number in the list of possible DRX cycle. Also, may include parameters for starting, termination, and applying times of the on duration, each mapped to each code point of the field).
Zhou and Park are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the fields as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses an apparatus, wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system).
Zhou does not clearly discloses transmitting, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal.
However, Park discloses first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period (see para. [0223]-[0224] discloses signaling of DRX aperiodic cycle request field, the field may be set to 1 or more bits. The setting values may include parameters relates to the start, end and Application time of the DRX) or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0223]-[0224] discloses signaling of DRX aperiodic cycle request field, the field may be set to 1 or more bits. The setting values may include parameters relates to the start, end and Application time of the DRX).
Zhou and Park are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the fields as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Regarding claim 25, Zhou discloses a method.
Zhou does not clearly disclose a method wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal.
However, Park teaches a method, wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via a first field included in the control signal, one or more bits that indicate whether one or more second fields in the control signal are associated with the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (see para. [0223]-[0224] discloses signaling of DRX aperiodic cycle request field, the field may be set to 1 or more bits. The setting values may include parameters relates to the start, end and Application time of the DRX) or are associated with a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission that is scheduled by the control signal (see para. [0223]-[0224] discloses signaling of DRX aperiodic cycle request field, the field may be set to 1 or more bits. The setting values may include parameters relates to the start, end and Application time of the DRX).
Zhou and Park are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the fields as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Claims 4, 16, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 20210377852 A1) (hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Wang et al (US 20250275012 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system).
Zhou fails to disclose receiving, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal; and
receive, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period.
However, Wang teaches receiving, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal (see Fig. 5 para. [0192] discloses user configure with two DRX configuration, DRX1 and DRX2); and
receive, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (para. [0192] discloses the user uses the inactivity timer (inactivity timer 2) in the determined configuration of the DRX to update the running inactivity timer, that is, taking inactivity timer 2 as the initial value of the timer, and then subtracting the time for which the timer has been running (that is, the time difference between time point 1 and time point 2).
Zhou and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the communication parameters as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou disclose an apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system).
Zhou fails to disclose transmitting, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal; and
transmit, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period.
However, Wang teaches transmitting, the control signal are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus (see Fig. 15, para. [0221]-[0222] discloses a wireless device with processing system associated to the memory that may store computer instructions or code executed by the processing system) to:
transmit, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal (see Fig. 5 para. [0192] discloses user configure with two DRX configuration, DRX1 and DRX2); and
transmit, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications in the active state after at least the time period (see para. [0192] discloses the user uses the inactivity timer (inactivity timer 2) in the determined configuration of the DRX to update the running inactivity timer, that is, taking inactivity timer 2 as the initial value of the timer, and then subtracting the time for which the timer has been running (that is, the time difference between time point 1 and time point 2).
Zhou and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the communication parameters as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Regarding claim 26, Zhou discloses a method.
Zhou fails to disclose a method, wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal; and
receiving, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period.
However, Wang teaches a method, wherein receiving the control signal comprises:
receiving, via one or more first fields included in the control signal, a second set of one or more communication parameters associated with a transmission scheduled by the control signal (see Fig. 5 para. [0192] discloses user configure with two DRX configuration, DRX1 and DRX2; and
receiving, via at least one second field included in the control signal, an indication that indicates a difference between the second set of one or more communication parameters and the set of one or more communication parameters for the subsequent communications after operating in the inactive state for at least the time period (para. [0192] discloses the user uses the inactivity timer (inactivity timer 2) in the determined configuration of the DRX to update the running inactivity timer, that is, taking inactivity timer 2 as the initial value of the timer, and then subtracting the time for which the timer has been running (that is, the time difference between time point 1 and time point 2).
Zhou and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the communication parameters as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data transfer and configuration information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose “a control signal comprising a request for the UE to transition to an inactive state” present in independent claims 1, 13, 23, 28. Examiner respectfully disagrees, see Zhou para. [0289] and Fig. 26B discloses a power saving mechanism with a go to sleep indication via PSCH. In an example, in response to receiving a go-to sleep indication via PSCH, the UE may go back to sleep during the DRX active time.
Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419