DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application number 18/363,633 filed on 05/06/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 21 being rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 has fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant’s amendment specifying that the indication requests performance of a secure process by the processor system itself merely identified the technological context in which the information processing concept is applied and does not change the character of the claim. The steps of “transmitting a disable command”, “receiving a shutdown indication” constitute collection of information upon which the determination step is based on, and data gathering does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. Hence, the rejection is appropriate and is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A new reference Cottrell et al. (US 20170176530 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cottrell is disclosed. Cottrell discloses an initial or unsecure state that keeps protected data inaccessible. The trusted boot component then disables the JTAG I/O GPIO pins and monitors them for unauthorized activity. The system is not permitted to transition to the secure state until both conditions have occurred: the JTAG pins have been latches disabled and monitoring has started. Once the secure state transition occurs protected data such as a secret key or IP becomes available. The chronological orders would be a secure state request or authentication, then, disable the JTAG hardware/path, then, disable latch establishes disabled state, then, monitoring the disabled JTAG signal paths for unexpected transitions or activity and only then enter secure state or expose protected data. Hence, monitoring is a precondition to entering the secure state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent
therefore, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claim
Step 1:
Claims 1, 11 and 21 are drawn to a method, therefore falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Nonetheless, claims 1,11 and 21 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1,11 and 21 recites a method of "receive an indication to perform a secure process", "determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable the hardware component", "transmit, to the hardware component, an indication to disable", enumerates a mental concept. A human can determine whether an action needs to be taken depending on a secure process being performed. These are steps that are carried out using basic observation and logical reasoning. As such, the steps receiving, transmitting signals based on a determination is nothing more than an abstract mental concept (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claims 1,11 and 21 recites additional step of "monitor, after receipt of the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system" and "perform the secure process based on the monitored signal connection" that fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Monitoring a signal connection for changes and conditionally executing an action based on the result is not an improvement to the system. This additional step, to monitor signals and perform a remedial action based on the signal, is a form of insignificant extra solution activity where determination of a change in signal is necessary for all uses of the judicial exception. The cited elements, hardware component, memory and processor system are more like generic tools and do not add any weight and fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The additional step that is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, does not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the courts have recognized that this additional step to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for receiving and retrieving data (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). As such claims 1,11 and 21 is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-30 are ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claims 1, 11, 21.
Step 1:
Claims 2, 4-9, 12, 14-19, 22, 23-29 are drawn to a method, therefore falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A-2B:
Dependent claims 2, 4-9, 12, 14-19, 22, 23-29 recites additional steps of "detect the perturbation signals", "stop performance of the secure process based on the detected perturbation signal" and others that fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. These steps involve observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion of a process that can be performed in a human mind. Observing signals on a connection and evaluating those signals by comparing them to expected values or prior states to judge whether a condition has occurred and make a decision to continue, resume or stop a secure process based on that judgement are human cognitive functions such as noticing changes, interpreting those changes based on context, making decisions based on that interpretation and taking necessary actions. These additional steps that is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, does not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the courts have recognized that this additional step to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for receiving and retrieving data (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). As such dependent claims 2, 4-9, 12, 14-19, 22, 23-29 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly et al. (US 20140215613 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kelly, in view of Conti et al. (US 20060021035 A1), hereinafter referred to as Conti in further view of Cottrell et al. (US 20170176530 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cottrell.
As per claim 1, Kelly discloses an apparatus for secure processing, comprising:
a hardware component; (An intrusion detection hardware set, Kelley, para [0006])
a memory system comprising instructions; and (Volatile memory, Kelley, para [0006])
a processor system coupled to the memory system and coupled to the hardware component through a signal connection, wherein the processor system is configured to:
receive an indication to perform a secure process using the processing system; (The second processor set is structured, connected, located and/or programmed to receive the set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
receive, from the hardware component, an indication that the hardware component has been disabled; (The intrusion response hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to receive the set of response signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
perform the secure process based on the monitored signal connection (Responsive to the set of response signal(s), make at least one responsive action to protect the volatile memory hardware set from any unauthorized access related to the determined physical access condition, Kelley, para [0006]).
However, Kelly does not disclose:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable the hardware component;
transmit, to the hardware component, an indication to disable;
monitor, after receipt of the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, the signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active;
Conti discloses:
transmit, to the hardware component, an indication to disable; (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting ad managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
Kelly in view of Conti does not explicitly disclose:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable the hardware component;
monitor, after receipt of the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, the signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active;
Cottrell discloses:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable the hardware component; (JTAG GPIO pins 234, 238, 242 are internally disabled in response to a control interface message, Cottrell, para [0049]. Here, the control interface message includes authentication or authorization to transition the trusted boot component into its secure state. This secure state permits access or loading of protected data. JTAG/GPIO/ or ports are interpreted to be the hardware component. The authentication request for the secure state transition causes the trusted not component to disable those JTAG ports is a determination to disable. Thus, the decision to disable is made in response to the indication requesting the secure operation)
monitor, after receipt of the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, the signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active; (When they are disabled, the pins are monitored for I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity. Critically secure state transition is allowed only after started monitoring, Cottrell, para [0051]. Here, hardware component being disabled is interpreted to be the JTAG ports being latch-disabled. The trusted boot component has the JTAG-disable latch in the disabled state is an indication that it is disabled. The signal connection is the TDI, TDO, TMS, TCK and TRST JTAG signal paths connected through those GPIO pins. The perturbation signals are interpreted to be the transition appearing on those monitored signal paths. Such activity indicates that the disabled JTAG interface is active. Hence, the sequence is that the JTAG ports become latch disabled then the monitoring of those paths starts and only then is the transition into the secure state permitted, at which point protected data becomes available)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 2, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the perturbation signals comprise hardware signals, and wherein the processor system is further configured to
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
detect the perturbation signals based on a change in the hardware signals received via the signal connection (Indications of an attack are changes such as: (i) attack sub-mod 320 receives data from housing-mounted portion of detection hardware set 201a to determine whether housing 200 is being opened in an unauthorized manner; (ii) cooling sub-mod 322 receives data from thermal sensor portion of detection hardware set 201c to determine whether it is being attempted to cool the volatile memory (that is, RAM 205, 207) down to a cryogenic temperature for a cryogenic attack; and (iii) switch interface sub-mod 324 receives data from optical microswitch portion of detection hardware set 201b in order to determine whether RAM board assembly 208 is being moved, or removed, relative to the other hardware in system 102, Kelley, para [0035])
As per claim 3, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the signal connection comprises a physical connection dedicated to carrying the hardware signals (The data from detection hardware set 201a-c is transferred through a connection designed for monitoring hardware conditions, Kelley, para [0035]).
As per claim 4, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor system is further configured to:
detect a perturbation signal on the signal connection; and (Responsive to a determination that a physical access condition exists, actions are taken to halt any ongoing secure operations, Kelly, para [0006]).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
stop performance of the secure process based on the detected perturbation signal (The core security controller may assert interrupts that cause the processor to halt or abort processes in response to detected security events, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 5, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Furthermore, Cottrell discloses:
software does not control sending [[the]] a perturbation signal from the hardware component (Once the secure configuration is established, the monitored JTAG pins are configured as inputs and disabling them disconnects the fabric interconnections within the FPGA. The signals being treated as the security event are instead I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity appearing on a monitored external signal, Cottrell, para [0031] and [0049]. The software to the JTAG control software executing in trusted boot component 108/202. The hardware component is the external JTAG enabled integrated circuit components coupled through its JTAG port to GPIO pins 238. Software controls the configuration of the trusted boot or JTAG control circuitry. But after disabling, the fabric connections by which that control circuitry would establish a connection are disconnected, and the monitored GPIOs operate as inputs. The detected signal is not a signal that the software commands the disabled interface to send. It is an activity on the external side that appears on the isolated JTAG signal line and is treated as unauthorized activity. Therefore, the trusted boot software controls configuration of the JTAG control circuitry, not generation of the monitored perturbation)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 6, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor system is configured to:
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
determine an expected signal for the monitored signal connection; and (By monitoring such signals on the primary bus 180 the core security controller 258 can determine the actual instruction and data presented to the processor 170 for execution, the security mode of the MPU 104, and whether or not the instruction and/or the data is allowable given the current security mode, Conti, para [0027]).
determine a perturbation signal has been received based on a comparison of a signal on the monitored signal connection to the expected signal (An attempt by a program executing on the processor 170 to access a secure address range of memory while the processor 170 is operating in a non-secure mode will be identified by the core security controller 258 as a security violation, Conti, para [0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 7, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the expected signal on the monitored signal connection comprises an initial signal on the monitored signal connection (The intrusion detection hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to send out a set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]. These initial signals are used as baselines to compare against real- time hardware signals)
As per claim 8, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor system is further configured to:
transmit an indication to start to the hardware component; and (Upon detecting that the system has not been destroyed at S650, the system moves to S610 and restarts its initialization process, Kelley, para [0032], Fig 3).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
complete performance of the secure process; (FIG. 3 illustrates a method for responding to a security violation, Conti, para [0041])
output a result of the secure process (Once the interrupt service routine of block 310 has completed execution, the violation may be marked as cleared (e.g., by asserting a clear violation signal to the core security controller that originally detected the security violation), Conti, para [0042]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 9, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the hardware component comprises at least one of a sensor interface, a radio interface, an input/output interface, or a power interface (I/O (input/output) interface module(s) 206, Kelley, para [0020]).
As per claim 10, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
the signal connection is coupled to an interface of the hardware component (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]. The signal connections between the core security controller and hardware interfaces enable communication for security monitoring and interrupt signaling).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 11, Kelly discloses a method for secure processing, comprising:
receiving an indication to perform a secure process using a processor system; (The second processor set is structured, connected, located and/or programmed to receive the set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
determining, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable a hardware component; (The intrusion response hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to receive the set of response signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
performing the secure process based on the monitored signal connection (Responsive to the set of response signal(s), make at least one responsive action to protect the volatile memory hardware set from any unauthorized access related to the determined physical access condition, Kelley, para [0006]).
However, Kelly does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
transmitting, to the hardware component, an indication to disable;
receiving, from the hardware component, an indication that the hardware component has been disabled;
monitoring, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active
Conti discloses:
transmitting, to the hardware component, an indication to disable; (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
Kelly in view of Conti does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
receiving, from the hardware component, an indication that the hardware component has been disabled;
monitoring, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active
Cottrell discloses:
receiving, from the hardware component, an indication that the hardware component has been disabled; (JTAG GPIO pins 234, 238, 242 are internally disabled in response to a control interface message, Cottrell, para [0049]. Here, the control interface message includes authentication or authorization to transition the trusted boot component into its secure state. This secure state permits access or loading of protected data. JTAG/GPIO/ or ports are interpreted to be the hardware component. The authentication request for the secure state transition causes the trusted not component to disable those JTAG ports is a determination to disable. Thus, the decision to disable is made in response to the indication requesting the secure operation)
monitoring, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active (When they are disabled, the pins are monitored for I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity. Critically secure state transition is allowed only after started monitoring, Cottrell, para [0051]. Here, hardware component being disabled is interpreted to be the JTAG ports being latch-disabled. The trusted boot component has the JTAG-disable latch in the disabled state is an indication that it is disabled. The signal connection is the TDI, TDO, TMS, TCK and TRST JTAG signal paths connected through those GPIO pins. The perturbation signals are interpreted to be the transition appearing on those monitored signal paths. Such activity indicates that the disabled JTAG interface is active. Hence, the sequence is that the JTAG ports become latch disabled then the monitoring of those paths starts and only then is the transition into the secure state permitted, at which point protected data becomes available)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 12, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the perturbation signals comprise hardware signals, and further comprising
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
detecting the perturbation signals based on a change in hardware signals received via the signal connection (Indications of an attack are changes such as: (i) attack sub-mod 320 receives data from housing-mounted portion of detection hardware set 201a to determine whether housing 200 is being opened in an unauthorized manner; (ii) cooling sub-mod 322 receives data from thermal sensor portion of detection hardware set 201c to determine whether it is being attempted to cool the volatile memory (that is, RAM 205, 207) down to a cryogenic temperature for a cryogenic attack; and (iii) switch interface sub-mod 324 receives data from optical microswitch portion of detection hardware set 201b in order to determine whether RAM board assembly 208 is being moved, or removed, relative to the other hardware in system 102, Kelley, para [0035]).
As per claim 13, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 12, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the signal connection comprises a physical connection dedicated to carrying the hardware signals (The data from detection hardware set 201a-c is transferred through a connection designed for monitoring hardware conditions, Kelley, para [0035]).
As per claim 14, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising:
detecting a perturbation signal on the signal connection; and (Responsive to a determination that a physical access condition exists, actions are taken to halt any ongoing secure operations, Kelly, para [0006]).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
stopping performance of the secure process based on the detected perturbation signal (The core security controller may assert interrupts that cause the processor to halt or abort processes in response to detected security events, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 15, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, wherein
Furthermore, Cottrell discloses:
software does not control sending [[the]] a perturbation signal from the hardware component (Once the secure configuration is established, the monitored JTAG pins are configured as inputs and disabling them disconnects the fabric interconnections within the FPGA. The signals being treated as the security event are instead I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity appearing on a monitored external signal, Cottrell, para [0031] and [0049]. The software to the JTAG control software executing in trusted boot component 108/202. The hardware component is the external JTAG enabled integrated circuit components coupled through its JTAG port to GPIO pins 238. Software controls the configuration of the trusted boot or JTAG control circuitry. But after disabling, the fabric connections by which that control circuitry would establish a connection are disconnected, and the monitored GPIOs operate as inputs. The detected signal is not a signal that the software commands the disabled interface to send. It is an activity on the external side that appears on the isolated JTAG signal line and is treated as unauthorized activity. Therefore, the trusted boot software controls configuration of the JTAG control circuitry, not generation of the monitored perturbation)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 16, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising:
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
determining an expected signal for the monitored signal connection; and (By monitoring such signals on the primary bus 180 the core security controller 258 can determine the actual instruction and data presented to the processor 170 for execution, the security mode of the MPU 104, and whether or not the instruction and/or the data is allowable given the current security mode, Conti, para [0027]).
determining a perturbation signal has been received based on a comparison of a signal on the monitored signal connection to the expected signal (An attempt by a program executing on the processor 170 to access a secure address range of memory while the processor 170 is operating in a non-secure mode will be identified by the core security controller 258 as a security violation, Conti, para [0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 17, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 16, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the expected signal on the monitored signal connection comprises an initial signal on the monitored signal connection (The intrusion detection hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to send out a set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]. These initial signals are used as baselines to compare against real- time hardware signals).
As per claim 18, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising:
completing performance of the secure process; (Upon detecting that the system has not been destroyed at S650, the system moves to S610 and restarts its initialization process, Kelley, para [0032], Fig 3).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
transmitting an indication to start to the hardware component; and (FIG. 3 illustrates a method for responding to a security violation, Conti, para [0041]).
outputting a result of the secure process (Once the interrupt service routine of block 310 has completed execution, the violation may be marked as cleared (e.g., by asserting a clear violation signal to the core security controller that originally detected the security violation), Conti, para [0042]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 19, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the hardware component comprises at least one of a sensor interface, a radio interface, an input/output interface, or a power interface (I/O (input/output) interface module(s) 206, Kelley, para [0020]).
As per claim 20, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the method of claim 11, wherein
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
the signal connection is coupled to an interface of the hardware component (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]. The signal connections between the core security controller and hardware interfaces enable communication for security monitoring and interrupt signaling).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 21, Kelly discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a processor system, cause the processor system to:
receive an indication to perform a secure process using the processor system; (The second processor set is structured, connected, located and/or programmed to receive the set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
receive, from the hardware component, an indication that the hardware component has been disabled; (The intrusion response hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to receive the set of response signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]).
perform the secure process based on the monitored signal connection (Responsive to the set of response signal(s), make at least one responsive action to protect the volatile memory hardware set from any unauthorized access related to the determined physical access condition, Kelley, para [0006]).
However, Kelly does not explicitly disclose:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable a hardware component;
transmit, to the hardware component, an indication to disable;
monitor, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active;
Conti discloses:
transmit, to the hardware component, an indication to disable; (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
Kelly in view of Conti does not explicitly disclose:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable a hardware component;
monitor, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active;
Cottrell discloses:
determine, based on the indication to perform the secure process, to disable a hardware component; (JTAG GPIO pins 234, 238, 242 are internally disabled in response to a control interface message, Cottrell, para [0049]. Here, the control interface message includes authentication or authorization to transition the trusted boot component into its secure state. This secure state permits access or loading of protected data. JTAG/GPIO/ or ports are interpreted to be the hardware component. The authentication request for the secure state transition causes the trusted not component to disable those JTAG ports is a determination to disable. Thus, the decision to disable is made in response to the indication requesting the secure operation)
monitor, after receiving the indication that the hardware component has been disabled and prior to performance of the secure process by the processor system, a signal connection for perturbation signals from the hardware component that has been disabled, wherein the signal connection carries the perturbation signals, and wherein the perturbation signals comprise an indication that the hardware component is active; (When they are disabled, the pins are monitored for I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity. Critically secure state transition is allowed only after started monitoring, Cottrell, para [0051]. Here, hardware component being disabled is interpreted to be the JTAG ports being latch-disabled. The trusted boot component has the JTAG-disable latch in the disabled state is an indication that it is disabled. The signal connection is the TDI, TDO, TMS, TCK and TRST JTAG signal paths connected through those GPIO pins. The perturbation signals are interpreted to be the transition appearing on those monitored signal paths. Such activity indicates that the disabled JTAG interface is active. Hence, the sequence is that the JTAG ports become latch disabled then the monitoring of those paths starts and only then is the transition into the secure state permitted, at which point protected data becomes available)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 22, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the perturbation signals comprise hardware signals, and wherein the instructions further cause the processor system to
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
detect the perturbation signals based on a change in the hardware signals received via the signal connection (Indications of an attack are changes such as: (i) attack sub-mod 320 receives data from housing-mounted portion of detection hardware set 201a to determine whether housing 200 is being opened in an unauthorized manner; (ii) cooling sub-mod 322 receives data from thermal sensor portion of detection hardware set 201c to determine whether it is being attempted to cool the volatile memory (that is, RAM 205, 207) down to a cryogenic temperature for a cryogenic attack; and (iii) switch interface sub-mod 324 receives data from optical microswitch portion of detection hardware set 201b in order to determine whether RAM board assembly 208 is being moved, or removed, relative to the other hardware in system 102, Kelley, para [0035])
As per claim 23, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the signal connection comprises a physical connection dedicated to carrying the hardware signals (The data from detection hardware set 201a-c is transferred through a connection designed for monitoring hardware conditions, Kelley, para [0035]).
As per claim 24, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions further cause the processor system:
detect a perturbation signal on the signal connection; and (Responsive to a determination that a physical access condition exists, actions are taken to halt any ongoing secure operations, Kelly, para [0006]).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
stop performance of the secure process based on the detected perturbation signal (The core security controller may assert interrupts that cause the processor to halt or abort processes in response to detected security events, Conti, para [0033]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 25, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein
Furthermore, Cottrell discloses:
software does not control sending [[the]] a perturbation signal from the hardware component (Once the secure configuration is established, the monitored JTAG pins are configured as inputs and disabling them disconnects the fabric interconnections within the FPGA. The signals being treated as the security event are instead I/O level transitions or unauthorized activity appearing on a monitored external signal, Cottrell, para [0031] and [0049]. The software to the JTAG control software executing in trusted boot component 108/202. The hardware component is the external JTAG enabled integrated circuit components coupled through its JTAG port to GPIO pins 238. Software controls the configuration of the trusted boot or JTAG control circuitry. But after disabling, the fabric connections by which that control circuitry would establish a connection are disconnected, and the monitored GPIOs operate as inputs. The detected signal is not a signal that the software commands the disabled interface to send. It is an activity on the external side that appears on the isolated JTAG signal line and is treated as unauthorized activity. Therefore, the trusted boot software controls configuration of the JTAG control circuitry, not generation of the monitored perturbation)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly and Conti with Cottrell by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) and identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti) with secure test ports of integrated devices (Cottrell). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly and Conti with Cottrell in order to verify that the hardware remains inactive before performing the secure process, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized activity and data exposure (See Cottrell, para [0051])
As per claim 26, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions further cause the processor system:
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
determine an expected signal for the monitored signal connection; and (By monitoring such signals on the primary bus 180 the core security controller 258 can determine the actual instruction and data presented to the processor 170 for execution, the security mode of the MPU 104, and whether or not the instruction and/or the data is allowable given the current security mode, Conti, para [0027]).
determine a perturbation signal has been received based on a comparison of a signal on the monitored signal connection to the expected signal (An attempt by a program executing on the processor 170 to access a secure address range of memory while the processor 170 is operating in a non-secure mode will be identified by the core security controller 258 as a security violation, Conti, para [0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 27, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 26, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the expected signal on the monitored signal connection comprises an initial signal on the monitored signal connection (The intrusion detection hardware set is structured, located, connected and/or programmed to send out a set of first signal(s), Kelley, para [0006]. These initial signals are used as baselines to compare against real- time hardware signals).
As per claim 28, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions further cause the processor system:
complete performance of the secure process; (Upon detecting that the system has not been destroyed at S650, the system moves to S610 and restarts its initialization process, Kelley, para [0032], Fig 3).
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
transmit an indication to start to the hardware component; and (FIG. 3 illustrates a method for responding to a security violation, Conti, para [0041])
output a result of the secure process (Once the interrupt service routine of block 310 has completed execution, the violation may be marked as cleared (e.g., by asserting a clear violation signal to the core security controller that originally detected the security violation), Conti, para [0042]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting and managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
As per claim 29, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein
Furthermore, Kelly discloses:
the hardware component comprises at least one of a sensor interface, a radio interface, an input/output interface, or a power interface (I/O (input/output) interface module(s) 206, Kelly, para [0020]).
As per claim 30, Kelly, Conti and Cottrell disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein
Furthermore, Conti discloses:
the signal connection is coupled to an interface of the hardware component (The core security controller may assert the security abort interrupt signal 284, which is monitored by the interrupt controller 174. In response to the assertion of the security abort interrupt the interrupt controller may assert the interrupt request (IRQ) signal 281, which in turn may initiate an interrupt request to the processor 170, Conti, para [0033]. The signal connections between the core security controller and hardware interfaces enable communication for security monitoring and interrupt signaling).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Kelly with Conti by detecting ad managing intrusion (Kelly) with identification and prevention of security violations within a computing system (Conti). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kelly with Conti in order to identify an activity on the core bus as a security violation and prevent execution of an instruction (See Conti, para [0027]).
Conclusion
Respectfully submitted,
/RAGHAVENDER NMN CHOLLETI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492
/RUPAL DHARIA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492