Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-12, filed 26 March 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-25 and 27-31 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li
Li teaches transmitting a reference signal or RS on an initial beam-pairing or IBP-RS resource specific to transmission of the RS for IBP. Although Li teaches the transmission of a RS on IBP-RS resource, Li fails to explicitly teach the transmission of RS, prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link and receiving, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 14, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28, and 30 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in further view of Son (US 20260106660 A1).
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 2, 9, 15, 29, and 31 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2021/0092776 A1) or Akkarakaran.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 3, 4, and 16 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Ryu et al. (US 2021/0321343 A1) or Ryu.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 10, 11, 21, 22, and 25 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2022/0286248 A1) or Yoshioka.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 12, 13, 23, 24, and 26 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Peng et al. (US 2022/0022169 A1) or Peng.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 7 and 20 are made in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Wang et al. (WO 2021/190497 A1) or Wang. Reference (US 2023/0019994 A1) will be used as an English translation for Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 14, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1).
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to:
(See Li paragraph 0452, ...the communication device may comprise a control circuit, a processor installed in the control circuit and/or a memory installed in the control circuit and coupled to the processor.)
wirelessly transmit,… …a reference signal (RS)… …on an IBP-RS resource specific to transmission of the RS for IBP; and…
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2025, the first device transmits a SL PRS on the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource).)
Shows the transmission of the reference signal on a sidelink positioning reference signal resource
However, Li fails to explicitly teach,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
wirelessly receive, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
Nevertheless, Son, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
(See Son TABLE 4, Study the possibility to apply SL CSI-RS for initial beam pairing before, during or after unicast link establishment)
Shows sidelink channel state information reference signals or SL CSI-RS utilized as initial beam pairing resource
(See Son TABLE 4, In the candidate procedure where initial beam pairing is performed before sidelink unicast link establishment, > In step 1, >> the applicable reference signal is selected based on >>> Alt 1-1: S-SSB or its modified format >>> Alt 1-2: standalone SL CSI-RS or its modified format)
Shows prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link conducting initial beam pairing with standalone SL CSI-RS IBS-RS resource
wirelessly receive, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
(See Son paragraph 0053, Subsequently, UE2 performs measurement on the corresponding RSs transmitted with specific beams and, based on the received information, selects beam(s) to be used for SL communication. Thereafter, it reports the information of the corresponding beam(s) to UE1 (S602a).)
Shows UE2 transmitting a beam-pairing response as a measurement report for the RS for the IBP to UE1
(See Son paragraph 0052, The initial beam pairing in FIGS. 6A to 6B is performed before the unicast link establishment is performed.)
Shows initial beam pairing conducted before unicast link establishment in FIGS. 6A and 6B
(See Son paragraph 0065, In the example of FIG. 6A and/or FIG. 6B described above, the RS transmitted by UE1 may be an S-SSB, a channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS),…)
Shows the reference signal or RS transmitted by UE1 may consist of a SL CSI-RS
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with transmitting by the first UE a reference signal resource for initial beam pairing or IBP-RS prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link with the IBP-RS being a standalone resource and wirelessly receiving, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response with the RS for IBP as taught by Son to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of success of establishing a sidelink unicast link between two UEs).
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the IBP-RS resource is one of one or more candidate IBP-RS resources.
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2015, the first device determines (e.g., derives) a first frequency resource of a first SCI/PSCCH associated with the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource),...)
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The first UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources are mapped to an identifier indicating the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources from a plurality of IBP-RS resources,
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2015, the first device determines (e.g., derives) a first frequency resource of a first SCI/PSCCH associated with the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource), wherein the first frequency resource of the first SCI/PSCCH is determined (e.g., derived) based on an index/identity/parameter of the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource).)
and wherein selecting the IBP-RS resource further comprises selecting the IBP-RS resource from the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources based at least in part on the identifier.
(See Li paragraph 0289, ...the TX UE may determine (e.g., derive) one SL PRS with an index/identity/parameter. The TX UE may determine (e.g., derive) frequency resource of associated SCI/PSCCH based on the index/identity/parameter of the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS) and starting location of bandwidth and/or frequency resources for the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS).)
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The first UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to select the IBP-RS resource from the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources based at least in part on at least one of:
a random selection, or a sensing-based selection.
(See Li paragraph 0289, Based on sensing result of (received/monitored) SCI/PSCCH (and association of SCI/PSCCH and SL PRS resource, for example) (and/or association of SCI/PSCCH and frequency offset/comb offset), the TX UE may determine (e.g., identify) possible/candidate resources for transmitting SL PRS(s).)
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
A second user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to:
(See Li paragraph 0452, ...the communication device may comprise a control circuit, a processor installed in the control circuit and/or a memory installed in the control circuit and coupled to the processor.)
wirelessly receive,… …a reference signal (RS)… …on an IBP-RS resource specific to transmission of the RS for IBP; and…
(See Li paragraph 0400, In step 2120, the second device receives a first SCI/PSCCH using (e.g., from) a first frequency resource (e.g., one frequency resource) of the plurality of frequency resources of SCI/PSCCH (e.g., the first SCI/PSCCH may be received from the first frequency resource), wherein the first SCI/PSCCH indicates (and/or schedules and/or allocates) a SL PRS resource (e.g., one SL PRS resource).)
However, Li fails to explicitly teach,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and wirelessly transmit, to a first UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
Nevertheless, Son, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
(See Son TABLE 4, Study the possibility to apply SL CSI-RS for initial beam pairing before, during or after unicast link establishment)
Shows sidelink channel state information reference signals or SL CSI-RS utilized as initial beam pairing resource
(See Son TABLE 4, In the candidate procedure where initial beam pairing is performed before sidelink unicast link establishment, > In step 1, >> the applicable reference signal is selected based on >>> Alt 1-1: S-SSB or its modified format >>> Alt 1-2: standalone SL CSI-RS or its modified format)
Shows prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link conducting initial beam pairing with standalone SL CSI-RS IBS-RS resource
wirelessly transmit, to a first UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
(See Son paragraph 0053, Subsequently, UE2 performs measurement on the corresponding RSs transmitted with specific beams and, based on the received information, selects beam(s) to be used for SL communication. Thereafter, it reports the information of the corresponding beam(s) to UE1 (S602a).)
Shows UE2 transmitting a beam-pairing response as a measurement report for the RS for the IBP to UE1
(See Son paragraph 0052, The initial beam pairing in FIGS. 6A to 6B is performed before the unicast link establishment is performed.)
Shows initial beam pairing conducted before unicast link establishment in FIGS. 6A and 6B
(See Son paragraph 0065, In the example of FIG. 6A and/or FIG. 6B described above, the RS transmitted by UE1 may be an S-SSB, a channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS),…)
Shows the reference signal or RS transmitted by UE1 may consist of a SL CSI-RS
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17
Li teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The second UE of claim 14, wherein the IBP-RS resource is one of one or more candidate IBP-RS resources, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second UE to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to attempt to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP on the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources.
(See Li paragraph 0400, In step 2120, the second device receives a first SCI/PSCCH using (e.g., from) a first frequency resource (e.g., one frequency resource) of the plurality of frequency resources of SCI/PSCCH (e.g., the first SCI/PSCCH may be received from the first frequency resource), wherein the first SCI/PSCCH indicates (and/or schedules and/or allocates) a SL PRS resource (e.g., one SL PRS resource).)
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The second UE of claim 18, wherein the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources are mapped to an identifier indicating the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources from a plurality of IBP-RS resources,
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2015, the first device determines (e.g., derives) a first frequency resource of a first SCI/PSCCH associated with the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource), wherein the first frequency resource of the first SCI/PSCCH is determined (e.g., derived) based on an index/identity/parameter of the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource).)
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second UE to attempt to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP on the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to attempt to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP based at least in part on the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources being mapped to the identifier.
(See Li paragraph 0289, ...the TX UE may determine (e.g., derive) one SL PRS with an index/identity/parameter. The TX UE may determine (e.g., derive) frequency resource of associated SCI/PSCCH based on the index/identity/parameter of the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS) and starting location of bandwidth and/or frequency resources for the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS).)
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 27 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The second UE of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second UE to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to measure the second part of the RS for IBP.
(See Li paragraph 0290, The RX UE may measure the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS) based on at least some of the aforementioned information (e.g., the index/identity/parameter of the one SL PRS, the bandwidth or the frequency resources for the one SL PRS, and/or the starting location of the one SL PRS).)
Shows the second UE measuring part of the reference signal
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 28 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
wirelessly transmitting a reference signal (RS)… …on an IBP-RS resource specific to transmission of the RS for IBP; and…
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2025, the first device transmits a SL PRS on the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource).)
Shows the transmission of the reference signal on a sidelink positioning reference signal resource
However, Li fails to explicitly teach,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
receiving, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
Nevertheless, Son, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
…the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
(See Son TABLE 4, Study the possibility to apply SL CSI-RS for initial beam pairing before, during or after unicast link establishment)
Shows sidelink channel state information reference signals or SL CSI-RS utilized as initial beam pairing resource
(See Son TABLE 4, In the candidate procedure where initial beam pairing is performed before sidelink unicast link establishment, > In step 1, >> the applicable reference signal is selected based on >>> Alt 1-1: S-SSB or its modified format >>> Alt 1-2: standalone SL CSI-RS or its modified format)
Shows prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link conducting initial beam pairing with standalone SL CSI-RS IBS-RS resource
wirelessly receiving, from a second UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
(See Son paragraph 0053, Subsequently, UE2 performs measurement on the corresponding RSs transmitted with specific beams and, based on the received information, selects beam(s) to be used for SL communication. Thereafter, it reports the information of the corresponding beam(s) to UE1 (S602a).)
Shows UE2 transmitting a beam-pairing response as a measurement report for the RS for the IBP to UE1
(See Son paragraph 0052, The initial beam pairing in FIGS. 6A to 6B is performed before the unicast link establishment is performed.)
Shows initial beam pairing conducted before unicast link establishment in FIGS. 6A and 6B
(See Son paragraph 0065, In the example of FIG. 6A and/or FIG. 6B described above, the RS transmitted by UE1 may be an S-SSB, a channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS),…)
Shows the reference signal or RS transmitted by UE1 may consist of a SL CSI-RS
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 30 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
wirelessly receiving a reference signal (RS)… …on an IBP-RS resource specific to transmission of the RS for IBP; and…
(See Li paragraph 0396, In step 2025, the first device transmits a SL PRS on the SL PRS resource (e.g., the one SL PRS resource).)
Shows the transmission of the reference signal on a sidelink positioning reference signal resource
However, Li fails to explicitly teach,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
…wirelessly transmitting, to a first UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
Nevertheless, Son, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link,…
…for initial beam-pairing (IBP)…
the IBP-RS resource being a standalone resource; and
(See Son TABLE 4, Study the possibility to apply SL CSI-RS for initial beam pairing before, during or after unicast link establishment)
Shows sidelink channel state information reference signals or SL CSI-RS utilized as initial beam pairing resource
(See Son TABLE 4, In the candidate procedure where initial beam pairing is performed before sidelink unicast link establishment, > In step 1, >> the applicable reference signal is selected based on >>> Alt 1-1: S-SSB or its modified format >>> Alt 1-2: standalone SL CSI-RS or its modified format)
Shows prior to establishing a sidelink unicast link conducting initial beam pairing with standalone SL CSI-RS IBS-RS resource
…wirelessly transmitting, to a first UE, a beam-pairing response associated with the RS for IBP.
(See Son paragraph 0053, Subsequently, UE2 performs measurement on the corresponding RSs transmitted with specific beams and, based on the received information, selects beam(s) to be used for SL communication. Thereafter, it reports the information of the corresponding beam(s) to UE1 (S602a).)
Shows UE2 transmitting a beam-pairing response as a measurement report for the RS for the IBP to UE1
(See Son paragraph 0052, The initial beam pairing in FIGS. 6A to 6B is performed before the unicast link establishment is performed.)
Shows initial beam pairing conducted before unicast link establishment in FIGS. 6A and 6B
(See Son paragraph 0065, In the example of FIG. 6A and/or FIG. 6B described above, the RS transmitted by UE1 may be an S-SSB, a channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS),…)
Shows the reference signal or RS transmitted by UE1 may consist of a SL CSI-RS
The motivation to combine Li and Son in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, 15, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2021/0092776 A1) or Akkarakaran.
Claim 2 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. Nevertheless, Akkarakaran, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the IBP-RS resource corresponds to a sidelink resource pool that indicates IBP-RS resources.
(See Akkarakaran paragraph 0030, Specifically, the sidelink communication management component 350 may implement initial beam-pairing for sidelink communication that optimize communication resources (e.g., resource pools) by indicating the direction of traffic (e.g., transmit or receive) during the initial beam-pairing procedure and to establish sidelink communication without the need for SR transmissions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with the transmitting and receiving of the a reference signal with initial beam-pairing as taught by Akkarakaran to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of collisions produced from establishing a resource to utilize for sidelink communication).
Claim 9 (Currently Amended)
Li teaches,
The first UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to select the IBP-RS resource based at least in part…
(See Li paragraph 0289, Based on sensing result of (received/monitored) SCI/PSCCH (and association of SCI/PSCCH and SL PRS resource, for example) (and/or association of SCI/PSCCH and frequency offset/comb offset), the TX UE may determine (e.g., identify) possible/candidate resources for transmitting SL PRS(s).)
However, Li fails to explicitly teach,
…on measuring the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources.
Nevertheless, Akkarakaran, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…on measuring the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources.
(See Akkarakaran paragraph 0050, ...the second UE 104-b may measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each candidate beam 225 to identify one or more beams that maximize receiver SNR. Based on the RSRP measurements, the UEs 104 may select one or more beams (e.g., first beam 225-a) from a plurality of candidate beams 325 for communication.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Akkarakaran in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 15 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 2. However, Akkarakaran, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Akkarakaran in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 29 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 2. However, Akkarakaran, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Akkarakaran in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 31
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 31 as stated in claim 2. However, Akkarakaran, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 31 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Akkarakaran in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 3, 4, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Ryu et al. (US 2021/0321343 A1) or Ryu.
Claim 3
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive configuration information indicating the sidelink resource pool.
(See Ryu paragraph 0074, In some cases, base station 105-a may allocate a resource pool, including time resources, frequency resources, or both, to UE 115-a and UE 115-b over communication channels 205-a, and 205-b, respectively. In some cases, the resource pool may be used by the UEs 115 for sidelink communications between UEs 115-a and 115-b.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with the first UE receiving information to configure a resource pool for sidelink communication as taught by Ryu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of steps required to establish a sidelink communication).
Claim 4 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 2, wherein the sidelink resource pool indicates one or more candidate IBP-RS resources,
(See Ryu paragraph 0074, In some cases, base station 105-a may allocate a resource pool, including time resources, frequency resources, or both, to UE 115-a and UE 115-b over communication channels 205-a, and 205-b, respectively.)
Shows time resources and frequency resources consist of the candidate resources
wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to select the IBP-RS resource from the one or more candidate IBP-RS resources.
(See Ryu paragraph 0072, The first UE 115 and the second UE 115 may align time and frequency resources for communications between the first UE 115 and the second UE 115. The first UE 115 and the second UE 115 may communicate a first transmission via the sidelink channel based on the time synchronization, frequency synchronization, or both, determined using the first sidelink synchronization reference signal.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Ryu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 16 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 3. However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Ryu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 10, 11, 21, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2022/0286248 A1) or Yoshioka.
Claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Yoishoka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to wirelessly transmit the RS for IBP, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to wirelessly transmit the RS for IBP using a scrambling identifier derived from a destination identifier.
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0037, Here, n.sub.ID corresponds to scramblingID or sequenceGenerationConfig as a higher-layer parameter;)
Shows n.sub.ID corresponds to a scramblingID
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0038, The value of n.sub.ID may be determined depending on the ID of a transmission-side user apparatus (TX-UE) or the ID of a reception-side user apparatus (RX-UE) (e.g., n.sub.ID=TX-UE ID mod 2.sup.10). The ID of a TX-UE may be referred to as a Source ID, Group ID, or Group Source ID, and the ID of an RX-UE may be referred to as a Destination ID, Group ID, or Group Destination ID.)
Shows the scrambling identifier of n.sub.ID derived from a destination id
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with utilizing a scrambling identifier derived from a destination ID as taught by Yoshioka to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce probability of collisions among resource use by randomizing the identifiers of the resources).
Claim 11 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. However, Yoishoka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 10, wherein the scrambling identifier has at least 28 potential values.
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0038, The value of n.sub.ID included in the expression to generate a sequence of SL-CSI-RS may be defined as a definition in the technical specification. For example, n.sub.ID may be one of the values in {0, 1, . . . 1023}.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Yoshioka in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Claim 21 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. However, Yoishoka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 21 as stated in claim 10. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Yoshioka in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Claim 22 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 22. However, Yoishoka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 11. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Yoshioka in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Claim 25 (Currently Amended)
The second UE of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second UE to wirelessly receive the RS for IBP, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to measure the second part of the RS for IBP
(See Li paragraph 0290, The RX UE may measure the SL PRS (e.g., the one SL PRS) based on at least some of the aforementioned information (e.g., the index/identity/parameter of the one SL PRS, the bandwidth or the frequency resources for the one SL PRS, and/or the starting location of the one SL PRS).)
Shows the second UE measuring part of the reference signal using an identifier
However, Li fails to teach,
…using the single destination identifier.
Nevertheless, Yoshioka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…using the single destination identifier.
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0038, The value of n.sub.ID may be determined depending on the ID of a transmission-side user apparatus (TX-UE) or the ID of a reception-side user apparatus (RX-UE) (e.g., n.sub.ID=TX-UE ID mod 2.sup.10). The ID of a TX-UE may be referred to as a Source ID, Group ID, or Group Source ID, and the ID of an RX-UE may be referred to as a Destination ID, Group ID, or Group Destination ID.)
Shows the destination identifier
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Yoshioka in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Claims 12, 13, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Peng et al. (US 2022/0022169 A1) or Peng.
Claim 12 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the RS for IBP includes a first part and a second part,
(See Peng paragraphs 0145-0147, Further, for 2-stage PSCCH transmission, in the foregoing embodiment of this disclosure, the method further includes: [0146] configuring a reference signal of the first-part PSCCH; and [0147] configuring a reference signal of the second-part PSCCH.)
wherein the first part is associated with a first resource or a first scrambling identifier derived from a first set of identifiers and
(See Peng paragraph 0061, For example, the frequency domain range of the PSSCH includes PRBs whose identifiers are 0 to 49,…)
the second part is associated with a second resource or a second scrambling identifier derived from a second set of identifiers,
(See Peng paragraph 0061, …where 10 PRBs constitute one subchannel, in other words, the PSSCH includes five subchannels.)
wherein the first set of identifiers includes a larger number of identifiers than the second set of identifiers.
(See Peng paragraph 0061, For example, the frequency domain range of the PSSCH includes PRBs whose identifiers are 0 to 49, where 10 PRBs constitute one subchannel, in other words, the PSSCH includes five subchannels. In this case, the frequency domain range of the candidate resource of the PSCCH may include PRBs 0 to 20, or may include PRBs 0 to 30, or the like.)
0 to 49 identifiers equals a total of 50 identifiers for the first set of identifiers
0 to 20 identifiers equals a total of 21 identifiers
0 to 30 identifiers equals a total of 31 identifiers
50 > 31 > 21
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with identifying the reference signal into two parts as taught by Peng to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of allocating resources to reference signal in sidelink communication).
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13. However, Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 12, wherein the first part occupies at least one of:
a different time-domain resource than the second part, or
a different frequency-domain resource than the second part.
(See Peng paragraphs 0222-0223, [0222] The first-part PSCCH (namely, a PSCCH1) is sequentially mapped from a PSCCH type 1 resource in a lowest subchannel of the corresponding PSSCH. [0223] The second-part PSCCH (namely, a PSCCH2) is sequentially mapped from a PSCCH type 2 resource in the lowest subchannel of the corresponding PSSCH.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Peng in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 12.
Claim 23 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23. However, Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The second UE of claim 14, wherein the RS for IBP includes a first part and a second part,
(See Peng paragraphs 0145-0147, Further, for 2-stage PSCCH transmission, in the foregoing embodiment of this disclosure, the method further includes: [0146] configuring a reference signal of the first-part PSCCH; and [0147] configuring a reference signal of the second-part PSCCH.)
wherein the first part uses a first resource or a first scrambling identifier derived from multiple destination identifiers and
(See Peng paragraph 0061, For example, the frequency domain range of the PSSCH includes PRBs whose identifiers are 0 to 49,…)
the second part uses a second resource or a second scrambling identifier derived from a single destination identifier associated with the second UE.
(See Peng paragraph 0061, …where 10 PRBs constitute one subchannel, in other words, the PSSCH includes five subchannels.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Peng in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 12.
Claim 24 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 24. However, Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 24 as stated in claim 13. The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Peng in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 12.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0048324 A1) or Li in view of Son (US 20260106660 A1) in further view of Wang et al. (WO 2021/190497 A1) or Wang. Reference (US 2023/0019994 A1) will be used as an English translation for Wang.
Claim 7 (Currently Amended)
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the identifier is a destination identifier associated with a unicast link establishment or a sidelink service identifier.
(See Wang paragraph 0042, ...the first terminal receives the sidelink establishment accept message sent by the second terminal, where a destination L2 ID used in the sidelink establishment accept message is the second source L2 ID. In this way, the first terminal and the second terminal complete a subsequent PC5 unicast link establishment process based on the second source L2 ID used after updating.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting of a reference signal or RS with resource specified for reference signal by a first user equipment or UE as taught by Li with using a destination identifier with a unicast link establishment as taught by Wang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of steps required to construct an identifier for each sidelink resource).
Claim 20
Li fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor teaches,
The second UE of claim 19, wherein the identifier is associated with a unicast link establishment.
(See Wang paragraph 0042, ...the first terminal receives the sidelink establishment accept message sent by the second terminal, where a destination L2 ID used in the sidelink establishment accept message is the second source L2 ID. In this way, the first terminal and the second terminal complete a subsequent PC5 unicast link establishment process based on the second source L2 ID used after updating.)
The motivation to combine Li, Son, and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon et al. (US 20260032756 A1) or Jeon teaches transmitting from a first wireless device, multiple sidelink reference signal by a sidelink resource and the second wireless device transmitting a measurement report to the first wireless device with a second sidelink grant of resources.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414