Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/26/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks on the USC 103 rejection which recites:
“The Office Action asserts that Jones teaches the third instruction. However, the Office Action does not specifically point out which element of Jones is interpreted as the third instruction of claim 1. The examiner is respectfully requested to clarify which element of Jones is interpreted as the third instruction of claim 1…Jones does not teach that the one type of machine code for NC machine is manipulated to be used by the materials-handling robot”
Examiner notes that the third instruction is interpreted as the newly derived unified machining code. Examiner has withdrawn the previous 102 rejection and now the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Hass considering the amendments. Where Hass is relied upon to teach the feedback aspect. Examiner suggest adding further detail to the generated third instruction by incorporating aspects from [0039], and [0044] where it is identified where an instruction from another package is needed and then inserting an ID-linked placeholder at that location, and then later replacing that placeholder with the relevant instruction from the other package to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US10466681, note a copy from Espacenet was used that provided paragraph numbers), in view of Hass et al. (US20140214382A1, herein Hass).
Regarding claim 1, Jones teaches A method comprising: receiving design inputs, via an integration software package, for a pre-determined machine-driven process for manufacturing an article by using a plurality of manufacturing tools ([0008] receiving an input representation (such as a 3D model) of the designated part, [0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40, [0023] Forming machines are configured to operate one or more tools to form the part. Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components); providing the design inputs, by the integration software package, to a first software package and a second software package ([0047] As shown in FIG. 1, methods 10 include receiving 12 the input representation of the designated part. Receiving 12 may include receiving the input representation directly or indirectly from the user. Receiving 12 may include accessing, identifying, and/or creating the input representation. For example, the user may select an input representation from a range of choices, and a computerized system (e.g., programming system 40 as shown in FIG. 3 and described further herein) may receive the result of the selection. As another example, the computerized system may monitor user actions and/or a file system that receives input representations of parts to be fabricated. When the computerized system determines the user has created and/or stored a sufficient input representation, the computerized system may receive the input representation (e.g., by accessing and/or identifying, [0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40)), wherein the first software package is configured to generate a first list of executable instructions to control operations of a first manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools and the second software package is configured to generate a second list of executable instructions to control operations of a second manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0027] Machining code generally includes instructions that describe the configuration, operation, and/or processing of the forming machine, what tools to use, the tool setup, and the trajectories of the tools (toolpaths). Machining code may include all or a portion of the instructions to make a part. For example, different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot, [0028] The machining strategy includes a sequence of one or more machining operations that, when performed in order, on the targeted forming machine, with the specified tools, raw materials, workpiece, and/or fixtures, create the formed part. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a machining strategy is referred to as machining strategy code, [0067] retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block); generating, via the first software package, one or more first instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the first manufacturing tool; generating, via the second software package, one or more second instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the second manufacturing tool ([0076] retrieving 28 a first feature code block and retrieving 28 a second feature code block corresponding respectively to a first machining feature indicated by a first user selection 84 and a second machining feature indicated by a second user selection 84, [0027] different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot) ; receiving, via the integration software package, the one or more first instructions from the first software package and the one or more second instructions from the second software package; ([0100] For example, the programming agent 46 may provide and/or suggest to the user a list of machining strategies and/or machining operations that relate to similar parts and, hence, that may be useful to guide the development of a machining strategy and/or a machining operation for the designated part. As another example, the programming agent may classify and/or group the designated part with similar parts, features, and/or characteristics, optionally associating the designated part with the similar parts, features, and/or characteristics within the machining knowledge database 50 . Classification and/or grouping may be used to inform and/or to assist the user during fabrication programming 44 and/or may be used to program and/or to fabricate a new part similar to the designated part and/or a machining feature similar to a machining feature of the designated part. For example, the programming agent may suggest, based upon the classification and/or grouping, similar parts and/or machining features to the user to review before and/or during the fabrication programming 44 . As another example, the classified and/or grouped machining information may inform and/or assist a future user of the programming system 40 during a future fabrication programming task 44); generating, via the integration software package, one or more third instructions based, at least in part, on the one or more first instructions and the one or more second instructions…; providing, by the integration software package, at least one of the one or more first instructions, the one or more second instructions, and the one or more third instructions to the first software package and the second software package; generating, via the first software package, a first list of executable instructions… generating, via the second software package, a second list of executable instructions…; receiving, via the integration software package, the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions; and merging, via the integration software package, the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions to generate an integrated list of executable instructions to operate the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0164] wherein the machining strategy information includes stored machining code utilized to form a portion of one similar part, and wherein the deriving includes merging the stored machining code with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part, [0067] where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2, [0023] Forming machines are configured to operate one or more tools to form the part. Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components), [0096] Moreover, the programming agent 46 may be configured to unify (e.g., harmonize, bundle, and/or package) the read, parsed, and/or identified data into the unified data set (also called the unified machining information). Thusly, assembling and/or fusing the data may include extracting, collecting, aggregating, mapping, converting, transferring, copying, replicating, reformatting, integrating, curating, scraping, and/or coalescing the data and/or the machining information. The unified machining information created by the programming agent 46 may be a broader, more robust, description of the part fabrication process than the individual components of the machining information generated by the user).
Jones does not teach wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions
Haas teaches wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data (Fig. 1, Fig. 8, [0039] models are connected via transformations that convert datasets output by one model into a format suitable for input to another model. In one embodiment, this enables loose coupling by abstracting every data source by a schema and every model by a pair of input and output schemas. The invention then uses a schema-mapping tool together with schema metadata to specify the desired behavior of a transformation and then to automatically generate the code that executes the transformation during a simulation run, [0041] Schema mappings or data transformations refer to specifications of how data are to be translated from one schema (the source schema) into another (the target schema). In one embodiment ) ;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions (Fig. 8, [0055] one simulation model can be used such that output from two or more simulation models can be used as input of other simulation models, either serially or in a parallel processing arrangement)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jones’s teaching of combining and manipulating machining instructions with Haas’s teaching of transforming data from one software system for use by another. The combined teaching provides an expected result of cross software manipulation and reuse of generated data. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve interoperability as shown by Hass [0022] “facilitating interoperability and reuse of models and data”.
Regarding claim 2, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: modifying the design inputs for use by the first software package and/or the second software package ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part); creating or modifying three-dimensional regions of a three-dimensional representation of an article of manufacture included in the design inputs ([0030] execution of a toolpath results in modification of the workpiece (i.e., each toolpath generally includes an active portion). Toolpaths may correspond to one or more machining features as described further herein. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a toolpath may be referred to as toolpath code); and inserting process indicators based on the pre-determined machine-driven process into the design inputs ([0085] assembling 32 includes adding the retrieved (and optionally modified) machining feature code 92 into the unified machining code 96 , generally in the form of a machining operation code block. Machining feature code 92 may be configured to execute in a predefined order within the unified machining code 96, [0105] FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5C represent three steps, stages, and/or operations of a part fabrication process. FIG. 5A illustrates a stock piece 110 to be formed into the designated part 70 . Machining features 74 of the designated part 70 are indicated in dotted line to illustrate how and/or where the stock piece 110 is to be modified, [0054] Receiving 12 may include receiving information about the designated part in addition to the input representation. For example, receiving 12 may include receiving an indication of one or more machining features of the designated part, physical properties of the designated part, and/or a targeted forming machine type. Additionally or alternatively, the input representation may include an indication of one or more machining features of the designated part, physical properties of the designated part, and/or a targeted forming machine type. The indication of, e.g., the machining features, the physical properties, and/or the forming machine type, may be a selection from a range of options and/or may be a textual description. In particular, an indication of a machining feature may include a 3D model of the machining feature, a negative geometry model of the machining feature, a surface of the machining feature (a surface of the designated part), a region including at least a portion of the machining feature, a volume including at least a portion of the machining feature, a textual description of the machining feature, a keyword description of the machining feature, a 2D image of the machining feature, a 2D sketch of the machining feature, and/or a 3D sketch of the machining feature).
Regarding claim 3, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating one or more additional instructions responsive to the integrated list of executable instructions; and inserting the one or more additional instructions into the integrated list of executable instructions ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 4, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating one or more data packages including the integrated list of executable instructions; receiving, at a manufacturing tool, the one or more data packages; and forming an article via the manufacturing tool based, at least in part, on the integrated list of executable instructions responsive to receiving the one or more data packages. (Fig. 3, [0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part, [0090] The programming agent 46 may be configured to perform one or more steps of receiving 12 the input representation of the designated part, searching 14 the machining knowledge database, receiving 20 the user selection of search results, retrieving 16 machining strategy information, deriving 18 the machining strategy for the designated part, and guiding 24 the user to form at least a partial machining strategy for the designated part, as described with respect to FIGS. 1-2.).
Regarding claim 5, Jones teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the manufacturing tool comprises a robotic arm configured to perform one or more of additive manufacturing, automated fiber placement, or subtractive manufacturing. ([0023] Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components, [0023] A forming machine may transform the raw material by subtractive manufacturing techniques (e.g., machining), additive manufacturing techniques (e.g., 3D printing), molding, casting, folding, stamping, coating, etc. For some techniques, such as molding, casting, stamping, etc., a forming machine also may be employed to form a component (e.g., a mold, a cast, a stamp, a die, etc.) that subsequently is utilized to form other parts).
Regarding claim 6, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more third instructions includes modifying the one or more first instructions and/or the one or more second instructions ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 7, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the design inputs include a three-dimensional representation of an article ([0019] The machining knowledge database includes data objects (e.g., the stored 3D models) and associations (relationships) between those objects, [0008] receiving an input representation (such as a 3D model) of the designated part) .
Regarding claim 8, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more third instructions include one or more placeholder instructions or one or more process indicators ([0085] assembling 32 includes adding the retrieved (and optionally modified) machining feature code 92 into the unified machining code 96 , generally in the form of a machining operation code block. Machining feature code 92 may be configured to execute in a predefined order within the unified machining code 96, [0105] FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5C represent three steps, stages, and/or operations of a part fabrication process. FIG. 5A illustrates a stock piece 110 to be formed into the designated part 70 . Machining features 74 of the designated part 70 are indicated in dotted line to illustrate how and/or where the stock piece 110 is to be modified, [0054] Receiving 12 may include receiving information about the designated part in addition to the input representation. For example, receiving 12 may include receiving an indication of one or more machining features of the designated part, physical properties of the designated part, and/or a targeted forming machine type. Additionally or alternatively, the input representation may include an indication of one or more machining features of the designated part, physical properties of the designated part, and/or a targeted forming machine type. The indication of, e.g., the machining features, the physical properties, and/or the forming machine type, may be a selection from a range of options and/or may be a textual description. In particular, an indication of a machining feature may include a 3D model of the machining feature, a negative geometry model of the machining feature, a surface of the machining feature (a surface of the designated part), a region including at least a portion of the machining feature, a volume including at least a portion of the machining feature, a textual description of the machining feature, a keyword description of the machining feature, a 2D image of the machining feature, a 2D sketch of the machining feature, and/or a 3D sketch of the machining feature.). .
Regarding claim 9, Jones teaches The method of claim 8, wherein merging the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions comprises replacing placeholder instructions included in the first list of executable instructions with one or more instructions of the second list of executable instructions ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 10, Jones teaches The method of claim 8, wherein merging the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions comprises replacing the one or more placeholder instructions included in the first list of executable instructions or the second list of executable instructions with one or more instructions from the other of the first list of executable instructions or the second list of executable instructions or one or more additional instruction ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 11, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising simulating the integrated list of executable instructions ([0069] Methods 10 may include forming 22 the designated part based at least in part on the derived machining strategy. Thus, methods 10 may include methods of forming a designated part. Where the derived machining strategy includes machining code, methods 10 may include forming 22 the designated part based at least in part on the machining code, simulating the machining code, reviewing the machining code, and/or editing the machining code).
Regarding claim 12, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting for display on a client device, the integrated list of executable instructions ([0114] The computerized system 200 may include one or more input-output devices 216 operatively coupled to the processing unit 202 , the computer-readable memory 206 , and/or the computer-readable storage media assemblage 212 , e.g. by communications infrastructure 210 . Examples of input-output devices 216 include monitors, keyboards, pointing devices (e.g., mice), touch screens, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Jones teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising generating one or more recommended changes to the integrated list of executable instructions based, at least in part, on the pre-determined machine-driven process ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part, [0066] Existing strategy may be tentative, suggested, and/or partial machining strategy for the designated part, and may be created, for example, by the methods 10 previously performed, traditional CAM programming, and/or other methods of producing machining strategy for a part to be fabricated. Deriving 18 may include deriving a complete machining strategy (e.g., when followed, results in the designated part) and/or a tentative, suggested, and/or partial machining strategy for the designated part (e.g., requires further information and/or processing to produce the designated part)).
Regarding claim 14, Jones teaches A system comprising: a numerically controlled device comprising a plurality of manufacturing tools configured to manufacture an article, wherein the manufacturing tools comprise a first manufacturing tool and a second manufacturing tool; and a client device coupled to the numerically controlled device, comprising; at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions including a first software package, a second software package, and an integration software package, which (Fig. 4, [0112] The computerized system 200 includes a processing unit 202 operatively coupled to a computer-readable memory 206 by a communications infrastructure 210 . The processing unit 202 may include one or more computer processors 204 and may include a distributed group of computer processors 204 . The computerized system 200 also may include a computer-readable storage media assemblage 212 that is operatively coupled to the processing unit 202 and/or the computer-readable memory 206 , e.g., by communications infrastructure 210 . The computer-readable storage media assemblage 212 may include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media 214 and may include a distributed group of non-transitory computer-readable storage media 214, [0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40, [0027] Machining code generally includes instructions that describe the configuration, operation, and/or processing of the forming machine, what tools to use, the tool setup, and the trajectories of the tools (toolpaths). Machining code may include all or a portion of the instructions to make a part. For example, different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot) : receive design inputs, via the integration software package, for manufacturing the article by using the manufacturing tools ([0008] receiving an input representation (such as a 3D model) of the designated part, [0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40); provide the design inputs, by the integration software package, to the first software package and the second software package([0047] As shown in FIG. 1, methods 10 include receiving 12 the input representation of the designated part. Receiving 12 may include receiving the input representation directly or indirectly from the user. Receiving 12 may include accessing, identifying, and/or creating the input representation. For example, the user may select an input representation from a range of choices, and a computerized system (e.g., programming system 40 as shown in FIG. 3 and described further herein) may receive the result of the selection. As another example, the computerized system may monitor user actions and/or a file system that receives input representations of parts to be fabricated. When the computerized system determines the user has created and/or stored a sufficient input representation, the computerized system may receive the input representation (e.g., by accessing and/or identifying)), wherein the first software package is configured to generate a first list of executable instructions to control operations of a first manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools and the second software package is configured to generate a second list of executable instructions to control operations of a second manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0027] Machining code generally includes instructions that describe the configuration, operation, and/or processing of the forming machine, what tools to use, the tool setup, and the trajectories of the tools (toolpaths). Machining code may include all or a portion of the instructions to make a part. For example, different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot, [0028] The machining strategy includes a sequence of one or more machining operations that, when performed in order, on the targeted forming machine, with the specified tools, raw materials, workpiece, and/or fixtures, create the formed part. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a machining strategy is referred to as machining strategy code, [0067] retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block); generate, via the first software package, one or more first instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the first manufacturing tool; generate, via the second software package, one or more second instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the second manufacturing tool ([0076] retrieving 28 a first feature code block and retrieving 28 a second feature code block corresponding respectively to a first machining feature indicated by a first user selection 84 and a second machining feature indicated by a second user selection 84, [0027] different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot); receive, via the integration software package, one or more first instructions from the first software package and one or more second instructions from the second software package ([0100] For example, the programming agent 46 may provide and/or suggest to the user a list of machining strategies and/or machining operations that relate to similar parts and, hence, that may be useful to guide the development of a machining strategy and/or a machining operation for the designated part. As another example, the programming agent may classify and/or group the designated part with similar parts, features, and/or characteristics, optionally associating the designated part with the similar parts, features, and/or characteristics within the machining knowledge database 50 . Classification and/or grouping may be used to inform and/or to assist the user during fabrication programming 44 and/or may be used to program and/or to fabricate a new part similar to the designated part and/or a machining feature similar to a machining feature of the designated part. For example, the programming agent may suggest, based upon the classification and/or grouping, similar parts and/or machining features to the user to review before and/or during the fabrication programming 44 . As another example, the classified and/or grouped machining information may inform and/or assist a future user of the programming system 40 during a future fabrication programming task 44); generate, via the integration software package, one or more third instructions based, at least in part, on the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions; provide, by the integration software package, the one or more first instructions, the one or more second instructions, and the one or more third instructions to the first software package and the second software package; generate, via the first software package, a first list of executable instructions…; generate, via the second software package, a second list of executable instructions; receive, via the integration software package, the first list of executable, and a second list of executable instructions; and merge, via the integration software package ([0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40), the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions to generate an integrated list of executable instructions to operate the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0164] wherein the machining strategy information includes stored machining code utilized to form a portion of one similar part, and wherein the deriving includes merging the stored machining code with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part, [0067] where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2, [0023] Forming machines are configured to operate one or more tools to form the part. Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components), [0096] Moreover, the programming agent 46 may be configured to unify (e.g., harmonize, bundle, and/or package) the read, parsed, and/or identified data into the unified data set (also called the unified machining information). Thusly, assembling and/or fusing the data may include extracting, collecting, aggregating, mapping, converting, transferring, copying, replicating, reformatting, integrating, curating, scraping, and/or coalescing the data and/or the machining information. The unified machining information created by the programming agent 46 may be a broader, more robust, description of the part fabrication process than the individual components of the machining information generated by the user).
Jones does not teach wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions
Haas teaches wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data (Fig. 1, Fig. 8, [0039] models are connected via transformations that convert datasets output by one model into a format suitable for input to another model. In one embodiment, this enables loose coupling by abstracting every data source by a schema and every model by a pair of input and output schemas. The invention then uses a schema-mapping tool together with schema metadata to specify the desired behavior of a transformation and then to automatically generate the code that executes the transformation during a simulation run, [0041] Schema mappings or data transformations refer to specifications of how data are to be translated from one schema (the source schema) into another (the target schema). In one embodiment ) ;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions (Fig. 8, [0055] one simulation model can be used such that output from two or more simulation models can be used as input of other simulation models, either serially or in a parallel processing arrangement)
Regarding claim 15, Jones teaches The system of claim 14, wherein the plurality of manufacturing tools comprise an additive manufacturing tool, an automated fiber placement tool, and a subtractive manufacturing tool ([0023] Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components, [0023] A forming machine may transform the raw material by subtractive manufacturing techniques (e.g., machining), additive manufacturing techniques (e.g., 3D printing), molding, casting, folding, stamping, coating, etc. For some techniques, such as molding, casting, stamping, etc., a forming machine also may be employed to form a component (e.g., a mold, a cast, a stamp, a die, etc.) that subsequently is utilized to form other parts).
Regarding claim 16, Jones teaches The system of claim 14, wherein generating one or more third instructions includes modifying one or more tool paths generated at the first software package or the second software package ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, [0030] execution of a toolpath results in modification of the workpiece (i.e., each toolpath generally includes an active portion). Toolpaths may correspond to one or more machining features as described further herein. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a toolpath may be referred to as toolpath code).
Regarding claim 17, Jones teaches The system of claim 14, wherein the one or more third instructions include one or more placeholder instructions ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 18, Jones teaches The system of claim 14, wherein the instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: automatically generate one or more transition instructions responsive to the integrated list of executable instructions; and insert the one or more transition instructions into the integrated list of executable instructions ([0067] Deriving 18 may include adjusting, merging, and/or replacing at least a portion of the machining strategy information from each of the information sources (e.g., similar parts and/or existing strategy). For example, where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2. As another example, where the machining strategy information includes machining code utilized to form at least a portion of one of the similar parts, deriving 18 may include merging the machining code of the machining strategy information with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part).
Regarding claim 19, Jones teaches The system of claim 18, wherein the instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: reorder the integrated list of executable instructions responsive to a user editing one or more instructions of the integrated list of executable instructions ([0028] The machining strategy includes a sequence of one or more machining operations that, when performed in order, on the targeted forming machine, with the specified tools, raw materials, workpiece, and/or fixtures, create the formed part. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a machining strategy is referred to as machining strategy code, [0069] the derived machining strategy includes machining code, methods 10 may include forming 22 the designated part based at least in part on the machining code, simulating the machining code, reviewing the machining code, and/or editing the machining code, [0095] The user of the programming system 40 may utilize the programming system to create the machining strategy and/or the machining code for the designated part and/or may utilize another system to create the machining strategy and/or the machining code (e.g., a CAM system, a NC programming system, and/or a G-code editor). That is, the user may be guided by the programming system 40 and may rely on another system to implement and/or produce the resulting machining strategy and/or machining code.).
Regarding claim 20, Jones teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions including a first software package, a second software package, and an integration software package, which cause at least one processor to perform acts comprising (Fig. 4, [0112] The computerized system 200 includes a processing unit 202 operatively coupled to a computer-readable memory 206 by a communications infrastructure 210 . The processing unit 202 may include one or more computer processors 204 and may include a distributed group of computer processors 204 . The computerized system 200 also may include a computer-readable storage media assemblage 212 that is operatively coupled to the processing unit 202 and/or the computer-readable memory 206 , e.g., by communications infrastructure 210 . The computer-readable storage media assemblage 212 may include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media 214 and may include a distributed group of non-transitory computer-readable storage media 214, [0088] Programming system 40 includes a group of system modules that may interact with the user to perform the task of fabricating a part. System modules also may be referred to as agents, programs, processes, procedures, functions, and/or routines. System modules include a programming agent 46 , a search agent 48 , and a machining knowledge database 50 , and typically include an archive 52 and a controller 54 . Generally, the system modules are control logic and/or data stored in the programming system 40, [0096] Moreover, the programming agent 46 may be configured to unify (e.g., harmonize, bundle, and/or package) the read, parsed, and/or identified data into the unified data set (also called the unified machining information). Thusly, assembling and/or fusing the data may include extracting, collecting, aggregating, mapping, converting, transferring, copying, replicating, reformatting, integrating, curating, scraping, and/or coalescing the data and/or the machining information. The unified machining information created by the programming agent 46 may be a broader, more robust, description of the part fabrication process than the individual components of the machining information generated by the user): receiving design inputs, via an integration software package for a pre-determined machine-driven process for manufacturing an article by using a plurality of manufacturing tools ([0008] receiving an input representation (such as a 3D model) of the designated part, [0100] For example, the programming agent 46 may provide and/or suggest to the user a list of machining strategies and/or machining operations that relate to similar parts and, hence, that may be useful to guide the development of a machining strategy and/or a machining operation for the designated part. As another example, the programming agent may classify and/or group the designated part with similar parts, features, and/or characteristics, optionally associating the designated part with the similar parts, features, and/or characteristics within the machining knowledge database 50 . Classification and/or grouping may be used to inform and/or to assist the user during fabrication programming 44 and/or may be used to program and/or to fabricate a new part similar to the designated part and/or a machining feature similar to a machining feature of the designated part. For example, the programming agent may suggest, based upon the classification and/or grouping, similar parts and/or machining features to the user to review before and/or during the fabrication programming 44 . As another example, the classified and/or grouped machining information may inform and/or assist a future user of the programming system 40 during a future fabrication programming task 44)); providing the design inputs, by the integration software package to the first software package and the second software package ([0047] As shown in FIG. 1, methods 10 include receiving 12 the input representation of the designated part. Receiving 12 may include receiving the input representation directly or indirectly from the user. Receiving 12 may include accessing, identifying, and/or creating the input representation. For example, the user may select an input representation from a range of choices, and a computerized system (e.g., programming system 40 as shown in FIG. 3 and described further herein) may receive the result of the selection. As another example, the computerized system may monitor user actions and/or a file system that receives input representations of parts to be fabricated. When the computerized system determines the user has created and/or stored a sufficient input representation, the computerized system may receive the input representation (e.g., by accessing and/or identifying), [0100] For example, the programming agent 46 may provide and/or suggest to the user a list of machining strategies and/or machining operations that relate to similar parts and, hence, that may be useful to guide the development of a machining strategy and/or a machining operation for the designated part. As another example, the programming agent may classify and/or group the designated part with similar parts, features, and/or characteristics, optionally associating the designated part with the similar parts, features, and/or characteristics within the machining knowledge database 50 . Classification and/or grouping may be used to inform and/or to assist the user during fabrication programming 44 and/or may be used to program and/or to fabricate a new part similar to the designated part and/or a machining feature similar to a machining feature of the designated part. For example, the programming agent may suggest, based upon the classification and/or grouping, similar parts and/or machining features to the user to review before and/or during the fabrication programming 44 . As another example, the classified and/or grouped machining information may inform and/or assist a future user of the programming system 40 during a future fabrication programming task 44)), wherein the first software package is configured to generate a first list of executable instructions to control operations of a first manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools and the second software package is configured to generate a second list of executable instructions to control operations of a second manufacturing tool of the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0027] Machining code generally includes instructions that describe the configuration, operation, and/or processing of the forming machine, what tools to use, the tool setup, and the trajectories of the tools (toolpaths). Machining code may include all or a portion of the instructions to make a part. For example, different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot, [0028] The machining strategy includes a sequence of one or more machining operations that, when performed in order, on the targeted forming machine, with the specified tools, raw materials, workpiece, and/or fixtures, create the formed part. Machining code that expresses, describes, and/or instructs a machining strategy is referred to as machining strategy code, [0067] retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block); generating, via the first software package, one or more first instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the first manufacturing tools; generating, via the second software package, one or more second instructions based on the design inputs for controlling the operations of the second manufacturing tool ([0076] retrieving 28 a first feature code block and retrieving 28 a second feature code block corresponding respectively to a first machining feature indicated by a first user selection 84 and a second machining feature indicated by a second user selection 84, [0027] different blocks of machining code may direct the fabrication of different features of a part. Machining code may be directed to a forming machine generally, may be directed to components of a forming machine, and/or may be directed to different forming machines. For example, one type of machining code may control an NC machine while another type of machining code may control a materials-handling robot); receiving, via the integration software package, the one or more first instructions from the first software package and one or more second instructions from the second software package ([0100] For example, the programming agent 46 may provide and/or suggest to the user a list of machining strategies and/or machining operations that relate to similar parts and, hence, that may be useful to guide the development of a machining strategy and/or a machining operation for the designated part. As another example, the programming agent may classify and/or group the designated part with similar parts, features, and/or characteristics, optionally associating the designated part with the similar parts, features, and/or characteristics within the machining knowledge database 50 . Classification and/or grouping may be used to inform and/or to assist the user during fabrication programming 44 and/or may be used to program and/or to fabricate a new part similar to the designated part and/or a machining feature similar to a machining feature of the designated part. For example, the programming agent may suggest, based upon the classification and/or grouping, similar parts and/or machining features to the user to review before and/or during the fabrication programming 44 . As another example, the classified and/or grouped machining information may inform and/or assist a future user of the programming system 40 during a future fabrication programming task 44); generating, via the integration software package, one or more third instructions based, at least in part, on the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions; providing, by the integration software package, the one or more first instructions, the one or more second instructions, and the one or more third instructions to the first software package and the second software package; generating, via the first software package, a first list of executable instructions;… generating, via the second software package, a second list of executable instructions;…receiving, via the integration software package, the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions; and merging, via the integration software package the first list of executable instructions and the second list of executable instructions to generate an integrated list of executable instructions to operate the plurality of manufacturing tools ([0164] wherein the machining strategy information includes stored machining code utilized to form a portion of one similar part, and wherein the deriving includes merging the stored machining code with machining code configured to form at least a portion of the designated part, [0067] where retrieving 16 includes retrieving a first machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a first similar part and a second machining code block utilized to form at least a portion of a second similar part, deriving 18 may include assembling a unified machining code block from the first machining code block and the second machining code block, as described further herein with respect to the example of FIG. 2, [0023] Forming machines are configured to operate one or more tools to form the part. Additionally, forming machines may include one or more other, typically automated, components such as chucks, spindles, stages, indexers, trunnions, carousels, robotic arms, cooling systems, venting systems, and/or waste collection systems. Forming machines may be, and/or may include, assembled machines, such as NC machines and/or 3D printers, and may be an assemblage of one or more such machines and interconnecting components (e.g., materials handling components), [0096] Moreover, the programming agent 46 may be configured to unify (e.g., harmonize, bundle, and/or package) the read, parsed, and/or identified data into the unified data set (also called the unified machining information). Thusly, assembling and/or fusing the data may include extracting, collecting, aggregating, mapping, converting, transferring, copying, replicating, reformatting, integrating, curating, scraping, and/or coalescing the data and/or the machining information. The unified machining information created by the programming agent 46 may be a broader, more robust, description of the part fabrication process than the individual components of the machining information generated by the user).
Jones does not teach wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions
Haas teaches wherein the generating the one or more third instructions comprises: manipulating the one or more first instructions to be used by the second software package or manipulating the one or more second instructions to be used by the first software package; and synthesizing new data, through the manipulating the one or more first instructions or the one or more second instructions, for use by the first and second software packages, wherein the one or more third instructions include the new data (Fig. 1, Fig. 8, [0039] models are connected via transformations that convert datasets output by one model into a format suitable for input to another model. In one embodiment, this enables loose coupling by abstracting every data source by a schema and every model by a pair of input and output schemas. The invention then uses a schema-mapping tool together with schema metadata to specify the desired behavior of a transformation and then to automatically generate the code that executes the transformation during a simulation run, [0041] Schema mappings or data transformations refer to specifications of how data are to be translated from one schema (the source schema) into another (the target schema). In one embodiment ) ;… based on the third instructions; …based on the third instructions (Fig. 8, [0055] one simulation model can be used such that output from two or more simulation models can be used as input of other simulation models, either serially or in a parallel processing arrangement)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhang (US20060167868) discloses packaging process for computer system software integration.
Holmes (US6226784B1) discloses an integrated package to facilitate the establishment of a particular install tool.
Kim (US20070294662) discloses distribution software for robot development
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117