DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2 August 2023 and 15 July 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 8 August 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-126114 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Invention . This is not found persuasive because the restriction between a product and process of making is based on a one-way test for distinctness, and it is possible to make the solid-state battery of Invention I by a materially different process. See MPEP 806.05(f).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (US 20210143474, hereinafter, Sugimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Sugimoto teaches a solid-state secondary battery comprising a positive electrode current collector, a positive electrode, a first electrolyte layer, a second electrolyte layer, a negative electrode, and negative current collector (Abstract). The first layer contains Li, M1 selected as Zr, and X1 selected as Cl, also written stoichiometrically as Li2ZrCl6 (¶ 33-34), and the second layer contains a complex hydride solid electrolyte (¶ 2, 69, 76), and LiBH4 is known in the solid-state battery art. Sugimoto does not expressly teach the claimed oxidation resistance or reduction resistance of the first and second solid electrolyte. However, Sugimoto teaches the chloride Li2ZrCl6 as the first solid electrolyte and the hydride LiBH4 as the second solid electrolyte, which is substantially identical to that which applicant claims and discloses as having said oxidation and reduction resistance. As such, one would expect the first and second solid electrolytes of Sugimoto to possess the claimed oxidation and reduction resistance as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Referring to the above recited layer structure of Sugimoto, the first electrolyte is adjacent to the positive electrode, the second electrolyte is adjacent to the negative electrode, the first electrolyte layer separates the positive electrode and the second electrolyte layer, and the second electrolyte layer separates the first electrolyte layer and the negative electrode, resulting in a higher content of first solid electrolyte material around the positive electrode and a higher content of second solid electrolyte material around the negative electrode.
Regarding claim 2, the second electrolyte may include Li2S-P2S5-LiCl (¶ 36), the first electrolyte layer may include material from the second electrolyte layer (¶ 29), and both the first and second electrolyte layers may be of a multi-layer structure formed of a plurality of layers with different respective compositions (¶ 27-29). In the case that both the first and second electrolyte layers are formed of two layers, with each extra layer being formed at the interface between the electrolyte layers, and with each layer being composed of additional Li2S-P2S5-LiCl, an intermediary region with a third layer comprising the Li2S-P2S5-LiCl can be formed. Sugimoto does not expressly teach the claimed greater ion conductivity of the third solid electrolyte material. However, Sugimoto teaches Li2S-P2S5-LiCl, which is substantially identical to that which applicant claims and discloses as having said greater ion conductivity. As such, one would expect the Li2S-P2S5-LiCl of Sugimoto to possess the claimed greater ion conductivity as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 3, both the first and second electrolyte layers may include material from the second electrolyte layer (¶ 29), and the second electrolyte layer may include complex hydrides such as LiBH4-LiNH2 (¶ 27). Sugimoto does not expressly teach the claimed lower melting point of the fourth solid electrolyte. However, Sugimoto teaches LiBH4-LiNH2, which is substantially identical to that which applicant claims and discloses as having said lower melting point. As such, one would expect the LiBH4-LiNH2 of Sugimoto to possess the claimed lower melting point as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 4, Sugimoto teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein the first electrolyte layer comprises the first solid electrolyte material, and is in contact with the positive electrode and covers the positive electrode (¶ 25), thus the surface of the positive electrode active material is covered by substantially only the first solid electrolyte, and meets the claimed limitation of at least 50% by mass of the first solid electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa et al. (US 20210104773, hereinafter, Ozawa) in view of Atsushi et al. (Mechanochemically Prepared Li2S-P2S5-LiBH4 Solid Electrolytes with an Argyrodite Structure, ACS Omega, 2018, 3, 5453-5458, hereinafter, Atsushi).
Regarding claim 1, Ozawa teaches a solid-state secondary battery comprising a laminated structure including a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode active material layer, solid electrolyte layers, a positive electrode active material layer, and a positive electrode current collector (¶ 114). Ozawa also teaches the inclusion of sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte in all solid electrolyte layers (¶ 26), and that examples include Li2S-P2S5. Applicant discloses in paragraph 53 the use of Li2S-P2S5-LiBH4 as both the first and second solid electrolyte in an embodiment of their invention. Applicant also discloses in paragraph 63 that the resulting solid-state battery made with the sulfide-based electrolyte resulted in superior oxidation resistance and reduction resistance. While Ozawa does not teach LiBH4, Atsushi teaches the use of Li2S-P2S5-LiBH4 as a solid electrolyte for a battery (Atsushi Abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the LiBH4 and Li2S-P2S5 to make Li2S-P2S5-LiBH4 because doing so would increase the lithium-ion conductivity (Atsushi Introduction). Thus, the battery with sulfide-based electrolyte of Li2S-P2S5-LiBH4 meets the claimed limitations of oxidation and reduction resistances, and content ratios at regions near the positive and negative electrode layers.
Conclusion
/M.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784