Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
03/30/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative field arguments on 03/30/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 10-11 that the combination of Jung and FANG does not teach “performing a radio resource control (RRC) reestablishment procedure, wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the combination of Jung and FANG does not teach “performing a radio resource control (RRC) reestablishment procedure.” Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung discloses that “at RRC connection re-establishment” a serving cell provides security input information. See [0120]. Jung additionally discloses “initiate the connection re-establishment procedure” in response to detected MCG and SCG radio link failures. See [0194], [0212]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Jung teaches performing an RRC reestablishment procedure in response to MCG/SCG failure conditions.
Second, applicant argues that the combination of Jung and FANG does not teach “wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.” Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The combination of Jung and FANG, specifically FANG discloses reporting failure-related information associated with failures occurring in dual connectivity operation involving both MCG and SCG contexts. See [0135]-[0136], [0138]-[0140]. In particular, FANG discloses that the UE current serving cell is “ cell 1 of base station 1” while the target PSCell is “cell 2 of base station 2” or “cell 3 of base station 3.” See FANG [0135], [0138]. FANG further discloses that the UE transmits SCG failure information to the network after the SCG failure occurs. See [0136], [0139]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited disclosure reasonably teaches information associated with both the MCG side (PCell/current serving cell) and the SCG side (PSCell where the SCG failure occurred).
Further, applicant’s argument regarding the claimed “time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure” is not persuasive because the claims do not require an explicit timestamp or time value. FANG discloses that SCG failure occurs “during” PSCell addition or “immediately after” successful PSCell addition, including within a predetermined time period after PSCell addition. See [0135]. Such disclosure reasonably teaches timing information describing a temporal relationship between failure events under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, as shown above the combination of Jung and FANG teaches the amended limitations of claims 6,11 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2023/0345339 A1; hereinafter "Jung"), in view of FANG et al. (US 2022/0286935 A1; hereinafter “FANG”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a method (FIG. 13) performed by a first network node (FIG. 2 second device 200) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving information related to a master cell group (MCG) failure (FIG. 13 S1311; [0192] the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure);
identifying a failure cause of the MCG failure ([0164] upon indication from source MCG RLC that the maximum number of retransmissions has been reached, which constitutes a failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considering radio link failure to be detected for the source MCG based on the indicated failure cause); and performing a radio resource control (RRC) reestablishment procedure ([0120] At RRC connection re-establishment, one serving cell provides the security input, and the PCell is a cell in which the UE initiates the connection re-establishment procedure, [0194],[0210] initiate the connection re-establishment procedure).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.
In an analogous art, FANG teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure ([0081] SCG related information includes a PSCell identifier, thereby teaching a cell identity of a PSCell where the SCG failure happened, [0082] MCG related information includes an identity of the target PCell of the MN handover, thereby teaching a cell identity associated with the MCG failure context, [0135] discloses that SCG failure occurs during PSCell addition or immediately after the successful PSCell addition, while MCG failure occurs during or immediately after MN handover, thereby teaching timing information describing a temporal relationship between the MCG failure and the SCG failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by FANG within the system of Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time with higher quality of service (FANG [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure further includes location information of a user equipment (UE) or information on the failure cause of the MCG failure ([0162]-[0165] detecting a radio link failure for the source MCG based on specific triggers including T310 expiry, random access problem, maximum retransmission reached at MCG RLC, or uplink LBT failure, thereby providing information on the failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considers the MCG radio link failure to be detected based on such cause).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the first network node is a master node last serving a UE when the MCG failure occurs ([0120] defines the MCG as being associated with a master node, [0166] detects radio link failure for the source MCG, i.e., the MCG last serving the UE, [0192] initiates the MCG failure information procedure, thereby establishing that the first network node is the master node last serving the UE when the MCG failure occurs).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein information on the failure cause of the MCG failure indicates at least one of a SCG deactivation ([0302]-[0304] disclose SCG deactivation, [0206]-[0207] detect and report SCG radio link failure, thereby indicating SCG deactivation as a failure cause), or a status of a timer T316.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure is received from a UE or a base station (FIG. 13 S1311; [0188] store the radio link failure information in the VarRLF-Report, [0192] UE initiates the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure to base station).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches a method (FIG. 11) performed by a terminal (FIG. 2 first device 100) in a communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a master cell group (MCG) failure ([0164] upon indication from source MCG RLC that the maximum number of retransmissions has been reached, [0166] consider radio link failure to be detected for the source MCG i.e. source RLF); and
transmitting, to a first network node, information related to the MCG failure (FIG. 13 S1311; [0192] the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.
In an analogous art, FANG teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure ([0081] SCG related information includes a PSCell identifier, thereby teaching a cell identity of a PSCell where the SCG failure happened, [0082] MCG related information includes an identity of the target PCell of the MN handover, thereby teaching a cell identity associated with the MCG failure context, [0135] discloses that SCG failure occurs during PSCell addition or immediately after the successful PSCell addition, while MCG failure occurs during or immediately after MN handover, thereby teaching timing information describing a temporal relationship between the MCG failure and the SCG failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by FANG within the system of Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time with higher quality of service (FANG [0072]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure further includes location information of the UE or information on a failure cause of the MCG failure ([0162]-[0165] detecting a radio link failure for the source MCG based on specific triggers including T310 expiry, random access problem, maximum retransmission reached at MCG RLC, or uplink LBT failure, thereby providing information on the failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considers the MCG radio link failure to be detected based on such cause).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the first network node is a master node last serving the UE when the MCG failure occurs ([0120] defines the MCG as being associated with a master node, [0166] detects radio link failure for the source MCG, i.e., the MCG last serving the UE, [0192] initiates the MCG failure information procedure, thereby establishing that the first network node is the master node last serving the UE when the MCG failure occurs).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein information on a failure cause of the MCG failure indicates at least one of a SCG deactivation ([0302]-[0304] disclose SCG deactivation, [0206]-[0207] detect and report SCG radio link failure, thereby indicating SCG deactivation as a failure cause), or a status of a timer T316.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure is transferred to the first network node through a base station (FIG. 13 S1311; [0188] store the radio link failure information in the VarRLF-Report, [0192] UE initiates the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure to base station).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches a first network node (FIG. 2 second device 200) comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 2 transceiver 206) configured to:
receive information related to a master cell group (MCG) failure (FIG. 13 S1311; [0192] the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure); and
a controller (FIG. 2 processor 202) operatively coupled to the transceiver configured to: identify a failure cause of the MCG ([0164] upon indication from source MCG RLC that the maximum number of retransmissions has been reached, which constitutes a failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considering radio link failure to be detected for the source MCG based on the indicated failure cause); and performing a radio resource control (RRC) reestablishment procedure ([0120] At RRC connection re-establishment, one serving cell provides the security input, and the PCell is a cell in which the UE initiates the connection re-establishment procedure, [0194],[0210] initiate the connection re-establishment procedure).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identify of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.
In an analogous art, FANG teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identify of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure, and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure ([0081] SCG related information includes a PSCell identifier, thereby teaching a cell identity of a PSCell where the SCG failure happened, [0082] MCG related information includes an identity of the target PCell of the MN handover, thereby teaching a cell identity associated with the MCG failure context, [0135] discloses that SCG failure occurs during PSCell addition or immediately after the successful PSCell addition, while MCG failure occurs during or immediately after MN handover, thereby teaching timing information describing a temporal relationship between the MCG failure and the SCG failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by FANG within the system of Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time with higher quality of service (FANG [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure further includes location information of a user equipment (UE) or information on the failure cause of the MCG failure ([0162]-[0165] detecting a radio link failure for the source MCG based on specific triggers including T310 expiry, random access problem, maximum retransmission reached at MCG RLC, or uplink LBT failure, thereby providing information on the failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considers the MCG radio link failure to be detected based on such cause).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the first network node is a master node last serving a UE when the MCG failure occurs ([0120] the term SpCell refers to the PCell of the master cell group (MCG) or the primary SCell (PSCell) of the secondary cell group (SCG). An SpCell supports PUCCH transmission and contention-based random access, and is always activated, [0386] information indicating the failure comprising an identifier of the candidate cell).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein information on the failure cause of the MCG failure indicates at least one of a SCG deactivation ([0302]-[0304] disclose SCG deactivation, [0206]-[0207] detect and report SCG radio link failure, thereby indicating SCG deactivation as a failure cause), or status of a timer T316.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure is received from a UE or a base station (FIG. 13 S1311; [0188] store the radio link failure information in the VarRLF-Report, [0192] UE initiates the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure to base station).
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2 first device 100) comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 2 transceiver 106); and
a controller (FIG. 2 processor 102) operatively coupled to the transceiver configured to:
identify a master cell group (MCG) failure ([0164] upon indication from source MCG RLC that the maximum number of retransmissions has been reached, which constitutes a failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considering radio link failure to be detected for the source MCG based on the indicated failure cause); and
wherein the transceiver (FIG. 2 transceiver 106) is configured to: transmit, to a first network node (FIG. 2 second node 200), information related to the MCG failure (FIG. 13 S1311; [0192] the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure.
In an analogous art, FANG teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure includes a cell identity of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) where a secondary cell group (SCG) failure happened, a cell identity of a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG failure and a time from the MCG failure to the SCG failure ([0081] SCG related information includes a PSCell identifier, thereby teaching a cell identity of a PSCell where the SCG failure happened, [0082] MCG related information includes an identity of the target PCell of the MN handover, thereby teaching a cell identity associated with the MCG failure context, [0135] discloses that SCG failure occurs during PSCell addition or immediately after the successful PSCell addition, while MCG failure occurs during or immediately after MN handover, thereby teaching timing information describing a temporal relationship between the MCG failure and the SCG failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by FANG within the system of Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time with higher quality of service (FANG [0072]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure further includes location information of the UE or information on a failure cause of the MCG failure ([0162]-[0165] detecting a radio link failure for the source MCG based on specific triggers including T310 expiry, random access problem, maximum retransmission reached at MCG RLC, or uplink LBT failure, thereby providing information on the failure cause of the MCG failure, [0166] considers the MCG radio link failure to be detected based on such cause).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the first network node is a master node last serving the UE when the MCG failure occurs ([0120] defines the MCG as being associated with a master node, [0166] detects radio link failure for the source MCG, i.e., the MCG last serving the UE, [0192] initiates the MCG failure information procedure, thereby establishing that the first network node is the master node last serving the UE when the MCG failure occurs).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein information on a failure cause of the MCG failure indicates at least one of a SCG deactivation ([0302]-[0304] disclose SCG deactivation, [0206]-[0207] detect and report SCG radio link failure, thereby indicating SCG deactivation as a failure cause), or a status of a timer T316.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Jung and FANG, specifically Jung teaches wherein the information related to the MCG failure is transferred to the first network node through a base station (FIG. 13 S1311; [0188] store the radio link failure information in the VarRLF-Report, [0192] UE initiates the MCG failure information procedure to report MCG radio link failure to base station).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0224151 A1 (KIM et al.) discloses a failure recovery in wireless communications.
US 2024/0334291 A1 (CHANDRASHEKAR et al.) discloses a method includes receiving, by a user device that has been configured for dual connectivity.
US 2025/0097797 A1 (Yan et al.) discloses methods and apparatus for MRO for PSCell change or CPAC in NR-U.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413