RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections over Martin et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0021417) of the claims made of record in the office action mailed on 08/22/2024 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed 02/21/2025.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20, 22, 32-36 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2016/0332253) in view of Baker (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0281827)
Regarding claims 18-20, Nardi et al. disclose an additive manufacturing process and material including a plurality of discrete metal particles (which the reference refers to as a “first substance”) and a ceramic material (which the reference refers to as a “second substance”) disposed between at least some of the metal particles. (Abstract). As shown in Fig. 1, the metal particles (element 12) are surrounded by a coating of the ceramic material (elements 14 and 18) such that the coating becomes a matrix encasing the particles (Fig. 2). (par. [0032]-[0037]). Nardi et al. discloses that the metal particles may include titanium metal (par. [0035]) and that the ceramic coating may include aluminum oxide. (par. [0042]).
Nardi et al. does not disclose that the coating is formed by vapor deposition.
Baker discloses a method of making high strength composites and products, particularly those for use in medical implants, based on additive manufacturing using a coated powder composite that are generally Mg or Al based (Abstract, par. [0002], [0005] and [0045]) and coatings including or more metal or metal oxide layers. (par. [0010]). Baker discloses forming the coatings on the surfaces of the particles via a vapor deposition process which enables forming layers from the surface of the core particles that is efficient and uniform without agglomeration. (par. [0067] and [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the coatings on the surface of the powder in Nardi et al. using a vapor deposition process as disclosed in Baker et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a vapor deposition process as disclosed in Baker et al. to form the coating layers in Nardi et al. in view of the advantageous uniform and efficient coatings without particle agglomeration.
With respect to the coating thickness, Nardi et al. does not explicitly claim the thickness of the coating but does disclose that the relative amount of ceramic coating to metal particles may be substantially less than 1% by weight in order to not substantially alter the chemical/metallurgical properties of metal powder or the desired properties of the part made using the powder composition via additive manufacturing. (par. [0041]). Nardi et al. teaches that generally the goal of the ceramic material is to provide a barrier between the particles to prevent sintering thereof. (par. [0011]). Nardi et al. does not teach a coating thickness, the reference recognizes the result effective nature of the relative amount of coating to the underlying metal particles. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have understood that the coating thickness would have been an optimizable parameter which could be adjusted for producing the benefits outlined in Nardi et al. while also avoiding excessive amounts (i.e. thickness) of the coating to keep manufacturing costs low. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 (II). Therefore, the limitations directed to the coating thickness in the current claims are not inventive over the teachings of Nardi et al. which suggests controlling the amount of coating relative to the metal particles in order to achieve the desired advantages disclosed therein.
Furthermore, Baker et al. teaches that the thickness of each layer formed by the deposition process may lie in the range of 5 nm to 1.5 micrometers. (par. [0038])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a coating having a thickness in the range of 5 nm to 1.5 micrometers in Nardi et al., as suggested by Baker et al. which overlap with the present range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a coating thickness in the range disclosed in Baker et al. in view of the reasonable expectation of success that the disclosed coating thickness would be suitable for forming a coated powder used in an additive manufacturing process for forming an article. MPEP 2143. Since Baker et al. explicitly teaches that such coating thickness ranges are suitable for the powders of his invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use similar thicknesses in Nardi et al. for the powders which are used similarly in an additive manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 22, Nardi et al. discloses using the coated metal powders in an additive manufacturing process to make an object. (par. [0008]). As shown in Fig. 1, the coating encapsulates the entirety of the core (i.e. 100% of the external surface area)
Regarding claim 32, Nardi et al. discloses that the metal core may include an alloy of one or more metals, including titanium. (par. [0035]).
Regarding claim 33, Nardi et al. discloses using laser heating/melting to form the part from the coated metal powders. (par. [0052]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 34-36, the claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 18, above. In addition to titanium and alloys thereof, Nardi et al. discloses that the metal powders may be aluminum and alloys thereof. (par. [0035]). The coatings are explicitly disclosed to be ceramic materials. (par. [0042]).
Regarding claim 41, the ceramic coating is disclosed to include oxides of alumina. (par. [0042]).
Regarding claim 42, as shown in Fig. 1, the coating encapsulates the entirety of the core (i.e. 100% of the external surface area).
Regarding claims 43-44, the CVD coating process disclosed in Baker et al. is an atomic layer deposition process. (par. [0044]).
Claims 29-31 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2016/0332253) in view of Baker (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0281827), further in view of Beals et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0368603).
Nardi and Baker et al. are relied upon as described in the rejection of claims 18 and 34, above.
Regarding claims 29, 31 and 37, Nardi et al. does not disclose blending the coated metal particles with silicon nitride particles.
Beals et al. discloses structure powder particles as a feedstock for laser sintering in an additive manufacturing process. (Abstract). Beals et al. discloses that metallic first powders are coated with a second material made of second particles (Abstract). Beals et al. further discloses coating the surface of the coated powders with a third material, referred to as an “outer layer”. (par. [0029]). Beals et al. discloses that the second and third materials may be identical or different and that the selection of the materials may be based on the desired properties imparted to the powder including low flammability, low reflectivity, low melting point and low moisture/contamination. (par. [0029] and [0008]). Beals et al. further discloses using materials such as boron nitride and silicon nitride, or combinations thereof to provide a protective coating disposed about the metallic particles. (par. [0035]). The coatings are produced by mixing the metal particles with the particles of the materials intended to coat the surface of the metal particles (par. [0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mix the coated particles of Nardi et al. with particles of silicon nitride.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to mix the coated particles of Nardi et al. with particles of silicon nitride for the purpose of forming an additional outer layer on the coated particles which Beals et al. discloses would impart a protective property to the particles.
Regarding claims 30 and 38-39, Beals et al. discloses that either or both of boron nitride and silicon nitride may be used to impart a protective coating to the metal particles involving mixing the metal particles with the aforementioned ceramic materials. (par. [0035] and [0028]-[0029]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mix the coated particles or uncoated metal particles of Nardi et al. with boron nitride particles for the purpose of forming a protective boron nitride layer on the surface of the metal particles, as suggested by Beals et al.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2016/0332253) in view of Baker (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0281827) and Beals et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0368603), further in view of Welch et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0072465).
Nardi, Baker and Beals et al. are relied upon as described in the rejection of claims 18, 34 and 39, above.
Nardi et al. does not disclose that the metal particles are non-spherodized.
Welch et al. teaches an additive manufacturing process and powder feedstock material (Abstract and par. [0005]-[0006]) which contains metallic powders which are coated with nanoscale powders or coatings thereon. (par. [0024]). Welch et al. discloses that the metallic powders (i.e. matrix particles) may be regular or irregular which would include non-spheroidized particles as claimed. (par. [0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use either regular or irregular (i.e. non-spheroidized particles as the metal particles to be coated in Nardi et al., in view of the teachings of Welch et al.
Welch et al. discloses that metallic matrix particles, designed to be coated, for use in an additive manufacturing process may be selected to be either regular or irregular, implying the suitability thereof for the same type of additive manufacturing process disclosed in Nardi et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of being able to use irregularly shaped metallic powders for both coating with the ceramic materials disclosed in Nardi et al. and for using the powder in an additive manufacturing process.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed 02/21/2025 regarding the prior art rejections made of record in the office action mailed on 08/22/2024 have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 03/31/2025