DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 2-4 are objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. In figure 2, brief descriptions or acronyms should be used to label boxes 202, 204 and 210; in fig. 3, box 320; in fig. 4, box 420; in fig. 5, all boxes; and in figs. 7-8, all boxes. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. US PGPUB 2022/0224129.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method for balancing modules during charging of a mixed chemistry battery pack having a first battery module connected in series to a second battery module [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry], the method comprising:
monitoring a first state-of-charge (SOC) of the first battery module having a first battery chemistry [pars. 296-297; SOC of 3413];
monitoring a second SOC of the second battery module having a second battery chemistry that is different than the first battery chemistry [pars. 296-297; SOC of 3414];
selectively activating one of a first bypass switch and a first activation switch of the first battery module based on the first SOC and the second SOC [pars. 296-298; the bypass switches 3417/3418 and activation switch 3403/3404 bypass the battery if SOC is sufficiently high or activate charging is SOC is low]; and
selectively activating one of a second bypass switch and a second activation switch of the second battery module based on the first SOC and the second SOC [pars. 296-298; the bypass switches 3417/3418 and activation switch 3403/3404 bypass the battery if SOC is sufficiently high or activate charging is SOC is low],
wherein activation of the first bypass switch prevents the first battery module from charging and activation of the second bypass switch prevents the second battery module from charging [pars. 297-298].
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Liu discloses wherein the first battery chemistry is nickel-manganese cobalt and the second battery chemistry is lithium iron phosphate [pars. 255 & 1007-1008].
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Liu discloses wherein the first bypass switch and the second bypass switch are deactivated and the first activation switch and the second activation switch are activated based on a determination that the first SOC and the second SOC are less than one [fig. 34A; pars. 79, 278, 280 & 297; if the batteries are not fully charged (less than one, i.e. less than 100%) then charging continues via an activated switch 3403/3404 and not bypassed 3417/3418].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Liu discloses wherein the first bypass switch and the second bypass switch are activated and the first activation switch and the second activation switch are deactivated based on a determination that the first SOC and the second SOC are equal to one [fig. 34A; pars. 79, 278, 280 & 297; if the batteries are fully charged (equal to one, i.e. at 100%) then the bypass switches 3417/3418 are activated and switches 3403/3404 are deactivated (at least due to the shorts at 3417/3418].
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Liu discloses wherein the first activation switch is activated, the first bypass switch is deactivated, the second activation switch is deactivated, and the second bypass switch is activated based on a determination that the first SOC is less than one and the second SOC is equal to one [fig. 34A; pars. 79, 278, 280 & 297; one battery can be bypassed based on its SOC, while the other continues to be charged].
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Liu discloses wherein the first activation switch is deactivated, the first bypass switch is activated, the second activation switch is activated, and the second bypass switch is deactivated based on a determination that the second SOC is less than one and the first SOC is equal to one [fig. 34A; pars. 79, 278, 280 & 297; one battery can be bypassed based on its SOC, while the other continues to be charged].
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses a vehicle [figs. 1, 34 & 38; an end device is powered by a mix of batteries, the “end device” may be a vehicle; pars. 66, 310 & 1002-1003] comprising:
a mixed chemistry battery [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry] comprising:
a first battery cell having a first chemistry [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry; fig. 34A, battery pack 3413];
a first activation switch connected to the first battery cell, wherein activation of the first activation switch enables charging of the first battery cell; a first bypass switch connected to the first battery cell, wherein activation of the first bypass switch prevents the first battery cell from charging [pars. 296-298; the bypass switches 3417/3418 and activation switch 3403/3404 bypass the battery if SOC is sufficiently high or activate charging is SOC is low];
a second battery cell connected to the first battery cell in series, the second battery cell having a second chemistry that is different than the first chemistry [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry; fig. 34A, pars. 297-298; battery pack 3414 is connected in series through 3400 when switches 3403-3408 are activated];
a second activation switch connected to the second battery cell, wherein activation of the second activation switch enables charging of the second battery cell; a second bypass switch connected to the second battery cell, wherein activation of the second bypass switch prevents the second battery cell from charging [pars. 296-298; the bypass switches 3417/3418 and activation switch 3403/3404 bypass the battery if SOC is sufficiently high or activate charging is SOC is low]; and
a controller [fig. 34A, 3412] configured to:
monitor a first state-of-charge (SOC) of the first battery cell and a second SOC of the second battery cell [pars. 296-297; SOC of 3413 and 3414];
selectively activate one of the first bypass switch and the first activation switch based on the first SOC and the second SOC; and selectively activate one of the second bypass switch and the second activation switch based on the first SOC and the second SOC [pars. 296-298; the bypass switches 3417/3418 and activation switch 3403/3404 bypass the battery if SOC is sufficiently high or activate charging is SOC is low].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US PGPUB 2022/0224129 in view of Hinterberger et al. DE 102019207355 A1. (It is noted that the Hinterberger citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the selective activation of the first bypass switch, the first activation switch, the second bypass switch, and the second activation switch are based on a flag value that is calculated based on the first SOC, a first capacity of the first battery module, the second SOC, a second capacity of the second battery module, and a capacity difference of the first battery module and the second battery module.
However, Hinterberger discloses a system using batteries of different chemistries [par. 15] wherein the selective activation of the first bypass switch, the first activation switch, the second bypass switch, and the second activation switch are based on a flag value that is calculated based on the first SOC, a first capacity of the first battery module, the second SOC, a second capacity of the second battery module, and a capacity difference of the first battery module and the second battery module [par. 10, 13, 24 & 37; the determination of bypassing or activation of charging for each batteries is determined based on the SOCs, capacities and differences in capacity of the two batteries].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to further include wherein the selective activation of the first bypass switch, the first activation switch, the second bypass switch, and the second activation switch are based on a flag value that is calculated based on the first SOC, a first capacity of the first battery module, the second SOC, a second capacity of the second battery module, and a capacity difference of the first battery module and the second battery module for the purpose of taking advantage of size differences to better use space, as taught by Hinterberger (par. 15).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US PGPUB 2022/0224129 in view of Saigo US PGPUB 2008/0036424.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses a vehicle [figs. 1, 34 & 38; an end device is powered by a mix of batteries, the “end device” may be a vehicle; pars. 66, 310 & 1002-1003] comprising:
a mixed chemistry battery [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry] comprising:
a first battery cell having a first chemistry [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry; fig. 34A, battery pack 3413];
a second battery cell connected to the first battery cell in series, the second battery cell having a second chemistry that is different than the first chemistry [figs. 1 & 34A; pars. 61; 159 & 1009; the different battery packs can have mixed chemistry; fig. 34A, battery pack 3414]; and
a controller [fig. 34A, 3412] configured to:
monitor a first state-of-charge (SOC) of the first battery cell and a second SOC of the second battery cell [pars. 296-297; SOC of 3413 and 3414].
Liu does not explicitly disclose selectively activating the first discharge switch and the second discharge switch based on the first SOC and the second SOC; a first discharge switch connected to the first battery cell and to a first resister, wherein activation of the first discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the first battery cell; a second discharge switch connected to the second battery cell and to a second resister, wherein activation of the second discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the second battery cell.
However, Saigo discloses a two-type battery system which selectively activates the first discharge switch and the second discharge switch based on the first SOC and the second SOC and comprises a first discharge switch connected to the first battery cell and to a first resister, wherein activation of the first discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the first battery cell; a second discharge switch connected to the second battery cell and to a second resister, wherein activation of the second discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the second battery cell [pars. 2, 4, 7-8, 10 & 64].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to further include selectively activating the first discharge switch and the second discharge switch based on the first SOC and the second SOC; and a first discharge switch connected to the first battery cell and to a first resister, wherein activation of the first discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the first battery cell; a second discharge switch connected to the second battery cell and to a second resister, wherein activation of the second discharge switch causes dissipation of charge from the second battery cell for the purpose of equalizing capacity, as taught by Saigo (pars. 9-10).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses wherein the first battery chemistry is nickel-manganese cobalt and the second battery chemistry is lithium iron phosphate [pars. 255 & 1007-1008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 17, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the selective activation of a first discharge switch and the second discharge switch are based on a flag value that is calculated by: Flag=(SOC1∙C1-CD)-SOC2∙C2 where SOC1 is the first SOC, SOC2 is the second SOC, C1 is a total capacity of the first battery cell, C2 is a total capacity of the second battery cell, and CD is a difference between C1 and C2” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 17.
Claims 18-20, being dependent on claim 17, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
De Silva WO 2024/110483 A1 discloses a battery managing system with batteries of different chemistries.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859