DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued on page 7 of the arguments that “…Kawaguchi does not teach or suggest "a narrow portion through which light generated in the active layer propagates in a transverse multimode." The ridge portion (55) in Kawaguchi is a "stripe-shaped (elongate) ridge portion 55." Kawaguchi, [0073]. The "width" cited by the Office Action in [0081] of Kawaguchi is a parameter selected for the overall ridge portion (55). For example, the width of the ridge portion (55) is consistently referred to as "the width" throughout TT[0081] and [0123] of Kawaguchi. Kawaguchi does not teach or suggest defining a wide portion and a narrow portion of the ridge portion (55). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not apply the width of Kawaguchi - represented as a width for the entire ridge portion (55) - to a portion of Hashimoto.”
The examiner does not agree. Hashimoto was cited to teach the waveguide includes a wide portion (region 13b in Fig. 1A) comprising a first diffraction grating (27g), and a narrow portion (13a) through which light generated in the active layer propagates in a transverse mode (Fig. 1A, [0054], [0061], [0063]). Kawaguchi was cited to teach the width of the ridge portion directly affects single mode or multimode output and setting a ridge portion at a certain width leads to a transverse multimode output ([0081]). Since the rejection of claim 1 is based on the combination of Hashimoto in view of Kawaguchi, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The applicant has argued on page 8 of the arguments that “…But changing the width of the narrow portion of Hashimoto would not increase maximum light output power. Current does not reach the narrow portion 13a in Hashimoto because the upper electrode 33 is not located above the narrow portion 13a. Current generally flows along the shortest possible path between electrodes, which in Hashimoto is vertical in Figure 1B. While there may be some leakage in the horizontal direction, such leakage would be minimal, and certainly insufficient to reach the narrow portion 13a. In fact, Hashimoto explicitly states that it does not want current in the narrow portion 13a…Because there is no current in the narrow portion 13a, changing the width of the narrow portion would not increase maximum light output power. It would have no effect on maximum light output power”.
The examiner does not agree. The absence of an electrode directly above the narrow portion 13a of Hashimoto does not mean changing the width of the narrow portion of Hashimoto would not increase maximum light output power. It is well known in the art that ridge width affects catastrophic optical damage at the output facet. For example, see Kawaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0028598) [0016]. Changing the width of the narrow portion of Hashimoto would allow the laser of Hashimoto to be driven with a higher current with increased light output power while also avoiding catastrophic optical damage at the output facet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 8-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0013701) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2010/0316082).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto et al. disclose: a substrate (17) (Fig. 2A-2C, [0077]); and a semiconductor layer portion disposed on the substrate and comprising a waveguide (21) that comprises an active layer (27a) (Figs. 1A and 1B, [0058]); wherein: the waveguide includes a wide portion (region 13b in Fig. 1A) comprising a first diffraction grating (27g), and a narrow portion (13a) through which light generated in the active layer propagates in a transverse mode (Fig. 1A, [0054], [0061], [0063]), wherein a waveguide width of the narrow portion is narrower than a waveguide width of the wide portion (Fig. 1A, [0054], [0061], [0063]); the waveguide includes a first end surface (12a) including an end surface of the narrow portion, and a second end surface (12b) located on a side opposite to the first end surface; and the wide portion is continuously connected to the narrow portion (wide portion connected to narrow portion by section 13c), and comprises a first region (13c) having a waveguide width increasing from a side of the first end surface toward a side of the second end surface (Fig. 1A, [0054], [0061], [0063]).
Hashimoto et al. do not disclose: a narrow portion through which light generated in the active layer propagates in a transverse multimode.
Kawaguchi et al. disclose: The width of the ridge portion…in a case where multi-mode laser light will do, as in use in a display, to increase the maximum light output, the width of the ridge portion 55 is about 2.0 µm to 20.0 µm ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hashimoto by designing the narrow portion to have a width that supports a transverse multimode in order to increase the maximum light output power.
Figs. 1A and 1B of Hashimoto
Figs. 2A-2C of Hashimoto
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto as modified disclose: the waveguide further comprises a second region (region 13b in Fig. 1A) (Hashimoto, Figs. 1A and 1B, [0056]-[0058]); the second region is continuously connected to the first region; a waveguide width in the second region is a constant; and the second region comprises the first diffraction grating (27g) (Hashimoto, Figs. 1A and 1B, [0056]-[0058], [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto as modified disclose: the semiconductor layer portion includes a first semiconductor layer (core layer 27a) having a first refractive index, and a second semiconductor (27b) layer having a second refractive index different from the first refractive index; and in the first diffraction grating, one or more first protruding portions provided on a surface of the first semiconductor layer (27a) and one or more second protruding portions provided on a surface of the second semiconductor layer (27b) are periodically disposed in a light propagation direction in the first diffraction grating (Hashimoto, Figs. 1A and 1B, [0056]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto as modified disclose: each of the first protruding portions and each of the second protruding portions are disposed parallel to the second end surface (grating protrusions are formed parallel to the end faces) (see Figs 1A and 1B of Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: wherein: 90% or more of a total output of light emitted from the second end surface has a wavelength width in a range of 0.01 nm to 0.5 nm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device outputting light from a second end surface, the output light having a wavelength width. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the percentage of light emitted from the second end surface and the wavelength width of the output light by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 9, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: a waveguide width of a portion provided with the first diffraction grating is in a range from twice to four times the waveguide width of the narrow portion.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: wherein: a waveguide width of a portion provided with the first diffraction grating is in a range from twice to four times the waveguide width of the narrow portion.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: wherein: the waveguide width of the narrow portion is in a range from 15 μm to 90 μm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 12, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: the waveguide width of the narrow portion is in a range from 15 μm to 90 μm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: a waveguide width of a portion provided with the first diffraction grating is in a range from 30 μm to 360 μm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 14, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: a waveguide width of a portion provided with the first diffraction grating is in a range from 30 μm to 360 μm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device comprising a waveguide having a wide portion provided with a first diffraction grating and a narrow portion each having a width value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the width of the narrow portion and the wide portion by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 16, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: a M2 factor of light emitted from the second end surface is in a range from 5 to 50.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser device outputting light from a second end surface, the output light having a M2 value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for M2 by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 18, Hashimoto as modified disclose: further comprising a first electrode (33) and a second electrode (35), wherein the narrow portion is located between the first electrode and the second electrode (narrow portion is located between electrodes 33 and 35 in the vertical direction shown in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, [0069]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0013701) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2010/0316082) and Chae (US PG Pub 2019/0341744).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: each of the first protruding portions and each of the second protruding portions are disposed such that the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion are curved in a shape protruding from the side of the first end surface toward the side of the second end surface.
Chae discloses: curved DBR (curved DBR inherently has first and second protruding portions) ([0095]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hashimoto as modified by forming the device with curved gratings in order to eliminate the need for separate collimating and focusing mirrors.
Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto as modified disclose: a tangent line of an inner periphery of each of the first protruding portions and a tangent line of an inner periphery of each of the second protruding portions are parallel to a wave surface of propagating light (inherently taught by the rejection of claim 6).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0013701) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2010/0316082) and Deutsch et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0285049).
Regarding claim 17, Hashimoto as modified disclose: the semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Hashimoto as modified do not disclose: a plurality of light source units, each comprising: the semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, and a collimating lens on which light emitted from the semiconductor laser element is incident; and a second diffraction grating configured to diffract and combine light emitted from the plurality of light source units.
Deutsch et al. disclose: a plurality of light source units, and a collimating lens on which light emitted from the semiconductor laser element is incident; and a diffraction grating configured to diffract and combine light emitted from the plurality of light source units (claim 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hashimoto by forming a plurality of light source units and adding a collimating lens and external grating in order to increase the output power of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…the first semiconductor layer is disposed between the active layer and the second semiconductor layer.”
Claim 15 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein: a distance from the first end surface to the first diffraction grating is represented as (m+1/4)×λ0/neff using an integer m, an effective refractive index neff of each transverse mode, and a wavelength λ0 in vacuum of each transverse mode.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828