DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 2 August 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 17 November 2023 and 12 June 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 17 November 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. Submitted with the IDS filed on 17 November 2023 are translations for foreign patent documents: CN 116264663 and CN 112074751, but the IDS does not include a listing for those documents, such as by listing those documents as Non-Patent Literature. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed on 12 June 2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because a legible copy of Fischer et al., "Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) Positioning in 3GPP LTE" | Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. June 6, 2014 has not been supplied — instead, a 2-page document with a blank first page and second page with "ERROR: undefined" appears to have been submitted in the place of the document at issue. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 requires a base station, based on a received first RRC message, to send information indicating a frequency band for a sidelink service (a first alternative feature) or a second parameter indicating whether a frequency band for a sidelink service is being used for a plurality of SL services to a wireless device (a second alternative feature), but claim 1, upon which claim 9 depends, already requires the base station, based on the first RRC message, to transmit a second RRC message indicating a first frequency band associated with a first SL service, which appears to be completely encompassed by claim 9’s first alternative feature. Thus, claim 9 does not appear to include all of the features of claim 1, especially the feature of the base station transmitting the second RRC message indicating the first frequency band for the first sidelink service and the second frequency band for the second sidelink service.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2024/010237, citing from EP 4535886 as the English Equivalent of WO 2024/010237, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a first wireless device, a first radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a ranging method used by the first wireless device to perform a ranging service between the first wireless device and a second wireless device (Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 56 and 60, including Table 2, disclose an LMF receiving, from a UE, a message indicating UE capability information indicating capability of using various location methods including GNSS, OTDOA, ECID, and EPDU; Fig. 3 and ¶¶ 42-45 disclose the LMF and UE as communicating via a base station and AMF; and ¶ 40 discloses that access and measurement-related configuration control messages are transmitted and received through the RRC layer; and Fig. 7 and ¶ 88 disclose the LMF and target UE exchanging capability information including the available mode of SL positioning);
determining, by the base station and based on the ranging method, parameters for radio resources to perform the ranging service by using the ranging method (Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 56 disclose the LMF delivering assistance information and a request for signal measurement of the UE to the UE; ¶¶ 61-62, including Table 3, disclose the assistance information as including assistance data related to the positioning methods indicated in the UE capability information, including GNSS, OTDOA, and EPDU; ¶¶ 63-64, including Table 4, disclose the request as including various information related to the positioning methods for requesting the location measurement from the UE; and ¶ 29 discloses the LMF requesting the BS to configure transmission resources for the UE for SL positioning (SL-P) and the BS configuring transmission resources according to the request; and Fig. 7 and ¶ 97 disclose the gNB determining the SL-PRS transmission configuration for SL-PRS transmission based on the request received from the LMF including SL-PRS Tx resource allocation and txParameters); and
transmitting, by the base station to the first wireless device, a second message comprising the parameters for the radio resources. (Fig. 5 and ¶ 56 disclose the LMF delivering the assistance information and a request for obtaining a UE measurement result; and Fig. 7 and ¶¶ 97-98 disclose the SL-PRS transmission configuration provided to the UEs from the gNB as including SL-PRS TX resource allocation and txParameters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2019/0357025, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Luo et al. (US 2017/0367032, hereinafter Luo).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a first radio resource control (RRC) message (Fig. 2 and ¶ 46 disclose a UE and eNB establishing an RRC connection and the eNB receiving UECapabilityInformation from the UE) indicating whether the wireless device supports a plurality of sidelink (SL) services simultaneously (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 46-47, 49-53 disclose the UECapabilityInformation as indicating support for simultaneous PC5 (i.e., sidelink) transmission and/or reception on multiple frequency bands); and
transmitting, by the base station and based on the first RRC message, a second RRC message (Fig. 2 and ¶ 53 disclose the eNB transmitting an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE) indicating that:
a first frequency band is associated with a first SL service (¶ 53 discloses the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message as including reception (RX) pool information on a corresponding reception carrier per selected V2X frequency); and
a second frequency band is associated with a second SL service (¶ 53 discloses the RRE Connection Reconfiguration message as including transmission (TX) pool information on a corresponding transmission carrier per selected V2X frequency).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein the second RRC message is based on the first RRC message.
However, in analogous art, Luo discloses:
transmitting, by the base station and based on the first [[RRC]] message, a second [[RRC]] message (Fig. 1 and ¶¶ 47-49, 51 and 71 disclose a first communication node (i.e., a UE) determining indication information to report to a second communication node (i.e., a base station (BS)) indicating information about whether proximity services are capable of being received simultaneously or in parallel on indicated bands; Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 87-89 and 109 disclose the second communication node (i.e., BS) receiving the indication information indicating about whether proximity services are capable of being received simultaneously or in parallel on indicated bands and allocating a proximity service resource and/or a cellular network service resource to the first communication node according to the indication information).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Luo to modify Hwang in order to have a UE and BS exchange RRC messages indicating whether the UE supports simultaneous sidelink services and allocating resource according to the indication. One would have been motivated to do this, because in order to reasonably and effectively allocate resources to UE, the base station needs to comprehensively know whether UE has a ProSe supporting capability (Luo ¶ 49).
Regarding Claim 5, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang discloses wherein the first RRC message indicates:
concurrent multiple sidelinks capability of the wireless device (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 46-47, 49-53 disclose the UECapabilityInformation as indicating support for simultaneous PC5 (i.e., sidelink) transmission and/or reception on multiple frequency bands), and
whether the wireless device supports a plurality of simultaneous sidelinks (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 46-47, 49-53 disclose the UECapabilityInformation as indicating support for simultaneous PC5 (i.e., sidelink) transmission and/or reception on multiple frequency bands).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message indicates whether the wireless device supports a plurality of simultaneous unicast sidelinks.
However, in analogous art, Luo discloses wherein the first RRC message indicates whether the wireless device supports a plurality of simultaneous unicast sidelinks (¶ 49 discloses the UE supporting multiple unicast sidelinks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Luo to modify Hwang in order to have a UE and BS exchange RRC messages indicating whether the UE supports simultaneous sidelink services and allocating resource according to the indication. One would have been motivated to do this, because in order to reasonably and effectively allocate resources to UE, the base station needs to comprehensively know whether UE has a ProSe supporting capability (Luo ¶ 49).
Regarding Claim 6, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
wherein the first RRC message indicates whether the wireless device is able to simultaneously send or receive data of at least two of the following services:
the V2X service (Fig. 2 and ¶ 44 disclose the signal exchange between the UE and eNB as being for transmission of a V2X SIB);
the SL ranging service (Figs. 12A, 12B and ¶¶ 102-104 and 112 disclose the UE determining its geographical position based on sensing a V2X resource pool);
a public safety service (Abstract; Fig. 2 and ¶ 45 discloses the services as including safety services);
a relay service; or
uplink or downlink communication service between the wireless device and the base station (¶ 46 discloses the sidelink capability information as indicating support for simultaneous Uu transmission/reception and SL transmission/reception).
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang discloses wherein the first RRC message indicates that the wireless device supports simultaneous SL transmissions of one or more packets for the plurality of SL services (¶ 47 discloses accommodating multiple transmission/reception chains for V2X allowing simultaneous transmission through a PC5 interface via supported bands).
Regarding Claim 8, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang further discloses comprising sending, by the base station, to the wireless device, and based on the first RRC message, information indicating a plurality of frequency bands for a plurality of sidelink services (Fig. 2 and ¶ 53 disclose the serving eNB transmitting the RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE, wherein the message indicates the TX/RX pool information for each selected V2X frequency).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sidelink services are a plurality of unicast sidelink services.
However, in analogous art, Luo discloses a plurality of unicast sidelink services (¶ 49 discloses the UE supporting multiple unicast sidelinks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Luo to modify Hwang in order to have a UE and BS exchange RRC messages indicating whether the UE supports simultaneous sidelink services and allocating resource according to the indication. One would have been motivated to do this, because in order to reasonably and effectively allocate resources to UE, the base station needs to comprehensively know whether UE has a ProSe supporting capability (Luo ¶ 49).
Regarding Claim 9, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang further discloses sending, by the base station, to the wireless device, and based on the first RRC message, at least one of:
information indicating a frequency band for a sidelink service; or
a second parameter indicating whether a frequency band for a sidelink service is being used for the plurality of SL services (Fig. 2 and ¶ 53 disclose the serving eNB transmitting the RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE, wherein the message indicates the TX/RX pool information for each selected V2X frequency).
Regarding Claim 10, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang discloses wherein the first SL service comprises a SL ranging service (Figs. 12A, 12B and ¶¶ 57, 101-102, 104 and 112 disclose the UE determining its geographical position based on sensing a V2X resource pool), and wherein the second SL service comprises a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) service (Id. and Fig. 2 and ¶ 44 disclose the signal exchange between the UE and eNB as being for transmission of a V2X SIB).
Regarding Claims 11-15, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 11-15 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 1, 5-7 and 10, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang-Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (WO 2024/010237, citing from EP 4535886 as the English Equivalent of WO 2024/010237, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 2, Hwang-Luo disclose the method of claim 1.
Hwang-Luo may not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless device is a first wireless device of a plurality of wireless devices configured for a SL ranging service, wherein the plurality of wireless devices comprises the first wireless device and a second wireless device, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from the first wireless device, a third RRC message indicating a ranging method used by the first wireless device to perform a ranging service between the first wireless device and the second wireless device;
determining, by the base station and based on the ranging method, parameters for radio resources to perform the ranging service by using the ranging method; and
transmitting, by the base station to the first wireless device, a fourth RRC message comprising the parameters for the radio resources.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the wireless device is a first wireless device of a plurality of wireless devices configured for a SL ranging service (Fig. 7 and ¶¶ 84-86 disclose an in-coverage scenario for a Sidelink (SL) positioning (SL-P) operation including a target UE and anchor UEs), wherein the plurality of wireless devices comprises the first wireless device and a second wireless device (Id.), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from the first wireless device, a third RRC message indicating a ranging method used by the first wireless device to perform a ranging service between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Fig. 7 and ¶¶ 88 and 92 disclose the UEs exchanging LongTerm Evolution (LTE) Positioning Protocol (LPP) capabilities with the network (via a serving gNB) including an AMF and LMF, wherein the capabilities indicate supported SL positioning methods and available modes of SL positioning);
determining, by the base station and based on the ranging method, parameters for radio resources to perform the ranging service by using the ranging method (Fig. 7 and ¶ 97 disclose the serving gNB determining SL-PRS Tx configuration for the UEs); and
transmitting, by the base station to the first wireless device, a fourth RRC message comprising the parameters for the radio resources (Fig. 7 and ¶ 98 disclose the serving gNB transmitting the SL-PRS Tx configuration to the UEs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang-Luo in order to include SL positioning as one of the SL services to be performed simultaneously with other SL services. One would have been motivated to do this, because provisioning for SL positioning service may help networks acquiring information for helping networks to efficiently provide next-generation wireless communication system service in the face of increased data traffic (Lee ¶¶ 2 and 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Hwang-Luo-Lee disclose the method of claim 2.
Hwang-Luo may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message and the third RRC message are a same RRC message.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the first RRC message and the third RRC message are a same RRC message (Figs. 5, 7 and ¶¶ 59-60, including Table 2, and ¶ 88 disclose the UE capability information as including indications of the SL services that the UE supports including SL-P and other sidelink services including transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang-Luo in order to include SL positioning as one of the SL services to be performed simultaneously with other SL services. One would have been motivated to do this, because provisioning for SL positioning service may help networks acquiring information for helping networks to efficiently provide next-generation wireless communication system service in the face of increased data traffic (Lee ¶¶ 2 and 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Hwang-Luo-Lee disclose the method of claim 2.
Hwang-Luo disclose wherein the second RRC message and the fourth RRC message are a same RRC message.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the second RRC message and the fourth RRC message are a same RRC message (Figs. 5, 7, and ¶¶ 61-64 including tables 3 and 4, and ¶¶ 94-98 disclose the gNB determining and providing configuration information including information for SL-P and other sidelink services including SL transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang-Luo in order to include SL positioning as one of the SL services to be performed simultaneously with other SL services. One would have been motivated to do this, because provisioning for SL positioning service may help networks acquiring information for helping networks to efficiently provide next-generation wireless communication system service in the face of increased data traffic (Lee ¶¶ 2 and 6).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (US 2024/0314725, hereinafter Duan).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee-Duan disclose the method of claim 16.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the ranging method comprises at least one of the following:
two-way ranging;
sidelink uplink time difference of arrival (SL-UTDOA);
sidelink downlink time difference of arrival (SL-DTDOA);
sidelink uplink phase difference of arrival (SL-UPDOA); or
sidelink downlink phase difference of arrival (SL-DPDOA).
However, in analogous art, Duan discloses wherein the ranging method comprises at least one of the following:
two-way ranging;
sidelink uplink time difference of arrival (SL-UTDOA) (Figs. 10, 11, 13, and ¶¶ 110, 112, and 132 disclose sidelink aided UL TDOA based positioning methods);
sidelink downlink time difference of arrival (SL-DTDOA) (Figs. 8, 9, 12, and ¶¶ 93, 95, and 129 disclose sidelink aided DL TDOA based positioning methods );
sidelink uplink phase difference of arrival (SL-UPDOA); or
sidelink downlink phase difference of arrival (SL-DPDOA).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Duan to modify Lee in order to perform a SL-UTDOA based positioning method or a SL-DTDOA based positioning method. One would have been motivated to do this, because such assistance information may have reduce the impact of low quality positioning reference signals (PRS) and/or sounding reference signals (SRS) measurement from non-serving stations, improving the reliability of (Duan ¶ 27).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee-Duan disclose the method of claim 16.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the ranging method comprises a ranging method in which the first wireless device receives, from a plurality of reception points, measurement reports based on reference signals sent by the second wireless device.
However, in analogous art, Duan discloses wherein the ranging method comprises a ranging method in which the first wireless device receives, from a plurality of reception points, measurement reports based on reference signals sent by the second wireless device (Fig. 12 and ¶ 130 disclose the target UE receiving sidelink signals from cooperating UEs including reports of respective Rx-Tx delay values and estimated propagation delays).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Duan to modify Lee in order to have a target UE receive reports in signals received from other UEs that are used in the positioning method. One would have been motivated to do this, because such assistance information may have reduce the impact of low quality positioning reference signals (PRS) and/or sounding reference signals (SRS) measurement from non-serving stations, improving the reliability of (Duan ¶ 27).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hwang.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the method of claim 16.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message indicates one or more supported frequencies for ranging service between the first wireless device and the second wireless device.
However, in analogous art, Hwang discloses wherein a first RRC message indicates one or more supported frequencies for ranging service between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 46-47, 49-53 disclose the UECapabilityInformation as indicating support for simultaneous PC5 (i.e., sidelink) transmission and/or reception on multiple frequency bands).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hwang to modify Lee in order to indicate available frequency bands in UE capability information. One would have been motivated to do this, because such an indication may aid in supporting V2X services of multiple operators by managing V2X resources and balancing load efficiently to processing V2X communication services on multiple carriers (Hwang ¶ 11), such as by indicating frequency bands that are available for simultaneous SL operation, allowing the UE to monitor one band, such as a band necessary for receiving a safety service, while allowing the UE to transmit on another SL band (Hwang ¶ 53).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Shen (US 2025/0287340).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses the method of claim 16.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message indicates whether the first wireless device or the second wireless device is able to perform ranging via a PC5 reference point.
However, in analogous art, Shen discloses wherein the first RRC message indicates whether the first wireless device or the second wireless device is able to perform ranging via a PC5 reference point (Figs. 2, 3 and ¶¶ 22 and 25 disclose an AMF (via a NG-RAN (Base Station) receiving PC5 capability information of a UE indicating that it is capable of user ranging/sidelink positioning service over a PC5 reference point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Shen to modify Lee in order to including an indication of being able to use a PC5 reference point for a SL ranging service in UE capability information. One would have been motivated to do this, because such an indication may help ensure that service authorization information is provisioned to the NG-RAN and for ranging/sidelink positioning services (Shen ¶¶ 7-8).
Conclusion
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468