DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 12/31/2025, claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 1-19 are currently amended. No claim is canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 20-22 are withdrawn. Claims 1-19 would be considered in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 17, and 19: “a/the planarized film forming operation unit”
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 17, and 19: “a/the exposure unit”
Claim 1: “a/the moving unit”
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 15-16: “a/the second gas supply unit” and “a/the supply unit of the second gas”
Claims 6, 7, and 15-16: “a/the first gas supply unit” and “a/the supply unit of the first gas”
Claim 8: “a mixing unit”
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 17, and 19: “a/the planarized film forming operation unit” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0035-0038] and figs. 1, 4, 7) and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 17, and 10: “a/the exposure unit” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0040, 0054-0056] and figs. 1, 4, 7) and equivalents thereof.
Claim 1: “a/the moving unit” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0053] and figs. 1, 4, 7) and equivalents thereof.
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 15-16: “a/the second gas supply unit” and “a/the supply unit of the second gas” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0044-0045, 0072-0074, 0091-0094, 0095, 0102-0103] and figs. 2, 5, 8, 9) and equivalents thereof.
Claims 6, 7, and 15-16: “a/the first gas supply unit” and “a/the supply unit of the first gas” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0044-0045, 0072-0074, 0091-0094, 0095, 0102-0103] and figs. 2, 5, 8, 9) and equivalents thereof.
Claim 8: “a mixing unit” would be interpreted as the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification ([0102] and figs. 8, 9) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims 1-19 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions.
The limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
The limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114, Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) for further details.
Claims 1-7, 13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasumi (US 20100031833 A1) in view of Murasato (US 20190263031 A1) and Norikane (US 20200142299 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kasumi teaches a [planarization] apparatus (fig. 1 and claim 1) comprising:
a [planarized] film forming operation unit configured to bring a mold into contact with a curable composition supplied to a substrate [to form a planarized film] (figs. 1, 3, 5-6; [0041]: the loading station 110; [0042-0044]: the press station 120 is a part of the imprint apparatus in which a press unit configured to apply a pressure between the substrate W and the mold M and the resin P fills in the patterned shape of the mold M);
an exposure unit configured to expose the curable composition (figs. 1, 7A-7B and [0053-0054]: the cure unit 140 cures the resin P by irradiating UV onto the whole surface through the mold M);
a moving unit configured to move the substrate from the [planarized] film forming operation unit to the exposure unit (figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 7A-B and [0032-0035, 0039]: the movement table 170 (a to c) is mounted with a substrate chuck 171 which holds a substrate W and sequentially moves among the respective stations); and
a control unit, including at least one processor or circuit ([0049]: controller 138 with a processor 137), [configured to perform control such that a concentration of a first gas that inhibits curing of the curable composition becomes higher in a state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit after the substrate is moved by the moving unit than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit].
Kasumi does not specifically teach the bracketed limitations as presented above, but Murasato and Norikane teaches the limitation as follows:
Murasato teaches an imprint apparatus (fig. 1, abstract). The imprint apparatus comprises a control unit, including at least one processor or circuit (fig. 1 and [0044]: control unit 23), configured to perform control such that a concentration of a first gas that inhibits curing of the curable composition (second gas such as oxygen) becomes higher in a state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the film forming operation unit (fig. 1 and [0044]: a control unit 23 that controls the supply of the first gas from the first supply unit 9 and the supply of the second gas from the second supply unit 10; [0045]: first supply unit 9 that supplies a first gas having at least either permeability that allows the gas to permeate through the imprint material IM and/or the mold 4, or condensability that allows the gas to condense under pressure applied thereto by contact of the mold 4 with the imprint material IM, such as helium and pentafluoropropane (PFP); [0046]: second supply unit 10 that supplies a second gas that inhibits curing of the imprint material IM by light irradiation, such as oxygen; [0047]: by supplying, as the second gas, a gas containing oxygen to the gap between the substrate 1 and the mold 4 (base portion 41) while the pattern region 43 of the mold 4 is in contact with the imprint material IM on the substrate 1, curing of the imprint material IM is inhibited (suppressed) outside the pattern region 43; [0048]: the first gas is supplied between substrate 1 and the mold 4 while the substrate 1 and the mold 4 are moving relative to each other, with the imprint material IM not in contact with the pattern region 43 of the mold 4 (i.e., in or right before “a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition” as recited), and the second supply unit 10 may start to supply the second gas around the pattern region 43 when the pressure regulator 52 deforms the base portion 41 of the mold 4 to allow the base portion 41 to bulge toward the substrate 1 and the pattern region 43 is in contact with the imprint material IM; [0054]: after the mold 4 is brought into contact with the imprint material IM and before the imprint material IM is irradiated with the light 8a (i.e., in or right before “a state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit), the second supply unit 10 supplies the second gas to a gap between the substrate 1 and the mold 4; Of note, here, the concentration of the second gas becomes higher in a state of being exposed by exposure unit (i.e., at the moment right after stopping supplying the second gas, wherein the concentration of the second gas is likely the highest or reaches a desired level) than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition (i.e., at the moment before supplying the second gas, wherein the concentration of the second gas is likely the lowest or negligible); furthermore, although Murasato is silent that the second gas is supplied “during” the exposure period, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the supplying of the second gas to be continued until the end of the exposure period so as to prevent curing of the outside pattern region 43 maintaining a desired level of the second gas, i.e., curing inhibitor; also, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).).
Both Kasumi and Murasato teach an imprint apparatus (Kasumi: fig. 1 and abstract; Murasato: fig. 1 and abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the imprint apparatus of Kasumi to further comprise the first and the second gas supply units supplying for first gas (such as helium/PFP) and second gas (such as oxygen), respectively, and the controller as taught by Murasato in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of accelerating filling of an imprint material in contact with a mold by exposure to the first gas and inhibiting curing of the imprint material in outside of a shot region by exposure to the second gas, so as to imprint a patterned article with improved precision and control (Murasato: derived from [0003-0005, 0045-0047]).
Upon the modification, modified Kasumi teaches that the imprint apparatus performs or is capable of performing the recited function “a concentration of a first gas (Murasato: second gas such as oxygen) that inhibits curing of the curable composition becomes higher in a state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit (Kasumi: figs. 1, 7A-7B and [0053-0054]: the cure unit 140) after the substrate is moved by the moving unit (Kasumi: figs. 1, [0031]: from the loading station 110 to the cure unit 140) than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the film forming operation unit (Kasumi: figs. 1, 3, 5-6; [0041]: the loading station 110; [0042-0044]: the press station 120) (Murasato: fig. 1 and [0045-0048, 0054]).
Upon the modification, modified Kasumi is still silent that the apparatus is planarization apparatus forming a planarized film using a planarized film forming operation unit.
Norikane teaches a planarized layer forming apparatus operable to use a pressing member to form a planarized layer of a curable composition on a substrate (abstract, fig. 1). The apparatus comprises a planar template 11 as a mold, and the planar template 11 comes in contact with a planarizing material on substrate ([0025]).
In the same field of endeavor of imprinting, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the mold of modified Kasumi with another known pattern of mold having a flat pattern as taught by Norikane in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming a planarized film using an imprinting technique/apparatus (Norikane: derived from [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second gas supply unit configured to supply a second gas that does not inhibit curing of the curable composition to the curable composition before the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit (Kasumi: figs. 1, 3, 5-6; [0041]: the loading station 110; [0042-0044]: the press station 120 in which a press unit configured to apply a pressure between the substrate W and the mold M; Murasato: fig. 1 and [0045, 0048]: first supply unit 9 supplies first gas such as helium or PFP between substrate 1 and the mold 4 while the substrate 1 and the mold 4 are moving relative to each other, with the imprint material IM not in contact with the pattern region 43 of the mold 4; of note, the property of the second gas does not affect the structure of the planarization apparatus, see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the control unit performs control such that a concentration of the second gas (Murasato: first gas such as helium or PFP) becomes lower in the state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit than in the state in which the mold is brought in contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit (Murasato: [0044]: control unit 23; [0045, 0048]: first controller 92 may include an on-off valve or a flow control valve, and first gas is supplied in or right before “a state in which the mold is brought in contact with the curable composition”; of note, here, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the second gas supply unit (Murasato: first supply unit 9) reduces a supply amount of the second gas supplied to the curable composition in the state where the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit, as compared to the supply amount of the second gas supplied to the curable composition before the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit (Murasato: [0044]: control unit 23; [0045, 0048]: first controller 92 may include an on-off valve or a flow control valve, and first gas is supplied in or right before “a state in which the mold is brought in contact with the curable composition”; of note, here, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the second gas supply unit (Murasato: first supply unit 9) stops the supply of the second gas to the curable composition in the state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit (Murasato: [0044]: control unit 23; [0045, 0048]: first controller 92 may include an on-off valve or a flow control valve, and first gas is supplied in or right before “a state in which the mold is brought in contact with the curable composition”; of note, here, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a first gas supply unit (Murasato: second supply unit 10) configured to supply the first gas to the curable composition before the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit (Murasato: fig. 1 and [0046-0047, 0054]: second supply unit 10 that supplies a second gas such as oxygen after the mold 4 is brought into contact with the imprint material IM and before the imprint material IM is irradiated with the light 8a; of note, here, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the first gas supply unit (Murasato: second supply unit 10) starts supplying the first gas to the curable composition after the operation of bringing the mold into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit is completed (Murasato: fig. 1 and [0046-0047, 0054]: second supply unit 10 that supplies a second gas such as oxygen after the mold 4 is brought into contact with the imprint material IM and before the imprint material IM is irradiated with the light 8a; of note, here, the imprint apparatus having the control unit 23 and the first/second supply units 9, 10 is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the second gas is a gas for promoting filling or diffusion of the curable composition (Murasato: [0003, 0045]: the first gas may contain, e.g., at least one of helium and PFP). Of note, the property of the second gas does not affect the structure of the planarization apparatus, see MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first gas contains at least oxygen (Murasato: fig. 1 and [0046-0047, 0054]: second supply unit 10 that supplies a second gas such as oxygen). Of note, the property/type of the first gas does not affect the structure of the planarization apparatus, see MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 19, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the planarized film forming operation unit has a mold holding unit for holding the mold, and the exposure unit is disposed at a position where exposure light is not blocked by the mold holding unit (Kasumi: fig. 1, 3, 5, 7A, 7B and, as a mold holding unit, [0041]: conveyance robot 160 at the loading station 110; [0043]: press plate 122 with a pad 121 and bellows 123 at the press station 120). Of note, here, the loading station 110 and the press station 120 are separated from the cure unit 140.
Claims 8-10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasumi (US 20100031833 A1), Murasato (US 20190263031 A1), and Norikane (US 20200142299 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Takamura (JP 2016111201 A).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the apparatus further comprises a mixing unit configured to mix a second gas that does not inhibit curing of the curable composition and the first gas, and supply the mixed gas to the curable composition (claim 8), and the control unit controls a mixing ratio of the first gas and a second gas that does not inhibit curing of the curable composition (claim 9)
Takamura teaches an imprint apparatus ([0001]). The apparatus comprises respective gas supply units for two or more gases, a mixing unit configured to mix the gases, and the control unit that controls a mixing ratio of the respective gases in the mixing unit (figs. 1, 3; [0029-0032]: the control unit 8 supplies a control signal 8a to each valve controller 16c; gas supply unit 16 comprises the valve controllers 16c such as an electromagnetic valve, solenoid valve, and mass flow controller for each of the two different gas lines 16a1 and 16a2 and has a shared outlet pipe 16b; a mixer 16d mixes two or more types of gases output from the mass flow controller 16c at a target ratio). Of note, the property of the second gas does not affect the structure of the planarization apparatus, see MPEP 2115.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing invention to modify the respective supply units of the first gas and the second gas of modified Kasumi to have a controller, mass valve controllers, a mixing unit, and a shared outlet as taught by Takamura in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of facilitating blending process allowing for precise control over the composition of the respective gases and building a gas supply unit with potentially low cost compared to separate supply units. Here, the imprint apparatus of modified Kasumi is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the control unit causes the mixing ratio to be different between the state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit and the state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit (Murasato: fig. 1 and [0045, 0048]: first supply unit 9 supplies first gas such as helium or PFP between substrate 1 and the mold 4 while the substrate 1 and the mold 4 are moving relative to each other, with the imprint material IM not in contact with the pattern region 43 of the mold 4; fig. 1 and [0046-0047, 0054]: second supply unit 10 that supplies a second gas such as oxygen after the mold 4 is brought into contact with the imprint material IM and before the imprint material IM is irradiated with the light 8a; Takamura: fig. 3 and [0029-0032]). Here, the imprint apparatus of modified Kasumi is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the control unit changes the mixing ratio according to an illuminance or an exposure amount in the exposure unit (Takamura: fig. 3 and [0023-0028]: imprinting process and gas control at each step; [0029-0032]). Here, although modified Kasumi does not explicitly disclose the recited function, the imprint apparatus of modified Kasumi is capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 17, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the control unit performs control such that a ratio of a flow rate of the second gas (Murasato: first gas such as helium or PFP) to a flow rate of the first gas (Murasato: second gas such as oxygen) is higher in the state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit than in the state in which the mold is in brought into contact with the curable composition by the planarized film forming operation unit (Murasato: fig. 1; [0045, 0048]: first supply unit 9 supplies first gas such as helium or PFP; [0046-0047, 0054]: second supply unit 10 supplies second gas such as oxygen; Takamura: fig. 3 and [0023-0028, 0029-0032]). Here, although modified Kasumi does not explicitly disclose the recited function, the imprint apparatus of modified Kasumi is capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasumi (US 20100031833 A1), Murasato (US 20190263031 A1), Norikane (US 20200142299 A1), and Takamura (JP 2016111201 A) as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Ikeda (JP 2007094066 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 9, but does not specifically teach that the planarization apparatus further comprising an oxygen concentration meter, wherein the control unit controls the mixing ratio based on an oxygen concentration measured by the oxygen concentration meter.
Ikeda teaches an exposure apparatus for manufacturing an article ([0001]). The exposure apparatus comprises an oxygen concentration meter, wherein the control unit controls the mixing ratio based on an oxygen concentration measured by the oxygen concentration meter (fig. 1 and [0020]: exposure apparatus comprising oxygen concentration meter 2, oxygen concentration feedback system 3, an oxygen gas supply system 4, and nitrogen gas supply system5; the amount of oxygen gas and nitrogen gas supplied is determined by commands from the feedback system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the planarization apparatus comprising respective supply units for the first gas and the second gas of modified Kasumi to further have an oxygen concentration meter which feedbacks to control the amount of respective gases as taught by Ikeda in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of improving precise control of the oxygen concentration which impacts on a level of curing of a curing resin so as to improve an imprinting quality of manufactured articles (Ikeda: derived from [0008]). Here, the imprint apparatus of modified Kasumi is also capable of performing the recited function as is, see MPEP 2114.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasumi (US 20100031833 A1), Murasato (US 20190263031 A1), and Norikane (US 20200142299 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yoshida (JP 2012099789 A).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 2, comprising a first gas supply unit configured to supply the first gas and the second gas supply unit are provided (Murasato: [0045-0046]: first/second supply units 9, 10), but does not specifically teach that the supply units are provided in a substrate holding unit for holding the substrate.
Yoshida teaches an imprint apparatus ([0001]). Yoshida teaches that the imprint apparatus concludes gas supply devices 35a to 35c connected to gas supply ports 28a to 28c, respectively, around the mold 3 and chuck 5 (i.e., a substrate holding unit) (fig. 1, [0020, 0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the first/second gas supply units of modified Kasumi to be placed in the substrate holding unit as another known position for supplying first/second gases as taught by Yoshida in order to obtain know results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of supplying first/second gases to an imprint material disposed between a substrate and a mold, so as to so as to imprint a patterned article with improved precision and control (Yoshida: derived from [0003, 0023]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 2, but does not specifically teach that a first gas supply unit configured to supply the first gas and the second gas supply unit are provided on the opposite sides to each other.
Similar to as applied to claim 14, modified Kasumi further in view of Yoshida teaches that the first/second gas supply units are provided in a substrate holding unit for holding the substrate (see above, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 14).
Furthermore, it would have been also obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the first/second gas supply units in the substrate holding unit of modified Kasumi to be provided on the opposite sides to each other, similar to the arrangement of the first/second supply units around a mold as taught by Murasato (figs. 3A, 3B; [0050]; of note, here, for example, the gas supply unit 10 (at left top corner) is provided on a opposite side of the gas supply unit 9 (at the bottom or at the right)) in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of supplying respective gases effectively to its desired positions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasumi (US 20100031833 A1), Murasato (US 20190263031 A1), Norikane (US 20200142299 A1), and Yoshida (JP 2012099789 A) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Takamura (JP 2016111201 A).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kasumi teaches the planarization apparatus according to claim 14, but does not specifically teach that the first gas supply unit and the second gas supply unit are shared.
Takamura teaches an imprint apparatus ([0001]). The apparatus comprises two respective gas supply units, and both supply lines are shared (figs. 1, 3; [0029-0032]: gas supply unit 16 comprising a controller 16c such as an electromagnetic valve, solenoid valve, and mass flow controller for each of the two different gas lines 16a1, 16a2 has a shared outlet pipe 16b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing invention to modify the respective supply units of the first gas and the second gas of modified Kasumi to have a shared outlet as taught by Takamura in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of facilitating blending process allowing for precise control over the composition of the respective gases and building a gas supply unit with potentially low cost compared to separate supply units.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or moot.
The Applicant argues (see pages 6-8 of Remarks) that modified Kasumi (Kasumi in view of Murasato) does not teach or suggest the limitation - “a control unit, including at least one processor or circuit, configured to perform control such that a concentration of a first gas that inhibits curing of the curable composition becomes higher in a state in which the curable composition is exposed by the exposure unit after the substrate is moved by the moving unit than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition by the (planarized) film forming operation unit” as modified Kasumi teaches that the second inhibiting gas is supplied after the mold is brought into contact with the imprint material and before the imprint material is irradiated with curing light, citing [0054] of Murasato.
The examiner respectfully disagrees this argument. The Examiner acknowledges that the second inhibiting gas of Murasato is supplied after the mold is brought into contact with the imprint material and before the imprint material is irradiated with curing light ([0048, 0054] of Murasato). Instant Specification discloses that the starting time is the same as the time of Murasato, but the inhibiting gas supplying continues “during” exposure (Instant Specification: [0080, 0086]). Regardless of the difference of the stopping time of the gas supplying, Murasato still teaches that the concentration of the second gas becomes higher in a state of being exposed by exposure unit (i.e., at the moment right after stopping supplying the second gas, wherein the concentration of the second gas is likely the highest or reaches a desired level) than in a state in which the mold is brought into contact with the curable composition (i.e., at the moment before supplying the second gas, wherein the concentration of the second gas is likely the lowest or negligible). Furthermore, although Murasato is silent that the second gas is supplied “during” the exposure period, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the supplying of the second gas to be continued until the end of the exposure period so as to prevent curing of the outside pattern region 43 maintaining a desired level of the second gas, i.e., curing inhibitor.
Applicant’s arguments (see pages 8-9 of Remarks) with respect to claim 1 (which have been newly amended by the applicants) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (i.e., modified Kazumi further in view of Norikane) have been made due to the newly added features (i.e., planarization apparatus using a planarized film forming operation unit to form a planarized film) from the applicant’s latest amendment filed on 12/31/2025.
Thereby, after reconsideration, claim 1 and dependent claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bamesberger (US 20200047379 A1) teaches a substrate holder to hold a substrate having a conduit to supply gas (abstract, figs. 2-6).
Suzuki (JP 2019148781 A) teaches an exposure apparatus for manufacturing an article ([0001]). Oxygen concentration meter 9 may be provided in an oxygen supply line 101, a mixing unit 104, and/or in a chamber 11 (figs. 1-3).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744