DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified English translation of the foreign application KR 10-2022-0103855 filed 08/19/2022.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. In response to Applicant's amendments, Examiner withdraws the previous objections; withdraws the previous rejections under 112(a) and 112(b) regarding the “control part”; maintains the previous rejections of claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17, and 19 under 112(b); and maintains the previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections of claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17, and 19 under 112(b), the amendments do not appear to meaningfully change or clarify the interpretation of the claims, and Applicant has not provided explanation of the identified indefinite limitations nor specific arguments against the rejections of these claims. Therefore, these rejections have been maintained.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1-20 under 103, Applicant states that the cited prior art does not disclose the new limitations in the amended independent claims 1, 7, and 13.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In claim 1, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim teaches the new limitations, including “the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap overlapped with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate” (Yamaoka: see Figs. 1-3; Kim: see Figs. 3 and 4); “…so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate” (The annotated Fig. 3 of Kim shows example detection points separated from example reference points by a first distance d and second distance d from an overhead perspective. The first and second substrates held on the blades 115 are at a first relative positional relationship when detected.); and “…such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate” (As above, the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim shows example detection points separated from example reference points by a first distance d and second distance d from an overhead perspective. The first and second substrates held on the blades 115 are at a second relative positional relationship when detected, which may be the same as or different than the first relative positional relationship.). Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 under 103 over Yamaoka in view of Kim.
The new limitations in claims 7 and 13 are the same or similar as the new limitations recited in claim 1. For similar reasons as for claim 1, Examiner maintains the rejections of claims 2-20 under 103.
Drawings
The corrected drawing of Fig. 3 was received on 11/10/2025. The drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0057], “thee” should read “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Figs. 2 and 3 are assumed to show an overhead perspective and different elevations of the first and second substrates, as claimed in claims 1, 7, and 13.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“the transfer part being configured to transfer a first substrate” and “the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate” in claims 1, 7, and 13.
“a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate” in claims 1, 7, and 13.
“a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member” in claims 1, 7, and 13.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 recite the generic placeholder “transfer part” plus functional language “transfer a first substrate” and “move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate”, linked by “configured to”. In paragraph [0006], the specification discloses “The transfer part may include a first transfer member configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate. The transfer part may move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate may be overlapped with each other when the transport transfers the first substrate and the second substrate”. In paragraph [0048], the specification discloses the first and second transfer members 13 and 15, which are comprised in the transfer part 11, “may include a hand holding the substrate thereon, an arm coupled to the hand, and a driving member for driving the hand and the arm”. As shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the first and second transfer members 13 and 15 hold the first and second substrates at different elevations in an overlapped position from an overhead perspective while transferring the substrates. However, no structure for the driving member is recited. As a result, the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to perform the entire claimed function.
Although the specification states “the detailed configurations of the transfer part 11 having the first and the second transfer members 13 and 15 are described in Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2022-0094021” [0048], which is incorporated by reference, sufficient structure for the driving member to perform the movement function does not appear to be disclosed in KR 20220094021. Motors for moving forks holding substrates are disclosed in KR 101931061, also incorporated by reference, but not in the specification of the instant application. As a result, the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to perform the claimed movement function. See MPEP 2181(III): “If one skilled in the art would not be able to identify the structure, material or acts from description in the specification for performing the recited function, then applicant will be required to amend the specification to contain the material incorporated by reference, including the clear link or associated structure, material or acts to the function recited in the claim. See 37 CFR 1.57(d)(3). Applicant should not be required to insert all of the subject matter described in the entire referenced document into the specification. To maintain a concise specification, applicant should only include the relevant portions of the referenced document that correspond to the means- (or step-) plus-function limitation.”
Claims 1, 7, and 13 recite the generic placeholder “second transfer member” plus functional language “transfer a second substrate”, linked by “configured to”. In paragraph [0006], the specification discloses the second transfer member performs this function. In paragraph [0048], the specification discloses “the second transfer member 15 may include a hand holding the substrate thereon, an arm coupled to the hand, and a driving member for driving the hand and the arm”. In Fig. 1, the second transfer member 15 is shown as a hand. A hand that can support a wafer has been interpreted as the corresponding structure that performs the claimed function.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 recite the generic placeholder “detector” plus functional language “simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member” linked by “configured to”. In paragraph [0006], the specification discloses the detection part performs this function. In paragraph [0010], the specification discloses “the detection part may include a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first and the second substrates”. A light-emitting member and a light-receiving member together have been interpreted as the corresponding structure that performs the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, claim limitation “the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure that can “move the first substrate and the second substrate” is recited. Therefore, the claim lacks an adequate written description as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because an indefinite, unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function and indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. See MPEP 2163.03 and 2181.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected for depending upon the rejected independent claims 1, 7, and 13, respectively.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the amended limitation “the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of… the second substrate” contradicts the next clause of the claim, “the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of… the second substrate.” As a result, the second position of the second substrate is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it has been assumed that the first limitation should read “the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of… the second substrate”, as originally presented and as recited in the similar claims 3 and 9.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, the limitations “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of the first substrate and two peripheral portions of one side of the second substrate, respectively” and “wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of the first substrate and two peripheral portions of the other side of the second substrate, respectively” are indefinite because it is not clear how a position of a substrate (i.e., a point in space defining an origin of a substrate) can correspond to two (different) peripheral portions. For the purpose of examination, the first positions and second positions of these claims have been interpreted as the points where a position of a substrate are detected are located in either of two peripheral portions of one side of that substrate.
Claims 5, 11, and 17 recite that a light emitting member and a light receiving member are disposed “centering a path along with the first and the second substrates”. This phrase does not make sense; it is not clear if the light emitting member and light receiving member are aligned in the center of a path or are equidistant from a path. A same or similar phrase is also recited in [0010], [0016], [0022], and [0051]. The relationship between the path and the first and second substrates is also unclear. In [0046], two paths are recited. In [0051], there are plural paths in the second sentence, but only a single path in the third sentence. It is not clear if the path recited in the claims is one of the paths described in the specification.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the first and the second transfer members rotate the first and the second substrates centering a common axis, respectively.” “Centering a common axis” is also recited in [0068]. The bounds of this limitation are not clear because it is not known what “centering a common axis” entails in context. Any line in 3D space through two points (e.g., the first and second substrates) may be an axis. Related questions include: Is the common axis the axis of rotation? Do the first and second substrates rotate while equidistant from an axis? Does the common axis pass through the first and second substrates, but the common axis is not the axis of rotation? For the purpose of examination, “centering a common axis” has been interpreted such that the common axis is the axis of rotation of the first and second transfer members.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, claim limitation “the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure that can “move the first substrate and the second substrate” is recited. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-20 are rejected for depending upon the rejected independent claims 1, 7, and 13, respectively.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (JP H11214481 A) in view of Kim (KR 20170006338 A). Citations to Yamaoka and Kim refer to the paragraph numbers of the corresponding English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Yamaoka discloses
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer part being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (In Fig. 3, see wafer transfer robot (transfer part) 25 transporting two wafers simultaneously from cassette accommodating chamber 21 to wafer processing chamber 22. See upper tweezers (first transfer member) 253 transporting a wafer (first substrate) W1 and lower tweezers (second transfer member) 254 transporting a wafer (second substrate) W2 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3.),
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Move the substrates: “two wafers W1 and W2 [first and second substrates] out of the plurality of wafers W accommodated in the cassette C are held by the tweezers 253 and 254 of the wafer transport robot 25 [transfer part] and removed from the cassette C” and “transported to the wafer processing chamber 22” [0038-0039]. Substrates are overlapped: see “the wafers W1 and W2 are arranged so as to be offset by a predetermined distance y in the vertical direction Y1-Y2, and are arranged so as to overlap each other in parallel, as shown in FIG [1]” [0030]. From Figs. 1-3, it is clear the wafers are at different elevations (different locations on the Y1-Y2 axis) and are overlapped from an overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) while the wafers are transferred.);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: photodetectors 27 and 28; see “The photodetectors 27 and 28 have light-emitting elements 271 and 281 and light-receiving elements 272 and 282” [0024]. Detecting a position of the first substrate: see “The photodetector 27 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [first substrate, wafer W1] held by the upper tweezers 253” (first transfer member) [0023]. Detecting a position of the second substrate: see “the photodetector 28 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [second substrate, wafer W2] held by the lower tweezers 254” (second transfer member) [0023]. By detecting the presence of the wafers W1 and W2, the photodetectors detect a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member.),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective (See “During this transfer process, when the wafers W1 and W2 reach the wafer detection position, the transfer process of the wafers W1 and W2 is interrupted and the detection process of the wafers W1 and W2 is carried out” [0039]. Since “the intersection positions P1 and P2 of the optical axes L1 and L2 of the photodetectors 27 and 28 and the wafers W1 and W2 are set at approximately the same horizontal position” and since the photodetectors 27 and 28 are on the same plane R as the central axes O1 and O2 of the first and second substrates, the intersection position (point on the first substrate) P1 and the intersection position (point on the second substrate) P2 are equidistant to any reference point on the horizontal line at height y/2 above the top of wafer W2 in the plane R ([0034], [0031]). Given any reference point on that horizontal line (see an annotated version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 below), the points P1 and P2 are separated from that reference point by some same first distance d. From Figs. 1-3, the photodetectors are arranged such that the wafers are overlapped from the overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) when the positions of the wafers are detected. See also [0030].).
Figure A: annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach the following elements:
the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective; and
a controller configured to control the transfer part,
wherein the controller is configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the transfer part so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate, and
wherein the controller is configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the transfer part such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first and second substrate.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer part being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (Transfer part: in Fig. 3, see transfer member 110, which “loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b)” [0015]. See Fig. 4: multiple blades (including a first transfer member and a second transfer member) 115 hold multiple wafers (including a first substrate and a second substrate) W. See also [0015]-[0016], [0024], and [0028].),
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap overlapped with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Moves the substrates: see “The transfer member (110) loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b) through the blade (115) of the transfer member (110)” [0015]. Substrates are overlapped: see “Such a transport member (110) may include a plurality of blades (115) for loading a plurality of stacked wafers. A plurality of blades (115) are arranged in a stacked manner” [0016]. From Figs. 3 and 4, the wafers W are at different elevations (in Fig. 3, there is an adjustable blade interval d between the wafers [0021]) and overlapped from an overhead perspective (a side perspective is shown in Fig. 4).);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: imaging device 130 comprising three imaging elements (130a, 130b, and 130c), which “can be installed on the moving unit (119)” of transfer member 110 [0025]. See “The imaging device (130) can be configured to capture [detect] the state of the blade (115) and the gap between the blades (115), as well as the state of the wafer[s] being mounted” [0025]. See also “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115),” including the first and second transfer members and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. By detecting the state of the wafers W, the imaging device 130 detects a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member. See also [0034].),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective, and the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective (See “the monitoring step (S1) may also include a step of checking [detecting with imaging device 130] the gap between wafers mounted on the blade after wafer mounting” [0034]. Since the only position change of the substrates relative to the imaging device 130 is actuating the gaps between the blades, the first and second substrates are always overlapped as in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4. Then any two different times when the wafers W are on the blades 115 while transfer member 110 is transferring the wafers W are times where the first and second positions of the first and second substrates can be detected. We can pick these times because the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. We can also pick a reference point that is stationary with respect to the transfer member 110 so that the detection point (for example, on the edge of each substrate) is a first distance away from the reference point for the first positions of the substrates and a second distance away for the second positions of the substrates. For example, a reference point may lie on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115; see the annotated version of Kim’s Fig. 3 below. In this case, the first and second positions of the first and second substrates are the same relative to the transfer member 110 (but not the same relative to whatever room or enclosure the transfer device 100 is inside). The first and second distances have the same magnitude, including when viewed from an overhead perspective.); and
Figure B: annotated Fig. 3 of Kim
a controller configured to control the transfer part (Controller: control block 200; transfer part: transfer member 110. See “a control block configured to receive data from the imaging member and the detection block and output a command for controlling an operation of the transfer member” [0009]. Control block 200 may be a processor or a software controller run on a processor.),
wherein the controller is configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the transfer part… (The first and second substrates are among the transferred wafers W. See “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades (115) [holding the wafers W] or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. By controlling the transfer part 110 and transfer members 115, the controller controls movements of the first and second substrates. See also [0022] and [0029-0032].)
…so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate (This limitation makes clear that the descriptors “first” and “second” are simply labels and are not related to a second time/position following a first time/position. There exists at least one reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115 as described above (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above), where the detection points will be separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at an arbitrary position of the transfer member 110, the imaging member 130 detects the first position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate at a first relative positional relationship of the first and second substrates (e.g., stacked). Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. See also [0031] and [0034].), and
wherein the controller is configured to control movements of the first and the second substrates by the transfer part… (The first and second substrates are among the transferred wafers W. Again, see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades (115) or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. By controlling the transfer part 110 and transfer members 115, the control part controls movements of the first and second substrates. See also [0009], [0022], and [0029-0032].)
…such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate (Similar to the previous detection limitation, the same reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above) has the detection points separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at a different arbitrary transfer member 110 position, the imaging member 130 detects the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate at a second relative positional relationship of the first and second substrate. Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. Detection at an additional time/transfer member position: the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. The second relative positional relationship can be the same as the first relative positional relationship or different because “the spacing between the blades (115) can be adjusted by the binding unit (117)” [0018]. See also [0021] and [0034].).
By installing the wafer transfer member 110 of Kim on the wafer transfer robot 25 of Yamaoka and placing Yamaoka’s light-emitting members to aid in substrate detection by Kim’s imaging device 130, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “the wafer[s] can be easily transferred without damage even if the wafer-to-wafer spacing of the wafer transfer member and the wafer-to-wafer spacing at the final wafer transfer position are different” (Kim, [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above. Yamaoka also teaches
wherein the first position of the first substrate… correspond[s] to one end portion of the first substrate and… the second position of the second substrate correspond[s] to… [an] other end portion of the second substrate (See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates W1 and W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to an other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches detecting the substrates at more than one position of wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to an other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the photodetectors 27 and 28 of Yamaoka in the wafer transport chamber 26 can be positioned such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers are detected while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the first position of first substrate W1 and second position of second substrate W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side. Then see a modified version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 below, where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the second position of the first substrate and first position of the second substrate at the other end portions of the substrates (X2 side). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 (see annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above) over the top of the second substrate W2 to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Figure C: modified Fig. 1 of Yamaoka
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of an other side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
detecting the substrates at more than one position of the wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
placing a photodetector (imaging elements 130a and 130b) on either side of the substrates (see Fig. 3).
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of an other side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that four photodetectors of Yamaoka can be positioned in the wafer transport chamber 26 such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers can simultaneously be detected at two peripheral portions of a side of each wafer while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 2 of Yamaoka below for four example intersections (P1A, P1B, P2A, and P2B) of the photodetectors’ optical axes with two peripheral portions of the X2 side of each substrate at the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate. Photodetector 27 may be shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral part (see shaded area on Yamaoka’s Fig. 2 below) of the X2 side of the first substrate W1 (intersection point P1A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 27 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P1B); photodetector 28 may be similarly shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral (shaded) part of the X2 side of the second substrate W2 (intersection point P2A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 28 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P2B). Next, see the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates at peripheral portions of the substrates (X1 side) at a second position of the wafer transfer member 110. At this second position of the transfer wafer member 110, the shifted positions of photodetectors 27 and 28 and the two additional photodetectors at corresponding positions across the X1-X2 axis have detection points at two peripheral portions of the X1 side of each substrate (first position of the first substrate and second position of the second substrate). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 over the top of the second substrate W2 in the plane R to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Figure D: annotated Fig. 2 of Yamaoka
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d (See the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above, which shows a plane where any reference point in the plane is equidistant from the imaging elements 130a and 130b. A detection point (point separated from the reference point) on a substrate at the first position by one imaging element has a corresponding detection point reflected across the plane on the same substrate at the second position by the other imaging element. In the first position, the detection point is separated from a suitable reference point (point in the plane) by a distance d in one direction (+d), and in the second position, the other detection point is separated from a suitable reference point by a distance d in the opposite direction (-d).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 addressed above. Yamaoka additionally teaches
…the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate are moved to previously set positions (The previously set positions of the first and second substrates include a destination position, such as the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 (see Fig. 3). See [0037]-[0041] of Yamaoka for more details on wafer transfer robot 25 transferring substrates from the cassette accommodating chamber 21 to the wafer processing chamber 22 and back.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate detected by the detector such that the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate are moved to previously set positions.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate detected by the detector… (Controls the transfer members: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the information [including detected position of the first and the second substrates] of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130) and the information [wafer-to-wafer gap of the target destination] transmitted from the detection block (150), and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades (115) [because the detected gap between the first and second substrates does not match the target destination’s gap] or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. More details of the transfer process are described in [0030] and [0034]-[0038] of Kim.).
When the control block 200 of Kim adjusts the gap between the first and second substrates, the control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members based on the detected positions of the first and second substrates and the detected wafer-to-wafer gap of a target destination. That target destination can be, for example, the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 of Yamaoka. Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Yamaoka discloses
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer part being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (In Fig. 3, see wafer transfer robot (transfer part) 25 transporting two wafers simultaneously from cassette accommodating chamber 21 to wafer processing chamber 22. See upper tweezers (first transfer member) 253 transporting a wafer (first substrate) W1 and lower tweezers (second transfer member) 254 transporting a wafer (second substrate) W2 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3.),
wherein the first transfer member and the second transfer member are configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate in a horizontal direction, respectively (See Fig. 3: wafer transfer robot 25 transports the first and second substrates W1 and W2 on the first and second transfer members 253 and 254 horizontally from cassette accommodating chamber 21 to wafer processing chamber 22. See “The main body 251 [of wafer transfer robot 25] is movable in the horizontal direction (wafer transfer direction) X1-X2” [0022].), and
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Move the substrates: “two wafers W1 and W2 [first and second substrates] out of the plurality of wafers W accommodated in the cassette C are held by the tweezers 253 and 254 of the wafer transport robot 25 [transfer part] and removed from the cassette C” and “transported to the wafer processing chamber 22” [0038-0039]. Substrates are overlapped: see “the wafers W1 and W2 are arranged so as to be offset by a predetermined distance y in the vertical direction Y1-Y2, and are arranged so as to overlap each other in parallel, as shown in FIG [1]” [0030]. From Figs. 1-3, it is clear the wafers are at different elevations (different locations on the Y1-Y2 axis) and are overlapped from an overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) while the wafers are transferred.);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: photodetectors 27 and 28; see “The photodetectors 27 and 28 have light-emitting elements 271 and 281 and light-receiving elements 272 and 282” [0024]. Detecting a position of the first substrate: see “The photodetector 27 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [first substrate, wafer W1] held by the upper tweezers 253” (first transfer member) [0023]. Detecting a position of the second substrate: see “the photodetector 28 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [second substrate, wafer W2] held by the lower tweezers 254” (second transfer member) [0023]. By detecting the presence of the wafers W1 and W2, the photodetectors detect a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member.),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective (See “During this transfer process, when the wafers W1 and W2 reach the wafer detection position, the transfer process of the wafers W1 and W2 is interrupted and the detection process of the wafers W1 and W2 is carried out” [0039]. Since “the intersection positions P1 and P2 of the optical axes L1 and L2 of the photodetectors 27 and 28 and the wafers W1 and W2 are set at approximately the same horizontal position” and since the photodetectors 27 and 28 are on the same plane R as the central axes O1 and O2 of the first and second substrates, the intersection position (point on the first substrate) P1 and the intersection position (point on the second substrate) P2 are equidistant to any reference point on the horizontal line at height y/2 above the top of wafer W2 in the plane R ([0034], [0031]). Given any reference point on that horizontal line (see an annotated version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 above), the points P1 and P2 are separated from that reference point by some same first distance d. From Figs. 1-3, the photodetectors are arranged such that the wafers are overlapped from the overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) when the positions of the wafers are detected. See also [0030].).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach the following elements:
the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective; and
a controller configured to control movements of the first and the second substrates by the first transfer member and the second transfer member,
wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point apart from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the substrate, and
wherein the controller controls the first transfer member and the second transfer member such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer part being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (Transfer part: in Fig. 3, see transfer member 110, which “loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b)” [0015]. See Fig. 4: multiple blades (including a first transfer member and a second transfer member) 115 hold multiple wafers (including a first substrate and a second substrate) W. See also [0015]-[0016], [0018] and [0024].),
wherein the first transfer member and the second transfer member are configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate in a horizontal direction, respectively (See Fig. 4: multiple blades (including the first transfer member and the second transfer member) 115 hold multiple wafers (including the first substrate and the second substrate) W. See the horizontal transfer hole H in Fig. 3; “The binding unit (117) [to which the blades 115 are bound] can be fixed to the moving unit (119) of the transfer member (110), and the moving unit (119) can move along the transfer hole (H) located on the support member (105) of the wafer transfer device” [0018]. Therefore, when the moving unit 119 moves horizontally along the transfer hole H, the first and second transfer members move the first and second substrates horizontally.), and
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Moves the substrates: see “The transfer member (110) loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b) through the blade (115) of the transfer member (110)” [0015]. Substrates are overlapped: see “Such a transport member (110) may include a plurality of blades (115) for loading a plurality of stacked wafers. A plurality of blades (115) are arranged in a stacked manner” [0016]. From Figs. 3 and 4, the wafers W are at different elevations (in Fig. 3, there is an adjustable blade interval d between the wafers [0021]) and overlapped from an overhead perspective (a side perspective is shown in Fig. 4).);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: imaging device 130 comprising three imaging elements (130a, 130b, and 130c), which “can be installed on the moving unit (119)” of transfer member 110 [0025]. See “The imaging device (130) can be configured to capture [detect] the state of the blade (115) and the gap between the blades (115), as well as the state of the wafer[s] being mounted” [0025]. See also “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115),” including the first and second transfer members and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. By detecting the state of the wafers W, the imaging device 130 detects a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member. See also [0034].),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective, and the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective (See “the monitoring step (S1) may also include a step of checking [detecting with imaging device 130] the gap between wafers mounted on the blade after wafer mounting” [0034]. Since the only position change of the substrates relative to the imaging device 130 is actuating the gaps between the blades, the first and second substrates are always overlapped as in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4. Then any two different times when the wafers W are on the blades 115 while transfer member 110 is transferring the wafers W are times where the first and second positions of the first and second substrates can be detected. We can pick these times because the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. We can also pick a reference point that is stationary with respect to the transfer member 110 so that the detection point (for example, on the edge of each substrate) is a first distance away from the reference point for the first positions of the substrates and a second distance away for the second positions of the substrates. For example, a reference point may lie on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115; see the annotated version of Kim’s Fig. 3 above. In this case, the first and second positions of the first and second substrates are the same relative to the transfer member 110 (but not the same relative to whatever room or enclosure the transfer device 100 is inside). The first and second distances have the same magnitude, including when viewed from an overhead perspective.); and
a controller configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the first transfer member and the second transfer member (Controller: control block 200. See “the spacing between the blades [including the first and second transfer members] (115) of the transfer [part] (110) can be adjusted by controlling the spacing of the binding portions (117) binding the blades (115)… by the control command of the control block (200), or, when loading and unloading wafers through the blades (115), the position of the blades (115) can be adjusted up and down” [0009]. By adjusting the spacing of the blades (first and second transfer members) 115, the control block 200 controls movements of the wafers (first and second substrates). Control block 200 may be a processor or a software controller run on a processor. See also [0028].),
wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member… (See “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades [including first and second transfer members] (115) or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. The control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members by adjusting their spacing and by moving or stopping the transfer part 110 that the transfer members are part of. See also [0022] and [0029-0032].)
…so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point apart from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the substrate (This limitation makes clear that the descriptors “first” and “second” are simply labels and are not related to a second time/position following a first time/position. There exists at least one reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115 as described above (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above), where the detection points will be separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at an arbitrary position of the transfer member 110, the imaging member 130 detects the first position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate at a first relative positional relationship of the first and second substrates (e.g., stacked). Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. See also [0031] and [0034].), and
wherein the controller controls the first transfer member and the second transfer member… (See “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades [including first and second transfer members] (115) or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. The control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members by adjusting their spacing and by moving or stopping the transfer part 110 that the transfer members are part of. See also [0022] and [0029-0032].)
…such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate (Similar to the previous detection limitation, the same reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above) has the detection points separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at a different arbitrary transfer member 110 position, the imaging member 130 detects the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate at a second relative positional relationship of the first and second substrate. Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. Detection at an additional time/transfer member position: the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. The second relative positional relationship can be the same as the first relative positional relationship or different because “the spacing between the blades (115) can be adjusted by the binding unit (117)” [0018]. See also [0021] and [0034].).
By installing the wafer transfer member 110 of Kim on the wafer transfer robot 25 of Yamaoka and placing Yamaoka’s light-emitting members to aid in substrate detection by Kim’s imaging device 130, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “the wafer[s] can be easily transferred without damage even if the wafer-to-wafer spacing of the wafer transfer member and the wafer-to-wafer spacing at the final wafer transfer position are different” (Kim, [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 as addressed above. Yamaoka also teaches
wherein the first position of the first substrate… correspond[s] to one end portion of the first substrate and… wherein the second position of the second substrate correspond[s] to… [an] other end portion of the second substrate (See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates W1 and W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to the other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches detecting the substrates at more than one position of wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to the other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the photodetectors 27 and 28 of Yamaoka in the wafer transport chamber 26 can be positioned such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers are detected while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the first position of first substrate W1 and second position of second substrate W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side. Then see the modified version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 above, where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the second position of the first substrate and first position of the second substrate at the other end portions of the substrates (X2 side). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 (see annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above) over the top of the second substrate W2 to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
detecting the substrates at more than one position of the wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
placing a photodetector (imaging elements 130a and 130b) on either side of the substrates (see Fig. 3).
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that four photodetectors of Yamaoka can be positioned in the wafer transport chamber 26 such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers can simultaneously be detected at two peripheral portions of a side of each wafer while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 2 of Yamaoka above for four example intersections (P1A, P1B, P2A, and P2B) of the photodetectors’ optical axes with two peripheral portions of the X2 side of each substrate at the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate. Photodetector 27 may be shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral part (see shaded area on Yamaoka’s Fig. 2 below) of the X2 side of the first substrate W1 (intersection point P1A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 27 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P1B); photodetector 28 may be similarly shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral (shaded) part of the X2 side of the second substrate W2 (intersection point P2A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 28 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P2B). Next, see the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates at peripheral portions of the substrates (X1 side) at a second position of the wafer transfer member 110. At this second position of the transfer wafer member 110, the shifted positions of photodetectors 27 and 28 and the two additional photodetectors at corresponding positions across the X1-X2 axis have detection points at two peripheral portions of the X1 side of each substrate (first position of the first substrate and second position of the second substrate). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 over the top of the second substrate W2 in the plane R to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 10, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d (See the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above, which shows a plane where any reference point in the plane is equidistant from the imaging elements 130a and 130b. A detection point (point separated from the reference point) on a substrate at the first position by one imaging element has a corresponding detection point reflected across the plane on the same substrate at the second position by the other imaging element. In the first position, the detection point is separated from a suitable reference point (point in the plane) by a distance d in one direction (+d), and in the second position, the other detection point is separated from a suitable reference point by a distance d in the opposite direction (-d).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 12, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 addressed above. Yamaoka additionally teaches
…the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate are moved to previously set positions (The previously set positions of the first and second substrates include a destination position, such as the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 (see Fig. 3). See [0037]-[0041] of Yamaoka for more details on wafer transfer robot 25 transferring substrates from the cassette accommodating chamber 21 to the wafer processing chamber 22 and back.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate detected by the detector such that the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate are moved to previously set positions.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate detected by the detector… (Controls the transfer members: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the information [including detected position of the first and the second substrates] of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130) and the information [wafer-to-wafer gap of the target destination] transmitted from the detection block (150), and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades (115) [because the detected gap between the first and second substrates does not match the target destination’s gap] or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. More details of the transfer process are described in [0030] and [0034]-[0038] of Kim.).
When the control block 200 of Kim adjusts the gap between the first and second substrates, the control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members based on the detected positions of the first and second substrates and the detected wafer-to-wafer gap of a target destination. That target destination can be, for example, the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 of Yamaoka. Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 13, Yamaoka discloses
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer member being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (In Fig. 3, see wafer transfer robot (transfer part) 25 transporting two wafers simultaneously from cassette accommodating chamber 21 to wafer processing chamber 22. See upper tweezers (first transfer member) 253 transporting a wafer (first substrate) W1 and lower tweezers (second transfer member) 254 transporting a wafer (second substrate) W2 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3.),
wherein the first transfer member and the second transfer member are configured to rotate the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively (See rotary shaft 252 of the wafer transfer robot 25 in Fig. 3. “The holder bodies 1A and 1B [of first transfer member, upper tweezers 253, and second transfer member, lower tweezers 254] are formed in a U-shape and are supported by a rotary shaft 252” [0028]. The rotation of the first and second transfer members by the rotation of rotary shaft 252 causes the first and second substrates to rotate around a common, vertical axis through the center of rotary shaft 252. This rotation is necessary to orient the first and second transfer members in the X2 direction (see Fig. 3) for picking up the first and second substrates from the cassette accommodating chamber 21 and to orient the first and second transfer members in the X1 direction for delivering the first and second substrates to the wafer processing chamber 22. See also [0022].), and
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Move the substrates: “two wafers W1 and W2 [first and second substrates] out of the plurality of wafers W accommodated in the cassette C are held by the tweezers 253 and 254 of the wafer transport robot 25 [transfer part] and removed from the cassette C” and “transported to the wafer processing chamber 22” [0038-0039]. Substrates are overlapped: see “the wafers W1 and W2 are arranged so as to be offset by a predetermined distance y in the vertical direction Y1-Y2, and are arranged so as to overlap each other in parallel, as shown in FIG [1]” [0030]. From Figs. 1-3, it is clear the wafers are at different elevations (different locations on the Y1-Y2 axis) and are overlapped from an overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) while the wafers are transferred.);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: photodetectors 27 and 28; see “The photodetectors 27 and 28 have light-emitting elements 271 and 281 and light-receiving elements 272 and 282” [0024]. Detecting a position of the first substrate: see “The photodetector 27 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [first substrate, wafer W1] held by the upper tweezers 253” (first transfer member) [0023]. Detecting a position of the second substrate: see “the photodetector 28 is used to detect the presence or absence of a wafer [second substrate, wafer W2] held by the lower tweezers 254” (second transfer member) [0023]. By detecting the presence of the wafers W1 and W2, the photodetectors detect a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member.),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective (See “During this transfer process, when the wafers W1 and W2 reach the wafer detection position, the transfer process of the wafers W1 and W2 is interrupted and the detection process of the wafers W1 and W2 is carried out” [0039]. Since “the intersection positions P1 and P2 of the optical axes L1 and L2 of the photodetectors 27 and 28 and the wafers W1 and W2 are set at approximately the same horizontal position” and since the photodetectors 27 and 28 are on the same plane R as the central axes O1 and O2 of the first and second substrates, the intersection position (point on the first substrate) P1 and the intersection position (point on the second substrate) P2 are equidistant to any reference point on the horizontal line at height y/2 above the top of wafer W2 in the plane R ([0034], [0031]). Given any reference point on that horizontal line (see an annotated version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 above), the points P1 and P2 are separated from that reference point by some same first distance d. From Figs. 1-3, the photodetectors are arranged such that the wafers are overlapped from the overhead perspective (looking from Y1 towards Y2) when the positions of the wafers are detected. See also [0030].).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach the following elements:
the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective; and
a controller configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the first transfer member and the second transfer member,
wherein the controller controls the first transfer member and the second transfer member so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate, and
wherein the controller controls the first and the second transfer members such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
a transfer part including a first transfer member, the transfer member being configured to transfer a first substrate and a second transfer member configured to transfer a second substrate (Transfer part: in Fig. 3, see transfer member 110, which “loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b)” [0015]. See Fig. 4: multiple blades (including a first transfer member and a second transfer member) 115 hold multiple wafers (including a first substrate and a second substrate) W. See also [0015]-[0016], [0018] and [0024].),
wherein the transfer part is configured to move the first substrate and the second substrate such that the first substrate and the second substrate are at different elevations and overlap with each other from an overhead perspective when the transfer part transfers the first substrate and the second substrate (Moves the substrates: see “The transfer member (110) loads all wafers stored in the first device (10a) and then transfers them to the storage space of the second device (10b) through the blade (115) of the transfer member (110)” [0015]. Substrates are overlapped: see “Such a transport member (110) may include a plurality of blades (115) for loading a plurality of stacked wafers. A plurality of blades (115) are arranged in a stacked manner” [0016]. From Figs. 3 and 4, the wafers W are at different elevations (in Fig. 3, there is an adjustable blade interval d between the wafers [0021]) and overlapped from an overhead perspective (a side perspective is shown in Fig. 4).);
a detector configured to simultaneously detect a position of the first substrate on the first transfer member and a position of the second substrate on the second transfer member (Detector: imaging device 130 comprising three imaging elements (130a, 130b, and 130c), which “can be installed on the moving unit (119)” of transfer member 110 [0025]. See “The imaging device (130) can be configured to capture [detect] the state of the blade (115) and the gap between the blades (115), as well as the state of the wafer[s] being mounted” [0025]. See also “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115),” including the first and second transfer members and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. By detecting the state of the wafers W, the imaging device 130 detects a position of each substrate on its respective transfer member. See also [0034].),
wherein the detector detects a first position of the first substrate and a first position of the second substrate at points separated from a reference point by first distances while the first substrate and the second substrate are overlapped from the overhead perspective, and the detector detects a second position of the first substrate and a second position of the second substrate at points separated from the reference point by second distances from the overhead perspective (See “the monitoring step (S1) may also include a step of checking [detecting with imaging device 130] the gap between wafers mounted on the blade after wafer mounting” [0034]. Since the only position change of the substrates relative to the imaging device 130 is actuating the gaps between the blades, the first and second substrates are always overlapped as in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4. Then any two different times when the wafers W are on the blades 115 while transfer member 110 is transferring the wafers W are times where the first and second positions of the first and second substrates can be detected. We can pick these times because the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. We can also pick a reference point that is stationary with respect to the transfer member 110 so that the detection point (for example, on the edge of each substrate) is a first distance away from the reference point for the first positions of the substrates and a second distance away for the second positions of the substrates. For example, a reference point may lie on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115; see the annotated version of Kim’s Fig. 3 above. In this case, the first and second positions of the first and second substrates are the same relative to the transfer member 110 (but not the same relative to whatever room or enclosure the transfer device 100 is inside). The first and second distances have the same magnitude, including when viewed from an overhead perspective.); and
a controller configured to control movements of the first substrate and the second substrate by the first transfer member and the second transfer member (Controller: control block 200. See “the spacing between the blades [including the first and second transfer members] (115) of the transfer [part] (110) can be adjusted by controlling the spacing of the binding portions (117) binding the blades (115)… by the control command of the control block (200), or, when loading and unloading wafers through the blades (115), the position of the blades (115) can be adjusted up and down” [0009]. By adjusting the spacing of the blades (first and second transfer members) 115, the control block 200 controls movements of the wafers (first and second substrates). Control block 200 may be a processor or a software controller run on a processor. See also [0028].),
wherein the controller controls the first transfer member and the second transfer member… (See “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades [including first and second transfer members] (115) or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. The control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members by adjusting their spacing and by moving or stopping the transfer part 110 that the transfer members are part of. See also [0022] and [0029-0032].)
…so that the detector detects the first position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance, and detects the second position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance at a first relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate (This limitation makes clear that the descriptors “first” and “second” are simply labels and are not related to a second time/position following a first time/position. There exists at least one reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b of the blades 115 as described above (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above), where the detection points will be separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at an arbitrary position of the transfer member 110, the imaging member 130 detects the first position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate at a first relative positional relationship of the first and second substrates (e.g., stacked). Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. See also [0031] and [0034].), and
wherein the controller controls the first and the second transfer members… (See “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)… and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades [including first and second transfer members] (115) or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. The control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members by adjusting their spacing and by moving or stopping the transfer part 110 that the transfer members are part of. See also [0022] and [0029-0032].)
…such that the detector detects the second position of the first substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the second distance, and detects the first position of the second substrate at the point separated from the reference point by the first distance at a second relative positional relationship of the first substrate and the second substrate (Similar to the previous detection limitation, the same reference point that lies on the plane equidistant between the branches 114a and 114b (see the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above) has the detection points separated from the reference point by the first distance, which is equal in magnitude to the second distance. Then, at a different arbitrary transfer member 110 position, the imaging member 130 detects the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate at a second relative positional relationship of the first and second substrate. Detection of the substrates: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the [detected wafer/substrate] information of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130)” [0028] and “The first and second imaging elements (130a, 130b) can secure a wide angle capable of capturing all of the laminated blades (115)” (including the first and second transfer members) and the wafers (including the first and second substrates) mounted upon them, as in Fig. 4 [0026]. Detection at an additional time/transfer member position: the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position. The second relative positional relationship can be the same as the first relative positional relationship or different because “the spacing between the blades (115) can be adjusted by the binding unit (117)” [0018]. See also [0021] and [0034].).
By installing the wafer transfer member 110 of Kim on the wafer transfer robot 25 of Yamaoka and placing Yamaoka’s light-emitting members to aid in substrate detection by Kim’s imaging device 130, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “the wafer[s] can be easily transferred without damage even if the wafer-to-wafer spacing of the wafer transfer member and the wafer-to-wafer spacing at the final wafer transfer position are different” (Kim, [0039]).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13 as addressed above. Yamaoka also teaches
wherein the first position of the first substrate… correspond[s] to one end portion of the first substrate and… wherein the second position of the second substrate correspond[s] to… [an] other end portion of the second substrate (See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates W1 and W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to the other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches detecting the substrates at more than one position of wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate correspond to one end portion of the first substrate and one end portion of the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to the other end portion of the first substrate and the other end portion of the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the photodetectors 27 and 28 of Yamaoka in the wafer transport chamber 26 can be positioned such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers are detected while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above; the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the first position of first substrate W1 and second position of second substrate W2 at an end portion of each substrate on the X1 side. Then see the modified version of Yamaoka’s Fig. 1 above, where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the second position of the first substrate and first position of the second substrate at the other end portions of the substrates (X2 side). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 (see annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above) over the top of the second substrate W2 to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 15, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of the first substrate and two peripheral portions of the other side of the second substrate, respectively.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
detecting the substrates at more than one position of the wafer transfer member 110. See the control block 200 “can monitor the movement of the transport device (100) through information captured from the imaging member (130)” [0031] and the imaging device 130 can capture videos [0027], suggesting detection of the wafers W at more than one time and position.
placing a photodetector (imaging elements 130a and 130b) on either side of the substrates (see Fig. 3).
Together, Yamaoka and Kim teach “wherein the first position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of one side of each of the first substrate and the second substrate, respectively, and wherein the second position of the first substrate and the second position of the second substrate correspond to two peripheral portions of the other side of the first substrate and two peripheral portions of the other side of the second substrate, respectively” (Instead of using the imaging elements 130a and 130b of Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that four photodetectors of Yamaoka can be positioned in the wafer transport chamber 26 such that there exist two separate positions of Kim’s wafer transfer member 110 where the wafers can simultaneously be detected at two peripheral portions of a side of each wafer while the wafer transfer member 110 is oriented in the same direction. See the annotated Fig. 2 of Yamaoka above for four example intersections (P1A, P1B, P2A, and P2B) of the photodetectors’ optical axes with two peripheral portions of the X2 side of each substrate at the second position of the first substrate and the first position of the second substrate. Photodetector 27 may be shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral part (see shaded area on Yamaoka’s Fig. 2 below) of the X2 side of the first substrate W1 (intersection point P1A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 27 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P1B); photodetector 28 may be similarly shifted in the Z2 direction to a peripheral (shaded) part of the X2 side of the second substrate W2 (intersection point P2A) and another photodetector placed at the reflection of photodetector 28 across the X1-X2 axis (intersection point P2B). Next, see the annotated Fig. 1 of Yamaoka above where the optical axes of photodetectors 27 and 28 intersect the substrates at peripheral portions of the substrates (X1 side) at a second position of the wafer transfer member 110. At this second position of the transfer wafer member 110, the shifted positions of photodetectors 27 and 28 and the two additional photodetectors at corresponding positions across the X1-X2 axis have detection points at two peripheral portions of the X1 side of each substrate (first position of the first substrate and second position of the second substrate). The reference point is at the intersection of the central axes O1, O2 and the reference point line at height y/2 over the top of the second substrate W2 in the plane R to maintain the same first and second distances.).
Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 16, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13 addressed above.
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the point separated from the reference point by the first distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance +d and the point separated from the reference point by the second distance is a point separated from the reference point by a distance -d (See the annotated Fig. 3 of Kim above, which shows a plane where any reference point in the plane is equidistant from the imaging elements 130a and 130b. A detection point (point separated from the reference point) on a substrate at the first position by one imaging element has a corresponding detection point reflected across the plane on the same substrate at the second position by the other imaging element. In the first position, the detection point is separated from a suitable reference point (point in the plane) by a distance d in one direction (+d), and in the second position, the other detection point is separated from a suitable reference point by a distance d in the opposite direction (-d).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 18, Yamaoka as modified by Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13 addressed above. Yamaoka additionally teaches
…the positions of the first substrate and the second substrate are moved to previously set positions (The previously set positions of the first and second substrates include a destination position, such as the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 (see Fig. 3). See [0037]-[0041] of Yamaoka for more details on wafer transfer robot 25 transferring substrates from the cassette accommodating chamber 21 to the wafer processing chamber 22 and back.).
However, Yamaoka does not explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first and the second substrates detected by the detector such that the positions of the first and the second substrates are moved to previously set positions.”
Kim, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein the controller is configured to control the first transfer member and the second transfer member based on the positions of the first and the second substrates detected by the detector… (Controls the transfer members: see “The control block (200) collects and compares the information [including detected position of the first and the second substrates] of the wafer transfer member (110) transmitted from the imaging member (130) and the information [wafer-to-wafer gap of the target destination] transmitted from the detection block (150), and transmits a command to adjust the gap between the blades (115) [because the detected gap between the first and second substrates does not match the target destination’s gap] or a command to stop the operation of the transfer member (110) to the transfer member (110)” [0028]. More details of the transfer process are described in [0030] and [0034]-[0038] of Kim.).
When the control block 200 of Kim adjusts the gap between the first and second substrates, the control block 200 controls the first and second transfer members based on the detected positions of the first and second substrates and the detected wafer-to-wafer gap of a target destination. That target destination can be, for example, the wafer processing chamber 22 or cassette accommodating chamber 21 of Yamaoka. Therefore, the combination of Yamaoka and Kim as a whole teaches the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus of Yamaoka with the wafer transport device of Kim for the same reason stated in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 19, Yamaoka as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 13 addressed above, and Yamaoka additionally discloses
wherein the first transfer member and the second transfer member are configured to rotate the first substrate and the second substrate centering a common axis, respectively (See rotary shaft 252 of the wafer transfer robot 25 in Fig. 3. “The holder bodies 1A and 1B [of first transfer member, upper tweezers 253, and second transfer member, lower tweezers 254] are formed in a U-shape and are supported by a rotary shaft 252” [0028]. The rotation of the first and second transfer members by the rotation of rotary shaft 252 causes the first and second substrates to rotate around a common, vertical axis through the center of rotary shaft 252. This rotation is necessary to orient the first and second transfer members in the X2 direction (see Fig. 3) for picking up the first and second substrates from the cassette accommodating chamber 21 and to orient the first and second transfer members in the X1 direction for delivering the first and second substrates to the wafer processing chamber 22. See also [0022].), and
wherein the first transfer member and the second transfer member are configured to move the first and the second substrates in a horizontal direction (See Fig. 3: wafer transfer robot 25 transports the first and second substrates W1 and W2 on the first and second transfer members 253 and 254 horizontally from cassette accommodating chamber 21 to wafer processing chamber 22. See “The main body 251 [of wafer transfer robot 25] is movable in the horizontal direction (wafer transfer direction) X1-X2” [0022].).
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Kim, and further in view of Jo et al. (US 20220068688 A1; hereafter “Jo”).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaoka as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above.
However, Yamaoka as modified by Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first substrate and the second substrate.”
Jo, in the same field of endeavor (substrate processing devices), teaches
wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first substrate and the second substrate (Light-emitting member: light source units 110A and 110B; light-receiving member: imaging units 300A and 300B, each comprising a camera 320. See “each of the first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be disposed on an optical axis of the imaging unit 300… The first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be configured to emit a wavelength band light that is transmittable through the semiconductor substrates W1 and/or W2” [0024]. See Fig. 2 where light source units 110A and 110B emit light vertically towards imaging units 300A and 300B, respectively. The imaging units may detect the first and second substrates W1 and W2 by using a wavelength that passes through the substrates but not through the alignment keys printed on the substrates [0029]. Centering a path along with the first and second substrates: Between each light source unit 110 and the corresponding imaging unit 300, are the first and second substrates W1 and W2 and a gap G which defines a path between the first and second substrates W1 and W2 before the substrates are bonded together; see Fig. 20 and [0057]. Furthermore, the vertical axis directly between the two imaging units 300A and 300B is a path through the center of the aligned substrates W1 and W2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wafer detection device of Yamaoka/Kim with the light source units, imaging units, and alignment keys of Jo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely “calculate an alignment error value of the first and second semiconductor substrates W1 and W2 based on the captured image” for later correction (Jo, [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Yamaoka as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 7 as addressed above.
However, Yamaoka as modified by Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first substrate and the second substrate.”
Jo, in the same field of endeavor (substrate processing devices), teaches
wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first substrate and the second substrate (Light-emitting member: light source units 110A and 110B; light-receiving member: imaging units 300A and 300B, each comprising a camera 320. See “each of the first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be disposed on an optical axis of the imaging unit 300… The first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be configured to emit a wavelength band light that is transmittable through the semiconductor substrates W1 and/or W2” [0024]. See Fig. 2 where light source units 110A and 110B emit light vertically towards imaging units 300A and 300B, respectively. The imaging units may detect the first and second substrates W1 and W2 by using a wavelength that passes through the substrates but not through the alignment keys printed on the substrates [0029]. Centering a path along with the first and second substrates: Between each light source unit 110 and the corresponding imaging unit 300, are the first and second substrates W1 and W2 and a gap G which defines a path between the first and second substrates W1 and W2 before the substrates are bonded together; see Fig. 20 and [0057]. Furthermore, the vertical axis directly between the two imaging units 300A and 300B is a path through the center of the aligned substrates W1 and W2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wafer detection device of Yamaoka/Kim with the light source units, imaging units, and alignment keys of Jo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely “calculate an alignment error value of the first and second semiconductor substrates W1 and W2 based on the captured image” for later correction (Jo, [0039]).
Regarding claim 17, Yamaoka as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 13 as addressed above.
However, Yamaoka as modified by Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first and the second substrates.”
Jo, in the same field of endeavor (substrate processing devices), teaches
wherein the detector includes a light emitting member and a light receiving member disposed to be faced with each other in a vertical direction centering a path along with the first and the second substrates (Light-emitting member: light source units 110A and 110B; light-receiving member: imaging units 300A and 300B, each comprising a camera 320. See “each of the first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be disposed on an optical axis of the imaging unit 300… The first and second light source units 110A and 110B may be configured to emit a wavelength band light that is transmittable through the semiconductor substrates W1 and/or W2” [0024]. See Fig. 2 where light source units 110A and 110B emit light vertically towards imaging units 300A and 300B, respectively. The imaging units may detect the first and second substrates W1 and W2 by using a wavelength that passes through the substrates but not through the alignment keys printed on the substrates [0029]. Centering a path along with the first and second substrates: Between each light source unit 110 and the corresponding imaging unit 300, are the first and second substrates W1 and W2 and a gap G which defines a path between the first and second substrates W1 and W2 before the substrates are bonded together; see Fig. 20 and [0057]. Furthermore, the vertical axis directly between the two imaging units 300A and 300B is a path through the center of the aligned substrates W1 and W2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wafer detection device of Yamaoka/Kim with the light source units, imaging units, and alignment keys of Jo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely “calculate an alignment error value of the first and second semiconductor substrates W1 and W2 based on the captured image” for later correction (Jo, [0039]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Kim, and further in view of Kunisawa (US 20190393071 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Yamaoka as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 13 as addressed above.
However, Yamaoka as modified by Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein each of the first transfer member and the second transfer member has a multijoint structure.”
Kunisawa, in the same field of endeavor (substrate transfer devices), teaches
wherein each of the first transfer member and the second transfer member has a multijoint structure (See Fig. 2B. First transfer member: first substrate transfer mechanism 201; second transfer member: second substrate transfer mechanism 202. The multiple joints of the first substrate transfer mechanism 201 include the joint between a first arm 220 and a second arm 230, controlled by motor 225, and the joint between the second arm 230 and a first hand 240, controlled by motor 235; the multiple joints of the second substrate transfer mechanism 202 include the joint between a third arm 250 and a fourth arm 260, controlled by motor 255, and the joint between the fourth arm 260 and a second hand 270, controlled by motor 265 [0040].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transfer part of Yamaoka/Kim with the multi-joint substrate transfer mechanisms of Kunisawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling “the first hand 240 and the second hand 270 to operate independently of each other” (Kunisawa, [0050]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658