DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 3/23/26 is acknowledged, and the examiner notes that applicants have amended the claims. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/8/23, 2/6/24, 3/2/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The examiner notes that applicants have made statements regarding the consideration of various co-pending applications. The examiner notes that 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2)(iii) deals with unpublished applications and that MPEP 609.04(a) states that ‘If a U.S. application being listed in an IDS has been issued as a patent or has been published, the applicant should list the patent or application publication in the IDS instead of the application.’. If there are references/documents that have been cited in the co-pending application that applicant deems relevant to the instant application, then it is applicants responsibility to list those documents/references in the IDS of the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-13, 22-35, 48, 60, 67-68 are pending, with claims 1, 4-6, 9-12, 67-68 being examined and claims 13, 22-35, 48, 60 deemed withdrawn.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “desiccant” in claim 10, the “desiccant has a tubular shape and a portion of the conduit passes through the desiccant” of claim 10, and the “desiccant engages with an inner surface of the wall of the vessel and supports the conduit in the vessel” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12, 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding the last line of claim 1, it is unclear where the external environment is and is unclear how the external environment is related to or connected to the internal space or vessel. The amended claims recite a vessel, but it is unclear how fluid moves from the vessel to an external environment without clarification because a vessel is typically a walled off and sealed structure as known in the art. Are there other structures or outlets required in the vessel to achieve the recited function? Also, it is unclear what the difference between a fluid and blood sample is. A blood sample is recited as being moved to the internal space, and then fluid is described as moving from the internal space. However, the fluid is recited separately from blood, and it is unclear what the fluid is and also unclear whether or not the blood could also be the fluid.
Claims 4-6, 9-12, 67-68 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Robbins et al (US 2022006182; hereinafter “Robbins”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Robbins teaches a sample holder (Robbins; Fig. 1-13) comprising:
a vessel having a wall with an outer surface and defining an internal space (Robbins teaches vessel 14/18; Fig. 1-13, [74-75, 82, 96-98, 109-113]);
a conduit having a distal end positioned in the internal space and a proximal end extending from the internal space, the conduit configured to receive a blood sample into the proximal end of the conduit (Robbins teaches a conduit 15 with the distal end in the container 18 and with a proximal end extending away from 18 where the conduit receives blood from 12/20; Fig. 1-3, 10, [78, 85, 86, 103]); and
a cap configured to receive the proximal end of the conduit and configured to move relative to the vessel such that movement of the cap relative to the vessel from a first position toward a second position causes fluid pressure suitable to move a blood sample from the conduit into the internal space and to move fluid from the internal space to an external environment (Robbins teaches cap 16 which receives conduit 15, and moves toward the vessel to cause the blood to move into the space within 18, and where fluid can be vented; Fig. 1-3, 10-12, [88-89, 109-113]).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 4, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 1, wherein the cap includes a cavity configured to receive a portion of the vessel to engage the cap with the vessel (Robbins teaches cap 16 having a cavity which receives a portion of the vessel 14; Fig. 1-3, 10-12, [80, 90]).
As to claim 5, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 4, wherein the cap and the vessel are configured to create a pressure above ambient pressure in response to movement of the portion of the vessel into the cavity (Robbins teaches that closing the cap increases pressure to move fluid to the cavity; [88, 89, 108, 110]).
As to claim 6, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 5, wherein the cavity is configured to receive the proximal end of the conduit when the cap is engaged with the vessel, and the pressure above ambient pressure is suitable to force a blood sample in the conduit to move through the distal end and into the internal space (Robbins teaches that closing the cap increases pressure to move fluid to the cavity; [88, 89, 108, 110]. Robbins teaches cap 16 which receives conduit 15, and moves toward the vessel to cause the blood to move into the space within 18, and where fluid can be vented; Fig. 1-3, 10-12, [88-89, 109-113]).
As to claim 67, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 1, further comprising a conduit holder arranged to support the conduit in the internal space of the vessel (Robbins teaches the conduit 15 is in 14; [78], Fig. 1-3, 10).
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Kluge et al (US 20210283597; hereinafter “Kluge”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Kluge teaches a sample holder (Kluge teaches various geometries in Fig. 24-32; [211]) comprising: a vessel having a wall with an outer surface and defining an internal space; a conduit having a distal end positioned in the internal space and a proximal end extending from the internal space, the conduit configured to receive a blood sample into the proximal end of the conduit; and a cap configured to receive the proximal end of the conduit and configured to move relative to the vessel such that movement of the cap relative to the vessel from a first position toward a second position causes fluid pressure suitable to move a blood sample from the conduit into the internal space and to move fluid from the internal space to an external environment (Kluge teaches a vessel as the bottom portion of Fig. 24, and a conduit capillary funnel at the top of the vessel and shown in the middle of Fig. 24 which collects blood at the top; [210]. See also various configurations in Fig. 24-32; [211]. As best understood, Kluge teaches a cap at the top which one pressed pushes the can apply pressure to fluid; [212, 222]).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 4, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 1, wherein the cap includes a cavity configured to receive a portion of the vessel to engage the cap with the vessel (Kluge teaches the cap receiving the vessel; Fig. 24-32).
As to claim 5, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 4, wherein the cap and the vessel are configured to create a pressure above ambient pressure in response to movement of the portion of the vessel into the cavity (Kluge teaches a cap at the top which, one pressed, pushes the can apply pressure to fluid; [212, 222]).
As to claim 6, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 5, wherein the cavity is configured to receive the proximal end of the conduit when the cap is engaged with the vessel, and the pressure above ambient pressure is suitable to force a blood sample in the conduit to move through the distal end and into the internal space (Kluge teaches a cap at the top which, one pressed, pushes the can apply pressure to fluid; [212, 222]. See Fig. 24-32)
As to claim 9, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 1, wherein the conduit includes a capillary tube configured to draw a blood sample into the capillary tube by contacting blood to the proximal end (Kluge teaches a conduit capillary funnel; [210]).
As to claim 10, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 1, further comprising a desiccant in the internal space configured to dry a blood sample enclosed in the internal space (Kluge teaches a desiccant; [210]).
As to claim 67, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 1, further comprising a conduit holder arranged to support the conduit in the internal space of the vessel (Kluge teaches the funnel material as a holder which forms/holds the conduit; Fig. 24, [210-212]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robbins et al (US 2022006182; hereinafter “Robbins”; already of record).
As to claim 68, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 67, with the conduit holder (see claim 67 above).
Robbins does not specifically teach the conduit holder comprises a transparent material that permits a user to see the conduit. However, Robbins also teaches that transparent materials are advantageous to provide viewing of container contents (Robbins; [168, 169]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conduit holder of Robbins to have been transparent as suggested by Robbins because Robbins teaches that it is well-known to use laboratory vessels and components that are transparent so that the contents are easily viewable (Robbins; [168]) and because Robbins teaches that it is well known to make laboratory containers/components out of transparent materials (Robbins; [169]).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robbins et al (US 2022006182; hereinafter “Robbins”; already of record) in view of Anderson et al (US 20190168210; hereinafter “Anderson”; already of record).
As to claim 9, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 1, where the conduit includes a tube to draw blood to the proximal end (Robbins; Fig. 1-3, 10, [78, 85, 86, 103]).
Robbins does not specifically teach the conduit includes a capillary tube configured to draw a blood sample into the capillary tube by contacting blood to the proximal end. However, Anderson teaches the analogous art of collecting fluid samples (Anderson; [331]), including blood where blood is collected via capillary action in a tube (Anderson; [117, 278], Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the tube that moves blood from the distal end to the proximal end of Robbins to have been a capillary tube to draw blood as in Anderson because Anderson teaches that it is well-known to draw blood samples via a capillary tube (Anderson; [278], Fig. 6).
As to claims 10-12, Robbins teaches the sample holder of claim 1, where the conduit has an internal space through which the blood sample flows, and that the conduit holder engages with an inner surface of the wall of the vessel to support the conduit in the vessel, where the conduit 15 is in conduit holder 14 (Robbins; Fig. 1-3, 10, [78, 85, 86, 103], see also claim 1 above).
Robbins does not teach a desiccant in the internal space configured to dry a blood sample enclosed in the internal space, or that the desiccant has a tubular shape and a portion of the conduit passes through the desiccant, or that the desiccant engages with an inner surface of the wall of the vessel and supports the conduit in the vessel. However, Anderson teaches the analogous art of collecting fluid samples in a conduit (Anderson; [331]), and a desiccant in the internal space configured to dry a blood sample enclosed in the internal space, or that the desiccant has a tubular shape and a portion of the conduit passes through the desiccant, or that the desiccant engages with an inner surface of the wall of the vessel and supports the conduit in the vessel (Anderson teaches conduit 24 enclosed by desiccant 18 which is tubular and inside the inner surface of the container 23; [278, 279], Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conduit holder that supports the conduit of Robbins to have been formed of a desiccant material as in Anderson because Anderson teaches that using a desiccant helps to dry the sample (Anderson; [241, 254]) and that drying the sample with a desiccant helps to render the sample stable for transport and storage (Anderson; [275, 304]).
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kluge et al (US 20210283597; hereinafter “Kluge”; already of record).
As to claim 68, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 67, with the conduit holder (Kluge teaches the funnel material as a holder which forms/holds the conduit; Fig. 24, [210-212]).
Kluge does not specifically teach the conduit holder comprises a transparent material that permits a user to see the conduit. However, Kluge also teaches that transparent materials are advantageous to provide viewing of container contents (Kluge; [172]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conduit holder of Kluge to have been transparent as suggested by Kluge because Kluge teaches that it is well-known to use laboratory vessels and components that are transparent so that the contents are easily viewable and can aid in the metering of the sample (Kluge; [172]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kluge et al (US 20210283597; hereinafter “Kluge”; already of record) alone or in view of Anderson et al (US 20190168210; hereinafter “Anderson”; already of record).
As to claims 11-12, Kluge teaches the sample holder of claim 10, with the conduit holder including a capillary tube (Kluge teaches a conduit capillary funnel; [210]), and where a portion of the conduit passes through the desiccant, and the desiccant engages with an inner surface of the wall (Kluge; Fig. 24-32; [210-212]).
Kluge does not teach that the desiccant has a tubular shape and supports the conduit in the vessel. However, Kluge does teach various shapes of the vessel and where the desiccant is in a tubular compartment (Kluge; [210-212], Fig. 24-32). It would have been obvious to change the shape of the desiccant of Kluge to have been tubular to provide the advantage of filling the entire tubular compartment in Kluge and also to help support the conduit since it has been held that changes in shape are not patentably distinct from prior art (MPEP 2144.04 IV). However, Anderson teaches the analogous art of collecting fluid samples in a conduit (Anderson; [331]), and a desiccant has a tubular shape and supports the conduit in the vessel (Anderson teaches conduit 24 enclosed by desiccant 18 which is tubular and inside the inner surface of the container 23; [278, 279], Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conduit holder that supports the conduit of Kluge to have been formed of a desiccant material to support the conduit as in Anderson because Anderson teaches that using a desiccant helps to dry the sample (Anderson; [241, 254]) and that drying the sample with a desiccant helps to render the sample stable for transport and storage (Anderson; [275, 304]), and further because it has been held that changes in shape are not patentably distinct from prior art (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Seymour, E (US 5494646; hereinafter “Seymour”; already of record) teaches a capillary collector which collect blood at the bottom of 1215 in Fig. 35 and then presses cap 1211 shown in Fig. 37 which moves the blood up through conduit with vent and into the vessel as the upper portion 1218.
Kluge et al (US 20210283597; hereinafter “Kluge”; already of record) teaches that a cap placing positive and negative pressure on the fluid are obvious variants; [222, 223].
Kloth, B (US 5833630; hereinafter “Kloth”; already of record) teaches blood at a peripheral end and then placing cap on the device to move fluid through the capillary holder into the vessel; Fig. 3-8.
Steiner et al (US 20200029878; hereinafter “Steiner”; already of record) teaches a cap pressed onto a capillary collection conduit which then moves the fluid into a vessel at the bottom; Fig. 1-2.
Luotola et al (US 20110020195; hereinafter “Luotola”; already of record) teaches a holder for conduit; Fig. 1-23.
Ivosevic et al (US 20160100783; hereinafter “Ivosevic”; already of record) teaches a holder for conduit; Fig. 1-23.
Morrison et al (US 20160100783; hereinafter “Morrison”; already of record) teaches a blood capillary to draw blood and a vacuum of negative suction pressure to pull fluid into vessel; Fig. 1-18. The device is transparent; [33].
McDade et al (US 20230074519; hereinafter “McDade”) teaches a desiccant built into the container to facilitate drying of the sample; [13].
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18637702 (‘702). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of ‘702 teaches a sample holder (see claim 1 of ‘702) comprising: a vessel having a wall with an outer surface and defining an internal space (see the vessel with a wall and internal space of claim 1 of ‘702 where any wall would also have an outer surface); a conduit having a distal end positioned in the internal space and a proximal end extending from the internal space, the conduit configured to receive a blood sample into the proximal end of the conduit (see the conduit with distal and proximal end of claim 1 of ‘702. Claim 10 of ‘702 teaches the sample is blood); and a cap configured to receive the proximal end of the conduit and configured to move relative to the vessel such that movement of the cap relative to the vessel from a first position toward a second position causes fluid pressure suitable to move a blood sample from the conduit into the internal space and to move fluid from the internal space to an external environment (In as much as claimed and as best understood, claim 1 of ‘702 teaches a cap moving relative to the vessel to cause pressure to move the blood into the internal space). Thus, all of the elements of the invention recited in the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of copending Application No. 18637702 (‘702).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798