DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10-13-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 46 and 58-61 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2012/0028120) because Huang et al. teaches specifically in claim 11, wherein the composite cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2. [Thus teaching claim 46 (a) where the positive active material comprises the second active material comprising LiNib=1/3Coc=1/3Mn[(1-b-c)=1/3]O2 where b+c=2/3=0.6666]. Huang et al. teaches in claims 12-13, a lithium battery comprising an anode, an electrolyte and a cathode comprising a current collector and a cathode material layer comprising cathode composite material. In addition, Huang et al. teaches in Example 9, the cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2. Therefore, the rejection remains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46, 48-54, 56 and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 46 is rejected because it is unclear in b) and c) which layer is positioned on the current collector and which layer is positioned on the layer positioned on the current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 46 and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2012/0028120). Huang et al. teaches specifically in claim 11, that the cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2 [Thus teaching claim 46 (a) where the positive active material comprises the second active material comprising LiNib=1/3Coc=1/3Mn[(1-b-c)=1/3]O2 where b+c=2/3=0.6666]. Huang et al. teaches in claims 12-13, a lithium battery comprising an anode, an electrolyte and a cathode comprising a current collector and a cathode material layer comprising cathode composite material. In addition, Huang et al. teaches in Example 9, the cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2012/0028120). Huang et al. teaches in claim 9, wherein the cathode composite material can comprise LixNicCodMneO2 where 0 < c < 1; 0 < d < 1; 0 < e < 1 and c+d+e=1 and specifically claim 11, that the cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2. Huang et al. teaches in claims 12-13, a lithium battery comprising an anode, an electrolyte and a cathode comprising a current collector and a cathode material layer comprising cathode composite material. In addition, Huang et al. teaches in Example 9, the cathode material comprises LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2. Huang et al. teaches in Examples 1-4, that the cathode material comprises LiCoO2. Huang et al. teaches in Example 8, that the cathode material can be LiNib=0.8Coc=0.15Al[(1-b-c)=0.05]O2. Huang et al. teaches the claimed invention as explained above but does not teach in the examples that the cathode material comprises LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Al[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Al[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set variable c to be equal 0.1, since it has been held that when the claimed range and the prior art range are very similarly the range of the prior art establishes prima facie obviousness because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the similar ranges to have the same properties. See in re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382, citing titanium Metals Corp. V. Banner, 227 USPQ 773, 779. Huang et al. teaches the claimed invention as explained above but does not teach in the examples that the cathode material comprises LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Mn[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mn instead of Al in the cathode material because Huang et al. teaches that both these elements can be used in the cathode active material as explained above and one would expect therefore that these materials would function in a similar way and give similar results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Mn[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2 because Huang et al. teaches that the cathode composite material can comprise LixNicCodMneO2 where 0 < c < 1; 0 < d < 1; 0 < e < 1 and c+d+e=1 and since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Mn[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use LiNib=0.8Coc=0.1Mn[(1-b-c)=0.1]O2, since it has been held that where there are overlapping ranges it would be prima facia obvious. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 48-54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura et al. (JP 2002-198050, machine translation) teaches a positive electrode comprising an active material comprising Li1-xA0<x<0.1Fe1-y-zM0<y<0.5Mez=0.3P1-mX0< m <0.3O4-nZ0<n<0.5 where A can be Na or K; M can be Mn; X at least one of S, Si, Ni, etc. and Z is at least one of F, Cl, Br, S, etc. and x+z+m+n >0. Nakamura et al. teaches in Example 13, the active material comprises Li0.95Na0.05Fe0.8Co0.2PO4 and teaches in Example 14, the active material comprises Li0.95K0.05Fe0.8Co0.2PO4 [Thus teaching LiaAx is known]. Nakamura et al. teaches in Example 9, the active material comprises LiFe0.8Co0.2P0.9Si01O4 and teaches in Example 10, the active material comprises LiFe0.8Co0.2P0.9N01O4 [Thus teaching P1-mXm is known]. Nakamura et al. teaches in Examples 3-5 and 7, the active material comprises LiFe0.8Co0.2PO3.9Z0.1 where Z can be F, Cl, Br and S [Thus teaching O4-nDn is known]. Nakamura et al. teaches that the positive electrode comprises the active material above; graphite as a conductive and a binder. Nakamura et al. teaches that the positive material was applied to a current collector. Ohira et al. (US 9,005,810) teaches a cathode active material having a composition represented by formula (1): LiMn1-xMxP1-ySiyO4where M = Zr, Sn, Y or Al where 0 < x < 0.5 and 0 < y < 0.5. Ohira et al. teaches specifically cathode active material in Table 1, comprising: Li(Mn0.9Sn0.1)(P0.8Si0,2)O4, Li(Mn0.95Zr0.05)(P0.9Si0,1)O4, or Li(Mn0.95Sn0.05)(P0.9Si0,1)O4. Wu (JP 6157563 B2, machine translation) teaches a lithium ion battery positive electrode material comprising the formula LiMnxFe1-xP1-aSibMcO4-dFd where M can be B, Cl or S). Wu (US 2016/0190584) teaches in claim 1, a Li-ion battery positive electrode material comprising LiMnxFe1-xP1-aSibMcO4-dFd where M is B or S and teaches in claim 3 that the positive active material contains a carbon coating layer. Natsui et al. (US 2023/0402594) teaches in Example 1, a lithium transition metal composite oxide comprising Li1.67Sb0.001Mn0.55Ni0.275P0.065O1.92F0.08. Ma et al. (US 2023/0335723) claims in claim 1, a positive electrode active material comprising Li1+xMn1-yAyP1-zRzO4 which is the exact same material of the instant positive electrode material. Ma et al. (US 2023/0343938) claims in claim 1, a positive electrode active material comprising LiaAxMn1-yByP1-zCzO4-nDn which is the exact same material of the instant positive electrode material. Jiang et al. (US 2023/0361296) claims in claim 1, a positive electrode active material comprising LiaAxMn1-yByP1-zCzO4-nDn which is the exact same material of the instant positive electrode material. Ohira et al. (US 2013/0209886) teaches a cathode comprising a cathode material comprising LiMn1-xMxP1-ySiyO4.
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723