DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
The amendment/request for reconsideration filed 07/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 325 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 11 and 12 have been amended to recite,
“…wherein the line-of-sight information includes combined movement detection of the line of sight from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position, and
the user is authenticated using the combined movement detection and the received operation information.”
Michigami provides line-of-sight information [see line-of-sight sensor 103], but also provides and suggests the inclusion of movement detection and received operation [see wherein the touch surface 102a has both finger moving operation and pressing operation]. It is being maintained that the broadest reasonable interpretation of Michigami uses the combined movement detecting and received operation (pressing operation) as part of authentication, however, Michigami fails to disclose that the movement information includes movement from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position.
This is disclosed in KR20150082876A (hereafter ‘2876A) which discloses an input unit 14 which senses a user's touch input through a virtual keyboard and generates a touch or drag event corresponding to an authentication password command related to the authentication password that is output on the touch screen, and transmits the generated touch or drag event to a control unit 11. The input unit 14 includes at least one of a touch screen of a mobile (smartphone) device, a touch screen of an ATM, and a touch screen of a monitor.
Thus the claims are being rejected by Michigami in view of KR20150082876A below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michigami (JP 2020003853A) in view of KR20150082876A.
Regarding claim 1, Michigami discloses
an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1)(item# 1-electronic device/ATM) including (Fig. 2)(item#100- password authentication device) comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 2, item# 104-control unit/CPU) configured to:
receive line-of-sight information indicating a position to which a user directs the user's line of sight; [see Embodiment 1, Fig. 2-The line-of-sight detection sensor 103 is provided between the display screen 101 and the touch pad 102. The eye-gaze detection sensor 103 includes, for example, an infrared camera and a microcomputer for image analysis. The infrared camera captures the user's left and right eyeballs, and the microcomputer analyzes the captured images to calculate the user's line of sight. The gaze detection sensor 103 outputs information on the gaze direction of the user calculated by the microcomputer to the control unit 104.]
and operation information input by the user operating operation buttons ;
[see Figs. 2 and 3,The operation on the touch surface 102a is roughly classified into two operations: a finger moving operation and a pressing operation. The moving operation is an operation of moving a finger while touching the touch surface 102a to select a desired soft key. The pressing operation is an operation to confirm the selection by pressing the touch surface 102a with a finger. After selecting an arbitrary soft key on the display screen 101 by moving the finger, the user can input a character corresponding to the selected soft key by executing a pressing operation.] and
authenticate the user with the received line-of-sight information
[see in Michigami , where The control unit 104 controls the display content of the display screen 101 of the display device 106 based on the operation information from the touch pad 102 and the line-of-sight information from the line of sight detection sensor 103. The operation target specifying unit 104b specifies, based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, a numeric keypad that is ahead of the user's line of sight among the three numeric keys T1 to T3. Note, however, that the invalidation unit 104e may invalidate an input operation using the touch pad 102 based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, when none of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 is present in front of the line of sight of the user]
and the received operation information.
[The password acquiring unit 104c determines that the operation performed on the touch pad 102 (the touch surface 102a) is performed by using one of the ten numeric keys (the three numeric keys T1 to T3) of the operation target specified by the operation target specifying unit 104b. ), The input password (character string) input through the touch pad 102 is obtained. The password authentication unit 104d authenticates whether the input password acquired by the password acquisition unit 104c matches the registered password stored in the storage unit 105. The password authentication unit 104d permits withdrawal of cash at the ATM when the authentication is successful, but prohibits withdrawal of cash when the authentication fails.]
In regards to “…wherein the line-of-sight information includes combined movement detection of the line of sight from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position, and the user is authenticated using the combined movement detection and the received operation information.”
Michigami provides line-of-sight information [see line-of-sight sensor 103], but also provides and suggests the inclusion of movement detection and received operation [see wherein the touch surface 102a has both finger moving operation and pressing operation]. It is being maintained that the broadest reasonable interpretation of Michigami uses the combined movement detecting and received operation (pressing operation) as part of authentication.
However, Michigami fails to disclose that the movement information includes movement from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position.
This is disclosed in KR20150082876A (hereafter ‘2876A) [see ‘2876A where it discloses an input unit 14 which senses a user's touch input through a virtual keyboard and generates a touch or drag event corresponding to an authentication password command related to the authentication password that is output on the touch screen, and transmits the generated touch or drag event to a control unit 11. The input unit 14 includes at least one of a touch screen of a mobile (smartphone) device, a touch screen of an ATM, and a touch screen of a monitor.]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to integrate the drag feature of ‘2876A into the touch surface of Michigami. The motivation would be to provide an alternative as well as user authentication method as enunciated in ‘2876A to deter unauthorized usage and/or access.
Regarding claim 2, Michigami discloses wherein the processor is configured to authenticate the user by determining whether combination information that combines the line-of-sight information and the operation information in an order received matches predetermined setting combination information.
[see Michigami wherein, The password authentication unit 104d authenticates whether the input password acquired by the password acquisition unit 104c matches the registered password stored in the storage unit 105. The password authentication unit 104d permits withdrawal of cash at the ATM when the authentication is successful, but prohibits withdrawal of cash when the authentication fails. It should also be noted that The invalidation unit 104e invalidates an input operation using the touch pad 102 based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, when none of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 is present in front of the line of sight of the user, So this indicates that both user most pass the combination of the password authentication and the line-of-sight detector in order to be fully authenticated.]
Regarding claim 3, Michigami discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive the operation information and the line-of-sight information at different times.
[see Michigami when, When requesting the user to input a password, the display control unit 104a displays three numeric keys T1 to T3 (input key group) on the display screen 101 of the display device 106, as shown in FIG. The operation target specifying unit 104b specifies, based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, a numeric keypad that is ahead of the user's line of sight among the three numeric keys T1 to T3. The password authentication unit 104d authenticates whether the input password acquired by the password acquisition unit 104c matches the registered password stored in the storage unit 105. The password authentication unit 104d permits withdrawal of cash at the ATM when the authentication is successful, but prohibits withdrawal of cash when the authentication fails. The invalidation unit 104e invalidates an input operation using the touch pad 102 based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, when none of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 is present in front of the line of sight of the user.]
Regarding claim 4, Michigami discloses wherein, in a case where the line-of-sight information is received before the operation information, the processor is configured to change a display form of symbols displayed on the operation buttons. [see Michigami, When the input of the first character is completed, as shown in FIG. 6C, the key arrangement of each of the numeric keys T1 to T3 on the display screen 101 is randomly changed to a key arrangement different from that at the time of input of the first character (step S13). The positions of the keys provisionally selected (highlighted) by the ten keys T1 to T3 are also randomly changed (step S4).
In this state, it is assumed that the user turns his / her gaze to the left numeric keypad T1, and then moves his / her finger on the touch surface 102a on the touch pad 102 to the left (see the two-dot chain line arrow on the touch surface 102a in FIG. 6C). In this case, the numeric key “3” located at a position corresponding to the moving direction and the moving distance of the finger on the basis of the provisionally selected symbol key “*” in the numeric keypad T1 to be operated in front of the user's line of sight Is identified and highlighted (steps S7 to S9). On the other hand, in the middle and right numeric keys T2 and T3, which are not operation targets, numerals in directions (irrelevant directions) different from the finger moving direction with reference to the temporarily selected symbol key "1" and numeric key "3", respectively. The keys "@" and "6" are selected and highlighted (steps S7 to S9). In this state, when the user presses the touch surface 102a of the touch pad 102, the numeric key “3” selected by the ten-key T1 on the left as the operation target can be input as the second character of the password. The third and subsequent characters may be input in the same manner.]
Regarding claim 5, Michagami, wherein the processor is configured to change the display form by changing a layout of symbols displayed on the operation buttons.
[see Michigami, When the input of the first character is completed, as shown in FIG. 6C, the key arrangement of each of the numeric keys T1 to T3 on the display screen 101 is randomly changed to a key arrangement different from that at the time of input of the first character (step S13). The positions of the keys provisionally selected (highlighted) by the ten keys T1 to T3 are also randomly changed (step S4).]
Regarding claim 6, Michigami discloses, wherein the processor is configured to receive the operation information as if the symbols were displayed in the layout before the change even after the layout of the symbols has been changed. [See Michigami, “Description of password input operation”]
Regarding claim 7, Michigami discloses wherein the processor is configured to simultaneously receive the operation information and the line-of-sight information. [See Michigami, “Description of password input operation”]
Regarding claim 8, Michigami discloses, wherein, in a case where the operation information and the line-of-sight information are simultaneously received, the processor is configured to change a display form of symbols displayed on the operation buttons. [See Michigami, “Description of password input operation”]
Regarding claim 9, Michigami discloses, wherein: the processor is configured to: authenticate the user only with the received operation information in a case where a predetermined condition is satisfied; and authenticate the user with the received line-of-sight information and the received operation information in a case where the predetermined condition is not satisfied.
[see Michigami wherein The password authentication unit 104d authenticates whether the input password acquired by the password acquisition unit 104c matches the registered password stored in the storage unit 105. The password authentication unit 104d permits withdrawal of cash at the ATM when the authentication is successful, but prohibits withdrawal of cash when the authentication fails. Also the invalidation unit 104e invalidates an input operation using the touch pad 102 based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, when none of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 is present in front of the line of sight of the user.]
The invalidation unit 104e invalidates an input operation using the touch pad 102 based on information from the line-of-sight detection sensor 103, when none of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 is present in front of the line of sight of the user.
Regarding claim 10. The information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the predetermined condition is a condition that no one other than the user is able to see the operation buttons. [see Michigami wherein In step S7, one of the three numeric keys T1 to T3 located ahead of the user's line of sight is specified as the user's operation target.]
Regarding claim 11, Michigami discloses, A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process, the process comprising: receiving line-of-sight information indicating a position to which a user directs the user's line of sight, and operation information input by the user operating operation buttons; and authenticating the user with the received line-of-sight information and the received operation information. [see Michigami as per claim 1, but also disclosing the control unit 104 is a microcomputer including a CPU, a ROM, a RAM, and the like.]
In regards to “…wherein the line-of-sight information includes combined movement detection of the line of sight from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position, and the user is authenticated using the combined movement detection and the received operation information.”
Michigami provides line-of-sight information [see line-of-sight sensor 103], but also provides and suggests the inclusion of movement detection and received operation [see wherein the touch surface 102a has both finger moving operation and pressing operation]. It is being maintained that the broadest reasonable interpretation of Michigami uses the combined movement detecting and received operation (pressing operation) as part of authentication.
However, Michigami fails to disclose that the movement information includes movement from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position.
This is disclosed KR20150082876A (hereafter ‘2876A) [see ‘2876A where it discloses an input unit 14 which senses a user's touch input through a virtual keyboard and generates a touch or drag event corresponding to an authentication password command related to the authentication password that is output on the touch screen, and transmits the generated touch or drag event to a control unit 11. The input unit 14 includes at least one of a touch screen of a mobile (smartphone) device, a touch screen of an ATM, and a touch screen of a monitor.]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to integrate the drag feature of ‘2876A into the touch surface of Michigami. The motivation would be to provide an alternative as well as user authentication method as enunciated in ‘2876A to deter unauthorized usage.
Regarding claim 12, Michagami discloses, an information processing method comprising: receiving line-of-sight information indicating a position to which a user directs the user's line of sight, and operation information input by the user operating operation buttons; and authenticating the user with the received line-of-sight information and the received operation information.
[see Michagami, Fig. 4, in “Description of Password and Authentication Process”, as also in similar scope as claim 1]
In regards to “…wherein the line-of-sight information includes combined movement detection of the line of sight from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position, and the user is authenticated using the combined movement detection and the received operation information.”
Michigami provides line-of-sight information [see line-of-sight sensor 103], but also provides and suggests the inclusion of movement detection and received operation [see wherein the touch surface 102a has both finger moving operation and pressing operation]. It is being maintained that the broadest reasonable interpretation of Michigami uses the combined movement detecting and received operation (pressing operation) as part of authentication.
However, Michigami fails to disclose that the movement information includes movement from a first position to a second position and from the second position to a third position.
This is disclosed KR20150082876A (hereafter ‘2876A) [see ‘2876A where it discloses an input unit 14 which senses a user's touch input through a virtual keyboard and generates a touch or drag event corresponding to an authentication password command related to the authentication password that is output on the touch screen, and transmits the generated touch or drag event to a control unit 11. The input unit 14 includes at least one of a touch screen of a mobile (smartphone) device, a touch screen of an ATM, and a touch screen of a monitor.]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to integrate the drag feature of ‘2876A into the touch surface of Michigami. The motivation would be to provide an alternative as well as user authentication method as enunciated in ‘2876A to deter unauthorized usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHOI et al (US 2016/0302068) [see Fig. 10(b),(c) ¶0196-¶0202, esp. ¶0200]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL S. FELTEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3692
/DANIEL S FELTEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692