DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu et al (WO 2018/231444 A2, hereinafter “Lu”, copy of this reference is included with this action).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a ballistocardiogram sensor comprising: a lower substrate including a support part (par 0044, 0047-0049, supporting PET), a plurality of connection parts (par 0049-0051), and a vertical movement part (par 0012, 0021, 0044-0045 which allows for conformation of the sensor to the skin); a lower electrode on the lower substrate (par 0044); a piezoelectric sensing layer on the lower electrode (par 0038, 0044); and an upper electrode on the piezoelectric sensing layer (pars 0038, 0044), wherein the vertical movement part is spaced apart from the support part with the connection parts therebetween (par 0012, 0021, 0044-0045), the connection parts connect the vertical movement part and the support part (par 0012, 0021, 0044-0045), the piezoelectric sensing layer vertically overlaps the vertical movement part (as shown in figure 1, par 0038, 0044-0045), and the connection parts have a serpentine shape (par 0049-0051).
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses the lower electrode includes: a first contact part on the support part (par 0049-0051); a first connection pattern on the connection part (par 0049-0051); and a capping pattern on the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), wherein the contact part and the capping pattern are spaced apart from each other and connected to the first connection pattern (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), and the first connection pattern vertically overlaps the connection part and has a serpentine shape (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses the upper electrode includes: a second contact part on the support part (pars 0049-0051); a second connection pattern on the connection part (pars 0049-0051); and a crossing pattern on the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), wherein the second connection pattern vertically overlaps the connection part and has a serpentine shape (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses the capping pattern and the crossing pattern contact the piezoelectric sensing layer (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses the first connection pattern and the second connection pattern are spaced apart from each other, and the first contact part and the second contact part contact each other (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses the crossing pattern has a comb shape (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Lu discloses wherein the upper electrode is provided in plurality (pars 0038, 0044), the crossing pattern of one of the upper electrodes includes a first horizontal structure extending in a first direction and first vertical structures extending from the first horizontal structure in a second direction intersecting the first direction (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), and the crossing pattern of other one of the upper electrodes includes a second horizontal structure spaced apart from the first horizontal structure in the second direction and extending in the first direction and second vertical structures extending in the second direction (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), wherein the first vertical structures and the second vertical structures are alternately and repeatedly arranged (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses the upper electrode is provided in plurality (pars 0038, 0044), the crossing patterns of one pair of the upper electrodes are locally arranged in a first region of the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1), and the crossing patterns of other one pair of the upper electrodes are locally arranged in a second region of the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lu discloses the vertical movement part includes thereon a plurality of bump patterns formed integrally (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Lu discloses a height of the bump patterns increases in a direction from a center portion of the vertical movement part to an outer periphery of the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lu discloses a spacing distance between the bump patterns increases in a direction from a center portion of the vertical movement part to an outer periphery of the vertical movement part (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses the bump patterns are arranged in a matrix, spiral, or radial form (par 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lu discloses the vertical movement part has one of polygon shapes in a plan view, and the connection parts are respectively connected to vertices of the polygon (pars 0044, 0049-0051, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lu discloses the piezoelectric sensing layer includes a PVDF-TrFE material (pars 0016, 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Dagdeviren et al (US 2021/0100460 A1, hereinafter “Dagdeviren”).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose the lower substrate includes a polyimide. Dagdeviren is analogous art in regard to known conformable sensing means (abstract). Dagdeviren discloses it was known in the art to include polyimide in conformable sensor constructions (par 0015). Applied to the invention of Lu, the features of Dagdeviren provide means for the lower substrate to include a polyimide as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Dagdeviren in the invention of Lu, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of inclusion of a protective insulative material that allows for flexibility and stretchability in a construction coupled to the skin/body.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 3/21/2026