DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 11/19/2025.
Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0191923; hereinafter Li) in view of Huang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0015141; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1 Li discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, from an access point (AP), a trigger frame to one or more user equipment (UEs), wherein the trigger frame comprises an indication of allocated resource units (RUs) for random access (RA) (paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0128; wherein a trigger frame comprises information related to allocation of RA-RUs and RUs); receiving, at the AP, a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) from the one or more UEs, based on the trigger frame (paragraph 0108; the STA generates and sends a TB PPDU based on the trigger frame and the allocations).
Li fails to explicitly disclose but Huang, in the same field of endeavor related to trigger frames and random access resource unit allocation, discloses wherein the PPDU comprises respective data in sets of RUs for RA that are consecutive in a single frequency segment over a time domain of the PPDU (paragraph 0048; The RU Allocation subfield 412 indicates the first RU of one or more contiguous RA-RUs in a band specified by a Band Indication subfield 414 of the User Info field 410; figs. 3, 5, 8, the RUs for RA are contiguous in a frequency band over a time domain of the PPDU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li with the teachings of Huang, in order to enhance system performance (Huang: paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 2 Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein data in a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is latency-sensitive data from a respective UE that is received at the respective UE after a start of the PPDU (paragraphs 0103, 0108; IEEE 802.11ax – high efficiency WLAN traffic that is believed to meet the latency language, scheduled in a set of unscheduled RUs as in paragraphs 0136, 0139).
Regarding claim 3 Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame comprises: a common information field or bits indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain; or RA-RU information indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain and a frequency domain of the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; RA-RU field).
Regarding claim 4 Li discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the RA-RU information comprises one or two most significant bits (MSBs) indicating a first number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain, and remaining bits indicating a second number of contiguous RUs for RA in a frequency domain of the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; number of RA-RU indicated in the first bits of the field, and more RA-RU indicated by the rest of the field).
Regarding claim 5 Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is separated from preceding data by a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) (paragraph 0108; long and short training fields).
Regarding claim 6 Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for each set of RUs for RA is determined based on a length of the time domain of the PPDU and a number of STFs and LTFs for a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA (paragraphs 0136, 0139, 0143; parameter may be obtained through calculation based on k and n).
Regarding claim 7 Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an initial set of RUs or a last set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain comprises more OFDM symbols than remaining sets of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA (paragraphs 0136, 0139, 0143; parameter may be obtained through calculation based on k and n).
Regarding claim 8 Li discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE), a trigger frame from an access point (AP), wherein the trigger frame comprises an indication of allocated resource units (RUs) for random access (RA) (paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0128; wherein a trigger frame comprises information related to allocation of RA-RUs and RUs); allocating, by the UE, respective data to sets of RUs for RA based on the trigger frame (figure 3, paragraph 0108; the TB PPDU comprises data sent in the RA-RUs and RUs); and transmitting the PPDU from the UE to the AP (paragraph 0108; the STA generates and sends a TB PPDU based on the trigger frame and the allocations).
Li fails to explicitly disclose but Huang, in the same field of endeavor related to trigger frames and random access resource unit allocation, discloses wherein the PPDU comprises respective data in sets of RUs for RA that are consecutive in a single frequency segment over a time domain of the PPDU (paragraph 0048; The RU Allocation subfield 412 indicates the first RU of one or more contiguous RA-RUs in a band specified by a Band Indication subfield 414 of the User Info field 410; figs. 3, 5, 8, the RUs for RA are contiguous in a frequency band over a time domain of the PPDU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li with the teachings of Huang, in order to enhance system performance (Huang: paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 9 Li discloses the method of claim 8, wherein data in a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is latency-sensitive data received at the UE after a start of the PPDU (paragraphs 0103, 0108; IEEE 802.11ax – high efficiency WLAN traffic that is believed to meet the latency language, scheduled in a set of unscheduled RUs as in paragraphs 0136, 0139).
Regarding claim 10 Li discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the trigger frame comprises: a common information field or bits indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain; or RA-RU information indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain and a frequency domain the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; RA-RU field).
Regarding claim 11 Li discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the RA-RU information comprises one or two most significant bits (MSBs) indicating a first number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain, and remaining bits indicating a second number of contiguous RUs for RA in a frequency domain of the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; number of RA-RU indicated in the first bits of the field, and more RA-RU indicated by the rest of the field).
Regarding claim 12 Li discloses the method of claim 8, wherein a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is separated from preceding data by a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) (paragraph 0108; long and short training fields).
Regarding claim 13 Li discloses the method of claim 8, wherein a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for each set of RUs for RA is determined based on a length of the time domain of the PPDU and a number of STFs and LTFs for a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA (paragraphs 0136, 0139, 0143; parameter may be obtained through calculation based on k and n).
Regarding claim 14 Li discloses the method of claim 8, wherein an initial set of RUs or a last set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain comprises more OFDM symbols than remaining sets of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA (paragraphs 0136, 0139, 0143; parameter may be obtained through calculation based on k and n).
Regarding claim 15 Li discloses a user equipment (UE) (figure 4) comprising:
a processor (processor 401, 405); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed (memory 402), cause the processor to:
receive a trigger frame, from an access point (AP), wherein the trigger frame comprises an indication of allocated resource units (RUs) for random access (RA) (figure 3, paragraph 0108; the TB PPDU comprises data sent in the RA-RUs and RUs).
Li fails to explicitly disclose but Huang, in the same field of endeavor related to trigger frames and random access resource unit allocation, discloses wherein the PPDU comprises respective data in sets of RUs for RA that are consecutive in a single frequency segment over a time domain of the PPDU (paragraph 0048; The RU Allocation subfield 412 indicates the first RU of one or more contiguous RA-RUs in a band specified by a Band Indication subfield 414 of the User Info field 410; figs. 3, 5, 8, the RUs for RA are contiguous in a frequency band over a time domain of the PPDU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li with the teachings of Huang, in order to enhance system performance (Huang: paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 16 Li discloses the UE of claim 15, wherein data in a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is latency-sensitive data received at the UE after a start of the PPDU (paragraphs 0103, 0108; IEEE 802.11ax – high efficiency WLAN traffic that is believed to meet the latency language, scheduled in a set of unscheduled RUs as in paragraphs 0136, 0139).
Regarding claim 17 Li discloses the UE of claim 15, wherein the trigger frame comprises: a common information field or bits indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain; or RA-RU information indicating a number of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain and a frequency domain the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; RA-RU field).
Regarding claim 18 Li discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the RA-RU information comprises one or two most significant bits (MSBs) indicating a first number of the sets of RUs for RA over the time domain, and remaining bits indicating a second number of contiguous RUs for RA in a frequency domain of the PPDU (fig. 2(c), paragraphs 0123, 0165; number of RA-RU indicated in the first bits of the field, and more RA-RU indicated by the rest of the field).
Regarding claim 19 Li discloses the UE of claim 18, wherein a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA is separated from preceding data by a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) (paragraph 0108; long and short training fields).
Regarding claim 20 Li discloses the UE of claim 15, wherein: a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for each set of RUs for RA is determined based on a length of the time domain of the PPDU and a number of STFs and LTFs for a non-initial set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA; or an initial set of RUs or a last set of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA in the time domain comprises more OFDM symbols than remaining sets of RUs of the sets of RUs for RA (paragraphs 0136, 0139, 0143; parameter may be obtained through calculation based on k and n).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2021/0120589 to Tu et al. – which discloses a resource allocation method and a resource allocation system, and more particularly, a resource allocation method and a resource allocation system with low hardware complexity and high operating performance.
US Patent Application Publication 2024/0155697 to Ding et al. – that discloses multiple structures and methods to enable enhanced random access of access point (AP) controlled resources in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to reduce collisions and increase throughput and efficiency, particularly in high density WLAN environments.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466