DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the 112(f) interpretation and the objection to the title are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (US 2021/0029265) in view of Ouchi (US 2017/0346987) further in view of Ngata (US 201/0134495).
Regarding Claim 1, Asano teaches an optical device (Paragraph 2) comprising:
an upper housing that restricts part of reflected light from a target object (Paragraphs 52-54, wherein there is a light-shielding wall),
wherein the upper housing comprises resin (Paragraph 54, wherein the light shielding wall comprises resin),
wherein the upper housing has a hole, the hole extending through the upper housing in the propagation direction (Paragraph 58, wherein there is a light-shielding wall that has holes that allow some of the light to be inhibited. This is further shown in figures 6 and 7).
Asano does not teach wherein the upper housing has a slit, the slit extending in a first direction crossing a propagation direction of the reflected light and formed at an upstream end in the propagation direction;
at least one lens array configured to transmit the reflected light that has passed through the slit;
a lower housing that holds the at least one lens array, and that is configured to contact with part of an inner circumferential surface of the hole to correct a width of the opening.
Ouchi does teach wherein the upper housing has a slit, the slit extending in a first direction crossing a propagation direction of the reflected light and formed at an upstream end in the propagation direction (Paragraph 22, wherein there is a slit for allowing reflected light to pass);
at least one lens array configured to transmit the reflected light that has passed through the slit (Paragraphs 25 and 27, wherein the reflection mirror array transmits the light).
Asano and Ouchi are combinable because they both deal with processing light for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Asano with the teachings of Ouchi for the purpose of better preserving the scanned image (Ouchi: Paragraph 62).
Asano in view of Ouchi does not teach a lower housing that holds the at least one lens array, and that comes into contact with part of an inner circumferential surface of the hole to correct a width of the opening.
Nagata does teach a lower housing that holds the at least one lens array, and that comes into contact with part of an inner circumferential surface of the hole to correct a width of the opening (Paragraphs 95 and 106, wherein the angle of inclination can be corrected. This is with respect to the lens array as shown in fig. 11).
Asano and Nagata are combinable because they both deal with processing light for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Asano in view of Ouchi with the teachings of Nagata for the purpose of assisting in reducing flare noise (Nagata: Paragraphs 10 and 11).
Regarding Claim 2, Asano further teaches wherein, of the inner circumferential surface of the hole of the upper housing, at least a portion irradiated with the reflected light is black or embossed (Paragraph 54, wherein the wall comprises black).
Regarding Claim 3, Asano further teaches wherein an upward surface facing upstream in the propagation direction is formed at a peripheral portion of the slit of the upper housing (Paragraph 58, wherein there are surfaces are in regards to the optical-axis holes. This would be in relation to the slit of Ouchi) , and
wherein the upward surface is black or embossed (Paragraph 58, wherein the surface is black).
Regarding Claim 10, Asano further teaches an image reading unit (Paragraph 39, wherein the document can be read), comprising:
the optical device according to claim 1; and
a glass plate configured to receive a document having an image that is to be read by the optical device (Paragraph 38 and 39, wherein there is a glass platen).
Regarding Claim 11, Asano further teaches an image reading unit (Paragraph 39, wherein the document can be read), comprising:
the optical device according to claim 2; and
a glass plate configured to receive a document having an image that is to be read by the optical device (Paragraph 38 and 39, wherein there is a glass platen).
Regarding Claim 12, Asano further teaches an image reading unit (Paragraph 39, wherein the document can be read), comprising:
the optical device according to claim 3; and
a glass plate configured to receive a document having an image that is to be read by the optical device (Paragraph 38 and 39, wherein there is a glass platen).
Regarding Claim 19, Asano teaches an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 2), comprising:
the image reading unit according to claim 10; and
a transfer device configured to transfer an image read by the optical device of the image reading unit to a recording medium (Paragraph 27, wherein the read image data is printed accordingly).
Regarding Claim 20, Asano teaches an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 2), comprising:
the image reading unit according to claim 11; and
a transfer device configured to transfer an image read by the optical device of the image reading unit to a recording medium (Paragraph 27, wherein the read image data is printed accordingly).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699