DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhuo et al. US 20250106590.
Regarding claim 1, A method performed by a node (parent node base station Figure 6, element 610A, para. 0087) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a system information block associated with a cell, the system information block including first information indicating support for a mobile integrated access and backhaul (IAB) (system information block is broadcast by parent node in cell, para. 0087, when indication in SIB indicates that the parent node is a BS, the mobile wireless network node accesses the parent node, para. 0088); receiving from a first mobile IAB node, a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message including a mobile IAB node indication (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620, para. 0085, performs a random access procedure with base station, element 610A, and transmits an RRC setup complete message in response to a successful random access procedure indicating the mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node, para, 0104); and transmitting, to a target node, a handover request message including second information indicating that a handover for the first mobile IAB node is associated with a mobile IAB node (base station, element 610A, transmits, a handover request message, Figure 6, element 661, to base station, element 610B, to hand over mobile wireless network node, the handover request message indicates a mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node 620, para. 0107), wherein the first information indicates that the cell transmitting the system information block is considered as a candidate for a cell selection or a cell reselection for the mobile IAB node (indication in system information block indicates whether the cell is considered as a candidate for cell (re) selection for a mobile wireless network node or not, para. 0089).
Regarding claim 5, A method performed by a first mobile integrated access and
backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless communication system (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620), the method comprising:
receiving, from a node, a system information block associated with a cell, the system
information block including first information indicating support for a mobile IAB (system information block is broadcast by parent node in cell, para. 0087, when indication in SIB indicates that the parent node is a BS, the mobile wireless network node accesses the parent node, para. 0088); transmitting, to the node, a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message including a mobile IAB node indication (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620, para. 0085, performs a random access procedure with base station, element 610A, and transmits an RRC setup complete message in response to a successful random access procedure indicating the mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node, para, 0104); wherein a handover for the first mobile IAB node is determined, wherein a handover request message including second information indicating that a handover is associated with a mobile IAB node is transmitted from the node to a target node (base station, element 610A, transmits, a handover request message, Figure 6, element 661, to base station, element 610B, to hand over mobile wireless network node, the handover request message indicates a mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node 620, para. 0107), and wherein the first information indicates that the cell is considered as a candidate for a cell selection or a cell reselection for the mobile IAB node (indication in system information block indicates whether the cell is considered as a candidate for cell (re) selection for a mobile wireless network node or not, para. 0089).
Regarding claim 8, A node (base station, element 610A) in a wireless communication system, the first node comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, a system information block associated with a cell, the system information block including first information indicating support for a mobile integrated access and backhaul (IAB) (system information block is broadcast by parent node in cell, para. 0087, that includes an indication that the cell is located in an IAB-donor distributed unit, and if the indication is not provided, that suggests that the cell is not located in a BS, and the mobile wireless network node may not access the parent node, para. 0088), receive, from a first mobile IAB node via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message including a mobile IAB node indication (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620, para. 0085, performs a random access procedure with base station, element 610A, and transmits to the base station an RRC setup complete message in response to a successful random access procedure indicating the mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node, para, 0104), and transmit, to a target node via the transceiver, a handover request message including second information indicating that a handover for the first mobile IAB node is associated with a mobile IAB node (base station, element 610A, transmits, a handover request message, Figure 6, element 661, to base station, element 610B, to hand over mobile wireless network node, the handover request message indicates a mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node 620, para. 0107) wherein the first information indicates that the cell is considered as a candidate for a cell selection or a cell reselection for the mobile IAB node (indication in system information block indicates whether the cell is considered as a candidate for cell (re) selection for a mobile wireless network node or not, para. 0089).
Regarding claim 12, A first mobile integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless communication system (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620), the first mobile IAB node comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to: receive, from a node via the transceiver, a system information block associated with a cell, the system information block including first information, indicating support for a mobile IAB node (system information block is broadcast by parent node in cell, para. 0087, when indication in SIB indicates that the parent node is a BS, the mobile wireless network node accesses the parent node, para. 0088), and transmit, to the node via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message including a mobile IAB node indication (mobile wireless network node being a mobile IAB node, Figure 6, element 620, para. 0085, performs a random access procedure with base station, element 610A, and transmits an RRC setup complete message in response to a successful random access procedure indicating the mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node, para, 0104), wherein a handover for the first mobile IAB node is determined, wherein a handover request message including second information indicating that a handover is associated with a mobile IAB node is transmitted from the node to a target node (base station, element 610A, transmits, a handover request message, Figure 6, element 661, to base station, element 610B, to hand over mobile wireless network node, the handover request message indicates a mobile attribute of mobile wireless network node 620, para. 0107), and wherein the first information indicates that the cell is considered as a candidate for a cell selection or a cell reselection for the mobile IAB node (indication in system information block indicates whether the cell is considered as a candidate for cell (re) selection for a mobile wireless network node or not, para. 0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo in view of Akl et al. US 20230269656.
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, Zhuo discloses a mobile IAB node may connect to an IAB donor by performing at least one of the following: an RRC connection setup procedure with the centralized unit of the IAB donor, para. 0093.
Zhou does not expressly disclose receiving, from the first mobile IAB node, an RRC setup request message for establishing an RRC connection; and transmitting, to the first mobile IAB node, an RRC setup message based on the RRC setup request message.
Aki discloses an IAB node and an IAB donor node perform an RRC setup procedure and transmit, to the IAB network, a request for authorization to perform the IAB operation including an indication of the IAB node and the IAB network determines whether the IAB node is authorized based on a subscription of the IAB node, para. 0102. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Zhuo to include Aki’s RRC connection setup request and subsequent setup. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to efficiently connect to the IAB network, and mitigate lack of flexibility for mobile operations, inefficient use of resources, higher power consumption, para. 0053.
Claims 6, 9, and 13 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lagrange et al. US 20260247237.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 1, Zhou discloses a system information block is broadcast by parent node in cell, para. 0087, that includes an indication that the cell is located in an IAB-donor distributed unit, and if the indication is not provided, that suggests that the cell is not located in a BS, and the mobile wireless network node may not access the parent node, para. 0088.
Zhou does not expressly disclose transmitting, to the first mobile IAB node, a message including third information indicating that mobile IAB node support is disabled, wherein broadcasting the first information indicating support for the mobile IAB is stopped.
Lagrange et al. discloses an IAB donor node determine to disable network connectivity support when the IAB node is a mobile IAB node or when the IAB node is a mobile IAB node with a mobility capability and/or current mobility status that is likely to cause connection issues and an IAB donor decides to disable the presence of the iab-support information in the mobility information message by sending an iab support configuration message to the mobile IAB node.
Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Zhou’s system information block indicating a mobile IAB can access a cell located in IAB donor unit to include Lagrange’s messaging after determining of network connectivity support and subsequent disabling of IAB support to the mobile IAB node. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so to benefit from the extra connectivity resulting from a mobile IAB node in the topology while mitigating the connectivity impact, para. 0010.
Claims 7, 11, 14 are rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Byun et al. US 20260052453 discloses initiating an integration procedure with a mobile IAB-node and performing an IAB-MT setup procedure with the mobile IAB-node and performing a backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channel establishment with the mobile IAB-node.
Teyeb et al. US 20230247495 discloses a target Central Unit (CU) performing a handover of a migrating node from source CU and source Distributed Unit (DU) to the target CU and a target DU and transmitting to the target DU a first handover command for at least one child node of the migrating node being handed over.
/MELANIE JAGANNATHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468