DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 of H. Li et al., US 18/364,146 (Aug. 22, 2023) are pending. Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-19, to non-elected inventions of Groups (I), (II) and (IV) are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Claims 8, 9, and 11 are under examination on the merits. Claim 8 is in condition for allowance. Claims 9 and 11 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group (III), without traverse in the Reply to Restriction Requirement filed on September 14, 2026.
Group (III) Claim 8, 9 and 11 drawn to a method for preparing a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative.
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-19, to non-elected inventions of Groups (I), (II) and (IV) are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). The restriction/election requirement is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
§ 102(a)(1)/(2) Rejection over M. Carraro et al., 45 Dalton Transactions, 14544-14548 (2016) (“Carraro”)
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by M. Carraro et al., 45 Dalton Transactions, 14544-14548 (2016) (“Carraro”).
(i) Rejection of Claim 9
The invention of base claim 8 (and the meaning of the claim 9 terms) is discussed in detail below in Subject Matter Free of the Art of Record.
Claim 9 (dependent upon claim 8) recites the following bolded product-by-process language:
9. A fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative prepared by the method according to claim 8, comprising
an anionic cluster moiety and a counter cationic moiety,
wherein the anionic cluster moiety comprises a lacunary polyoxometalate cluster and a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted onto the lacunary polyoxometalate cluster; and
the counter cationic moiety comprises one selected from the group consisting of potassium ion, hydrogen ion, sodium ion, tetrabutylammonium bromide ion and dioctadecyldimethylammonium bromide ion.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP § 2113(I). The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP § 2113(I). If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP § 2113(I) (citing In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). However, the structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art. MPEP § 2113(I).
Carraro teaches fluorophilic polyoxotungstates perform the selective epoxidations of internal and terminal double bonds by hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) activation in 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoro-2-propanol (HFIP), under mild temperature conditions Carraro at Abstract. Carraro teaches synthesis of polyoxometalate fluoroalkyl hybrid complexes by reaction of the lacunary POM precursors with organosilyl chlorides (RfSiCl3, where Rf corresponds to –(CH2)2(CF2)7CF3).
For example, Carraro teaches synthesis of complex 1, (nBu4N)4[α-SiW11O39{CF3(CF2)7(CH2)2Si}2O], as summarized by the Examiner below:
Note that Carraro’s above synthesis differs from instant withdrawn claim 1 only in that a trichlorofluoroalkyl silane was employed, whereas claim 1 requires a fluoroalkyl trimethoxysilane.
Specification working Example 3 (an example of the base claim 8 ion-exchange method) is summarized by the Examiner below for comparison to Carraro’s process.
Specification at page 12, [0083]-[0084]/
Carraro’s process to prepare complex (1) does not involve the claim 8 ion exchange steps (per above-summarized specification Example 3). However, the claim 8 process does not impart any structure to the claim 9 “fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative” that can differentiate the claim 9 product from Carraro complex (1). MPEP § 2113(I). And Carraro complex (1) meets every claim 9 chemical structure limitation, where the counter cationic moiety comprises tetrabutylammonium bromide. As such, product-by-process claim 9 is anticipated by Carraro complex (1). MPEP § 2113(I).
(ii) Rejection of Claim 11
Method claim 11, dependent upon claim 9 recites, recites the single step of “using” the claim 9 product:
11. A method for preparing a proton exchange membrane or a surfactant, comprising using the fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative according to claim 9.
The single step of “using the fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative according to claim 9” is a clear method step. See MPEP § 2173.05(q) (discussing Ex parte Porter, 25 USPQ2d 1144 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992), where the Board held that a claim which clearly recited the step of "utilizing" was not indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph); Ex parte Porter, 25 USPQ2d 1147 (“[c]ontrary to the examiner's assertion that claim 6 has no method step, the claim clearly recites the step of ‘utilizing’”).1
With respect to “using”, The specification teaches that, “in some embodiments”, the hydrogen-type fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster is useful in a proton exchange membrane, by mixing with a solution of a perfluorosulfonic acid membrane [e.g., Nafion], and then the resulting mixture is cast to form a membrane to obtain a hydrogen-type fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster hybrid perfluorosulfonic acid membrane, which is used in a proton exchange membrane in a fuel cell. Specification at page 9, [0064]; see also, G. He et al., 27 Advanced Materials, 5280-5295 (2015) (at page 5280 teaching that the ion-exchange membrane (IEM) is a critical efficiency-determining component of polymer electrolyte fuel cells (PEFCs).
(iia) The Claim 11 Preamble Is Not Interpreted as a Claim Limitation
The claim 11 preamble “[a] method for preparing a proton exchange membrane or a surfactant” is not interpreted as a claim limitation that can differentiate over Carraro, because the claim 11 body fully sets forth all of the limitations, and the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. MPEP § 2112.02(II) (citing Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997).2
(iib) Carraro Meets Every Claim 11 Limitation
Carraro teaches that in using complex (1), CF3CH(OH)CF3 (0.6 ml), polyoxometalate (POM) (0.8 μmol) and the substrate (0.5 mmol) were mixed, and 0.1 mmol of hydrogen peroxide (35 or 70% aqueous solutions were used) was added, in a closed glass reactor. Carraro at Supplementary page 3. Carraro thus meets the claim 11 limitation of “using the fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative according to claim 9”. In this regard, the plain meaning of claim 11 step of “using”, is very broad and reads, for example, on any physical manipulation of Carraro complex (1); for instance, the mere transfer of Carraro complex (1) to a reaction vessel reads on the step of “using”.
Subject Matter Free of the Art of Record
Claim 8 is free of the art of record. The Closest Art of Record is M. Carraro et al., 45 Dalton Transactions, 14544-14548 (2016) (“Carraro”).
The Claimed Invention
Independent claim 8 is directed to a one-step method for preparing a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative comprising mixing a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster with a counter reagent, where per claim 8,
Claim 8 . . . the fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster comprises a lacunary polyoxometalate cluster and
a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted onto the lacunary polyoxometalate cluster . . .
Per the specification, the “counter reagent” exchanges the starting fluorine-containing polyoxometalate cluster counter ions to give “a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative containing different counter ions”. Specification at page 3, [0018].
As background, polyoxometalates (POMs) are anionic metal oxide clusters of Mo, W, V and Nb and have applications in catalysis and other fields. H. Miras et al., 41 Chemical Society Reviews, 7403-7430 (2012) (“Miras”); J. Borrás-Almenar et al., Polyoxometalate Molecular Science, 1-78 (2001) (see page 4) (Borrás-Almenar”). A lacunary polyoxometalate is where one or more [MOx] units are removed from the plenary structure to form a defect so as to possess a vacant, reactive sites for metal atoms or organic ligands. C. Li et al., 60 Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 6960-6964 (2021) (see page 6960) (“Li”). Lacunary POMs are key precursors of functional polyoxometalates, that is, by introducing metal species or organic ligands into their vacant/defect sites, a vast diversity of structures with fascinating properties have been constructed. Li at page 6960, col. 1. Lacunary polyoxometalates are synthesized by controlling the equilibrium in aqueous solvents through empirical control of pH, concentration, temperature, and/or reagent mixing ratio. Li at page 6960, col. 1); see also, P. Gouzerh et al., 98 Chemical Reviews, 77-111 (1998) (see page 92, col. 2); M. da Silva et al., 148 Catalyst Letters, 2516-2527 (2018).
Claim 8 is exemplified by specification working Examples 2 and 3, which are summarized by the Examiner below, where the potassium ion of the staring lacunary K4[SiW11O39(SiC2H4(C2F4)2)2O polyoxometalate is exchanged with hydrogen and the resulting hydrogen species exchanged with TBA. Specification at pages 11-12 (Examples 2 and 3).
Specification at pages 11-12 (Examples 2 and 3).
The starting K4[SiW11O39(SiC2H4(C2F4)2)2O (as used in Examples 2 and 3) is prepared in specification Example 1 as follows. Specification at page 11, [0078].
Specification at page 11, [0078].
The specification teaches the hydrogen-type fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster is useful in a proton exchange membrane, by mixing with a solution of a perfluorosulfonic acid membrane [e.g., Nafion], and then the resulting mixture is cast to form a membrane to obtain a hydrogen-type fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster hybrid perfluorosulfonic acid membrane, which is used in a proton exchange membrane in a fuel cell. Specification at page 9, [0064]; see also, G. He et al., 27 Advanced Materials, 5280-5295 (2015) ( at page 5280 teaching that the ion-exchange membrane (IEM) is a critical efficiency-determining component of polymer electrolyte fuel cells (PEFCs).
M. Carraro et al., 45 Dalton Transactions, 14544-14548 (2016) (“Carraro”)
Carraro teaches fluorophilic polyoxotungstates perform the selective epoxidations of internal and terminal double bonds by hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) activation in 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoro-2-propanol (HFIP), under mild temperature conditions Carraro at Abstract.
Carraro teaches synthesis of polyoxometalate fluoroalkyl hybrid complexes by reaction of the lacunary POM precursors with organosilyl chlorides (RfSiCl3, where Rf corresponds to –(CH2)2(CF2)7CF3); for example, complex 1, (nBu4N)4[α-SiW11O39{CF3(CF2)7(CH2)2Si}2O], as summarized by the Examiner below:
Carraro at Supplementary pages 2-4; Carraro at page 14545, col. 1, Fig. 1.
Differences between Claim 8 and Carraro
It is first noted (as pointed out in the Examiner’s scheme above) that Carraro’s complex (1) meets the claim 8 limitation of
Claim 8 . . . a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate
. . .
wherein: the fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster comprises a lacunary polyoxometalate cluster and
a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted onto the lacunary polyoxometalate cluster . . .
However, instant claim 8 differs from Carraro’s synthesis of (nBu4N)4[α-SiW11O39{CF3(CF2)7(CH2)2Si}2O] in that Carraro does not teach the claim 8 step of:
Claim 8 . . . mixing a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster with a counter reagent to obtain a second mixture; and
subjecting the second mixture to replacement to obtain a fluorine-containing organic chain grafted polyoxometalate cluster derivative containing different counter ions . . .
Claim 8 Is Not Obvious in View of Carraro
Carraro does not teach or suggest treating the polyoxometalate fluoroalkyl hybrid complexes (e.g., complex 1, (nBu4N)4[α-SiW11O39{CF3(CF2)7(CH2)2Si}2O]) with a “counter regent” to exchange the counter ion (e.g., (nBu4N)4) with another to obtain the complex having a different counterion. In this regard, Carraro is directed to a different application (use of the complexes as catalysts), whereas the instant specification teaches application in proton exchange membranes for use in batteries/fuel cells. Specification at page 9, [0064]. Neither Carraro nor secondary art teaches that Carraro’s polyoxometalate fluoroalkyl hybrid complexes have application in exchange membranes.
Conclusion
ALEXANDER R. PAGANO
Examiner
Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692
1 Note however, that attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). MPEP § 2173.05(q). For example, a claim reciting the preamble: "[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. MPEP § 2173.05(q) (citing Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
2 As a general rule preamble language is not treated as limiting. Arctic Cat Inc. v. GEP Power Prods., Inc., 919 F.3d 1320, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2019). Exceptions arise where, for example, the preamble (1) recites essential structure or steps; (2) provides antecedent basis for terms in the claim body; or (3) was relied on during prosecution to distinguish the claimed invention from prior art. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Cool savings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808 (Fed. Cir. 2002). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP § 2112.02(II) (citing Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")).