DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 1 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 16 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 16 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 16 refers to a first thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the second thermally conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that Claim 16 refers to a second thermally “conducting” layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler et al. (DE 102019202528, provided by Applicant in the 11/15/24 IDS and using Applicant’s provided machine translation for citation purposes), and further in view of Hu et al. (CN 102117945, provided by Applicant in the 11/15/24 IDS and using Applicant’s provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Hauler teaches a battery device (“battery module”). As illustrated in Figure 1, Hauler teaches that the device comprises at least two electrochemical cells (“C battery cells” where “C” is 2), wherein each of the electrochemical cells comprises a housing and terminals (104) extending from the housing ([0089]). As illustrated in Figure 1, Hauler teaches that the device comprises at least one heat conducting element (114) (“T thermal interlayer devices” where “T” is 1) which comprises a first heat-conducting layer element (120, left) (“first thermally conducting layer in thermal communication with a first one of the C battery cells”), a second heat-conducting layer element (120, right) (“second thermally conducting layer in thermal communication with a second one of the C battery cells”), and a heat-insulating layer element (118) between said first and second heat-conducting layer elements (“thermally resistant layer arranged between the first thermally conducting layer and the second thermally conducting layer”) ([0102]). As illustrated in Figure 1, Haulter teaches that the device further comprises a cooling element such as a cooling plate (133) (“cooling manifold”) in thermal communication with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements ([0127]-[0129]).
Hauler does not explicitly teach that the device comprises more than one heat conducting element (i.e. Hauler does not explicitly teach “T” being an integer greater than one).
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the provision of such multiple unit cells and plurality of composite heat conductive plates helps provide for sufficient voltage and capacity characteristics when the system is used in the context of a vehicle battery while helping prevent thermal runaway and improving safety characteristics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would construct the battery device of Hauler such that it comprises a plurality of the electrochemical cells and a plurality of the heat conducting elements, as taught by Hu, given that the provision of such plurality of cells and elements would help provide for increased voltage and/or capacity characteristics while still helping prevent thermal runaway and improving safety characteristics.
Regarding Claim 2, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 6, Hauler teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the cooling plate is in direct contact (“direct thermal communication”) with the electrochemical cells. Alternatively, and as illustrated in Figure 7, Hauler teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the cooling plate is in direct contact (“direct thermal communication”) with the electrochemical cells via the terminals.
Regarding Claim 3, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 1 of Hauler, the heat conducting elements are arranged between adjacent pairs of the electrochemical cells.
Regarding Claim 4, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the heat conducting elements are arranged in the instantly claimed manner.
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (302) ([0084]). As illustrated in Figure 3B, the composite heat conductive plates are arranged between every 2nd unit cell in the system ([0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the battery device of Hauler, as modified by Hu, arrange the heat conducting elements between at least every 2nd electrochemical cell in the device (“between every Nth one of the C battery cells” where “N” is 2), as taught by Hu, based on desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics in the overall device (all of which would be affected by the number and positioning of the heat conducting elements).
Regarding Claim 5, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 1 of Hauler, the cooling plate is arranged along an end of the electrochemical cells opposite to an end of said cells including the terminals.
Regarding Claim 6, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 7, Hauler teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the cooling plate is arranged along an end of the electrochemical cells including the terminals.
Regarding Claim 7, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 1 of Hauler, the first heat-conducting layer element, the second heat-conducting element, and the heat-insulating layer element each extend fully along side surfaces of the electrochemical cells. Alternatively, and as illustrated in Figure 6, Haulter teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the first heat-conducting layer element, the second heat-conducting element, and the heat-insulating layer element each extend fully along side surfaces of the electrochemical cells.
Regarding Claim 9, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 1 of Hauler, the first and second heat-conducting layer elements extend around ends of the electrochemical cells between the cooling plate and said ends. Alternatively, and as illustrated in Figures 2-5, 7, Hauler teaches embodiments of the device wherein the first and second heat-conducting layer elements extend around ends of the electrochemical cells between the cooling plate and said ends.
Regarding Claim 10, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 7, Hauler teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the first and second heat-conducting layer elements extend around ends of the electrochemical cells (i.e. the top end of each electrochemical cell) and the terminals (i.e. the ends of the terminals which directly contact the bent edge portion of each heat-conducting element) between the cooling plate and said ends.
Regarding Claim 11, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 2 (and the annotated Figure 2 below), Hauler teaches an embodiment of the device wherein the first and second heat-conducting layer elements extend partially along “side surfaces” of the electrochemical cells, wherein said extension is only partial due to the presence of an interruption (138) in the heat-conducting layer elements (it is noted that nothing in the instant Claim precludes the indicated surfaces of Hauler from being interpreted as “side surfaces”).
Regarding Claim 12, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Furthermore, Hauler teaches that the first and second heat-conducting layer elements are made of a material such a graphite material (“graphite”), metal foils (“metal”), and plastic foils with integrated metal particles (“thermal conducting polymer”) ([0033]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the first and second heat-conducting layer elements have a thickness in accordance with the claimed range.
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the composite heat conductive plate has a thickness of 0.05-2.0 cm, wherein heat conductive layer(s) account for 3-70% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat conductive layer(s) have a thickness of .0015-1.4 cm), and wherein a heat insulating layer accounts for 30-97% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat insulating layer has a thickness of .015-1.94 cm) ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the heat conducting elements of Hauler, as modified by Hu, form the heat conducting elements with an overall thickness of .05-2.0 cm with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements having a total thickness of .0015-1.4 cm (such that each layer has an individual thickness of .0075-0.7 cm) and with the heat-insulating layer element with a total thickness of .015-1.94 cm, as taught by Hu, based desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics (all of which would be affected by at least the thickness characteristics of the heat conducting elements). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 14, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Furthermore, Hauler teaches that the heat-insulating layer element is made of a material such as mica, asbestos, silicate fiber (“made,” at least in part, of “silica, silicon”) ([0038]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the heat-insulating layer element has a thickness in accordance with the claimed range.
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the composite heat conductive plate has a thickness of 0.05-2.0 cm, wherein heat conductive layer(s) account for 3-70% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat conductive layer(s) have a thickness of .0015-1.4 cm), and wherein a heat insulating layer accounts for 30-97% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat insulating layer has a thickness of .015-1.94 cm) ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the heat conducting elements of Hauler, as modified by Hu, form the heat conducting elements with an overall thickness of .05-2.0 cm with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements having a total thickness of .0015-1.4 cm (such that each layer has an individual thickness of .0075-0.7 cm) and with the heat-insulating layer element with a total thickness of .015-1.94 cm, as taught by Hu, based desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics (all of which would be affected by at least the thickness characteristics of the heat conducting elements). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 16, Hauler teaches a battery device. As illustrated in Figure 1, Hauler teaches that the device comprises at least two electrochemical cells, wherein each of the electrochemical cells comprises a housing and terminals (104) extending from the housing ([0089]). As illustrated in Figure 1, Hauler teaches that the device comprises at least one heat conducting element (114) (“T thermal interlayer devices” where “T” is 1) which comprises a first heat-conducting layer element (120, left) (“first thermally conducting layer”), a second heat-conducting layer element (120, right) (“second thermally conducting layer”), and a heat-insulating layer element (118) between said first and second heat-conducting layer elements (“thermally resistant layer arranged between the first thermally conducting layer and the second thermally conducting layer”) ([0102]). As illustrated in Figure 1, Haulter teaches that the device further comprises a cooling element such as a cooling plate (133) (“cooling manifold”) in thermal communication with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements ([0127]-[0129]).
Hauler does not explicitly teach that the device comprises more than one heat conducting element (i.e. Hauler does not explicitly teach “T” being an integer greater than one).
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the provision of such multiple unit cells and plurality of composite heat conductive plates helps provide for sufficient voltage and capacity characteristics when the system is used in the context of a vehicle battery while helping prevent thermal runaway and improving safety characteristics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would construct the battery device of Hauler such that it comprises a plurality of the electrochemical cells and a plurality of the heat conducting elements, as taught by Hu, given that the provision of such plurality of cells and elements would help provide for increased voltage and/or capacity characteristics while still helping prevent thermal runaway and improving safety characteristics.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach the device as a battery pack comprising M battery modules as instantly claimed.
However, and as illustrated in Figure 18, Hu further teaches that that the thermal dissipation structure may be formed instead as a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules each comprising the plurality of composite heat conductive plates and plurality of unit cells therein, wherein the battery modules are also thermally interconnected/isolated from one another in the same manner as said composite heat conductive plates and plurality of unit cells ([0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would construct the device of Hauler, as modified by Hu, as a battery pack comprising battery modules as instantly claimed (i.e. thermally interconnect/isolate the battery modules from one another in the same manner as the heat conducting elements and plurality of electrochemical cells), as taught by Hu, in order to provide for a system with increased overall power capability.
Regarding Claim 17, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 16, as previously described.
Furthermore, Hauler teaches that the first and second heat-conducting layer elements are made of a material such a graphite material (“graphite”), metal foils (“metal”), and plastic foils with integrated metal particles (“thermal conducting polymer”) ([0033]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 16, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the first and second heat-conducting layer elements have a thickness in accordance with the claimed range.
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the composite heat conductive plate has a thickness of 0.05-2.0 cm, wherein heat conductive layer(s) account for 3-70% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat conductive layer(s) have a thickness of .0015-1.4 cm), and wherein a heat insulating layer accounts for 30-97% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat insulating layer has a thickness of .015-1.94 cm) ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the heat conducting elements of Hauler, as modified by Hu, form the heat conducting elements with an overall thickness of .05-2.0 cm with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements having a total thickness of .0015-1.4 cm (such that each layer has an individual thickness of .0075-0.7 cm) and with the heat-insulating layer element with a total thickness of .015-1.94 cm, as taught by Hu, based desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics (all of which would be affected by at least the thickness characteristics of the heat conducting elements). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 19, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 16, as previously described.
Furthermore, Hauler teaches that the heat-insulating layer element is made of a material such as mica, asbestos, silicate fiber (“made,” at least in part, of “silica, silicon”) ([0038]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 16, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the heat-insulating layer element has a thickness in accordance with the claimed range.
However, Hu teaches a thermal dissipation structure for a battery cell system (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 2, 3B, Hu teaches that the thermal dissipation structure comprises a plurality of composite heat conductive plates (210, 320) interposed between a plurality of unit cells (202, 302) ([0070], [0084]). Hu teaches that the composite heat conductive plate has a thickness of 0.05-2.0 cm, wherein heat conductive layer(s) account for 3-70% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat conductive layer(s) have a thickness of .0015-1.4 cm), and wherein a heat insulating layer accounts for 30-97% of the total thickness (i.e. the heat insulating layer has a thickness of .015-1.94 cm) ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the heat conducting elements of Hauler, as modified by Hu, form the heat conducting elements with an overall thickness of .05-2.0 cm with the first and second heat-conducting layer elements having a total thickness of .0015-1.4 cm (such that each layer has an individual thickness of .0075-0.7 cm) and with the heat-insulating layer element with a total thickness of .015-1.94 cm, as taught by Hu, based on desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics (all of which would be affected by at least the thickness characteristics of the heat conducting elements). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler et al. (DE 102019202528, provided by Applicant in the 11/15/24 IDS and using Applicant’s provided machine translation for citation purposes), and further in view of Hu et al. (CN 102117945, provided by Applicant in the 11/15/24 IDS and using Applicant’s provided machine translation for citation purposes) and Pilz et al. (CN 111146368, using the provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 8, Hauler, as modified by Hu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Hauler, as modified by Hu, does not explicitly teach that the first and second heat-conducting layer elements and the heat-insulating layer element extend partially along side surfaces of the electrochemical cells.
However, Pilz teaches a battery device (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 1, Pilz teaches that the device comprises adjacent electrochemical cells having a multilayer board (106) positioned therebetween ([0034]). As illustrated in Figure 1, the multilayer board comprises a thermal insulation layer (116) which is sandwiched between two thermally conductive layers (118), wherein the electrochemical cells and the multilayer board are also in thermal communication with a cooling plate (122) ([0035]-[0036]). As illustrated in Figure 1, the thermal insulation layer and each of the thermally conductive layers extends partially along side surfaces of the electrochemical cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the first and second heat-conducting layer elements and the heat-insulating layer element of Hauler, as modified by Hu, such that they extend partially along side surfaces of the electrochemical cells, as taught by Pilz, based on desired and/or required thermal interconnectivity/conductivity/isolation characteristics (all of which would be affected by at least the extension length of the layers of the heat conducting elements).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728