D ETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 , 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by KANETANI KOICHI (Ricoh KK, RICOH CO LTD) (JPH10322489(A)), cited by applicant submitted IDS, dated 08/02/2023 . As to claim 1 , KANETANI KOICHI discloses a control apparatus ( see figure 1 and par 8, i.e., image forming apparatus, and figure 4, par 18, “control devices” and fig. 5 par 24) comprising: a processor ( i.e., main controller 20 and/or IPU 49 ) configured to: perform, on a notifier ( see figure 4, operation unit 30 ) , a first control operation that, when an image of a document placed on a reader is read by the reader (see pars 5 and 8, i.e., image data of the fed document on the contact glass 6 is read by the reading unit 50) and a recording medium having an image formed in response to the read image is discharged into a discharge unit (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18), starts at a notification timing a notification prompting a user to take out the document placed on the reader (see par 5, i.e., warning the operator by sound or voice, etc. to remove the original, and see par 20, i.e., “voice generating device that synthesizes a message such as “please take the document” to prevent the user from forgetting the document” and see pars 33-35, i.e., after copying is completed when operator removes copy outputs from discharge tray, if documents on the table, the operator is notified) ; and perform, on the notifier (see figure 4, operation unit 30) , at least one of (“at least one of” is being interpreted to read as “only one” of the following limitations is required to be met) a second control operation or a third control operation, the second control operation delaying a start of the notification (i.e., see pars 33-35, after copying is completed , when the operator removes the copy from the tray, if there are still documents on the table the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original) if a completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is delayed with respect to a predetermined reference ( see pars 0033-0035, i.e., after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the paper discharge tray, if there are still documents on the document table, the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original, i.e., the predetermined reference refers to the timing when the medium /copy outputs/printed sheet/paper is discharged or removed) and the third control operation advancing the start of the notification if the completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is advanced with respect to the predetermined reference. As to claim 12 , KANETANI KOICHI discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium ( see pars 24-30, i.e., image memory 66, i.e., hard disk, ROM 69 and/or RAM 70) storing a program causing a computer ( i.e., main controller 20 and/or IPU 49 and/or CPU 68 ) to execute a process, the process comprising: perform ing , on a notifier (see figure 4, operation unit 30) , a first control operation that, when an image of a document placed on a reader is read by the reader (see pars 5 and 8, i.e., image data of the fed document on the contact glass 6 is read by the reading unit 50) and a recording medium having an image formed in response to the read image is discharged into a discharge unit (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18), starts at a notification timing a notification prompting a user to take out the document placed on the reader (see par 5, i.e., warning the operator by sound or voice, etc. to remove the original, and see par 20, i.e., “voice generating device that synthesizes a message such as “please take the document” to prevent the user from forgetting the document” and see pars 33-35, i.e., after copying is completed when operator removes copy outputs from discharge tray, if documents on the table, the operator is notified) ; and perform ing , on the notifier (see figure 4, operation unit 30) , at least one of (“at least one of” is being interpreted to read as “only one” of the following limitations is required to be met) a second control operation or a third control operation, the second control operation delaying a start of the notification (i.e., see pars 33-35, after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the tray, if there are still documents on the table the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original) if a completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is delayed with respect to a predetermined reference (see pars 0033-0035, i.e., after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the paper discharge tray, if there are still documents on the document table, the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original, i.e., the predetermined reference refers to the timing when the medium/copy outputs/printed sheet/paper is discharged or removed) and the third control operation advancing the start of the notification if the completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is advanced with respect to the predetermined reference. As to claim 13 , KANETANI KOICHI discloses an image forming apparatus (see figure 1 and see par 8, i.e., image forming apparatus) comprising: a reader that reads an image of a document ( see pars 5 and 8, i.e., image data of the fed document on the contact glass 6 is read by the reading unit 50); an image former that forms an image in response to the image of the document read by the reader (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 is written onto the photosensitive member 15 by a laser from the writing unit 57 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18) ; a discharge unit into which a recording medium having the image formed by the image former is discharged (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 is written onto the photosensitive member 15 by a laser from the writing unit 57 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18) ); and a notification apparatus (i.e., main controller 20 and/or IPU 49 and/or figure 4, operation unit 30) including a notifier (see figure 4, operation unit 30) that, when an image of a document placed on a reader is read by the reader (see pars 5 and 8, i.e., image data of the fed document on the contact glass 6 is read by the reading unit 50) and a recording medium having an image formed in response to the read image is discharged into a discharge unit (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18), starts at a predetermined notification timing a notification prompting a user to take out the document placed on the reader (see par 5, i.e., warning the operator by sound or voice, etc. to remove the original, and see par 20, i.e., “voice generating device that synthesizes a message such as “please take the document” to prevent the user from forgetting the document” and see pars 33-35, i.e., after copying is completed when operator removes copy outputs from discharge tray, if documents on the table, the operator is notified) , wherein the notifier (see figure 4, operation unit 30) performs at least one of (“at least one of” is being interpreted to read as “only one” of the following limitations is required to be met) a n operation to delay a start of the notification (i.e., see pars 33-35, after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the tray, if there are still documents on the table the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original) if a completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is delayed with respect to a predetermined reference (see pars 0033-0035, i.e., after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the paper discharge tray, if there are still documents on the document table, the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original, i.e., the predetermined reference refers to the timing when the medium/copy outputs/printed sheet/paper is discharged or removed) or an operation to advanc e the start of the notification if the completion of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit is advanced with respect to the predetermined reference. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2 - 3 , 4 , 5 - 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding dependent claim 2 , the closest prior art of record, namely, KANETANI KOICHI (Ricoh KK, RICOH CO LTD) (JPH10322489(A)), cited by applicant submitted IDS, dated 08/02/2023, discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the notification timing falls within a range of from an end of reading the image of the document on the reader to an end of discharging the recording medium, wherein the processor is configured to: delay the start of the notification in the second control operation within the range if the completion of discharging is delayed with respect to the predetermined reference; and advance the start of the notification in the third control operation within the range if the completion of discharging is advanced with respect to the predetermined reference , as recited in dependent claim 2 . Claim 3 is objected to because claim 3 is dependent on objected to claim 2 discussed above. Regarding dependent claim 4 , the closest prior art of record, namely, KANETANI KOICHI (Ricoh KK, RICOH CO LTD) (JPH10322489(A)), cited by applicant submitted IDS, dated 08/02/2023, discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the completion of discharging is delayed if a path along which the recording medium is discharged into the discharge unit is longer than a predetermined reference length, and wherein the completion of discharging is advanced if the path along which the recording medium is discharged into the discharge unit is shorter than the predetermined reference length , as claimed in dependent claim 4 . Regarding dependent claim 5 , the closest prior art of record, namely, KANETANI KOICHI (Ricoh KK, RICOH CO LTD) (JPH10322489(A)), cited by applicant submitted IDS, dated 08/02/2023, discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the completion of discharging is delayed if a process time of a process performed on the recording medium and including image forming is longer than a predetermined reference time, and wherein the completion of discharging is advanced if the process time of the process performed on the recording medium and including image forming is shorter than the predetermined reference time , as recited in dependent claim 5 . Claim 6 is objected to because claim 6 is dependent on objected to claim 5 discussed above. Claims 7 - 11 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 7 , KANETANI KOICHI discloses a control apparatus (see figure 1 and par 8, i.e., image forming apparatus, and figure 4, par 18, “control devices” and fig. 5 par 24) comprising: a processor (i.e., main controller 20 and/or IPU 49) configured to: when a discharge operation that discharges into a discharge unit a recording medium having an image formed in response to an image of a document placed on and read by a reader is performed (see par 10 , i.e., image data read by the reading unit 50 is written onto the photosensitive member 15 by a laser from the writing unit 57 … the image if fixed by a fixing unit 17 and the paper is charged onto a paper discharge tray 19 by a paper discharge unit 18), and perform, on a notifier ( see figure 4, operation unit 30) , a control operation that starts with respect to a notification on a user, the notification prompting the user to take out the document from the reader (see par 5, i.e., warning the operator by sound or voice, etc. to remove the original, and see par 20, i.e., “voice generating device that synthesizes a message such as “please take the document” to prevent the user from forgetting the document” and see pars 33-35, after copying is completed, when the operator removes the copy from the tray, if there are still documents on the table the operator is notified, and when the presence of an original on the platen is detected and a printed sheet is removed from the other image output device, a sound or voice is used to warn the operator to remove the original) . The closest prior art of record, namely, KANETANI KOICHI (Ricoh KK, RICOH CO LTD) (JPH10322489(A)), cited by applicant submitted IDS, dated 08/02/2023, discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, calculate an estimated discharge time of discharging the recording medium into the discharge unit and perform, on a notifier, a control operation that starts with respect to the estimated discharge time a notification on a user, the notification prompting the user to take out the document from the reader, as recited in independent claim 7 . Claims 8 - 11 are objected to because claims 8 - 11 are dependent on allowable independent claim 7 discussed above. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SONEOKA HIROSHI (MURATA MACHINERY LTD) JP2005099223 (A) cited by applicant submitted IDS dated 08/02/2023, teaches an image forming device that sounds a warning alarm when document has been left behind when the copy printing is completed or when the document reading is completed (see pars 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6-7). Kojima (US 8,351,091 B2) teaches an MFP having a scanning and image forming units (see fig. 1). Displaying messages to remove the document in the scanner (see figures 4A-B). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DOV POPOVICI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4083 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:00 am- 4:30 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Akwasi M. Sarpong can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3438 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DOV POPOVICI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681